Table of Contents
Fiscal Studies

Fiscal Studies is a subject guide aims at helping undergraduates and post graduates in  their research studies. The guide tries to cover almost all aspects which looks at the Fiscal Studies by providing information through the form of e-books,journals / magazines, journal articles and electronic databases.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) Database Some full text available
AJOL Database provides access to African  research publications. It also offers contents and abstracts of articles in agricultural science, arts, culture and literature science and technology and social science.
note: Electronic Database
Edward Elgar Journals and Books database Some full text available
Edward Elgar Journals and Books database offers e-books and journals from trusted publishers in different academic subject areas.
note: Electronic Database
Emerald Group Publishing Ltd database Some full text available
Emerald Group Publishing Ltd database offers e-books, journals and case studies from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
note: Electronic Database
JSTOR Database Some full text available
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary covers the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education
note: Electronic Database
Oxford Journals Online Database Some full text available
This database provides journals for Biological Sciences, Medicine, Pyblic Health& Epidimiology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Law, Economics, Finance, Mathematics, Statistics, Computers, Physics.
note: Electronic Database


Journal of Applied Accounting Research Some full text available
This Journal provides a forum for the publication of high quality manuscripts concerning issues relevant to the practice of accounting in a wide variety of contexts.The journal seeks to promote a research agenda that allows academics and practitioners to work together to provide sustainable outcomes in a practice setting. The journal is keen to encourage academic research articles which develop a forum for the discussion of real, practical problems and provide the expertise to allow solutions to these problems to be formed, while also contributing to our theoretical understanding of such issues.The journal encourages articles on topics of current interest to the accountancy profession, in particular new solutions to or new ways of thinking about established problems or newly identified problems. For example, papers may deal with the impact of new financial reporting standards or legislation. Critical discussions of cases of corporate failure or financial systems may be published if based on sound analysis of available evidence with original recommendations for future practice.
note: Journal
Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal Some full text available
This Journal publishes high quality manuscripts concerning the interaction between accounting/auditing and their socio-economic and political environments, encouraging critical analysis of policy and practice in these areas. The journal also seeks to encourage debate about the philosophies and traditions which underpin the accounting profession, the implications of new policy alternatives and the impact of accountancy on the socio-economic and political environment. This journals coverage includes, but is not limited to: Field study based theory development, limitations in present accounting measuremen, political influences on policy making, social and political aspects of accounting standards and the broadening scope of the reporting constituency.
note: Journal
Fiscal Studies Some full text available
This includes journal articles that covers Business, Business and Economics, Economics, Finance. It also offers articles of applied public economics.  
note: Journal/Magazines
International Journal of Emerging Markets Some full text available
This journal contains high quality research focusing on issues related to business in emerging markets from multidisciplinary (economics, finance, marketing, and management) and multinational geographic perspectives. The journal considers rigorous theoretical and empirical research, qualitative and quantitative, and review articles, such as meta-analysis.  It also provides comparative studies of emerging markets or studies comparing the emerging markets with the developed markets, and seeks theories explaining the contextual differences
note: Journal
International Journal of Social Economics Some full text available
The journal will present the social-economic problems, as expressed by economists, philosophers, political scientists, historians and business academics, with their consequent ethical considerations.
note: Journal
Journal of Economic Studies Some full text available
The journal seeks research findings and commentary on international developments in economics.
note: Journal
Journal of Financial Crime Some full text available
The journal is essential reading for all those concerned with the prevention, detection and prosecution of financial crime and the protection of assets.
Journal of Financial Economic Policy Some full text available
The Journal of Financial Economic Policy is devoted to the advancement of the understanding of the entire spectrum of financial policy and control issues and their interactions to economic phenomena. These include, but are not limited to: financial markets stability, corporate and systemic liquidity control, monetary and fiscal policy, banking stability and supervision, public debt policy and management, regulation and law, sovereign risk and management.
note: Journal
The Bottom Line Some full text available
The Bottom Line has started to broaden its scope to become a peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journal not only for library and information researchers, but also for micro-economists and education researchers, marketers and knowledge professionals in information-based organisations. This journal provides research and case studies on  the financial and economic aspects of information, information economics, and the business of information. Information is widely defined including, but not limited to: Records, Documents, Files, Learning objects, Visual and sound files, Data and metadata and User-generated content. The journal focuses not so much on the management of information, but rather on the trading of it.
note: Journal


Are there asymmetries in fiscal policy shocks? Some full text available
Purpose– The purpose of this paper is to test the effects of unanticipated fiscal policy shocks on the growth rate and the cyclical component of real private output and reveal different types of asymmetries in fiscal policy implementation.

Design/methodology/approach– The authors use two alternative vector autoregressive systems in order to construct the fiscalpolicy shocks: one with the simple sum monetary aggregate MZM and one with the alternative CFS Divisia MZM aggregate. From each one of these systems we extracted four types of shocks: a negative and a positive government spending shock and a negative and a positive government revenue shock. These eight different types of unanticipated fiscal shocks were used next to empirically examine their effects on the growth rate and cyclical component of real private GNP in two sets of regressions: one that assumes only contemporaneous effects of the shocks on output and one that is augmented with four lags of each fiscal shock.
Findings– The authors come up with three key findings: first, all fiscal multipliers are below unity but with signs as predicted by Keynesian theory. Second, government expenditures have a larger impact as compared to the tax policy and finally, positive government spending shocks are more significant than negative spending shocks. All these results are in line with previous studies and are robust through many tests using structural identification proposed by Blanchard and Perotti (2002).

Practical implications– The empirical findings in this manuscript can be used for conducting a more efficient fiscalpolicy. The importance of government spending shocks is empirically verified along with the asymmetries related to price stickiness predicted by Keynesian theory. According to the results an efficient fiscal policy would: in terms of an expansionary policy, use government spending as a means to stimulate the economy instead of tax cuts and in the case of a contractionary policy use government revenue (higher taxes) so that the costs of this policy in terms of output lost are lower.

Originality/value– In this study the authors introduce three main innovations: first, to the best of our knowledge the Divisia monetary aggregates have not yet been used to previous research pertaining to fiscal policy. Second, following Cover’s (1992) procedure of identifying monetary policy shocks we extract the unanticipated fiscal policy shocks on government spending and revenue. Finally, the authors explicitly test for the asymmetric effects on the growth rate and the cyclical component of real private GNP of a contractionary and expansionary fiscal policy.
note: Journal Artcle
A Comparative Study of the Fiscal Arrangements of Petroleum Service Contracts in Iraq and Iran Some full text available
Petroleum upstream service contracts possess different aspects of legal, contractual, fiscal, economic, technical, technological and environmental nature. In this research, efforts have been made to review one of the aspects of the petroleum upstream contracts which have been far too little considered by the domestic legal community, namely the fiscal system of upstream service contracts. Since every service contract avails of its own independent fiscal system, we tried, using the analytic and comparative approach, to review the fiscal system of Iranian service contracts (buy-back) after taking a close look at the fiscal system service contracts used in Iraq. Since our country is in possession of Joint Petroleum Fields with Iraq, it would be extremely beneficial, from the comparative law perspective, to take into full account the contracts concluded overseas for the same field. thus, in the interest of producing a practical research, benefits have been taken from the details two draft petroleum service contracts of Iran and Iraq.
note: Article
A review of Zimbabwe’s macro-fiscal forecasts Some full text available
Purpose-The purpose of this paper is to evaluate accuracy of macro fiscal forecasts done by Government of Zimbabwe and the spillover effects of forecasting errors over the period 2010-2015.

Design/methodology/approach-In line with the study objectives, the study employed the root mean square error methodology to measure the accuracy of macro fiscal forecasts, borrowing from the work of Calitz et al. (2013). The spillover effects were assessed through running simple regression in Eviews programme. The data used in the analysis are based on annual national budget forecasts presented to the Parliament by the Minister of Finance. Actual data come from the Ministry of Finance budget outturns and Zimbabwe Statistical Agency published national accounts.

Findings-The results of the root mean square error revealed relatively high levels of macro-fiscalforecasting errors, with revenue recording the highest. The forecasting errors display a tendency of under predicting the strength of economic recovery during boom and over predicting its strength during periods of weakness. The study although found significant evidence of GDP forecasting errors translating into revenue forecasting inaccuracies, the GDP forecasting errors fail to fully account for the revenue errors. Revenue errors were, however, found to be positive and significant in explaining the budget balance errors.

Originality/value-In other jurisdictions, particularly developed countries, they undertake regular evaluation of their forecasts in order to improve their forecasting procedures, which translate into quality public service delivery. The situation is lagging in Zimbabwe. Given the poor performance in public service delivery in Zimbabwe, this study contributes in dissecting the sources of the challenge by providing a comprehensive review of macro fiscal forecasts.
note: Journal Article
Comparative study on accounting and fiscal amortization Some full text available
Placed in the international trend, Romanian accounting had experienced various changes, especially as regards of progress on disconnection between accounting and fiscality. In the present, fiscal rules should not have any role in accounting decisions, because accounting rules are applied to produce accounting information that is useful in making decisions and to provide a "true and fair view" upon financial reality of the entity. However, the barrier in the habit of accounting to thinking for fiscal point of view all economic transactions remains insurmountable, yet. Starting from this perspective on disconnection between accounting and fiscality would mean that amortization recorded in the accounting, as a result of management policy, to be different from fiscality amortization, to calculate income tax. Although formally accepted, disconnect between accounting and fiscality continues to meet many difficulties. In this sense, it is usual in practice to use the same method of amortization for accounting purposes and for fiscal purposes to prevent complications of double track amortization and prevent wandering in the rules in this field. Accounting rule is deliberately eluded in favor of the fiscal rules. This is the reason we proposed to make in this paper a comparative study between norms and rules on accounting and fiscal amortization, paper in which we intend to show the benefits of applying accounting and fiscal rules separately.
note: Article
Fiscal policy and economic growth in South Africa Some full text available
Purpose– This paper aims to examine the effects of fiscal policy associated with increases in government expenditures, tax revenue and budget deficit on the South African economy.
Design/methodology/approach– Structural VARs based on the Blanchard‐Quard decomposition identification scheme were used in the empirical analysis. With the aid of quarterly data covering the period 1990:1 to 2008:4, the identified true models are used to estimate various impulse‐response functions. The impulse‐response functions represent the responses of real output and interest rates to shocks from tax revenue, budget deficit and government consumption and investment expenditures.
Findings– The results suggest that the fiscal policy instruments have varied effects on output and interest rates. The effect of the fiscal policy on output appears to be quite modest but persistent; however, the response from interest rate is temporary and substantial most cases.
Originality/value– The debate on the efficacy of fiscal policy in stimulating growth seems to have assumed new prominence in the wake of the recent global financial crisis. This paper contributes to the discourse from a South African focused empirical effort. Other fiscal policy authorities may find the paper valuable.
note: Journal Articles
Fiscal Responsiveness, Persistence and Discretion: A Case Study of Pakistan Some full text available
The main objective of this study is to analyses the fiscal policy conditions in Pakistan; in case of output change ( fiscal responsiveness), effect of last year policy on this year( fiscal persistence) and finally fiscal discretion, through a 2SLS method the study period consist of 1972 to 2010. The main finding of the study is government expenditures are more responsive in case Pakistan which is the main cause of this fiscal imbalances and also indicating an unstable fiscal stance
note: Journal 
IFS comparison of manifesto proposals on school spending in England. Some full text available
The article provides Institute of Fiscal Studies (IFS) comparison of manifesto proposals on school spending in England. It mentions that Conservative and Labour party are planning to increase overall school spending in cash terms over the next parliament. It reveals that as per current plans for school spending in England, spending per pupil will decline by 6.5 percent between 2015–16.
note: Journal Article
The Role of the Monetary Policy in the Context of the Macroeconomic Policies Mix –A Fiscal and Monetary Policy Case Study for Romania Some full text available
The main object of the research is to analyze and identify an optimal monetary and fiscal policy model that responds to the economic problems of the countries from Central and East Europe and, mainly, of Romania. Given the vulnerabilities of the Central and Eastern Europe region at the beginning and during the recent global economic and financial crisis, there is an increased interest to identify the models that can explain the main features of the Central and Eastern Europe macroeconomic data: GDP, inflation rate, the nominal interest rate, the weight of governmental expenses and public debt in GDP. Moreover, due to the importance of the uncertainty in modelling the monetary policy and to the increasing attention that central banks should pay to the anticipation of the future macroeconomic conditions, another objective of the research is to identify the significant shocks that influence the macroeconomic environment, such as: productivity (technology) shock, world output shock, mark-up shock, interest rate shock, tax shock and spending shock.
note: Article
Threshold effects of fiscal policy on economic growth in developing countries Some full text available
We examine the relation between fiscal policy and economic growth for a panel of 40 developing countries over the period of 1990 to 2012 using eight macroeconomic variables: real GDP, budget deficit, current government spending, national saving, inflation rate, total investment, public debt, and current account balance. The study documents a double threshold effect of the fiscal balance. The first one is at a level of the deficit around 4.8% of GDP; the second one is at the fiscal surplus level of 3.2% of GDP meaning that economic growth would be negatively affected when exceeding these two different levels. Result also show that the sign of the relation between budget deficit and economic growth is conditioned by the level of total investment i.e. only for total investment higher than 23%, there exists a positive relation. However, it becomes negative, when investment falls below this threshold.
note: Article


Automatic Fiscal Policies to Combat Recessions / Laurence, S. Seidman. Some full text available
This timely book offers bold new fiscal policies that can complement current automatic stabilizers and counter-cyclical monetary policy to help combat recessions. Dr. Seidman argues for an independent fiscal policy board or the Federal Reserve to decide changes in the magnitude of Congress's fiscal policy package of stimulus or restraint, with recommendations going into effect immediately, subject only to Congressional override.
note: eBook
Fiscal Consolidation, Budget Deficits and the Macro Economy / Lekha S. Chakraborty Some full text available
This book analyse the context of the ongoing debate on fiscal policy vi-a'-vis monetary policy and the impact of fiscal deficit in India, emperially , through macro econometric exercise. Filling an existing gap, it revisits the debate on the macroeconomic effects of deficit by taking India as a case study based on a long-time series analysis from 1980-81 to 2012-13. 
note: ebook
Fiscal Federalism : Quantitative Studies / Harvey S. Rosen. Some full text available
This book provides various quantitative tools to study policy issues, obtaining results that will interest policymakers and researchers working in the areas of taxation and public. It also looks at the deductibility of state and local taxes on federal tax returnsnance. 
note: ebook
Fiscal Harmonization in the European Communities : National Politics and International Cooperation / by Donald J. Puchala Some full text available
This book focuses on  'politicization' or the relationships between contests in national politics and the capacity for international cooperation.Progress towards fiscal harmonization in the European Community is selected as the substantive focus for the study, although the object is to learn from the EC rather than about it. Lack of political will is frequently blamed for delays in the acceptance of common policies, whereas the truth often lies in the fact that national governments believe that domestic political costs would be prohibitive.
note: ebook
Fiscal Multipliers and the State of the Economy / Baum, Anja ... [et al] Some full text available
This book have analyzed the relationship between fiscal multipliers and the underlying state of the economy. This book also investigates this link on a country-by-country basis for the G7 economies (excluding Italy).  The results show that fiscal multipliers differ across countries, calling for a tailored use of fiscal policy. Moreover, the position in the business cycle affects the impact of fiscal policy on output: on average, government spending, and revenue multipliers tend to be larger in downturns than in expansions. This asymmetry has implications for the choice between an upfront fiscal adjustment versus a more gradual approach.
note: ebook
Making Fiscal Decentralization Work: Cross-Country Experiences / by Annalisa Fedelino Some full text available
This book draws on both the relevant literature and policy and technical advice provided by the IMF to a wide range of member countries, and discusses the key factors that help make decentralization sustainable, efficient, and equitable from a macroeconomic perspective. It focuses on institutional reforms (in the revenue and expenditure assignments to different levels of government, the design of intergovernmental transfers, and public financial management systems) that are suited to different countries'circumstances, and their appropriate sequencing.
note: ebook
Managing the Fiscal Metropolis : The Financial Policies, Practices, and Health of Suburban Municipalities / Hendrick, Rebecca M Some full text available
Managing the Fiscal Metropolis: The Financial Policies, Practices, and Health of Suburban Municipalities is an important book. This book provides analysis of the financial condition, management, and policy making of local governments in a metropolitan region offers local governments currently dealing with the Great Recession a better understanding of what affects them financially and how to operate with less revenue.  This book also identifies and describes the primary factors and events that affect municipal financial decisions and financial conditions, explores the strategies these governments use to manage financial conditions and solve financial problems, and looks at the impact of contextual factors and stresses on government financial decisions. Managing the Fiscal Metropolis offers new evidence about the role of contextual factors— including other local governments—in the financial condition of municipalities and how municipal financial decisions and practices alter these effects. The wide economic and social diversity of the municipalities studied make its findings relevant on a national scale.
note: ebook
Pathways to Fiscal Reform in the United States / George R. Zodrow and John W. Diamond. Some full text available
This book analyse the United States and other advanced economies in the Eurozone and elsewhere face severe fiscalproblems. The United States is on an unsustainable dynamic path; absent corrective fiscal policies, federal deficits and debts relative to gross domestic product will continue to increase dramatically. In this book, experts consider possible fiscal reforms aimed at addressing the debt problem, focusing on entitlement programs, budgetary issues and processes, and individual and corporate income tax reform. It also introduces topics as the interaction of rising health care costs and the level of federal expenditures; alternative methods for evaluating the fiscal health and sustainability of Social Security; the effectiveness of budgetary constraints imposed on the states, including balanced budget amendments and debt ceilings; approaches to curtailing individual tax expenditures and methods for increasing the progressivity of the tax system; and the effects of traditional base-broadening, rate-reducing corporate income tax reforms.
note: ebook
The Essential Book of Corporate Governance / G. N. Bajpai, Some full text available
This book helps organizations to maximize wealth creation, build enduring relationships with stakeholders and be a net contributor to the economies of operated geographies. Based on extensive research, CXO interviews and case studies, the book assists companies to develop their own governance best practices.
note: eBook
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian (Institutional Repository)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

There are no FAQs linked for this guide