Management Information Systems and E-Commerce
Management Information Systems and E-Commerce is a subject guide which  aims at helping undergraduates and post graduates in  their research studies. The guide tries to cover almost all aspects which looks at the management theories, Information systems, e-commerce by providing information through the form of e-books,journals, magazines, journal articles, reviews, electronic databases, etc.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

Emerald Some full text available
Management, Financial Mnagement, Library and Information Science, Engineering and Marketing.
note: Electronic Database
Gale Virtual Reference Library Some full text available
The Gale e-book collection is available in 11 subject areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, History, Literature, Medicine, Religion, Science and Sociology.
note: Electronic Database
Informs Journals Some full text available
Full text scholarly social and applied sciences journals that include Service Science, INFORMS Transactions on Education, Decision Analysis, Information Systems Research, INFORMS Journal on Computing, Interfaces, Management Science, Manufacturing & Service Operations Management, Marketing Science, Mathematics of Operations Research, Operations Research, Organization Science, Transportation Science.
note: Electronic Database
ProQuest Ebook Central Some full text available
Collection of e-books covering the following disciplines: Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Fine Arts, History, Language and Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences and Technology.
note: Electronic Database
SAGE Journals Online Some full text availableopenURL
SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Known for our commitment to quality and innovation, we are a world leader in our chosen scholarly, educational, and professional markets.
note: Electronic Database
Taylor & Francis eBooks Some full text available

Over 50,000 eBooks are available from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education and Law.
note: Electronic database

Journals/Magazines

Industrial Management & Data Systems Some full text available
Industrial Management & Data Systems (IMDS) focuses on topics treating the interface between operations management and information systems. IMDS is interdisciplinary in nature and serves researchers and practitioners the necessary information to enable them to explore and apply the potential of new technologies to all aspects of management activities such as marketing, management information systems, operations management, business strategy, innovation, organization behaviour, business process management and supply chain management. 
note: Journal
Journal of Internet Commerce Some full text available
The business world has undergone many changes because of information technology, and the impact of the Internet may cause one of the biggest yet. While many people use the Internet for educational and entertainment purposes, organizations and companies are looking for ways to tie their internal networks to this global network to conduct electronic commerce. While companies have been conducting business electronically with suppliers and customers for many years, conducting online commerce via the Internet offers even greater opportunities for multinational, national, and even small businesses to cut costs, improve efficiency, and reach a global market.
note: Journal
Journal of Marketing Management Some full text available
This includes journal articles that cover management science, management, consumer research, marketing executives, marketing research; management; science and marketing strategy. It also offers articles on marketing study and teaching.

Articles

An integrated framework for recommendation systems in e‐commerce Some full text available
The Internet has become a popular medium for information exchange and knowledge delivery. Several traditional social activities have moved to the Internet, such as distance learning, tele‐medical system and. traditional buying and selling activities. Online merchants must know what users want, so providing recommendation services is an important strategy. Analyzes users’ on‐line behavior and interests, and recommends to them new or potential products. The analysis mechanism is based on the correlation among customers, product items, and product features. An algorithm is developed to classify users into groups and the recommendation is based on the classification. The system can help merchants to make suitable business decisions and provide personalized information to the customers. A generic mobile agent framework for e‐commerce applications is proposed. The aforementioned collaborative computing architecture for the recommendation system is based on the framework.
note: Journal Article
E‐commerce processes: a study of criticality Some full text available
This paper, based on interviews undertaken with consultants experienced in e‐commerceengagements, has identified ten process which are critical to the success of e‐commerce. The processes are: order fulfilment, revenue generation/collection, financial control, IT/Web changes, business processes, e‐integration, order generation, call centre integration, 24/7 operation, and consumer behaviour. The paper explores the e‐commerce modes and models and relates them to the ten processes. From this analysis the overall challenges facing e‐commerce, with respect to the modes and models, are pinpointed.
note: Journal Article
Infusion of Electronic Commerce into the Information Systems Curriculum Some full text available
Business school information systems programs seek to integrate informationtechnology and business knowledge. Business schools constantly revise IS programs to stay abreast of IT changes. The emergence of e-commerce and e-business represent one such development. This study analyzes the impact of e-commerce content on business IS curricula in the U.S. Over half of the schools included such material as either required or elective. Most business schools were found to provide skills in client-side Web development. Fewer covered material on server-side Web development. E-commerceknowledge and skills have been incorporated into most undergraduate IS programs.
note: Journal Article
Relationship Marketing, Knowledge Management Systems and E-Commerce Operations in Small UK Accountancy Practices Some full text available
Some firms are using relationship marketing linked to knowledge management systemsto achieve competitive advantage. Limited empirical evidence exists on the contribution that relationship marketing and knowledge management systems can make towards market success. E-commerce provides an opportunity to assess possible relationships that may exist between relationship marketing; knowledge management systems andmarket performance. A survey of small UK accounting practices suggests that adopting a relationship marketing orientation can enhance market performance. Those practices, which have adopted a relationship marketing orientation, tend to have established knowledge management systems and be involved in ecommerce. The implications of these findings are discussed and proposals made about further research needs.
note: Journal Article
Security Perceptions of e-Commerce Users Some full text available
In today's computer security paradigm, e-commerce participants are faced with many types of malware. Spyware and viruses are two such examples that continue to threaten secure e-business. Despite the best efforts of information security professionals to lessen the frequency and impact of the infections, these infections show no sign of abatement. Because typical users are vulnerable to malware and security breaches, increasing education and awareness is a necessary step in efforts to mitigate the malware threat. However, prior to implementing an effective education program, user behavior toward malware and the awareness levels must be assessed. To this end, the efforts described herein are to assess both familiarity and knowledge of respondents from two universities relative to malware. Based on data from approximately 200 information technology (IT) users, it was found that there are differences in security awareness and perceptions between light and heavy e-commerce users.
note: Journal Article

Books

Applying E-Commerce in Business / Rana Tassabehji Some full text available
This book provides an understanding of e-commerce by deconstructing it into its main constituents and explaining how they fit together. The objective is to introduce some consistency to the often contradictory views about e-commerce, bringing together different academic and management theories and frameworks into a coherent whole. It is written with a European perspective with examples that are drawn from around the globe, consistent with the nature of e-commerce. t looks at the foundations on which e-commerce is built - the technology. Managers and students of management must have an understanding of the infrastructure and inextricable linkages between processes and technology in a 21st century business.The book then goes on to examine businesses that have been built on these technology foundations. It explains the concept of the business model, the `dot com' phenomenon and frameworks that have emerged as a result. This textbook will be essential for undergraduate and post graduate students. 
note: E-book
Control and Security of E-Commerce / Gordon E. Smith Some full text available
Explores the components of e-commerce (including EDI). Shows the risks involved when using an e-commerce system. Provides controls for protecting an e-commerce site (e.g., securing financial transactions and confidential transactions). Provides COSO compliant audit approach. Provides risk/control tables and checklists. Technical topics are discussed in simple user-friendly language.
note: E-book
E-commerce And Digital Manufacturing / George Huang, K.L. Mak, and P Y Jiang Some full text available
This book presents seven papers from various research groups on digital technologies being used in manufacturing industries. It also highlights weaknesses in the development and application processes of these technologies due to domain complexity and technology sophistication, which are generating new challenges to both the developers and practitioners.
note: E-Book
E-Commerce and the Digital Economy / Michael J. Shaw Some full text available
This volume in the "Advances in Management Information Systems" series offers a state-of-the-art survey of information systems research on electronic commerce. Featuring chapters by leading scholars and industry professionals, it provides the framework for understanding the business trends, emerging opportunities, and barriers to overcome in the rapid developments taking place in electronic business and the digital economy. Researchers, students, and practitioners - anyone interested in the current issues and future direction of electronic commerce, especially from the standpoint of information systems and information technology - will find this book to be an authoritative source of cutting-edge information. The volume is divided into four parts: Part I covers the fundamental issues of information technology standards and the transformation of industry structure; Part II focuses on B2B commerce; Part III investigates the management of mobile and IT infrastructure; and Part IV includes trust, security, and legal issues that undergird the success of e-commerce initiatives.
note: E-book
E-Commerce Issues Addressed in a Throughput Model / Waymond Rodgers Some full text available

E-commerce enables business integration together with a company’s personnel, alliances, suppliers, customers, or a community. It provides processes and frameworks to actively seek and promote interactive decision making and transactions enablement. Since the Internet extends across the globe, it is possible to do business with any organization or person who is connected to the Internet. Even small businesses such as specialist record stores are able to market and sell their offerings internationally using e-commerce. Moreover, E-commerce allows buyers and sellers to conduct business around the clock. Thus, using aspects of e-commerce tools can provide organizations with the advantages of sourcing and using products and services provided by other businesses in other countries.
note: E-book
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian (Institutional Repository)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide