Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMOPQRST UVWZNumAll

Taylor & Francis eBooks
Note: Electronic database

Over 50,000 eBooks are available from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education and Law.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Note: Electronic Database
Over 50,000 eBooks are available from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education and Law.

 
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Note: Database
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Note: Electronic Database
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Note: Electronic Database
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publishers in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
 
The Accounting Review
The Accounting Review is the premier journal for publishing articles reporting the results of accounting research and explaining and illustrating related research methodology. The scope of acceptable articles embraces any research methodology and any accounting-related subject. The primary criterion for publication in The Accounting Review is the significance of the contribution an article makes to the literature.

The African university and its mission: strategies for improving the delivery of higher education
Note: Book
Author Ngara, Emmanuel.
Title The African university and its mission : strategies for improving the delivery of higher education institution / Emmanuel Ngara.
Pub info Roma, Lesotho : Institute of Southern African Studies, National University of Lesotho, c1995.
Descript xviii, 194 p. ; 23 cm.
Series ISAS book series .
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Education, Higher -- Africa.
  Education, Higher -- Aims and objectives -- Africa.
  Universities and colleges -- Africa -- Administration.
 
The Elementary School Journal
Note: e-journal
This journal has served researchers, teacher educators, and practitioners in the elementary and middle school education for over one hundred years. Elementary School Journal publishes peer-reviewed articles dealing with both education theory and research and their implications for teaching practice. In addition, ESJ presents articles that relate the latest research in child development, cognitive psychology, and sociology to school learning and teaching.

 
The Interaction between Accruals Management and Financial Engineering With Special Purpose Entities
Note: Journal Article
Purpose: In response to recent financial corporate scandals, this study aims to provide a helpful understanding for investors and accounting regulators on how firms manage their reported earnings. This leads to a better firm valuation by financial intermediaries and more useful accounting standards.

Design/Methodology/Approach: Estimating discretionary accruals and opportunistic special purpose entities and using a simultaneous equation approach, the aim is to check how managers trade off between such tools of earnings management. Based on real earnings manipulation and accruals management of earnings, the goal is to understand if such tools are used simultaneously or as substitute by firms.

Findings:
After controlling for each cost determinants of such earnings management tool, firms use discretionary accruals and financial engineering with special purpose entities as substitutes. Additional analyses show that managers use such tools in a sequential process. Indeed, they first use special purpose entities during the course of the year but they manipulate discretionary accruals especially at the end of the year.

Research Limitations/Implications: Despite sensitivity checks, measurement error in discretionary accruals proxy and opportunistic SPE estimation model remains an alternative explanation for the results. The sample size and the lack of accurate information about the size of special purpose entities may limit the extent of the findings.

Practical Implications: It is a very useful tool for regulators when they plan to disclose new accounting standards. For investors, this study can help them in assessing the firm's value more accurately for investing and financing purposes.

Originality/Value: Providing a new methodology and new models to detect pervasive earnings management strategies adopted by firms.

The Journal of Education
Note: e-journal
This Journal is committed to publishing articles that inform best practice in the education of students and their teachers.

 
The Journal of Higher Education
Note: Electronic Journal
It is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and program managers.
The science education of biology teachers
Note: Article
A report of a conference discussion at Nottingham on the need for augmenting the scientific knowledge of trainee biology teachers in University Departments of Education. Statistics were gathered from a sample of 64 students as a basis for the discussion. These indicate the extent to which the students lack training in relevant scientific subjects and in particular biological topics.
The Urban Design Reader, 2nd Edited by Michael Larice and Elizabeth Macdonald

The second edition of The Urban Design Reader draws together the very best of classic and contemporary writings to illuminate and expand the theory and practice of urban design. Nearly 50 generous selections include seminal contributions from Howard, Le Corbusier, Lynch, and Jacobs to more recent writings by Waldheim, Koolhaas, and Sorkin. Following the widespread success of the first edition of The Urban Design Reader, this updated edition continues to provide the most important historical material of the urban design field, but also introduces new topics and selections that address the myriad challenges facing designers today.

The six part structure of the second edition guides the reader through the history, theory and practice of urban design. The reader is initially introduced to those classic writings that provide the historical precedents for city-making into the twentieth century. Part Two introduces the voices and ideas that were instrumental in establishing the foundations of the urban design field from the late 1950s up to the mid-1990s. These authors present a critical reading of the design professions and offer an alternative urban design agenda focused on vital and lively places. The authors in Part Three provide a range of urban design rationales and strategies for reinforcing local physical identity and the creation of memorable places. These selections are largely describing the outcomes of mid-century urban design and voicing concerns over the placeless quality of contemporary urbanism. The fourth part of the Reader explores key issues in urban design and development. Ideas about sprawl, density, community health, public space and everyday life are the primary focus here. Several new selections in this part of the book also highlight important international development trends in the Middle East and China. Part Five presents environmental challenges faced by the built environment professions today, including recent material on landscape urbanism, sustainability, and urban resiliency. The final part examines professional practice and current debates in the field: where urban designers work, what they do, their roles, their fields of knowledge and their educational development. The section concludes with several position pieces and debates on the future of urban design practice.

This book provides an essential resource for students and practitioners of urban design, drawing together important but widely dispersed writings. Part and section introductions are provided to assist readers in understanding the context of the material, summary messages, impacts of the writing, and how they fit into the larger picture of the urban design field.


Thinking About Architecture : An Introduction to Architectural Theory/ Davies, Colin Help Guide
Note: E-Book
In order to understand architecture in all its cultural complexity it is necessary to grasp certain basic concepts such as representation, form, and space. The aim of this book is to provide teachers, students, practicing architects, and curious general readers with a set of ideas that will enrich their conversation, their writing, and above all theirthinking about architecture. The book is divided into eight chapters, each covering a particular aspect ofarchitecture, and introduces difficult concepts gradually. Architectural theorists and philosophers are mentioned in passing and their works are listed in the bibliography, but they are not the subject of the book. Architecture, rather than philosophy, is at the center of the picture. The aim is to enable the reader to understand architecture in all its aspects, rather than to learn the names of particular theorists. Written in a conversational style, Thinking aboutArchitecture is an invaluable and accessible standard introduction to architectural theory.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files