Databases
ABCDEFG HIJKLMOPQRSTUVWZNumAll

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Note: Electronic Database
The Gale e-book collection is available in 11 subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, History, Literature, Medicine, Religion, Science and Sociology.
Governance Modes and Interests: Higher Education and Innovation Policy in Austria
Note: Journal Article
Governance has become one of the central concepts in political science, but what is absent is the question: Which modes of governance produce which policy output? This paper develops a classification scheme for modes of governance in all dimensions of public policy and then applies it empirically in four Austrian case studies concerning higher education and innovation. We extend the scholarly discussion on governance to the factor interests and argue that this analytical factor needs to be taken into account in future research in order to understand the modes of governance in policy processes.
Green Construction Project Management and Cost Oversight/ Sam Kubba
Building green” and “sustainability” are words that permeate just about every publication these days dealing with construction, leasing, asset management, financing, and development. In much of the same way that non-animal based food products are often labeled “cholesterol free” so as to cash-in on the health craze, so too are the words “green” and “sustainability” with respect to buildings.

Dr. Kubba recognizes that “green” and “sustainability” are becoming the new paradigm, especially for end users under a corporate directive to lease or acquire LEED buildings. This book cuts through the hype with pragmatic information and procedures providing the user with sufficient information to make the necessary decisions with confidence when deciding to go “green,” and the steps to implement a successful green building program. Besides the societal and health benefits that accrue to the occupants, energy efficient buildings are a necessity. Although at the time of this writing crude oil is priced at $70/barrel, it was only 14 months ago when it reached its peak of $147. Given that most buildings have an expected useful life of about 50 years, peak oil will be realized during this term, and the ensuing competition for this resource will manifest itself in an increase in all operating costs. This pertains not only to building energy consumed, but to embedded energy as well, which is incorporated in all building materials and services. Just as we as a nation must re-think our over consumption, so too must we re-think our built environment to take into consideration energy efficiency and increases in productivity.

Regardless of corporate directives, going green is simply good business. End users will be seeking buildings that are cost efficient to operate, and such buildings will have a competitive advantage over those that are not.

Sustainability is becoming standard practice—not only because it corresponds to best practices, but out of necessity.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files