All Items by Source

Articles

Land for Poor: Towards Sustainable Master Plan for Sensitive Redevelopment of Slums ☆ Some full text available Resource contains images
Abstract
Slums are considered as illegally occupied houses and creating a nuisance of environmental pollution and degradation of urban living conditions. The presence of slum as a part of urban habitat refers to a condition of defective physical, social and economic environment. During last two decades; migration from villages and small towns to metropolitan areas has increased. This leads to the degradation of urban environmental quality and sustainable development especially in the metropolitan cities. The problems faced by the people living in the urban areas have become major concerns for the government. Slums are considered to be the major issue within many urban areas; particularly problems related to transportation, population, health and safety.
The Egyptian government has adopted a range of policies and legislation to slow or halt the growth of informal settlements, but successes in improving or removing informal areas have been limited to specific communities and have done nothing to reduce the overall growth of informal areas.
The present study is for two slum areas. One is of Egypt (Ezbet Aljama, Alexandria) and the other in India (Dharavi, Mumbai). Since all the slums are not lying at same level of infrastructural development, it is necessary to know about the basic services and facilities like drinking water, electricity, sanitation, education and health services etc between and within the two slums.
Therefore, this study was stresses to compare the living conditions and variation between the two slums. The major finding of the study is that learning from the experiences of other countries to help in “improve the quality of life and public health” in informal areas. And throughout the national and international experiences that took place about the slums, we can determine a number of recommendations to deal with the slums, which will create a balanced and sustainable master plan for sensitive redevelopment.


Urban Design and Social Capital in Slums. Case Study: Moravia's Neighborhood, Medellin, 2004-2014 ☆ Some full text available Resource contains images
Abstract
Taking as reference the historical context of the expansion phenomenon of Medellin and the anthropogenic processes based on Moravia's neighborhood, this paper purpose is to make an impact evaluation of the Integral Improvement Plan (PPMIM 2004-2011), using the relationship between the urban design features and the social capital variables. Initially, a theoretical and conceptual framework of the various topics under review is presented. Secondly, we confront the PPMIM's principles, its urban design strategies, its procedural methodology with the built project and evaluate its general socio spatial impact. Finally, we analyze its impact on the cognitive and structural dimensions of the social capital. The Integral Improvement Plan (PPMIM) brought the physical, ecological, cultural and social rehabilitation of the human settlement allowing recovering the historical as well as the cultural memory of the community and strengthening some aspects of the social capital and its ties, as the bridging and linking networks. Finally the paper highlights and summarizes positive and negative implications of slum upgrading programs and some necessary recommendations for urban design, the social capital that can really be translated into real resources for the self-sustainable development of low-income communities

Journals/Magazines

Journal of Urban Design Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images

The Journal of Urban Design is a scholarly international journal which advances theory, research and practice in urban design.There is a growing recognition of the need for urban design in shaping, managing and improving the quality of the urban environment. It is now considered one of the core knowledge components of planning education and practice and is equally important for architectural education and practice. Thus, increasing numbers of architects, planners, surveyors, landscape architects and other professions concerned with the quality of urban development are specialising in urban design.
International Journal of Construction Management Some full text available Resource contains images

The International Journal of Construction Management publishes quality papers aiming to advance the knowledge of construction management. The Journal is devoted to the publication of original research including, but not limited to the following: 
Construction management
Sustainable construction
Information technology application
Construction production
Construction and real estate economics
Policy and legal framework for construction and real estate industry
Construction procurement
Contract administration
Building and infrastructure works
Construction process
Journal of Urban History Some full text available Resource contains images
Journal of Urban History (JUH), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, provides scholars and professionals with the latest research, analyses, and discussion on the history of cities and urban societies throughout the world. JUH presents original research by distinguished authors from the variety of fields concerned with urban history. Each insightful issue offers the latest scholarship on such topics as public housing, migration, urban growth, and more. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Planning Theory Some full text available Resource contains images
Planning Theory is an international ISI-indexed, peer-reviewed forum for exploring ideas concerned with a broad conception of spatial planning. Planning Theory provides an invaluable outlet for scholars who are interested in theoretical issues, whether they be debates around sustainability, or justice, or difference, or ethics, or power and knowledge.
URBAN DESIGN International Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
URBAN DESIGN International is a scholarly publication with a strong practitioner emphasis. It is relevant for all of those involved in architectural and planning education and practice. It is relevant for urban designers, architects, planners, surveyors and landscape architects and all professionals concerned with urban development and design.
Urban Geography Some full text available Resource contains images
Urban Geography publishes original papers on problem-oriented current research by geographers and other social scientists on urban policy; race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city; international differences in urban form and function; historical preservation; the urban housing market; and provision of services and urban economic activity. Included in most issues are review papers and special features.
note: Full Access
Urban Policy and Research Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Urban Policy and Research is an international journal dedicated to the publication of refereed articles in English in the field of urban studies and urban policy for those with an interest in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific region.  

The scope of the journal is international in two senses: it presents to a worldwide readership a view of the urban policies of particular countries; and it encourages dialogue among researchers, policy makers and practitioners in the region.  

Urban Policy and Research seeks to develop better links between theoretical and empirical research, and practice.  It seeks to stimulate informed debate about urbanisation and urban problems by publishing material from a wide range of theoretical and research approaches that address issues including urban economics, community development, urban governance, and analyses of socio-economic and spatial change.  Articles in the journal address relevant policy analysis, planning matters, housing, transport and other related issues.   
Construction Management and Economics Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Construction Management and Economics is the leading international refereed journal that publishes original research concerning the management and economics of building and civil engineering, while also including the management of built facilities.
note: Covers topics on Economics for urban design.

Books

Cities and Design/ Paul L. Knox Some full text available Resource contains images
Cities and Design explores the complex relationships between design and urban environments. It traces the intellectual roots of urban design, presents a critical appraisal of the imprint and effectiveness of design professions in shaping urban environments, examines the role of design in the material culture of contemporary cities, and explores the complex linkages among designers, producers and distributors in contemporary cities, for example: fashion and graphic design in New York; architecture, fashion and publishing in London; furniture, industrial design, interior design and fashion in Milan; haute couture in Paris and so on.

This book offers a distinctive social science perspective on the economic and cultural context of design in contemporary cities, presenting cities themselves as settings for design, design services and the ‘affect’ associated with design.
note:
Cities and Design/ Paul L. Knox Some full text available Resource contains images
Cities, initially a product of the manufacturing era, have been thoroughly remade in the image of consumer society. Competitive spending among affluent households has intensified the importance of style and design at every scale and design professions have grown in size and importance, reflecting distinctive geographies and locating disproportionately in cities most intimately connected with global systems of key business services. Meanwhile, many observers still believe good design can make positive contributions to people’s lives.

Cities and Design explores the complex relationships between design and urban environments. It traces the intellectual roots of urban design, presents a critical appraisal of the imprint and effectiveness of design professions in shaping urban environments, examines the role of design in the material culture of contemporary cities, and explores the complex linkages among designers, producers and distributors in contemporary cities, for example: fashion and graphic design in New York; architecture, fashion and publishing in London; furniture, industrial design, interior design and fashion in Milan; haute couture in Paris and so on.

This book offers a distinctive social science perspective on the economic and cultural context of design in contemporary cities, presenting cities themselves as settings for design, design services and the ‘affect’ associated with design.
The Urban Design Reader, 2nd Edited by Michael Larice and Elizabeth Macdonald Some full text available Resource contains images

The second edition of The Urban Design Reader draws together the very best of classic and contemporary writings to illuminate and expand the theory and practice of urban design. Nearly 50 generous selections include seminal contributions from Howard, Le Corbusier, Lynch, and Jacobs to more recent writings by Waldheim, Koolhaas, and Sorkin. Following the widespread success of the first edition of The Urban Design Reader, this updated edition continues to provide the most important historical material of the urban design field, but also introduces new topics and selections that address the myriad challenges facing designers today.

The six part structure of the second edition guides the reader through the history, theory and practice of urban design. The reader is initially introduced to those classic writings that provide the historical precedents for city-making into the twentieth century. Part Two introduces the voices and ideas that were instrumental in establishing the foundations of the urban design field from the late 1950s up to the mid-1990s. These authors present a critical reading of the design professions and offer an alternative urban design agenda focused on vital and lively places. The authors in Part Three provide a range of urban design rationales and strategies for reinforcing local physical identity and the creation of memorable places. These selections are largely describing the outcomes of mid-century urban design and voicing concerns over the placeless quality of contemporary urbanism. The fourth part of the Reader explores key issues in urban design and development. Ideas about sprawl, density, community health, public space and everyday life are the primary focus here. Several new selections in this part of the book also highlight important international development trends in the Middle East and China. Part Five presents environmental challenges faced by the built environment professions today, including recent material on landscape urbanism, sustainability, and urban resiliency. The final part examines professional practice and current debates in the field: where urban designers work, what they do, their roles, their fields of knowledge and their educational development. The section concludes with several position pieces and debates on the future of urban design practice.

This book provides an essential resource for students and practitioners of urban design, drawing together important but widely dispersed writings. Part and section introductions are provided to assist readers in understanding the context of the material, summary messages, impacts of the writing, and how they fit into the larger picture of the urban design field.


Urban design:health and therapeutic Environment Some full text available Resource contains images
Climate change and the degradation of the environment are fundamental considerations in any discussion of urban design in the twenty-first century. There is a growing awareness of the relationship between environment and well-being. There is a sense in which the health and well-being of the individual is linked to the health of the wider community and, indeed, to the health of the supporting environment. This book focuses on sustainable development and citizen well-being to determine how far they are compatible and then analyses the urban environment that might result from the application of these ideas. In other words, is the ‘sustainable city’ likely to be a ‘healthy city’ for its citizens, and is the therapeutic environment also sustainable? If so, what is the form of such an urban environment?

Open Access Resources

Urbana: Urban Affairs and Public Policy Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Urbana: Urban Affairs and Public Policy is a peer reviewed, multidisciplinary open-access scholarly journal focusing on urban issues at an international level, exploring all aspects of cities and urbanization including urban planning, economics, history, politics, international relations and literature.