Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLM OPQRSTUVWZNumAll

Management information systems for enterprise applications / by Adamantios Koumpis.
Note: dawnsonera e-book
"This book provides the conceptual and methodological foundations that reflect interdisciplinary concerns regarding research in management information systems, investigating the future of management information systems by means of analyzing a variety of MIS and service-related concepts in a wide range of disciplines"
Managing the university curriculum: making common cause
Note: Book
Title Managing the university curriculum : making common cause / edited by Jean Bocock and David Watson.
Pub info Buckingham, [England] : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press, c1994.
Descript x, 140 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Education, Higher -- Great Britain -- Curricula -- Congresses.
  Universities and colleges -- Great Britain -- Administration -- Congresses.
  Teacher participation in administration -- Great Britain -- Congresses.
Add author Bocock, Jean.
  Watson, David.
ISBN 0335193390 (pbk.)
 
Mathematics in School
Note: e-journal
This lively journal is produced five times per year and includes contributions from mathematics practitioners. It reflects the best of current thinking and practice. In addition to articles covering mathematics teaching, it provides practical advice on general teaching methods, information on the analysis of official reports and reviews of classroom based projects and surveys. It is aimed at teachers of secondary pupils, students in training and all those with a professional interest in mathematics education. (Teachers of primary pupils may also find this journal useful.) Regular features include Mathematical Resources, Book Reviews and the Correspondence Column. Mathematics in School is published by the Mathematical Association, an organization based out of the UK.

 
Modern construction economics
Traditional building economics has primarily been concerned with issues around project appraisal and cost management techniques. On the other hand, modern construction economics has a wider focus with stronger links to mainstream economics, reflecting an increased interest in a range of theoretical issues in construction economics, both at the macro and micro level. In "Modern Construction Economics: Theory and Application", a variety of approaches are used to present a coherent vision of synthesis between industry economics and project economics. Topics covered in this title include: developing construction economics as industry economics; competition and barriers to entry in construction; innovation in construction; theory testing in building economics research; and, collusion and corruption in the construction Sector. Including contributions from academics in the UK, Sweden, Hong Kong, and Australia, this is a truly global review of a core issue for the construction industry worldwide. The result is a unique book that will push toward the development of a comprehensive theoretical framework of construction economics. This is a must-read for all serious students of construction economics, and all practitioners looking for a deeper understanding of their industry.
Motivation of teachers in higher education
Note: Article
Purpose: Motivation is the process that accounts for an individual’s intensity, direction and persistence of effort toward attaining a goal (Robbins and Judge, 2008). Teacher motivation is vital to the growing and evolving field of higher education, yet it is not investigated enough. Need for rapid growth of higher education, issues in compensation, developments in information technology and dearth for teaching and technical skills brought teacher motivation to the center stage. The purpose of this paper is to apply McGregor’s Theory X and Theory Y to study teacher motivation in higher education.
 
Design/methodology/approach: An empirical study was conducted through survey method. A questionnaire was designed to elicit responses from randomly selected respondents.
 
Findings: Teachers in higher education were classified under Theory X and Theory Y styles. The relationship between teaching style and specific motivators in the class and on the job, preferred teaching methods and classroom management techniques were investigated.
 
Research limitations/implications: Application of McGregor’s Theory X and Theory Y to understand teacher motivation in higher education provided interesting and new insights.
 
Social implications: This study would have implications for teacher-student fit and institution-teacher fit in learning environments.
 
Originality/value: The nature of a teacher’s way-of-being matters to his/her motivation and performance in classroom. Implications exist for teacher recruitment and teacher training programs in relation to the profile of students and identifying and implementing right methodologies for classroom performance. This study has and ragogical implications for classroom teaching, relationship with students and parents and interpersonal relationships among peers and education administrators.
 

Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files