Business Statistics Guide
 
This guide assists all researchers interested in Business Statistics with resources they may use to enhance their understanding of the subject. It guides researchers to a number of resources that are available in different kind of sources. These sources include journals, books, and dissertations just to mention a few. The guide is targeted for undergraduates, post graduates, lecturers, teaching assistants and any other researcher that is interested in researching on Business Statistics.
All Items by Source

Articles

Business statistics without tears: Simple analysis to demystify business data
While information professionals tend to be expert in finding statistical information resources, they tend to be less capable of handling and processing the numerical data that play such an important role in business information. This article reviews some of the basic mathematical and statistical techniques that are intensively used in the economic and business fields, to provide help to information professionals who may work with such material, and reveals how such concepts as series of index numbers and compound annual growth rates can be calculated using tools such as Excel spreadsheet functions. Some of the key elements of the Excel program are set out, including: basic arithmetic; working with percentages; working out CAGR (compound annual growth rate); index numbers; actual numbers; current and constant values; methods of describing data; data ranges; variance and standard deviation; and coefficient of variation. Detailed, worked examples are included to show how the Excel spreadsheets can be used to perform the necessary calculations. 
note: Journal Article
Interactive software usage for e‐learning of business statistics Some full text available
Purpose:  The purpose of this paper is to examine students' academic progress in a course of business statistics through interactive software usage, which helps these students to build their e‐learning during basic competences: solving problems and interpreting results.
 
Design/methodology/approach: A random sample of 278 students is used to contrast two research hypotheses through the χ2‐test. The sample data correspond to the students' final grades reported during the academic period from Spring‐2004 to 2008 at an American State University.
 
Findings: The population proportion of students that got passing or better final grades in a course of Business Statistics depends on how these students are classified as users or not users of interactive software (p‐value=0.029); for the students that got passing or better grades: the proportion (86.8 percent) of students using interactive software is greater than the proportion (76.4 percent) of students that do not use interactive software. Confirmation of this conclusion at a significance level α=0.05, is obtained via the z‐test for two proportions (p‐value=0.030), where p1=105/121 and p2=120/157; which means, the data support the first research hypothesis HA1; but, the same data‐set does not support the second research hypothesis (HA2) about the gender effect on the students' academic performance (measured via their final grades); this is, the proportion of students under interactive software training that got passing or better final grades, does not depends on how these students are classified according to their gender (female or male), where the corresponding statistics are χ2p‐value=0.221, and z‐test p‐value=0.219.
 
Research limitations/implications: The sample is restricted to the students attending fall and spring semesters. Summer students are not included, as the schedule‐environment (eight hours of instruction per week, five weeks) and the grading policies are different in comparison to fall and spring periods (three hours of instruction per week, 14.5 weeks).
 
Practical implications: The practical implications of this study include the need for a standardization of the summer's syllabi. For example, during the fall and spring semesters, the students are required to complete 60 software‐certificates; while for the summer, the students are required to solve just 30 (50 percent) of the software‐certificates; which represent fewer assignments and less academic effort for the summer's students.
 
Originality/value: The study extends understanding regarding the responsibility of the instructors/professors, whose priority is to provide high‐quality teaching, maintain a professional ethics environment, as well as the application and fulfilment of the approved academic syllabus.
note: Journal Article
Using Peer Instruction With Hints in Introductory Business Statistics
​Purpose:    Peer instruction has been widely adopted as an instructional method in higher education. However, due to students' different preconceptions, the authors argued that peer instruction is not a panacea in international business education when students' prior knowledge extensively varies. The paper aims to discuss these issues.

Design/methodology/approach:    In this experimental study, the authors focused on three conditions of an introductory statistics course: individual problem solving, peer instruction, and peer instruction with hints.

Findings:   The authors have found students in peer instruction with hints class did not only outperform in the final exam, but also achieved the highest frequency of successful conceptual changes in comparison with their counterparts in the other two classes.

Practical implications:    Providing instructional hints to improve the effectiveness of peer instruction may shed light on classroom instruction in higher education.

Originality/value:   As for international business education, this was a unique exploration to capture students' conceptual changes using clickers. The authors believed this research paper will help the education practitioners to know their business students better.
note: Journal Article

Electronic Databases

Cambridge Journals Some full text available

Cambridge publishes over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas, Cambridge journals are accessible worldwide in print and online.


note:

Electronic Database

Dawson Era e-books Some full text available
ebrary database offers e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
note: Electronic Database
Emerald insight Some full text available
Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. Its collection features over 80,000 articles from over 200 titles covering management, and library and information science journals.
note: Electronic Database
JSTOR Some full text available
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education

 
note: Electronic Database
Oxford Journals Online Some full text available
Oxford Journals Online entails information on Biological Sciences, Medicine, Public Health& Epidemiology, Mathematics, Computers, Statistics, Humanities and Social Sciences.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

Journal of International Education in Business Some full text available
The journal of International Education in Business (JIEB) is a peer reviewed journal concerned with theoretical and pedagogic aspects of international education in business schools and its flow-on implications for the workplace. The journal publishes papers that are concerned with: international education, cross- and inter-cultural aspects of internationalization, internationalization of business schools just to mention a few.
note: Journal
Journal of the American Statistical Association Some full text available
The Journal of the American Statistical Association (JASA) has long been considered the premier journal of statistical science. Science Citation Index reported JASA was the most highly cited journal in the mathematical sciences in 1991-2001, with 16,457 citations, more than 50% more than the next most highly cited journals. Articles in JASA focus on statistical applications, theory, and methods in economic, social, physical, engineering, and health sciences and on new methods of statistical education.
note: Journal
Journal of the Northeastern Association of Business, Economics & Technology Some full text available
The Journal of the American Statistical Association (JASA) has long been considered the premier journal of statistical science. Science Citation Index reported JASA was the most highly cited journal in the mathematical sciences in 1991-2001, with 16,457 citations, more than 50% more than the next most highly cited journals. Articles in JASA focus on statistical applications, theory, and methods in economic, social, physical, engineering, and health sciences and on new methods of statistical education.
note: Journal
Online Information Review Some full text available
Business Statistics on the Web is the latest publication by well‐known business statistics expert and author, Paula Bernstein. Finding statistics and company financial information used to be a tedious and time‐consuming task. With the advent of the Web many resources on statistical information became available either free of charge or at reasonable prices. If one knows about these sources, and how to formulate a statistical search strategy, useful statistical information may be only a few clicks away. Paula Bernstein tries to offer this opportunity to the novice as well as the more experienced statistical information searcher. Although she focuses on Web resources available free or at reasonable prices, she also refers the reader to the statistical databases that are commercially available through Dialog.
note: Journal
The Journal of Business Some full text available
 The Journal of Business was the first scholarly journal to focus on business-related research and played a pioneering role in fostering serious academic research about business. However, in appreciation of the increasing specialization in business scholarship, as reflected in the emergence of many specialized business journals, the faculty of the University of Chicago's Graduate School of Business decided after careful deliberation and extensive dialogue to cease publication of the more broadly focused Journal at the end of 2006, after nearly eight decades of publication by the University of Chicago Press. 
note: Journal
The Journal of the Operational Research Society Some full text available
The Editorial Policy of the Journal of the Operational Research Society is: The Journal is a peer-refereed journal published 12 times a year on behalf of the Operational Research Society. It is the aim of the Journal to publish papers, including those from non-members of the Society, which are relevant to practitioners, researchers, teachers, students and consumers of operational research and which cover the theory, practice, history or methodology of operational research. However, since operational research is primarily an applied science, it is a major objective of the Journal to attract and publish accounts of good, practical case studies. Consequently, papers illustrating applications of OR to real problems are especially welcome.
 
note: Journal 

Dictionaries

Dictionary of business / Graham Bannock ... [et al.]. Some full text available
Title Dictionary of business / Graham Bannock ... [et al.].
Pub info Princeton, N.J. : Bloomberg Press, c2003.
Descript vi, 393 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.
Series The Economist series.
Subject Business -- Dictionaries.
  Commerce -- Dictionaries.
  English language -- Business English -- Dictionaries.
Add author Davis, Evan.
  Uncles, Mark.
  Trott, Paul.
ISBN 0140513779 (pbk.)
 
 
note: Dictionary

Books

Basic business statistics : concepts and applications / Mark L. Berenson, David M. Levine. Some full text available
Author Berenson, Mark L.
Title Basic business statistics : concepts and applications / Mark L. Berenson, David M. Levine.
Pub info Englewood Cliffs, NJ : Prentice-Hall, 1996.
Edition 6th ed.
Descript xxv, 943 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Note Includes index.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Commercial statistics.
  Statistics.
Add author Levine, David M.
ISBN 0133177378 (pbk.)

note: Book
Business statistics / Mick Silver. Some full text available
Author Silver, Mick.
Title Business statistics / Mick Silver.
Pub info London : McGraw-Hill, 1997.
Descript xvi, 241 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Note Includes index.
  Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Business statistics.
  Commercial statistics.
ISBN 9780077092252 (pbk.)
 
note: Book
Business statistics : a decision-making approach / David F. Groebner, Patrick W. Shannon. Some full text available
Author Groebner, David F.
Title Business statistics : a decision-making approach / David F. Groebner, Patrick W. Shannon.
Pub info New York : Macmillan, c1993.
Edition 4th ed.
Descript 1 v. (various pagings) : ill. ; 25 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Commercial statistics.
  Statistical decision.
Add author Shannon, Patrick W.
ISBN 0023478411 (cased)

note: Book
Contemporary business statistics with Microsoft Excel / David R. Anderson, Dennis J. Sweeney, Thomas A. Williams. Some full text available
Author Lind, Douglas A.
Title Statistical techniques in business & economics / Douglas A. Lind, William G. Marchal [and] Samuel A. Wathen.
Pub info Boston : McGraw-Hill Irwin, c2008.
Edition 15th ed.
Descript xxix, 844 p. : col. ill. ; 28 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Social sciences -- Statistical methods.
  Economics -- Statistical methods.
  Commercial statistics.
Add author Marchal, William G.
  Wathen, Samuel Adam.
ISBN 9780071316989 (hbk.)
 
note: Book
Practical business statistics / Andrew F. Siegel. Some full text available
Author Siegel, Andrew F.
Title Practical business statistics / Andrew F. Siegel.
Pub info Burr Ridge, Ill. : Irwin, c1994.
Edition 2nd ed.
Descript xxviii, 820 p. ; 24 cm.
Note Includes index.
Subject Industrial management -- Statistical methods.
Add author Siegel, Andrew F. Practical business statistics with STATPAD.
ISBN 0256109745 (cased)
 
note: Book
Study Guide For Use with Business Statistics in Practice / Bruce L. Bowerman, Richard T. O'Connell [and] emily S. Murphree. Some full text available
Author  Bowerman, Bruce L.
Title  Study guide for use with business statistics in practice / Bruce L.  Bowerman, Richard T. O'Connell [and] emily S. Murphree.
Pub info  Boston : McGraw-Hill/Irwin, c2009.
Edition 5th ed.
Descript vi,332 p. : ill. ; 28 cm.
Subject Commercial statistics.
  Statistics.
Add author O'Connell, Richard T.
  Orris, J. B.
ISBN 0073325953 (pbk. )

note: Book
Business Statistics Some full text available
 
             Author:         Chikkodi, C.M.   Satyaprasad, B.G.   
         Publisher:         Himalaya Publishing House
Date Published:         12/2009 
         Subjects:         Commercial statistics
 
note: e-book
Business Statistics / Abridgement Editors, Daniel L. Fulks And Michael K. Staton. Some full text available
"Easy Outlines" are concise, easy-to-use versions of the biggest and best-selling classics in the "Schaum's Outlines" series. This is a continuation of the "Schaum's Easy Outline" series, successfully launched in 1999. The annual enrolment in Business Statistics is 250,000. Every book in the series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly-focused version of a top-selling "Schaum's Outline". In the aggregate, these titles have sold more than 4,000,000 copies. Format will be streamlined and updated for a contemporary look and feel. Each book will extract the absolute essence of the subject, presenting it in concise and readily understandable form, emphasizing clarity and brevity. Graphic elements like sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights will feature selected points from the text, emphasizing keys to learning and giving students quick pointers to the essentials.
 
note: Dawsonera e-book
Business Statistics / Melvin Thomas Copeland Some full text available
Author Copeland, Melvin Thomas.
Title Business statistics / Melvin Thomas Copeland.
Pub info London : General Books, 2009.
Description vi , 477p . ; 23 cm.
Subject Cost Accounting.
  Business Statistics.
ISBN 9781150338205 (pbk.)
 
note: Book
Business statistics : a first course / Mark L. Berenson and David M. Levine. Some full text available
Author  Berenson, Mark L.
Title  Business statistics : a first course / Mark L. Berenson and David M.              Levine.
Pub info  Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c1998.
Descript xvi 554 p. [A-1] [ I-4] : col. ill. ; 28 cm.
Bibliography  Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Commercial statistics.
  Statistics.
Add author Levine, David M.
ISBN 0137441789 (pbk.)
 
note: Book
Business statistics : a self-teaching guide / Donald J. Koosis. Some full text available
Author Koosis, Donald J.
Title Business statistics : a self-teaching guide / Donald J. Koosis.
Pub info New York : Wiley, c1997.
Edition 3rd ed.
Descript ix, 291 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
Series Wiley self-teaching guide.
Note Includes index.
Subject Social sciences -- Statistics -- Programmed instruction.
  Commercial statistics -- Programmed instruction.
ISBN 0471162612 (pbk.)
 
note: Book
Business Statistics : problems and solutions / J. K. Sharma. Some full text available
Author      Sharma J. K.
Title      Business statistics : problems and              solutions / J. K.      Sharma.
Pub info      New Dheli : Pearson, 2010.
 
Descript      585 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm.
Note      Includes index.
Subject      Commercial statistics.
       Statistics.
ISBN      9788131734032 (hbk.)
 
note: Book
Statistical Practice in Business and Industry / Edited By Shirley Coleman ... [et Al.]. Some full text available
This book covers all the latest advances, as well as more established methods, in the application of statistical and optimisation methods within modern industry. These include applications from a range of industries that include micro-electronics, chemical, automotive, engineering, food, component assembly, household goods and plastics. Methods range from basic graphical approaches to generalised modelling, from designed experiments to process control. Solutions cover produce and process design, through manufacture to packaging and delivery, from single responses to multivariate problems.
 
note: Dawsonera e-book
Statistics for business : an introduction / Paul Whitehead and Geoffrey Whitehead. Some full text available
Author Whitehead, Paul.
Title Statistics for business : an introduction / Paul Whitehead and Geoffrey Whitehead.
Pub info London : Pitman, 1992.
Descript ix, 308 p. ; 24 cm.
Note Includes index.
Subject Statistics
  Commercial statistics.
Add author Whitehead, Geoffrey.
ISBN 0273038109 (pbk.)

note: Book
The Role of Statistics in Business and Industry Some full text available
 
An insightful guide to the use of statistics for solving key problems in modern-day business and industry This book has been awarded the Technimetrics Ziegel Prize for the best book reviewed by the journal in 2010. Technimetrics is a journal of statistics for the physical, chemical and engineering sciences, published jointly by the American Society for Quality and the American Statistical Association. Criteria for the award include that the book brings together in one volume a body of material previously only available in scattered research articles and having the potential to significantly imp.
note: e-book
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files