Biological Science Education
Biological sciences, in the broadest sense, is the study of life. As such, it is a subject of great diversity and requires a background in many academic disciplines. A biologist must have a basic understanding of and be able to synthesize knowledge from physics, chemistry, geology, math and the social sciences as they relate to living systems. This guide is intended to help researchers to access relevent information specific to their fields of interest.
All Items by Source

Articles

Infusing quantitative approaches throughout the biological sciences curriculum
A major curriculum redesign effort at the University of Maryland is infusing all levels of our undergraduate biological sciences curriculum with increased emphasis on interdisciplinary connections and quantitative approaches. The curriculum development efforts have largely been guided by recommendations in the National Research Council's Bio 2010 report and have resulted in revisions to courses in biology, mathematics, and physics over a period of 10 years. Important components of this effort included (1) developing online modules to infuse more mathematical content into six biology courses taken by biological sciences majors during their first 2 years of study; (2) strengthening the interdisciplinary connections of ancillary courses in mathematics and physics to support the development of quantitative skills in biological contexts; and (3) creating more quantitatively intensive courses for the final 2 years of the bachelors of science programme. These efforts, carried out by a large, multidisciplinary team of faculty, have resulted in increased coherence in the undergraduate biological sciences curriculum, increased quantitative skills in first- and second-year students, and a greater appreciation among graduates for the essential relationship between mathematics and modern biology.
note: Article
Making sense with posters in biological science education
Posters make sense. They make sense as a means of communicating the results of scientific investigation quickly and effectively. They also make sense as a teaching-and-leaming exercise. This point is made in a number of studies that have explored the benefits of posters within biology courses. Whilst these studies illustrate the value of poster assignments as educational exercises, it is also evident that the success of those assignments depends, in part, on providing students with clear instruction on poster preparation. Despite the considerable merits of the existing literature on the use of posters in science education, there has been very little published that offers clear and simple guidance to students and teachers on poster production. One of the primary aims of this paper, therefore, is to help rectify this situation. We briefly review the purposes of posters in teaching biology before going on to provide some detailed instruction for students on how to prepare a good, effective poster.
 
note: Article
The science education of biology teachers
A report of a conference discussion at Nottingham on the need for augmenting the scientific knowledge of trainee biology teachers in University Departments of Education. Statistics were gathered from a sample of 64 students as a basis for the discussion. These indicate the extent to which the students lack training in relevant scientific subjects and in particular biological topics.
note: Article

Electronic Databases

Springer eJournals
Springer is one the most leading international scientific publishing companies. Springer ejournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
note: Electronic Database
Taylor and Francis Online Journals Some full text available
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

Journal of College Science Teaching Some full text available
The Journal of College Science Teaching provides a forum for the exchange of ideas on and experiences with undergraduate science courses, particularly those for non science majors. JCST also reports and discusses innovative teaching materials, methods, and evaluative criteria; disseminate contributions toward improving college science instruction; and describes work in disciplinary science courses that is broad enough in its approach to appeal to teachers in other scientific fields.
note: eJournal
The American Biology Teacher openURL
The American Biology Teacher is published by the National Association of Biology Teachers (Reston, VA). It is the official peer-reviewed journal of the National Association of Biology Teachers, issued nine times a year (monthly except June and July; November and December are combined).
note: eJournal

Books

Biology : a contextual approach Some full text available
Title Biology : a contextual approach / Maggie Spenceley ...[et al.].
Pub info Victoria : Malcolm Parsons, 2004.
Descript xi, 643 p. : ill.(chiefly col.) ; 28 cm.
Note Includes index.
Subject Biological literature.
  Life sciences -- literature.
Add author Spenceley, Maggie.
  Weller, Barbara.
  Mason, Margaret.
ISBN 1740813510 (pbk.)
 
note: Book
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Senior Library Assistant
Tel: 203337

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide