Development Studies
Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

ebrary Database Some full text available
ebrary database offers e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
note: Electronic Database
Ebscohost database Some full text available
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers
note: e-books

Journals/Magazines

The evolution of development economics and globalization Some full text available
Abstract
The legacy of the last 50 years of development economics is not very inspiring. In the 1960s and 1970s, instead of looking at the real causes and viable solutions to poverty and underdevelopment, development economics was preoccupied with the politically-charged debate over the superiority of either state-controlled or market systems. In the 1980s and 1990s, economists expected that globalization would come to be a panacea for all developing countries. They advocated the abandonment of traditional industries and occupations and their replacement by modern sectors modelled after or imported from the developed countries. Such policies have generally failed with few exceptions–those being countries which chose to implement their own specific policies of development. These countries skillfully combined government interventionism with market system incentives. Despite its past problems, development economics has recently evolved to better reflect the realities of developing countries. For the first time, development economics is on the verge of becoming a real social science in which analysis of traditional institutions, community life, and religious and ethnic factors is not only important but decisive in developing new social and economic growth objectives and economic policies.
note: International Journal of Social Economics Article

Books

Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics, Europe 2002-2003 : Toward Pro-Poor Policies--Aid, Institutions, and Globalization Some full text available
This is a collaborative series with an objective of describing reality economics.Its primarily concerned with the economy as a real object than as behavioural based axioms ,assumptions and techniques.The economic policy,economic sociology ,technological governance are critically examined.

Author
: Pleskovic, Boris   Stern, Nicholas  
Publisher: World Bank Publications
Original Publication Date: 04/2004
Subjects: Development economics -- Developing countries.   Developing countries -- Economic conditions.  
note: e-book
Emerald Development Economics Journals
The evolution of development economics and globalization
Type: Research paper
Author(s): Ryszard Piasecki, Miron Wolnicki
Source: International Journal of Social Economics Volume: 31 Issue: 3 2004
 View HTML  |  View PDF (89kb)  |  Abstract  |  Related items  |  Reprints & permissions

Adaptation of enterprises to the requirements of sustainable development in the light of new institutional economics
Type: General review
Author(s): Robert Kudlak
Source: Management of Environmental Quality: An International Journal Volume: 19 Issue: 2 2008
 View HTML  |  View PDF (125kb)  |  Abstract  |  Related items  |  Reprints & permissions

Analysis of the potential and problems of new institutional economics for third world development
Type: Literature review
Author(s): Gamini Herath
Source: International Journal of Social Economics Volume: 32 Issue: 10 2005
View HTML  |  View PDF (98kb)  |  Abstract  |  Related items  |  Reprints & permissions

Development economics in the Department of Economics at the University of Manchester
Type: Technical paper
Author(s): P.F. Leeson, F.I. Nixson
Source: Journal of Economic Studies Volume: 31 Issue: 1 2004
View HTML  |  View PDF (105kb)  |  Abstract  |  Related items  |  Reprints & permissions
World Bank Development Economics e-books
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files