Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMOPQRSTUVWZNumAll

Dictionary of business / Graham Bannock ... [et al.].
Note: Dictionary
Title Dictionary of business / Graham Bannock ... [et al.].
Pub info Princeton, N.J. : Bloomberg Press, c2003.
Descript vi, 393 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.
Series The Economist series.
Subject Business -- Dictionaries.
  Commerce -- Dictionaries.
  English language -- Business English -- Dictionaries.
Add author Davis, Evan.
  Uncles, Mark.
  Trott, Paul.
ISBN 0140513779 (pbk.)
 
 
Urban Geography
Note: Full Access
Urban Geography publishes original papers on problem-oriented current research by geographers and other social scientists on urban policy; race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city; international differences in urban form and function; historical preservation; the urban housing market; and provision of services and urban economic activity. Included in most issues are review papers and special features.
A handbook for teaching & learning in higher education: enhancing academic practice
Note: Book
Author Fry, Heather.
Title A handbook for teaching & learning in higher education : enhancing academic practice / Heather Fry, Steve Ketteridge and Stephanie Marshall.
Pub info London : RoutledgeFalmer, 2003.
Edition 2nd ed.
Descript xiii, 449 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
Note Includes Index.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject College teaching handbook manual etc.
  College teachers.
  Lecture method in teaching.
ISBN 0749437995 (pbk.)

Beech Tree Publishing
Beech Tree makes accessible two of its international, peer-reviewed academic journals on public policy for science, technology and innovation and on the evaluation of research.

Construction Management and Economics
Construction Management and Economics is the leading international refereed journal that publishes original research concerning the management and economics of building and civil engineering, while also including the management of built facilities.
Journal of Property Research

The Journal of Property Research publishes papers in any area of real estate investment and development. These may be theoretical, empirical, case studies or critical literature surveys. There are two major areas of focus

Property investment and finance. This covers topics such as the characteristics of property as an investment class, forecasting of markets and property portfolio construction. Much of this research will be an application to property of techniques developed in other investment markets. Land development. This covers a wide range of issues surrounding the development and redevelopment of property. The focus may be financial, economic or environmental; urban or rural; public or private sector.


Journal of Urban Design

The Journal of Urban Design is a scholarly international journal which advances theory, research and practice in urban design.There is a growing recognition of the need for urban design in shaping, managing and improving the quality of the urban environment. It is now considered one of the core knowledge components of planning education and practice and is equally important for architectural education and practice. Thus, increasing numbers of architects, planners, surveyors, landscape architects and other professions concerned with the quality of urban development are specialising in urban design.
Structural Survey
Structural Survey: Journal of Building Pathology and Refurbishment publishes findings on contemporary and original research in building pathology and building forensics, refurbishment and adaptation. This includes all related areas towards supporting more sustainable and resilient futures. The journal aims to publish rigorous research articles, case studies and reviews concerning innovative investigations on topics related to technical, managerial and legal issues affecting land, property and construction. Particular emphasis is placed on the emerging environmental challenges associated with sustaining the modern built environment.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Note: Electronic Database
This database contains over 50,000 ebooks from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law.
URBAN DESIGN International
URBAN DESIGN International is a scholarly publication with a strong practitioner emphasis. It is relevant for all of those involved in architectural and planning education and practice. It is relevant for urban designers, architects, planners, surveyors and landscape architects and all professionals concerned with urban development and design.
Urban Policy and Research Help Guide
Urban Policy and Research is an international journal dedicated to the publication of refereed articles in English in the field of urban studies and urban policy for those with an interest in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific region.  

The scope of the journal is international in two senses: it presents to a worldwide readership a view of the urban policies of particular countries; and it encourages dialogue among researchers, policy makers and practitioners in the region.  

Urban Policy and Research seeks to develop better links between theoretical and empirical research, and practice.  It seeks to stimulate informed debate about urbanisation and urban problems by publishing material from a wide range of theoretical and research approaches that address issues including urban economics, community development, urban governance, and analyses of socio-economic and spatial change.  Articles in the journal address relevant policy analysis, planning matters, housing, transport and other related issues.   
A Financial Engineering Approach to Pricing Agricultural Insurances
Note: Journal Article
Purpose: The purpose of this paper is to introduce a continuous time version of the speculative storage model of Deaton and Laroque (1992) and to use for pricing derivatives, in particular insurances on agricultural prices.

Design/Methodology/Approach: The methodology of financial engineering is used in order to find the partial differential equations that the dynamics of derivative prices have to satisfy. Furthermore, by using the Monte-Carlo method (and Feynman-Kac theorem) the insurance prices is computed.

Findings: Results of this paper show that insurance prices (and derivative prices in general) are heavily influenced by market structure, in particular, the demand function specifications. Furthermore, through an empirical analysis, the performance of the continuous time speculative storage model is compared with the geometric Brownian motion model. It is shown that the speculative storage model outperforms the actual data.

Practical Implications: Since the agricultural insurances in many countries are subsidised by government, the results of this paper can be used by policy makers to measure changes in agricultural insurance premiums in scenarios that market experiences changes in demand. In the same manner, insurance companies and investors can use the results of this paper to better price agricultural derivatives.

Originality/Value: The issue of agricultural insurance pricing (in general derivative pricing) is of great concern to policy makers, investors and insurance companies. To the author’s knowledge, an approach which uses the methodology of financial engineering to compute the insurance prices (in general derivatives) is new within the literature.

Academic Goals and Learning Quality in Higher Education Students
Note: Journal Article
In this article, the relations between academic goals and various indicators that define the quality of the learning process are analyzed. The purpose was to determine to what extent high, moderate, or low levels of academic goals were positively or negatively related to effort regulation, the value assigned to academic tasks, meta-cognitive self-regulation, self-efficacy, beliefs about learning control, and management of time and study environment. The investigation was carried out with a sample of 632 university students (70% female and 30% male) and mean age of 21.22 (SD=2.2).The results show that learning goals, or task orientation, are positively related to all the indictors of learning quality considered herein. Although for other kinds of goals—work-avoidance goals, performance-approach goals, and performance-avoidance goals—significant relations were not found with all the indicators, there was a similar tendency of significant results in all cases; the higher the levels of these goals, the lower the levels of the indicators of learning quality.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal
Note: Journal
The Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal is dedicated to the advancement of accounting knowledge and provides a forum for the publication of high quality manuscripts concerning the interaction between accounting/auditing and their socio-economic and political environments. It therefore encourages critical analysis of policy and practice in these areas. Analysis could explore policy alternatives and provide new perspectives for the accounting discipline.
Acoustical Society of America (ASA)
Acoustics, General Linear Acoustics, Nonlinear Acoustics, Atmospheric Acoustics and Aeroacoustics, Underwater Sound, Ultrasonics and Physical Acoustics, Transduction, Acoustical Measurements, Instrumentation, Applied Acoustics, Structural Acoustics and Vibration, Access

Advances in management accounting / edited by Edited By Marc J. Epstein, John Y. Lee.
Note: dawnsonera e-book
"Advances in Management Accounting" ("AIMA") publishes well-developed articles on a variety of current topics in management accounting that are relevant to researchers in both practice and academe. As one of the premier management accounting research journals, "AIMA" is well poised to meet the needs of management accounting scholars.
African Journals OnLine (AJOL)
Note: Electronic database
Provides access to African reseach publications. Contents and abstracts
of articles in agricultural sciences, arts, culture and literature,
science and technology, and social sciences. Also contains quality content on management.
Annual Reviews in Control
Annual Reviews in Control covers the whole field of control and its applications. Most reviews are selected from the best reviews presented at meetings of IFAC, the International Federation of Automatic Control, re-written and broadened where necessary.

Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics 2008, Global : Private Sector and Development
Note: e-book
Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics, Europe 2006 : Development in an Unstable World.
Note: e-book
Architectural Engineering and Design Management
Informative and accessible, this publication analyses and discusses the integration of the main stages within the process of design and construction and multidisciplinary collaborative working between the different professionals involved.
Ideal for practitioners and academics alike, Architectural Engineering and Design Management examines specific topics on architectural technology, engineering design, building performance and building design management to highlight the interfaces between them and bridge the gap between architectural abstraction and engineering practice.

Architectural Research Methods/ Groat, Linda N. &, Wang, David Help Guide
Note: E-Book
The aim of this book is to provide an introductory handbook for anyone wishing to conduct research— or more informally, inquiry— on an aspect of the built environment— from the scale of a building component, a room, a building, a neighborhood, to an urban center. By this we mean to suggest that this book is intended to be both comprehensive and an entry point. Our intent is to be comprehensive by providing a single text that addresses the full range of research methods available and applicable to the diverse array of topics germane to architectural research. Our intent is also to offer an entry point by introducing readers to the major characteristics and applications of each research method, while simultaneously providing references to more specific books and articles on the methods of interest. This overarching goal, as articulated in the introduction to the first edition of this book, remains a constant. However, both the nature and role of architectural research, as conducted in the academy and practice, have gradually shifted over the decade since the first edition was published in 2002. Some areas of inquiry— for example, the multiple dimensions and applications of sustainable design— have become relatively more prominent. Other research foci (e.g., the application of notable schools of thought such as critical theory or poststructuralism to design theory) have waned in some contexts, while the hands‐on exploration of digital technologies and prototype fabrication has become a significant emphasis in many settings.
 
Architecture in Detail II/ Graham Bizley Help Guide
Note: E-Book
Following on from Graham Bizley’s successful Architecture in Detail, Architecture in Detail II presents 40 case studies of detailing on recent construction projects. Over 150 full colour drawings and photos provide a reference compendium for the professional architect seeking detailing inspiration.

Originally featured in Building Design’s In Detail magazine, the included projects represent some of the most interesting and innovative techniques in recent architecture. Graham Bizley’s beautifully presented detail drawings allow the architect to easily see how ideas and techniques can be applied to other projects. The book is organised by building type for quick and easy 
Architecture, Form, Space and Order/ Francis D. K. Ching
Note: E-Book

Assessing student learning in higher education
Note: Book
Author Brown, George.
Title Assessing student learning in higher education / George Brown, with Joanna Bull and Malcolm Pendlebury.
Pub info London : Routledge, 1997.
Descript xiii, 317 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Universities and colleges -- Great Britain -- Examinations.
  College students -- Rating of -- Great Britain.
  College teaching -- Great Britain -- Evaluation.
  Education, Higher -- Aims and objectives -- Great Britain.
  Education, Higher -- Great Britain -- Evaluation.
Add author Bull, Joanna.
  Pendlebury, Malcolm.
ISBN 0415162262 (hbk.)
  0415144604 (pbk.)

Assessment Relationships in Higher Education: The Tension of Process and Practice
Note: Article
The British Educational Research Journal is an international medium for the publication of articles of interest to researchers in education and has rapidly become a major focal point for the publication of educational research from throughout the world.
 
Balance Sheet
Note: Journal
The journal provides a rigorous forum for the publication of theory and empirical work, by both academic and industry experts, related to the financing of risk in its various forms. With a long-standing focus on issues of market convergence, the journal is particularly committed to research addressing (1) the creation of innovative products straddling the boundaries of financial engineering, traditional insurance/reinsurance, and alternative risk transfer, and (2) the development of risk-financing mechanisms in emerging economies throughout the world.
Beech Tree Publishing
Beech tree publishes three International, peer-reviewed academic journals. They have readers in over 120 countries, mainly in universities and government. They are all on public policy for science and technology, research, or environmental, social, health and other impacts.
Biology : a contextual approach
Note: Book
Title Biology : a contextual approach / Maggie Spenceley ...[et al.].
Pub info Victoria : Malcolm Parsons, 2004.
Descript xi, 643 p. : ill.(chiefly col.) ; 28 cm.
Note Includes index.
Subject Biological literature.
  Life sciences -- literature.
Add author Spenceley, Maggie.
  Weller, Barbara.
  Mason, Margaret.
ISBN 1740813510 (pbk.)
 
BioOne
Covers research in biological, ecological and environmental science.
Building Research & Information
BUILDING RESEARCH & INFORMATION ( BRI ) is a leading international refereed journal focussed on buildings and their supporting systems. Unique to BRI is a focus on a holistic, transdisciplinary approach to buildings and the complexity of issues involving the built environment with other systems over the course of their life: planning, briefing, design, construction, occupation and use, property exchange and evaluation, maintenance, alteration and end of life. Published articles provide conceptual and evidence-based approaches which reflect the complexity and linkages between cultural, environmental, economic, social, organisational, quality of life, health, well-being, design and engineering of the built environment.
Built Environment; City and Urban Planning; Geography; Human Geography; Planning; Planning - Human Geography; Property; Property Development; Property Valuation; Property and Real Estate Practice Management

The Journal of Property Research publishes papers in any area of real estate investment and development. These may be theoretical, empirical, case studies or critical literature surveys. There are two major areas of focus

Property investment and finance. This covers topics such as the characteristics of property as an investment class, forecasting of markets and property portfolio construction. Much of this research will be an application to property of techniques developed in other investment markets. Land development. This covers a wide range of issues surrounding the development and redevelopment of property. The focus may be financial, economic or environmental; urban or rural; public or private sector.


Business intelligence in economic forecasting / edited by Jue Wang, Shouyang Wang.
Note: dawnsonera e-book
This book discusses a number of Business Intelligence techniques including neural networks and its various improvements, support vector machine, genetic programming, clustering analysis, TEI@I, fuzzy systems, and text mining".
Business Process Management


Business Source Premier
Note: Database
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost
Cambridge Journals Online for Accounting
Cambridge Journals Online contain a wide range of peer reviewed journals. They cover Humanitties, Social Sciences, Science,Technology, Medicine, Economics, and Vetenary Science
Canadian Journal of Education
Note: Electronic Journal
The Canadian Journal of Education (CJE) is published by the Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE). CJE is the leading bilingual journal of educational scholarship in Canada. A subscription to CJE is included with a CSSE membership.
Cities and Design/ Paul L. Knox
Note:
Cities and Design explores the complex relationships between design and urban environments. It traces the intellectual roots of urban design, presents a critical appraisal of the imprint and effectiveness of design professions in shaping urban environments, examines the role of design in the material culture of contemporary cities, and explores the complex linkages among designers, producers and distributors in contemporary cities, for example: fashion and graphic design in New York; architecture, fashion and publishing in London; furniture, industrial design, interior design and fashion in Milan; haute couture in Paris and so on.

This book offers a distinctive social science perspective on the economic and cultural context of design in contemporary cities, presenting cities themselves as settings for design, design services and the ‘affect’ associated with design.
City by Landscape : The Landscape Architecture of Rainer Schmidt/Schroeder, Thies Help Guide
Note: E-Book

Conservation, Analysis, and Restoration
International Journal of Architectural Heritage  provides a multidisciplinary scientific overview of existing resources and modern technologies useful for the study and repair of historical buildings and other structures. The journal will include information on history, methodology, materials, survey, inspection, non-destructive testing, analysis, diagnosis, remedial measures, and strengthening techniques.
Construction Management and Economics
Note: Covers topics on Economics for urban design.
Construction Management and Economics is the leading international refereed journal that publishes original research concerning the management and economics of building and civil engineering, while also including the management of built facilities.
Development Studies Journals
Note: Journal
A list of journals on development studies and related subjects accessible through HINARI.
Duke University Press Journals
Note: Electronic Database
Duke University Press publishes 48 periodicals that span a range of disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
Note: Database
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Note: Database
Search and view the full text of eBooks. the Database caters the users with resources on Taxation
ebrary Database
Note: Electronic Database
ebrary database offers e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
Ebrary for taxation
Note: Electronic Database
this Database serves as a link to resources on Taxation
EBSCO Discovery Service
Note: Electronic Database
Provides full-text, abstracted and indexed journals from all branches of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
EBSCOhost
Provides full-text, abstracted and indexed lournals from from all branches of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Ebscohost database
Note: e-books
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers
EBSCOhost for Quota topic guide
Note: Electronic Database
Provides full-text, abstracted and indexed lournals from from all branches of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities. Also providing exhaustive information on the topic of sales quotas
Educational Innovation, Quality, and Effects
Note: Journal Article
Despite the extensive literature on educational innovations, there is only limited empirical research available into the impact of innovations on student achievement. In this article, the following research questions will be answered: What form do innovations in secondary education take, are there types of innovative schools, and what effect do these innovations have on school quality student careers? The findings show that types of innovative schools differ significantly on quality assessments aspects of the Inspectorate of Educational quality of “time,” and of the “teaching-learning process.” Furthermore, the school output data showed that in the lower education tracks the more innovative schools obtain good results with their students, whereas in the higher education tracks the less innovative schools perform significantly better.
Emerald
Note: Electronic Database
Management, Financial Mnagement, Library and Information Science, Engineering and Marketing.
Emerald Group Publishing Limited
Note: Database
Management, and library and information science journals.
Emerald insight
Note: Electronic Database
Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. Its collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles covering management, and library and information science journals.
Engaging the curriculum in higher education
Note: eBook
There is greater interest than ever before in higher education. More money is being spent on it, more students are registered, and more courses are being taught. And yet the matter that is arguably at the heart of higher education, the curriculum, is noticeable for its absence in public debate and in the literature on higher education. This book begins to redress the balance. Even though the term 'curriculum' may be missing from debates on higher education, curricula are changing rapidly and in significant ways. What we are seeing, therefore, is curriculum change by stealth, in which curricula are being reframed to enable students to acquire skills that have market value. In turn, curricula are running the risk of fragmenting as knowledge and skills exert their separate claims. Such a fragmented curriculum is falling well short of the challenges of the twenty-first century. A complex and uncertain world requires curricula in which students as human beings are placed at their centre. What is called for are curricula that offer no less than the prospect of encouraging the formation of human being and becoming. A curriculum of this kind has to be understood as the imaginative design of spaces where creative things can happen as students become engaged. Based upon a study of curricula in UK universities, "Engaging the Curriculum in Higher Education" offers an uncompromising thesis about the development of higher education, and is essential reading for those who care about its future.
Evaluating Teacher Quality in Higher Education
Note: Electronic book
There is general agreement that a method for evaluating teaching in higher education is sorely needed and that it is desirable to avoid a situation in which each institutional has laboriously to develop its own approach.  

Author:  Aylett, RobertGregory, Kenneth
Publisher:  Taylor and Francis
Date Published: 10/2012
Fabric Structures in Architecture

Membrane structures in architecture have come a long way from prehistoric times to the present. Nevertheless, Western histories of architecture and treatises on building construction have often ignored them due to their temporality, circumstantial use, or alleged lack of representation, even though they have been present throughout history in all climates and regions around the world.

However, in recent decades, circumstances have changed and have catapulted the use of structural membranes as structural elements or even building systems for many applications. Technical advances in materials, products, elements, systems, design methods, and comfort, together with growing environmental concerns have increasingly placed structural membranes as a favourable alternative to conventional construction methods. This book is dedicated to this evolution of structural membranes, and it includes recent contributions to materials, design, construction, and new applications, including developments that are not yet well documented.


Facilitating innovations in higher education in transition economies
Note: Journal Article
Purpose: The purpose of this paper is to analyse innovations in education from the point of view of product content and markets selected. Emerging market economies face a number of problems many of which are closely linked to and dependent upon the effectiveness of higher professional education. External environment changes, such as the formation of knowledge economy, globalisation, changes in the educational needs of consumers as well as new technological advances and growing competition require a different scale of innovations in higher education.
 
Design/methodology/approach: The authors provide research results generated by three waves of expert interviews and several surveys.
 
Findings: Economies in transition set special and very challenging tasks to the higher education system. It needs to be flexible enough to provide high quality services to meet the changing needs of a transition economy and still be able to carry our it’s social and humanitarian functions. A strategic marketing approach can be useful to implement the necessary transformations within higher education and develop innovations in the content and delivery of educational services to satisfy a variety of stakeholders of a university and facilitate positive developments in the society.
 
Research limitations/implications: There is a gap between how universities perceive their main functions in a transition economy and what government and society expects from them.
 
Practical implications: Export of education and other forms of internationalisation are very important for universities in transition economies. Unless linked to the university development strategy, internationalisation has little impact on the programmes' quality and will remain élite in character.
 
Originality/value: The paper combines conceptual issues (such as educational service definition) and practical aspects such as new competencies needed, transformation management and internationalisation strategy development all linked together by the needs of transition economies.
Financial Engineering for the Farm Problem
Note: Journal Article
Purpose: This paper is to provide a general discussion of how techniques from financial engineering can be used to investigate the economic costs of farm programs and to aid in the design of new financial products to implement margin protection for dairy farmers. Specifically the paper investigates the Milk Income Loss Contract (MILC) and the Dairy Margin Protection (DMP) program. In addition the paper introduces the concept of the Milk to Corn Price ratio to protect margins.

Design/Methodology/Approach:
The paper introduces and reviews the tools of financial engineering. These include the stochastic calculus and Itô's Lemma. The empirical tool is Monte Carlo simulations. The approach is part pedagogy and part practice.

Findings: In this paper the authors illustrate how financial engineering can be used to price complex price stabilization formula in the USA and to illustrate its use in the design of new products.

Practical Implications: In this paper the authors illustrate how financial engineering can be used to price complex price stabilization formula in the USA and to illustrate its use in the design of new products.

Practical Implications: In this paper the authors illustrate how financial engineering can be used to price complex price stabilization formula in the USA and to illustrate its use in the design of new products.

Social Implications: Farm programs designed to protect dairy farmers margins are designed in a seemingly ad hoc fashion. Assessments of programs such as MILC or DMP are conducted on an ex-post basis using historical data. The financial engineering approach presented in this paper provides the means to add significant depth to the assessment of such programs which can be used in conjunction with Monte Carlo simulation to identify alternative model structures before they are written into law.

Originality/Value: This paper builds upon an existing literature. Its originality is in the application of financial engineering techniques to farm dairy policy.

Financial Engineering in Pricing Agricultural Derivatives Based on Demand and Volatility
Note: Journal Article
Purpose: The purpose of this paper is twofold. First, the author proposes a financial engineering framework to model commodity prices based on market demand processes and demand functions. This framework explains the relation between demand, volatility and the leverage effect of commodities. It is also shown how the proposed framework can be used to price derivatives on commodity prices. Second, the author estimates the model parameters for agricultural commodities and discuss the implications of the results on derivative prices. In particular, the author see how leverage effect (or inverse leverage effect) is related to market demand.

Design/Methodology/Approach: This paper uses a power demand function along with the Cox, Ingersoll and Ross mean-reverting process to find the price process of commodities. Then by using the Ito theorem the constant elastic volatility (CEV) model is derived for the market prices. The partial differential equation that the dynamics of derivative prices satisfy is found and, by the Feynman-Kac theorem, the market derivative prices are provided within a Monte-Carlo simulation framework. Finally, by using a maximum likelihood estimator, the parameters of the CEV model for the agricultural commodity prices are found.

Findings:
The results of this paper show that derivative prices on commodities are heavily affected by the elasticity of volatility and, consequently, by market demand elasticity. The empirical results show that different groups of agricultural commodities have different values of demand and volatility elasticity.

Practical Implications: The results of this paper can be used by practitioners to price derivatives on commodity prices and by insurance companies to better price insurance contracts. As in many countries agricultural insurances are subsidised by the government, the results of this paper are useful for setting more efficient policies.

Originality/Value: Approaches that use the methodology of financial engineering to model agricultural prices and compute the derivative prices are rather new within the literature and still need to be developed for further applications.

Financial Engineering, Consumer Credit, and the Stability of Effective Demand
Note: Journal Article
This paper examines the microeconomic implications of recent developments in financial engineering,. with particular emphasis on the post-1987 growth of markets for securitiesbacked by credit card, installment, student loan and home equity receivables. Three linkages of financial engineering to effective demand are identified: (1) funding effects, (2) liquidity preference or speculative effects, and balance sheet or Minsky effects in the United States. Evidence is shown that financial engineering has boosted borrowing power at all income levels. The liberal use of expanded borrowing opportunities has fueled the growth of consumption-especially since 1995. However a secularly rising share of U.S. households have entered the categories of ''speculative'' or ''Ponzi'' finance units- a factor that raises doubts about the sustainability of the current spending boom.
Financial management / by Jo Watkins.
Note: dawnsonera e-book
Helping you prepare with confidence, avoid pitfalls and pass first time, "CIMA's Exam Practice Kits" contain a wealth of practice exam questions and answers, focusing purely on applying what has been learned to pass the exam. Fully updated to meet the demands of the new 2010 syllabus, the range of questions covers every aspect of the course to prepare you for any exam scenario. Each solution provides an in-depth analysis of the correct answer to give a full understanding of the assessments and valuable insight on how to score top marks. Features include: the only exam practice kits to be officially endorsed by CIMA; written by leading CIMA examiners, markers and tutors - a source you can trust; maps to "CIMA's Learning Systems" and "CIMA's Learning Outcomes" to enable you to study efficiently; exam level questions with type and weightings matching the format of the exam; fully worked model answers to facilitate learning and compare against your own practice answers; and, includes summaries of key theory to strengthen understanding.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Note: Electronic Database
The Gale e-book collection is available in 11 subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, History, Literature, Medicine, Religion, Science and Sociology.
Governance Modes and Interests: Higher Education and Innovation Policy in Austria
Note: Journal Article
Governance has become one of the central concepts in political science, but what is absent is the question: Which modes of governance produce which policy output? This paper develops a classification scheme for modes of governance in all dimensions of public policy and then applies it empirically in four Austrian case studies concerning higher education and innovation. We extend the scholarly discussion on governance to the factor interests and argue that this analytical factor needs to be taken into account in future research in order to understand the modes of governance in policy processes.
Green Construction Project Management and Cost Oversight/ Sam Kubba
Building green” and “sustainability” are words that permeate just about every publication these days dealing with construction, leasing, asset management, financing, and development. In much of the same way that non-animal based food products are often labeled “cholesterol free” so as to cash-in on the health craze, so too are the words “green” and “sustainability” with respect to buildings.

Dr. Kubba recognizes that “green” and “sustainability” are becoming the new paradigm, especially for end users under a corporate directive to lease or acquire LEED buildings. This book cuts through the hype with pragmatic information and procedures providing the user with sufficient information to make the necessary decisions with confidence when deciding to go “green,” and the steps to implement a successful green building program. Besides the societal and health benefits that accrue to the occupants, energy efficient buildings are a necessity. Although at the time of this writing crude oil is priced at $70/barrel, it was only 14 months ago when it reached its peak of $147. Given that most buildings have an expected useful life of about 50 years, peak oil will be realized during this term, and the ensuing competition for this resource will manifest itself in an increase in all operating costs. This pertains not only to building energy consumed, but to embedded energy as well, which is incorporated in all building materials and services. Just as we as a nation must re-think our over consumption, so too must we re-think our built environment to take into consideration energy efficiency and increases in productivity.

Regardless of corporate directives, going green is simply good business. End users will be seeking buildings that are cost efficient to operate, and such buildings will have a competitive advantage over those that are not.

Sustainability is becoming standard practice—not only because it corresponds to best practices, but out of necessity.
Harvard Business Review Help Guide
Note: Indexed in EBSCOhost - Business Source Premier

The Harvard Business Review has one goal: to be the source of the best new ideas for people creating, leading, and transforming business.Founded in 1922, HBR, publishes cutting-edge, authoritative thinking on the key issues facing executives. Its articles cover a wide range of topics that are relevant to different industries, management functions, and geographic locations. They focus on such areas as leadership, organizational change, negotiation, strategy, operations, marketing, finance, and managing people. Articles are written for senior managers by experts whose authority comes from careful analysis, study, and experience. The ideas presented in these articles can be translated into action and have been tested in the real world of business.


Higher Education
Note: Electronic Journal
Higher Education is recognised as the leading international journal of Higher Education studies, publishing eight separate numbers each year. 

 
Higher education and research innovation in China
Note: Journal Article
China places a great emphasis on boosting its innovative capability, which it says is the key to meeting the challenges in economic development and global competition.  At the heart of the matter is how the country could produce its own agent of innovation- creative graduates and post graduates.
Higher Education in the Twenty-First Century: Innovation, Adaptation, Preservation
Note: Journal Article
This article is about isruptive change and how it is never easy for those who have helped construct the status quo.  By definition, it undermines much that we take for granted and rely on, much that has evolved over time.  It sometimes destroys things that are worth treasuring, but disruptive change also provides an opportunity for restructuring that can actually improve our institutions. Our task should be to adjust as nimbly as we can, taking advantage of new opportunities while we protect those aspects of traditional higher education that are of the greatest importance to our mission.
HINARI
Note: Ask librarian for login details
 HINARI was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Today more than 160 publishers are offering more than 8,000 information resources in HINARI and many others are joining the programme.
History of World Architecture
Chapter 1 - Introduction to History of Architecture Chapter 2 - Ancient Egyptian Architecture Chapter 3 - Architecture of Ancient Rome and Iranian Architecture Chapter 4 - Architecture of India Chapter 5 - Chinese and Japanese Architecture Chapter 6 - Islamic Architecture Chapter 7 - Architecture of Africa Chapter 8 - Architecture of Europe
How to improve governance
Note: dawsonera e-book
This book emphasizes the need for a comprehensive analytical framework that considers transparency, accountability, governance, and corruption throughout the calculus. Discusses how it can be applied to different countries to help analyze the current situation and identify potential areas for improvement, assessing their relative feasibility and the steps needed to promote them"--Provided by publisher.
IAS Plus
The IAS Plus website, maintained by Deloitte, provides the most comprehensive information on the Internet about international financial reporting. It is aimed at accounting professionals, businesses, financial analysts, standard-setters and regulators, and accounting educators and students. The site, which is totally free of charge, has a broad array of resources about the International Accounting Standards Board, International Financial Reporting Standards, and international accounting and auditing in general.

IMF eLibrary
Note: Database
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. It provides information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and much more.
Informs Journals
Note: Electronic Database
Full text scholarly social and applied sciences journals that include Service Science, INFORMS Transactions on Education, Decision Analysis, Information Systems Research, INFORMS Journal on Computing, Interfaces, Management Science, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management, Marketing Science, Mathematics of Operations Research, Operations Research, Organization Science, Transportation Science.
Infusing quantitative approaches throughout the biological sciences curriculum
Note: Article
A major curriculum redesign effort at the University of Maryland is infusing all levels of our undergraduate biological sciences curriculum with increased emphasis on interdisciplinary connections and quantitative approaches. The curriculum development efforts have largely been guided by recommendations in the National Research Council's Bio 2010 report and have resulted in revisions to courses in biology, mathematics, and physics over a period of 10 years. Important components of this effort included (1) developing online modules to infuse more mathematical content into six biology courses taken by biological sciences majors during their first 2 years of study; (2) strengthening the interdisciplinary connections of ancillary courses in mathematics and physics to support the development of quantitative skills in biological contexts; and (3) creating more quantitatively intensive courses for the final 2 years of the bachelors of science programme. These efforts, carried out by a large, multidisciplinary team of faculty, have resulted in increased coherence in the undergraduate biological sciences curriculum, increased quantitative skills in first- and second-year students, and a greater appreciation among graduates for the essential relationship between mathematics and modern biology.
Infusion of Electronic Commerce into the Information Systems Curriculum
Note: Journal Article
Business school information systems programs seek to integrate informationtechnology and business knowledge. Business schools constantly revise IS programs to stay abreast of IT changes. The emergence of e-commerce and e-business represent one such development. This study analyzes the impact of e-commerce content on business IS curricula in the U.S. Over half of the schools included such material as either required or elective. Most business schools were found to provide skills in client-side Web development. Fewer covered material on server-side Web development. E-commerceknowledge and skills have been incorporated into most undergraduate IS programs.
Ingentaconnect
ingentaconnect gives you access to largest linking network of its kind online. Providing more than 10,000 publication that cover Agriculture, Humanites, Sciences, Commerce, and Social Sciences

Innovation in Higher Education
Note: Journal Article
The Journal of Higher Education is an independent refereed journal. Through full-length articles, commentary, and book reviews, JHE encourages creation of effective policy solutions and enhancement of professional development in all areas within the university, the four-year college, and the community college.
Inside Accounting / by David Leung.
Note: dawsonera e-book
This book examines the finance department of a commercial subsidiary company of a renowned UK scientific research organization. 
Institute for Operations Research and Management Sciences (INFORMS)
Note: Database
INFORMS publishes 13 scholarly journals, including the flagship journals Management Science and Operations Research, a journal for the practice of OR/MS (Interfaces), the new online-only journal Service Science, as well as an open access journal (INFORMS Transactions on Education.
Institute of Electronic and Electrical Engineers (IEEE)
Electrical Engineering, Telecommunications, Computer Science & Architecture, Imaging science, & Photographic Technology Telecommunications, Robotics, Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science Information Systems, Software Engineering, Remote Sensing, Artificial Intelligence.

Integrated Fund Management/ by D. Michael Segrest Help Guide
In this article, the author focuses on integrated fund management increasing and suggests several ways for managing the budget. He defines integrated fund management as a strategic approach to manage local government agency resources. He informs that one should firstly analyze the budget to have overview of fund restrictions and assess if fund balances are decreasing, increasing, or staying constant.
Inter-Organizational Information Systems and Business Management / by Kishor Vaidya.
Note: dawnsonera e-book
"This book highlights the most influential organizational theories and their applications in Inter-Organizational Information Systems, providing theories that have been consistently tested and proven to be valid over time"
Interactive software usage for e‐learning of business statistics
Note: Journal Article
Purpose:  The purpose of this paper is to examine students' academic progress in a course of business statistics through interactive software usage, which helps these students to build their e‐learning during basic competences: solving problems and interpreting results.
 
Design/methodology/approach: A random sample of 278 students is used to contrast two research hypotheses through the χ2‐test. The sample data correspond to the students' final grades reported during the academic period from Spring‐2004 to 2008 at an American State University.
 
Findings: The population proportion of students that got passing or better final grades in a course of Business Statistics depends on how these students are classified as users or not users of interactive software (p‐value=0.029); for the students that got passing or better grades: the proportion (86.8 percent) of students using interactive software is greater than the proportion (76.4 percent) of students that do not use interactive software. Confirmation of this conclusion at a significance level α=0.05, is obtained via the z‐test for two proportions (p‐value=0.030), where p1=105/121 and p2=120/157; which means, the data support the first research hypothesis HA1; but, the same data‐set does not support the second research hypothesis (HA2) about the gender effect on the students' academic performance (measured via their final grades); this is, the proportion of students under interactive software training that got passing or better final grades, does not depends on how these students are classified according to their gender (female or male), where the corresponding statistics are χ2p‐value=0.221, and z‐test p‐value=0.219.
 
Research limitations/implications: The sample is restricted to the students attending fall and spring semesters. Summer students are not included, as the schedule‐environment (eight hours of instruction per week, five weeks) and the grading policies are different in comparison to fall and spring periods (three hours of instruction per week, 14.5 weeks).
 
Practical implications: The practical implications of this study include the need for a standardization of the summer's syllabi. For example, during the fall and spring semesters, the students are required to complete 60 software‐certificates; while for the summer, the students are required to solve just 30 (50 percent) of the software‐certificates; which represent fewer assignments and less academic effort for the summer's students.
 
Originality/value: The study extends understanding regarding the responsibility of the instructors/professors, whose priority is to provide high‐quality teaching, maintain a professional ethics environment, as well as the application and fulfilment of the approved academic syllabus.
International Federation of Accountants
As the global organization for the accountancy profession, IFAC is committed to protecting the public interest by developing high-quality international standards, promoting strong ethical values, encouraging quality practice, and supporting the development of all sectors of the profession around the world.

International finance in emerging markets
Note: dawnsonera e-book 
This book addresses contemporary issues in international monetary policy and finance from a welfare economics perspective, focusing on emerging market nations such as Thailand. The book adopts the elements of new welfare economics and asymmetric information paradigms in analyzing those issues including financial liberalization, crisis, exchange rate determination, and domestic capital market reform. The book suggests for the first time a normative social approach for addressing the contemporary issues in international monetary and financial economics. It provides an example of cutting edge research in international finance and monetary economics within a welfare economics framework.
International Journal of Architectural Heritage
International Journal of Architectural Heritage  provides a multidisciplinary scientific overview of existing resources and modern technologies useful for the study and repair of historical buildings and other structures. The journal will include information on history, methodology, materials, survey, inspection, non-destructive testing, analysis, diagnosis, remedial measures, and strengthening techniques.
International Journal of Construction Management

The International Journal of Construction Management publishes quality papers aiming to advance the knowledge of construction management. The Journal is devoted to the publication of original research including, but not limited to the following: 
Construction management
Sustainable construction
Information technology application
Construction production
Construction and real estate economics
Policy and legal framework for construction and real estate industry
Construction procurement
Contract administration
Building and infrastructure works
Construction process
Investment leadership & portfolio management
Note: dawsonera e-book
"Investment Leadership & Portfolio Management" provides a top down analysis of successful strategies, structures, and actions that create an environment that leads to strong macro investment performance and rewarding investor outcomes. By examining how to manage and lead an investment firm through successful investment decision-making processes and actions, this book reveals what it will take to succeed in a radically changed investment landscape.
Journal of Accounting Research
The Journal of Accounting Research publishes original research using analytical, empirical, experimental, and field study methods in accounting research. The journal had been published since 1963 by the Accounting Research Center (ARC) at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. Beginning in 2001, the Journal of Accounting Research has been published by the ARC in partnership with Blackwell Publishing.
Journal of Architectural Conservation

As the leading authority in its field, the international Journal of Architectural Conservation  provides invaluable guidance on policy, practice and technical developments. Encouraging debate on a broad variety of conservation issues, this peer-reviewed Journal with its high academic and professional standards fulfils its ambition to illuminate, question and inform.
The scope of this international journal is intended to be wide-ranging and include discussion on aesthetics and philosophies; historical influences; project evaluation and control; repair techniques; materials; reuse of buildings; legal issues; inspection, recording and monitoring; management and interpretation; and historic parks and gardens.


Journal of Architectural Education
The Journal of Architectural Education (JAE) has been the primary venue for research and commentary on architectural education since it was founded in 1947. Published by the Associate of Collegiate School of Architecture (ACSA), the journal publishes include: Scholarship of Design, Design as Scholarship, Op Arch, Translations, Transactions, Interviews, and several form of review, from buildings + projects to books and symposia.
Journal of Architecture and Urbanism
The Journal of Architecture and Urbanism is a peer-review academic journal which publishes original research papers. The journal presents new results of research and provides a forum for discussion and debate relating to numerous areas of architecture and urbanism. The topics include: urban design and planning; sustainable development of regional structures; history and theory of architecture and urban planning; history and theory of landscape architecture; protection of architecture and urban heritage; technologies of architecture and urban design; architectural education. Each issue of the journal is thematically based and edited by the guest editor.
Journal of Building Pathology and Refurbishment
Structural Survey: Journal of Building Pathology and Refurbishment publishes findings on contemporary and original research in building pathology and building forensics, refurbishment and adaptation. This includes all related areas towards supporting more sustainable and resilient futures. The journal aims to publish rigorous research articles, case studies and reviews concerning innovative investigations on topics related to technical, managerial and legal issues affecting land, property and construction. Particular emphasis is placed on the emerging environmental challenges associated with sustaining the modern built environment. 
Journal of College Science Teaching
Note: eJournal
The Journal of College Science Teaching provides a forum for the exchange of ideas on and experiences with undergraduate science courses, particularly those for non science majors. JCST also reports and discusses innovative teaching materials, methods, and evaluative criteria; disseminate contributions toward improving college science instruction; and describes work in disciplinary science courses that is broad enough in its approach to appeal to teachers in other scientific fields.
Journal of Finance

Overview

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is the most widely cited academic journal on finance. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

Aims and Scope

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is one of the most widely cited academic journal on finance and one of the most widely cited journals in all of economics as well. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

Keywords

finance, journal, American, association, AFA, financial, economics, theory, markets, international, exchange, derivatives, trading, structures, journal, article, periodical, analysis, research, modelling, macroeconomics, policy
Journal of Landscape Architecture
JoLA is the academic Journal of the European Council of Landscape Architecture Schools (ECLAS), established in 2006. It is published three times a year. JoLA aims to support, stimulate, and extend scholarly debate in Landscape Architecture and related fields. It also gives space to the reflective practitioner and to design research. The journal welcomes articles addressing any aspect of Landscape Architecture, to cultivate the diverse identity of the discipline.
Journal of Property Investment & Finance
The Journal of Property Investment & Finance is an international forum for the interchange of information and ideas relating to property valuation and investment, property management and decision making in the commercial property market. The aim is to inform and encourage debate internationally between academics and practising professionals in all aspects of real estate research and practice.   
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society. Series C (Applied Statistics)
Note: e-journal
This journal promotes papers that are driven by real life problems and that make a novel contribution to the subject.

                                                    
JSTOR
Note: Electronic Database
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education

 
JSTOR for Accounting
Note: Electronic Databases
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.it covers the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education.
JSTOR for management
Note: Electronic Database
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education.
Knowledge, identity, and curriculum transformation in Africa
Note: Book
Title Knowledge, identity, and curriculum transformation in Africa / edited by Nico Cloete ... [et al].
Pub info Cape Town: Maskew Miller Longman, 1997.
Descript vii, 206 p.; 24 cm.
Note Consists of papers presented at a seminar initiated by CHET and held Mar. 21-23 1997.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Education, Higher -- South Africa -- Curricula -- Congresses.
  Curriculum change -- South Africa -- Congresses.
Add author Cloete, Nico.
  Centre for Higher Education Transformation.
ISBN 0636035352
 
Land Economics
Land Economics is dedicated to the study of land use, natural resources, public utilities, housing, and urban land issues. Established in 1925 by the renowned economist and founder of the American Economic Association, Richard T. Ely, at the University of Wisconsin, Land Economics has consistently published innovative, conceptual, and empirical research of direct relevance to economists. Each issue brings the latest results in international applied research on such topics as transportation, energy, urban and rural land use, housing, environmental quality, public utilities, and natural resources.
Landscape Journal: design, planning, and management of the land
The mission of landscape architecture is supported by research and theory in many fields. Landscape Journal offers in-depth exploration of ideas and challenges that are central to contemporary design, planning, and teaching. Besides scholarly features, Landscape Journal also includes editorial columns, creative work, reviews of books, conferences, technology, and exhibitions.
Leading and managing learning and teaching in higher education
Note: Article
This paper outlines the findings of a study that examined the conceptions of academics regarding the nature of ‘leading’ and ‘managing’ learning and teaching in six Australian universities. These data were considered in the light of institutional systems and documentation regarding the leadership and management of learning and teaching and the contemporary literature on leadership and management, particularly in higher education. The research found that there was congruence between academic conceptions of the roles of leaders and managers in HE and those found in other contexts. In contrast, there was considerable variance and significant gaps between these conceptions and HR and professional development practices. The paper reports findings that have significant implications for more systematic and explicit professional development for University leaders and managers of teaching and learning. In addition, it argues that changes are required to the prevailing approaches in the current HR systems and policies in order to effectively develop, support and recognize effective leadership and management practices as they relate to learning and teaching.
Library Management journal
The journal reflects the latest research undertaken in academic, government and corporate institutions by reporting contemporary thought, whilst also exploring practical implications for those involved in teaching and practice.

Management information systems for enterprise applications / by Adamantios Koumpis.
Note: dawnsonera e-book
"This book provides the conceptual and methodological foundations that reflect interdisciplinary concerns regarding research in management information systems, investigating the future of management information systems by means of analyzing a variety of MIS and service-related concepts in a wide range of disciplines"
Managing the university curriculum: making common cause
Note: Book
Title Managing the university curriculum : making common cause / edited by Jean Bocock and David Watson.
Pub info Buckingham, [England] : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press, c1994.
Descript x, 140 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Education, Higher -- Great Britain -- Curricula -- Congresses.
  Universities and colleges -- Great Britain -- Administration -- Congresses.
  Teacher participation in administration -- Great Britain -- Congresses.
Add author Bocock, Jean.
  Watson, David.
ISBN 0335193390 (pbk.)
 
Mathematics in School
Note: e-journal
This lively journal is produced five times per year and includes contributions from mathematics practitioners. It reflects the best of current thinking and practice. In addition to articles covering mathematics teaching, it provides practical advice on general teaching methods, information on the analysis of official reports and reviews of classroom based projects and surveys. It is aimed at teachers of secondary pupils, students in training and all those with a professional interest in mathematics education. (Teachers of primary pupils may also find this journal useful.) Regular features include Mathematical Resources, Book Reviews and the Correspondence Column. Mathematics in School is published by the Mathematical Association, an organization based out of the UK.

 
Modern construction economics
Traditional building economics has primarily been concerned with issues around project appraisal and cost management techniques. On the other hand, modern construction economics has a wider focus with stronger links to mainstream economics, reflecting an increased interest in a range of theoretical issues in construction economics, both at the macro and micro level. In "Modern Construction Economics: Theory and Application", a variety of approaches are used to present a coherent vision of synthesis between industry economics and project economics. Topics covered in this title include: developing construction economics as industry economics; competition and barriers to entry in construction; innovation in construction; theory testing in building economics research; and, collusion and corruption in the construction Sector. Including contributions from academics in the UK, Sweden, Hong Kong, and Australia, this is a truly global review of a core issue for the construction industry worldwide. The result is a unique book that will push toward the development of a comprehensive theoretical framework of construction economics. This is a must-read for all serious students of construction economics, and all practitioners looking for a deeper understanding of their industry.
Motivation of teachers in higher education
Note: Article
Purpose: Motivation is the process that accounts for an individual’s intensity, direction and persistence of effort toward attaining a goal (Robbins and Judge, 2008). Teacher motivation is vital to the growing and evolving field of higher education, yet it is not investigated enough. Need for rapid growth of higher education, issues in compensation, developments in information technology and dearth for teaching and technical skills brought teacher motivation to the center stage. The purpose of this paper is to apply McGregor’s Theory X and Theory Y to study teacher motivation in higher education.
 
Design/methodology/approach: An empirical study was conducted through survey method. A questionnaire was designed to elicit responses from randomly selected respondents.
 
Findings: Teachers in higher education were classified under Theory X and Theory Y styles. The relationship between teaching style and specific motivators in the class and on the job, preferred teaching methods and classroom management techniques were investigated.
 
Research limitations/implications: Application of McGregor’s Theory X and Theory Y to understand teacher motivation in higher education provided interesting and new insights.
 
Social implications: This study would have implications for teacher-student fit and institution-teacher fit in learning environments.
 
Originality/value: The nature of a teacher’s way-of-being matters to his/her motivation and performance in classroom. Implications exist for teacher recruitment and teacher training programs in relation to the profile of students and identifying and implementing right methodologies for classroom performance. This study has and ragogical implications for classroom teaching, relationship with students and parents and interpersonal relationships among peers and education administrators.
 

Online Information Review
Note: Journal
Business Statistics on the Web is the latest publication by well‐known business statistics expert and author, Paula Bernstein. Finding statistics and company financial information used to be a tedious and time‐consuming task. With the advent of the Web many resources on statistical information became available either free of charge or at reasonable prices. If one knows about these sources, and how to formulate a statistical search strategy, useful statistical information may be only a few clicks away. Paula Bernstein tries to offer this opportunity to the novice as well as the more experienced statistical information searcher. Although she focuses on Web resources available free or at reasonable prices, she also refers the reader to the statistical databases that are commercially available through Dialog.
Oxford Journals Online
Note: Electronic Database
Oxford Journals Online entails information on Biological Sciences, Medicine, Public Health& Epidemiology, Mathematics, Computers, Statistics, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Palgrave MacMillan Journals
Note: Electronic Database
Palgrave MacMillan offer a combined portfolio of 25 peer-reviewed e-journals.
Preparing to teach: an introduction to effective teaching in higher education
Note: Book
Author Gibbs, Graham.
Title Preparing to teach : an introduction to effective teaching in higher education / Graham Gibbs, Trevor Habeshaw.
Pub info Bristol : Technical & Educational, 1992.
Descript ix, 255 p. : forms ; 22 cm.
Series Interesting ways to teach
Note Includes index.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Higher education institutions Teaching
Add author Habeshaw, Trevor.
  Gibbs, Graham. Prepare to teach.
ISBN 0947885560 (pbk.)
 
ProQuest Ebook Central
Note: Electronic Database
Collection of e-books covering the following disciplines: Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Fine Arts, History, Language and Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences and Technology.
Quality assurance in higher education : an omni-systemic approach (Volume 3) / V. D. Madan.
Note:  Book
Author Madan, V.D.
Title Quality assurance in higher education : an omni-systemic approach (Volume 3)/ V.D. Madan.
Pub info New Delhi : Authorspress, 2007.
Descript xx, 544 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Quality assurance...Higher education.
ISBN 8172733739 (hbk.)

Quality assurance in higher education : the UK experience since 1992 / Roger Brown.
Note: Book
Author Brown, Roger.
Title Quality assurance in higher education : the UK experience since 1992 / Roger Brown. 
Pub info London : RoutledgeFalmer, 2004.
Descript xv, 201 p. ; 20 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Quality assurance...Higher education
ISBN 9780415334921 (hbk.)

real estate finance
Note: Journal article 
This work by Nick French(Oxford Brooke University,Oxford, UK). It is  divided into 21 chapters supported by various supplements and prerequisites dotted around the text at the relevant point or contained in the appendices. The majority of the writings are taken from various editions of the Wharton Review either authored or coauthored by Peter Linneman. These are great at adding flesh to the bones; they take the fundamentals discussed in each chapter and place the theory in context. 
Real estate finance
 The stated purpose of this book is to explain the principles and practices of real estate finance as needed by people preparing for careers in mortgage lending. The book is also suggested as being a suitable real estate finance text and reference for college and university students, trade and professional people, and borrowers. The book focuses on mortgage lending and the stated purpose is achieved. The book should prove a useful reference for certain trade and professional groups also. The focus is so narrow, however, that the book is not suitable, by itself, as a text for a general course in real estate finance. Also, it is not a suitable reference for most borrowers. Real Estate Finance is made up of 13 chapters, a glossary, and an index. The emphasis is on residential finance, though some aspects of financing income properties are taken up. 
Relationship Marketing, Knowledge Management Systems and E-Commerce Operations in Small UK Accountancy Practices
Note: Journal Article
Some firms are using relationship marketing linked to knowledge management systemsto achieve competitive advantage. Limited empirical evidence exists on the contribution that relationship marketing and knowledge management systems can make towards market success. E-commerce provides an opportunity to assess possible relationships that may exist between relationship marketing; knowledge management systems andmarket performance. A survey of small UK accounting practices suggests that adopting a relationship marketing orientation can enhance market performance. Those practices, which have adopted a relationship marketing orientation, tend to have established knowledge management systems and be involved in ecommerce. The implications of these findings are discussed and proposals made about further research needs.
Royal Society
Mathematics, engineering and other physical sciences, All biological sciences; particularly good on ecology, environment, Multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary science.

SAGE Journals Online
Note: Electronic Database
SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Known for our commitment to quality and innovation, we are a world leader in our chosen scholarly, educational, and professional markets.
Series: Reading the American Landscape Help Guide
Note: E-Book
The successful realization of diversity, resilience, usefulness, profitability, or beauty in landscape design requires a firm understanding of the stakeholders'values. This collection, which incorporates a wide variety of geographic locations and cultural perspectives, reinforces the necessity for clear and articulate comprehension of the many factors that guide the design process. As the contributors to this collection reveal, dominant and emerging social, political, philosophical, and economic concerns perpetually assert themselves in designed landscapes, from manifestations of class consciousness in Napa Valley vineyards to recurring themes and conflicts in American commemorative culture as seen in designs for national memorials. One essay demonstrates the lasting impact of the doctrine of Manifest Destiny on the culture and spaces of the Midwest, while another considers the shifting historical narratives that led to the de-domestication and subsequent re-wilding of the Oostvaardersplassen in the Netherlands. These eleven essays help foster the ability to conduct a balanced analysis of various value systems and produce a lucid visualization of the necessary tradeoffs. Offering an array of case studies and theoretical arguments, Values in Landscape Architecture and Environmental Design encourages professionals and educators to bring self-awareness, precision, and accountability to their consideration of landscape designs.
Special Libraries: A Guide for Management
In an age which is beginning to reverberate with noises of blowing up the corporate library (the article by Davenport and Prusak is cited) and the beginnings of viable alternatives to it, the Special Libraries Association has produced a description of the activities, functions and potential of how the “library in the organisation” was and is, rather than how it might be.

Springer eJournals
Note: Electronic Database
Springer is one the most leading international scientific publishing companies. Springer ejournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
Strategies in teaching and learning
Note: Book
Author Siyakwazi, Ben John
Title Strategies in teaching and learning / B.J. Siyakwazi and P.D. Siyakwazi.
Pub info Harare : Sapes Books, 1999.
Descript 92 p. : ill. ; 21 cm.
Note Includes index.
  Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Teaching.
Add author Siyakwazi, Peggy Doris
ISBN 1779050852 (pbk.)

Structural Survey
Structural Survey: Journal of Building Pathology and Refurbishment publishes findings on contemporary and original research in building pathology and building forensics, refurbishment and adaptation. This includes all related areas towards supporting more sustainable and resilient futures. The journal aims to publish rigorous research articles, case studies and reviews concerning innovative investigations on topics related to technical, managerial and legal issues affecting land, property and construction. Particular emphasis is placed on the emerging environmental challenges associated with sustaining the modern built environment. 
Student Assessment of Teaching in Higher Education
Note: Article
Higher Education is recognised as the leading international journal of Higher Education studies, publishing eight separate numbers each year. Since its establishment in 1972, Higher Education has followed educational developments throughout the world in universities, polytechnics, colleges, and vocational and education institutions. It has actively endeavoured to report on developments in both public and private Higher Education sectors. Contributions have come from leading scholars from different countries while articles have tackled the problems of teachers as well as students, and of planners as well as administrators.
 
Student Outcomes Assessment in Higher Education
Note: Article
Teacher Education Quarterly is a nationally and internationally respected, peer-reviewed scholarly journal sponsored by the California Council on Teacher Education. Most quarterly issues contain articles selected for publication by the editor based on recommendations from an international panel of reviewers; occasional issues are guest-edited collections focused on a specific theme. The journal is now in its 40th year of publication. The acceptance rate is between 12 to 15 percent. Print copies are distributed to members of the sponsoring organization and other library and individual subscribers; back issues are available on the journal's website. 
Sustainable and Modern Architecture
Chapter 1 - Introduction to Sustainable Architecture Chapter 2 - Low-energy House and Passive House Chapter 3 - Zero-energy Building Chapter 4 - Autonomous Building Chapter 5 - Green Building Chapter 6 - Modern Architecture Chapter 7 - New Objectivity Chapter 8 - Functionalism Chapter 9 - International Style Chapter 10 - Futurist Architecture
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Note: Electronic Database
Over 50,000 eBooks are available from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education and Law.

 
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Note: Electronic database

Over 50,000 eBooks are available from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education and Law.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Note: Database
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Note: Electronic Database
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Note: Electronic Database
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publishers in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
 
The Accounting Review
The Accounting Review is the premier journal for publishing articles reporting the results of accounting research and explaining and illustrating related research methodology. The scope of acceptable articles embraces any research methodology and any accounting-related subject. The primary criterion for publication in The Accounting Review is the significance of the contribution an article makes to the literature.

The African university and its mission: strategies for improving the delivery of higher education
Note: Book
Author Ngara, Emmanuel.
Title The African university and its mission : strategies for improving the delivery of higher education institution / Emmanuel Ngara.
Pub info Roma, Lesotho : Institute of Southern African Studies, National University of Lesotho, c1995.
Descript xviii, 194 p. ; 23 cm.
Series ISAS book series .
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Education, Higher -- Africa.
  Education, Higher -- Aims and objectives -- Africa.
  Universities and colleges -- Africa -- Administration.
 
The Elementary School Journal
Note: e-journal
This journal has served researchers, teacher educators, and practitioners in the elementary and middle school education for over one hundred years. Elementary School Journal publishes peer-reviewed articles dealing with both education theory and research and their implications for teaching practice. In addition, ESJ presents articles that relate the latest research in child development, cognitive psychology, and sociology to school learning and teaching.

 
The Interaction between Accruals Management and Financial Engineering With Special Purpose Entities
Note: Journal Article
Purpose: In response to recent financial corporate scandals, this study aims to provide a helpful understanding for investors and accounting regulators on how firms manage their reported earnings. This leads to a better firm valuation by financial intermediaries and more useful accounting standards.

Design/Methodology/Approach: Estimating discretionary accruals and opportunistic special purpose entities and using a simultaneous equation approach, the aim is to check how managers trade off between such tools of earnings management. Based on real earnings manipulation and accruals management of earnings, the goal is to understand if such tools are used simultaneously or as substitute by firms.

Findings:
After controlling for each cost determinants of such earnings management tool, firms use discretionary accruals and financial engineering with special purpose entities as substitutes. Additional analyses show that managers use such tools in a sequential process. Indeed, they first use special purpose entities during the course of the year but they manipulate discretionary accruals especially at the end of the year.

Research Limitations/Implications: Despite sensitivity checks, measurement error in discretionary accruals proxy and opportunistic SPE estimation model remains an alternative explanation for the results. The sample size and the lack of accurate information about the size of special purpose entities may limit the extent of the findings.

Practical Implications: It is a very useful tool for regulators when they plan to disclose new accounting standards. For investors, this study can help them in assessing the firm's value more accurately for investing and financing purposes.

Originality/Value: Providing a new methodology and new models to detect pervasive earnings management strategies adopted by firms.

The Journal of Education
Note: e-journal
This Journal is committed to publishing articles that inform best practice in the education of students and their teachers.

 
The Journal of Higher Education
Note: Electronic Journal
It is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and program managers.
The science education of biology teachers
Note: Article
A report of a conference discussion at Nottingham on the need for augmenting the scientific knowledge of trainee biology teachers in University Departments of Education. Statistics were gathered from a sample of 64 students as a basis for the discussion. These indicate the extent to which the students lack training in relevant scientific subjects and in particular biological topics.
The Urban Design Reader, 2nd Edited by Michael Larice and Elizabeth Macdonald

The second edition of The Urban Design Reader draws together the very best of classic and contemporary writings to illuminate and expand the theory and practice of urban design. Nearly 50 generous selections include seminal contributions from Howard, Le Corbusier, Lynch, and Jacobs to more recent writings by Waldheim, Koolhaas, and Sorkin. Following the widespread success of the first edition of The Urban Design Reader, this updated edition continues to provide the most important historical material of the urban design field, but also introduces new topics and selections that address the myriad challenges facing designers today.

The six part structure of the second edition guides the reader through the history, theory and practice of urban design. The reader is initially introduced to those classic writings that provide the historical precedents for city-making into the twentieth century. Part Two introduces the voices and ideas that were instrumental in establishing the foundations of the urban design field from the late 1950s up to the mid-1990s. These authors present a critical reading of the design professions and offer an alternative urban design agenda focused on vital and lively places. The authors in Part Three provide a range of urban design rationales and strategies for reinforcing local physical identity and the creation of memorable places. These selections are largely describing the outcomes of mid-century urban design and voicing concerns over the placeless quality of contemporary urbanism. The fourth part of the Reader explores key issues in urban design and development. Ideas about sprawl, density, community health, public space and everyday life are the primary focus here. Several new selections in this part of the book also highlight important international development trends in the Middle East and China. Part Five presents environmental challenges faced by the built environment professions today, including recent material on landscape urbanism, sustainability, and urban resiliency. The final part examines professional practice and current debates in the field: where urban designers work, what they do, their roles, their fields of knowledge and their educational development. The section concludes with several position pieces and debates on the future of urban design practice.

This book provides an essential resource for students and practitioners of urban design, drawing together important but widely dispersed writings. Part and section introductions are provided to assist readers in understanding the context of the material, summary messages, impacts of the writing, and how they fit into the larger picture of the urban design field.


Thinking About Architecture : An Introduction to Architectural Theory/ Davies, Colin Help Guide
Note: E-Book
In order to understand architecture in all its cultural complexity it is necessary to grasp certain basic concepts such as representation, form, and space. The aim of this book is to provide teachers, students, practicing architects, and curious general readers with a set of ideas that will enrich their conversation, their writing, and above all theirthinking about architecture. The book is divided into eight chapters, each covering a particular aspect ofarchitecture, and introduces difficult concepts gradually. Architectural theorists and philosophers are mentioned in passing and their works are listed in the bibliography, but they are not the subject of the book. Architecture, rather than philosophy, is at the center of the picture. The aim is to enable the reader to understand architecture in all its aspects, rather than to learn the names of particular theorists. Written in a conversational style, Thinking aboutArchitecture is an invaluable and accessible standard introduction to architectural theory.
Urban design:health and therapeutic Environment
Climate change and the degradation of the environment are fundamental considerations in any discussion of urban design in the twenty-first century. There is a growing awareness of the relationship between environment and well-being. There is a sense in which the health and well-being of the individual is linked to the health of the wider community and, indeed, to the health of the supporting environment. This book focuses on sustainable development and citizen well-being to determine how far they are compatible and then analyses the urban environment that might result from the application of these ideas. In other words, is the ‘sustainable city’ likely to be a ‘healthy city’ for its citizens, and is the therapeutic environment also sustainable? If so, what is the form of such an urban environment?
Urbana: Urban Affairs and Public Policy
Urbana: Urban Affairs and Public Policy is a peer reviewed, multidisciplinary open-access scholarly journal focusing on urban issues at an international level, exploring all aspects of cities and urbanization including urban planning, economics, history, politics, international relations and literature.
Using Peer Instruction With Hints in Introductory Business Statistics
Note: Journal Article
​Purpose:    Peer instruction has been widely adopted as an instructional method in higher education. However, due to students' different preconceptions, the authors argued that peer instruction is not a panacea in international business education when students' prior knowledge extensively varies. The paper aims to discuss these issues.

Design/methodology/approach:    In this experimental study, the authors focused on three conditions of an introductory statistics course: individual problem solving, peer instruction, and peer instruction with hints.

Findings:   The authors have found students in peer instruction with hints class did not only outperform in the final exam, but also achieved the highest frequency of successful conceptual changes in comparison with their counterparts in the other two classes.

Practical implications:    Providing instructional hints to improve the effectiveness of peer instruction may shed light on classroom instruction in higher education.

Originality/value:   As for international business education, this was a unique exploration to capture students' conceptual changes using clickers. The authors believed this research paper will help the education practitioners to know their business students better.
Values in Landscape Architecture and Environmental Design : Finding Center in Theory and Practice/ Deming, E. Elen Help Guide
Note: E-Book
The successful realization of diversity, resilience, usefulness, profitability, or beauty in landscape design requires a firm understanding of the stakeholders'values. This collection, which incorporates a wide variety of geographic locations and cultural perspectives, reinforces the necessity for clear and articulate comprehension of the many factors that guide the design process. As the contributors to this collection reveal, dominant and emerging social, political, philosophical, and economic concerns perpetually assert themselves in designed landscapes, from manifestations of class consciousness in Napa Valley vineyards to recurring themes and conflicts in American commemorative culture as seen in designs for national memorials. One essay demonstrates the lasting impact of the doctrine of Manifest Destiny on the culture and spaces of the Midwest, while another considers the shifting historical narratives that led to the de-domestication and subsequent re-wilding of the Oostvaardersplassen in the Netherlands. These eleven essays help foster the ability to conduct a balanced analysis of various value systems and produce a lucid visualization of the necessary tradeoffs. Offering an array of case studies and theoretical arguments, Values in Landscape Architecture and Environmental Design encourages professionals and educators to bring self-awareness, precision, and accountability to their consideration of landscape designs.
Wiley Online Library
Note: Electronic Database
Wiley online Library provides access to over 500 journals in Science, Technology, Medicine,  Humanities and social Sciences collection.
World Bank – Global Development Finance (GDF) Database
Note: Database
Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries.
World Bank – Global Economic Monitor
Note: Database
Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data updates are provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
Zede Journal
Zede is a scientific journal on engineering science and application, produced under the auspices of the Addis Ababa Institute of Technology, Addis Ababa University. The main objective of the journal is to publish research articles, findings and discussions on engineering sciences, technology and architecture thereby assisting in the dissemination of engineering knowledge and methodologies in solving engineering problems
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files