Databases
A BCDEFGHIJKLMOPQRSTUVWZNumAll

A Financial Engineering Approach to Pricing Agricultural Insurances
Note: Journal Article
Purpose: The purpose of this paper is to introduce a continuous time version of the speculative storage model of Deaton and Laroque (1992) and to use for pricing derivatives, in particular insurances on agricultural prices.

Design/Methodology/Approach: The methodology of financial engineering is used in order to find the partial differential equations that the dynamics of derivative prices have to satisfy. Furthermore, by using the Monte-Carlo method (and Feynman-Kac theorem) the insurance prices is computed.

Findings: Results of this paper show that insurance prices (and derivative prices in general) are heavily influenced by market structure, in particular, the demand function specifications. Furthermore, through an empirical analysis, the performance of the continuous time speculative storage model is compared with the geometric Brownian motion model. It is shown that the speculative storage model outperforms the actual data.

Practical Implications: Since the agricultural insurances in many countries are subsidised by government, the results of this paper can be used by policy makers to measure changes in agricultural insurance premiums in scenarios that market experiences changes in demand. In the same manner, insurance companies and investors can use the results of this paper to better price agricultural derivatives.

Originality/Value: The issue of agricultural insurance pricing (in general derivative pricing) is of great concern to policy makers, investors and insurance companies. To the author’s knowledge, an approach which uses the methodology of financial engineering to compute the insurance prices (in general derivatives) is new within the literature.

Academic Goals and Learning Quality in Higher Education Students
Note: Journal Article
In this article, the relations between academic goals and various indicators that define the quality of the learning process are analyzed. The purpose was to determine to what extent high, moderate, or low levels of academic goals were positively or negatively related to effort regulation, the value assigned to academic tasks, meta-cognitive self-regulation, self-efficacy, beliefs about learning control, and management of time and study environment. The investigation was carried out with a sample of 632 university students (70% female and 30% male) and mean age of 21.22 (SD=2.2).The results show that learning goals, or task orientation, are positively related to all the indictors of learning quality considered herein. Although for other kinds of goals—work-avoidance goals, performance-approach goals, and performance-avoidance goals—significant relations were not found with all the indicators, there was a similar tendency of significant results in all cases; the higher the levels of these goals, the lower the levels of the indicators of learning quality.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal
Note: Journal
The Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal is dedicated to the advancement of accounting knowledge and provides a forum for the publication of high quality manuscripts concerning the interaction between accounting/auditing and their socio-economic and political environments. It therefore encourages critical analysis of policy and practice in these areas. Analysis could explore policy alternatives and provide new perspectives for the accounting discipline.
Acoustical Society of America (ASA)
Acoustics, General Linear Acoustics, Nonlinear Acoustics, Atmospheric Acoustics and Aeroacoustics, Underwater Sound, Ultrasonics and Physical Acoustics, Transduction, Acoustical Measurements, Instrumentation, Applied Acoustics, Structural Acoustics and Vibration, Access

Advances in management accounting / edited by Edited By Marc J. Epstein, John Y. Lee.
Note: dawnsonera e-book
"Advances in Management Accounting" ("AIMA") publishes well-developed articles on a variety of current topics in management accounting that are relevant to researchers in both practice and academe. As one of the premier management accounting research journals, "AIMA" is well poised to meet the needs of management accounting scholars.
African Journals OnLine (AJOL)
Note: Electronic database
Provides access to African reseach publications. Contents and abstracts
of articles in agricultural sciences, arts, culture and literature,
science and technology, and social sciences. Also contains quality content on management.
Annual Reviews in Control
Annual Reviews in Control covers the whole field of control and its applications. Most reviews are selected from the best reviews presented at meetings of IFAC, the International Federation of Automatic Control, re-written and broadened where necessary.

Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics 2008, Global : Private Sector and Development
Note: e-book
Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics, Europe 2006 : Development in an Unstable World.
Note: e-book
Architectural Engineering and Design Management
Informative and accessible, this publication analyses and discusses the integration of the main stages within the process of design and construction and multidisciplinary collaborative working between the different professionals involved.
Ideal for practitioners and academics alike, Architectural Engineering and Design Management examines specific topics on architectural technology, engineering design, building performance and building design management to highlight the interfaces between them and bridge the gap between architectural abstraction and engineering practice.

Architectural Research Methods/ Groat, Linda N. &, Wang, David Help Guide
Note: E-Book
The aim of this book is to provide an introductory handbook for anyone wishing to conduct research— or more informally, inquiry— on an aspect of the built environment— from the scale of a building component, a room, a building, a neighborhood, to an urban center. By this we mean to suggest that this book is intended to be both comprehensive and an entry point. Our intent is to be comprehensive by providing a single text that addresses the full range of research methods available and applicable to the diverse array of topics germane to architectural research. Our intent is also to offer an entry point by introducing readers to the major characteristics and applications of each research method, while simultaneously providing references to more specific books and articles on the methods of interest. This overarching goal, as articulated in the introduction to the first edition of this book, remains a constant. However, both the nature and role of architectural research, as conducted in the academy and practice, have gradually shifted over the decade since the first edition was published in 2002. Some areas of inquiry— for example, the multiple dimensions and applications of sustainable design— have become relatively more prominent. Other research foci (e.g., the application of notable schools of thought such as critical theory or poststructuralism to design theory) have waned in some contexts, while the handsā€on exploration of digital technologies and prototype fabrication has become a significant emphasis in many settings.
 
Architecture in Detail II/ Graham Bizley Help Guide
Note: E-Book
Following on from Graham Bizley’s successful Architecture in Detail, Architecture in Detail II presents 40 case studies of detailing on recent construction projects. Over 150 full colour drawings and photos provide a reference compendium for the professional architect seeking detailing inspiration.

Originally featured in Building Design’s In Detail magazine, the included projects represent some of the most interesting and innovative techniques in recent architecture. Graham Bizley’s beautifully presented detail drawings allow the architect to easily see how ideas and techniques can be applied to other projects. The book is organised by building type for quick and easy 
Architecture, Form, Space and Order/ Francis D. K. Ching
Note: E-Book

Assessing student learning in higher education
Note: Book
Author Brown, George.
Title Assessing student learning in higher education / George Brown, with Joanna Bull and Malcolm Pendlebury.
Pub info London : Routledge, 1997.
Descript xiii, 317 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Universities and colleges -- Great Britain -- Examinations.
  College students -- Rating of -- Great Britain.
  College teaching -- Great Britain -- Evaluation.
  Education, Higher -- Aims and objectives -- Great Britain.
  Education, Higher -- Great Britain -- Evaluation.
Add author Bull, Joanna.
  Pendlebury, Malcolm.
ISBN 0415162262 (hbk.)
  0415144604 (pbk.)

Assessment Relationships in Higher Education: The Tension of Process and Practice
Note: Article
The British Educational Research Journal is an international medium for the publication of articles of interest to researchers in education and has rapidly become a major focal point for the publication of educational research from throughout the world.
 
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files