Calculus.
This guide is meant to assist all Calculus students to satisfy their information needs by reflecting on the resources that are available to them. Calculus cuts across the board since students from various departments undertake this particular course.
Book Search
Search for in
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

Academic Search Premier. openURL
This database is an academic platform for students to search for ebooks and ejournal on diverse fields of knowldge.It is also part of the EBSCOhost facility.
Business Source Premier. openURL
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including  accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Calculus On JSTOR openURL
JSTOR connects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines.Calculus related material is also available from this database.JSTOR is a not-for-profit service and  includes full-text content of more than 1,400 academic journals, as well as thousands of primary sources.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) openURL

This is a peer revealed database hosted under EBSCO,it provides ebooks and other materials relating to calculus and other disciplines.


EBRARY. Some full text available

Collection of e-books covering the following disciplines: Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, and Technology.Calculus students can also access a wide variety of information sources from this database.


MasterFILE Premier - EBSCOhost. openURL
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.Calculus related material is freely made available for Calculus students in various departments from this database.
Newspaper Source - EBSCOhost. openURL
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.Calculus related material is also available to students in this database.

Journals/Magazines

A New Calculus for the Treatment of Optical Systems. VII. Properties of the N-Matrices Some full text available
The preceding papers of this series have examined the properties of an optical calculus which represented each of the separate elements of an optical system by means of a single matrix M. This paper is concerned with the properties of matrices, denoted by N, which refer not to the complete element, but only to a given infinitesimal path length within the element.
A Residual Correction Method Based on Finite Calculus. Some full text available
In this paper, a residual correction method based upon an extension of the finite calculus concept is presented. The method is described and applied to the solution of a scalar convection-diffusion problem and the problem of elasticity at the incompressible or quasi-incompressible limit. The formulation permits the use of equal interpolation for displacements and pressure on linear triangles and tetrahedra as well as any low order element type. To add additional stability in the solution, pressure gradient corrections are introduced as suggested from developments of sub-scale methods. Numerical examples are included to demonstrate the performance of the method when applied to typical test problems
An Algebraic Framework for Linear Identification. Some full text available
A closed loop parametrical identification procedure for continuous-time constant linear systems is introduced. This approach which exhibits good robustness properties with respect to a large variety of additive perturbations is based on the following mathematical tools: (1) module theory; (2) differential algebra; (3) operational calculus. Several concrete case-studies with computer simulations demonstrate the efficiency of our on-line identification scheme.
Calculus of Variations and Partial Differential Equations. Some full text available
Calculus of Variations and Partial Differential Equations attracts and collects many of the important top-quality contributions to this field of research, and stresses the interactions between analysts, geometers, and physicists. In addition, it offers an opportunity for communication among scientists working in the field through a section called ''News and Views,'' which is open to discussions, announcements of meetings, reproductions of historical documents, and bibliographies. Coverage in the journal includes: - Minimization problems for variational integrals, existence and regularity theory for minimizers and critical points, geometric measure theory .
Formal Calculus For Real Valued Fractional Brownian Motions Prospects in Systems Science Some full text available
This journal defines the main elements of a formal calculus which deals with fractional Brownian motion, and to examine its prospects of applications in systems science. The approach is based on a generalization of the Maruyama's notation.
Fractional Calculus and Applied Analysis. Some full text available
The FCAA journal, abbreviated as ''Fract. Calc. Appl. Anal.'' in several world databases (search e.g. Google), is a specialized international journal for theory and applications with primary topics: Fractional Calculus, Special Functions and Integral Transforms, and secondary related topics of Applied Analysis, as described in Aims and Scope. The Editorial Policy is to publish high quality original research papers containing new results and applications in the FCAA topics, expository surveys written by known experts, as well as short notes, open problems, archives, and news about books and events interesting for the journal's audience. It is a peer-reviewed journal. The high standards of its contents are guaranteed by the list of the Editors and invited external referees, all of them selected from the world prominent experts in the FCAA areas. The journal has been established in 1998 with the founding publisher: Institute of Mathematics and Informatics.
Introduction: Discontinuity -A Weakness of Calculus And a Beginning of a New Era. Some full text available
In this article, the historical victories and shortfalls of calculus and calculus-based methods are briefly described so that a need of developing the theory of blown-ups is given. Listed are several challenges of the theory of blown-ups to the traditional thinking logic of continuity and characteristics of the theory of blown-ups.

Books

Calculus :A Practical Approach.
Print Location: QA303KAL Some full text available
This book intends to provide a practical knowledge of calculus as a prerequisite for stuidy in the fields of business, economics, biology and other sciences.

By KALMANSON, KENNETH and KENSCHAFT PATRICIA C.
Keywords - Derivatives, Intergration, Trigonometry, Functions.
Location - QA303KAL.



Calculus with Analytical Geometry. Some full text available
This book is intended for a 4 quarter course in calculus for students of science, engineering, and business.It reflects more strongly on the viewpoints that a calculus text should present trigonometric functions as early as possible,that it should motivate and explain the idea of a limit in a manner that is as simple as possible and lastly that there should be an abundance and emphasis of applications. 

By D.G ZILL.
Keywords - Geometry, Analytical Calculus.
Location - QA303ZIL
Technical Calculus with Analytical Geometry. Some full text available
This book is an introduction to calculus for students in various engineering disciplines.The approach is nonrigorous and intuitive with emphasis on the applications of calculus to technology.

By KUHFITTIG, PETER K. F.
Keywords - Analytical Geometry, Derivatives, Laplace Transforms.Location - QA303KUH


Lecture Notes

Exam Papers

Calculus 1 Past exam Paper openURL

Past exam paper.


Calculus/Analysis (1) Some full text availableopenURL
Past Exam Paper.

Newspapers--International

Newspaper Source.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.Calculus related newspapers are available from this database.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files