Human Resources Management

This guide provides access to information sources covering major areas in human resources management.
Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Classification of human resources based on measurement of tacit knowledge: An empirical study in Iran Some full text available
The purpose of this paper is to investigate employees of an organization in order to evaluate and classify them based on their tacit knowledge. Therefore,staff's tacit knowledge is measured at the individual level, in automotive sector. This study may help HRM department to differentiate between low and high-performing employees for determining the most effective HR practices to manage staff. Furthermore, it has significant implications in team building and designing a knowledge map within organizations.
note: Journal article
Personnel Training, Utilization, and Policy Some full text available
The article discusses the utilization of personnel in municipal wastewater treatment and collection systems which is affected by the lack of a profit motive. Management is charged, however, with proper personnel training and utilization.It further looks at Mandatory certification programs which have succeeded in bringing about improved training and, consequently, have had a net effect of improved operation, better salaries, better working conditions, and better employer-employee relationships.Efforts to organize public employees who are increasing and public officials who must prepare for it and face the questions of defining management, negotiation, recognition, agreements, strikes, and union shops. Personnel in the field can expect greater and closer attention to the performance of their plants by state and federal authorities. Federal programs are being arranged to furnish training and technical advisory assistance to treatment personnel. The Federation, through its operator training courses and its promotion of certification, is attempting to assist in improving the capability and status of the waste water treatment plant operator.
note: Journal
Advances in Industrial & Labor Relations Some full text available
Advances in Industrial and Labor Relations is a refereed research volume published annually or biannually. Although the series is designed to focus on industrial relations issues, the editors welcome articles from scholars in diverse disciplines, such as economics, law, history, organizational behavior, psychology, and sociology. The series welcomes manuscripts that may be somewhat longer than is the case with most journals, principally so that authors can explore their respective topics more deeply.
note: e-jounal
Busines Strategy Series Restricted Resource

Business Strategy Series (BSS) provides busy managers with a comprehensive series of executive briefings on a whole range of issues central to all cutting-edge corporate strategies. This journal brings together the strategic thought leaders behind many of the
world’s leading corporations including senior executives, top-flight consultants and business school gurus. So you get the expertise and insights of some of the world’s leading authorities for a fraction of what it would cost to commission just one report.
Business Strategy Series (BSS) provides busy managers with a comprehensive series of executive briefings on a whole range of issues central to all cutting-edge corporate strategies. This journal brings together the strategic thought leaders behind many of the
world’s leading corporations including senior executives, top-flight consultants and business school gurus. So you get the expertise and insights of some of the world’s leading authorities for a fraction of what it would cost to commission just one report. - See more at: http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/journals/journals.htm?id=BSS&go=Go#sthash.tO4KHoKT.dpufV

note: Login needed for off-campus access
Dynamics of Human Resource and Knowledge Management Some full text available
The article is based on the recent transitions from the industrial to knowledge economy which suggested an immediate and wholesale retraining scenario so that many organisations can remain at the cutting edge of technology. The dynamics of the job market is creating a challenge for many organisations in recruiting and retaining their core staff. In fact, many companies are in fear of losing critical business knowledge when their employees leave. In this paper, systems dynamics is employed to illustrate the relationship between recruitment, training, skills, and knowledge in a causal loop form. Strategies for human resource management are developed by conducting time-based dynamic analysis. The article anticipates that systems dynamics modelling would help organisations to devise efficient human resource management strategies.
note: Journal
Human Capital Management: New Possibilities in People Management Some full text available
The article discusses in addition to the traditional personnel and human resource management (HRM), the need for a new approach to personnel management, which we will call Human Capital Management (HCM). HCM emphasises an alignment between the individual and the organization and in our view offers the challenge and the key to successful management in the future.
note: Journals
Human Resource Management International Digest Some full text available
Human Resource Management International Digest is an essential information resource for today's human resource managers. HRMID offers concise and readable reviews and case studies based on the most up-to-date research conducted by leading HR thinkers. As a unique service, we scan through the best 400 management journals in the world and distil the most topical human resource management issues and relevant implications for HR personnel out of the cutting-edge research.
note: Electronic Journal
Journal of Managerial Psychology Some full text available
Journal of Managerial Psychology (JMP) has a unique focus on the social impact of managerial psychology and concerns itself with the wider aspects of human resource management derived from the application of psychology theory and practice. The aim is to promote a dialogue between theory and practice, and to disseminate high quality quantitative and qualitative research to student and practitioners of management, psychology and allied fields.
note: e-journal
Non-Discrimination in Human Resources Management as a Moral Obligation Some full text available
This paper, the writer argues that it is a moral obligation for companies, firstly, to accept their moral responsibility with respect to non-discrimination, and secondly, to address the issue with a full-fledged programme, including but not limited to the countering of microsocial discrimination processes through specific policies. On the basis of a broad sketch of how some discrimination mechanisms are actually influencing decisions, that is, causing intended as well as unintended bias in Human Resources Management (HRM),the writer argues  that the well known tools of legislation and ethical codes are necessary although insufficient to cope with the problem. However, based on empirical evidence, we know which set of measures is likely to diminish discrimination. Taking non-discrimination seriously implies complex and longitudinal policies which include assigning responsibility for a non-discrimination policy within the firm, making managers conscious of implicit stereotypes and helping them to cope with prejudices that no one can totally overcome.
note: Journal
Organizational Learning and Personnel Turnover Some full text available
The article focuses on how organisational structures in general affect the personnel turnover.The research suggests that while teams in general learn faster and better than hierarchies, hierarchies are less affected by high turnover rates particularly when the task is non-decomposable. Institutionalized memory, as embodied in the memories of distributed individuals and in the advisory relationships between individuals, determines the consequences of personnel turnover.
note: Journal
Research in Personnel and Human Resources Management Some full text available
A volume is published each year including papers on issues of cutting edge importance by some of the very best scholars in the field. It is considered to be one of the most respectable publications in the field of human resources management and acts as a primary resource to both individuals and libraries.
note: Journal
The management of human resources in project management-led organizations Some full text available
The paper examines the operational impact of project management systems on the management of human resources and the practical implications of this for practitioners in two project-led engineering contractors
note: Journal article

Books

Human Resource Management : theory and practice / John Bratton and Jeffrey Gold Some full text available
Edition 2nd ed.
Description xvii,408p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Human Resource Management.
Add author Gold, Jeffrey.
ISBN 0805838627 (pbk. )
  0333732081 (hpk.)
CLASS NO.   HF5549 BRA c.4262
                            
note: Books
Case Study Approach to Human Resources Management /Sorab, Sadri. Some full text available
Author: Sadri, Sorab  
Publisher: Global Media
Original Publication Date: 2009
Subjects: Personnel management -- Case studies.

The book contains case studies that have done for the student of human resources management. These case studies have been taken from real life situations making them all the more relevant to the student.
note: e-books
Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management/ A, Ivanovic Some full text available
Author: Ivanovic, A.  
Publisher: A & C Black
Original Publication Date: 05/2006
Subjects: Personnel management -- Dictionaries.   Management.

This dictionary provides the user with a comprehensive vocabulary of terms used in human resource management. It covers all aspects of the subject including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and other aspects of industrial relations. The main words are explained in simple English, and pronunciations are given in the International Phonetic Alphabet. Where appropriate, examples are included to show how the words are used in context. Quotations are also given from various magazines and newspapers, which give an idea of how the terms are used in real life.
note: e-book
Dynamics of Human Resource Development Some full text available
Author: Sharma, Vijay  
Publisher: Global Media
Original Publication Date: 2010
Subjects: Personnel management.   Career development.   Manpower planning.

Worker is an important constituent of any production process in modem industries. The authors have discussed at length as to how worker has come to be recognised as one of the important factors in any production process. Modern production system in early stage dealt only with the physical organisation of the manufacturing unit, a very little attention was given to labour; its organisation and management. In the early stage, production was meant for a privileged few. Common men had no place. But time changed. Concept went under a sea change. The employers have came to realise that it is the worker who is instrumental in the monumental growth and progress of industries, trade and commerce. The worker has now come to be recognised in the totality of the worker-in-his-work unit. They are also considered now an important social as well as economic entity. Various thinkers of personnel management define personnel management as follows:
note: e-book
Human Resource Management / Rao P. Subba Some full text available
Author: Rao, P. Subba  
Publisher: Global Media
Original Publication Date: 2009
Subjects: Personnel management.

This specific book covers various topics that are fundamental in the study of Human Resources management namely;the funtions and roles in Human resources management; planning,recruitment,selection and placement;training and induction;performance appraisal and compensation;promotion and transfer;work environment, moral,grievences and records. all topics seek to create a basic understanding of what Human resources management is.
note: e-book
New HR Analytics : Predicting the Economic Value of Your Company's Human Capital Investments /Jac Fitz-Enz. Some full text available

Author: Fitz-Enz, Jac  
Publisher: AMACOM Books
Original Publication Date: 05/2010
Subjects: Personnel management.   Human capital -- Management.   Human capital -- Cost effectiveness.

The book both synthesizes and extends the measurement movement in human resource management with outstanding essays where ideas are turned into action.It highlights on how the  HCM:21 will be the standard for how to go about scanning, planning, producing, and predicting organization processes in a predictive and rigorous way.
note: e-book
Personnel and Human Resource Management Some full text available
Author: Sarma, A.M.  
Publisher: Global Media
Original Publication Date: 2009
Subjects: Personnel management

The book focuses on 3 major areas in namely, personnel management, human resources management and international human resources management.An organisation, whether a business or industrial enterprise, needs for its survival and growth money, material, machinery and men (four Ms). The success or failure of an organisation depends on an effective combination of these factors. Of these, however, the management of human resources is a very important and challenging task. A company's long-term advantage lies in its human resources.In international Human resources it focuses on how more firms have moved outside their domestic world of international business, the globalisation of world markets appears to be gaining momentum. This globalisation of business is forcing managers to grapple with complex issues as they seek to gain or sustain a competitive advantage. Faced with unprecedented levels offoreign competition at home and abroad, companies are beginning to recognise that human resources are of critical importance to implement an international or global strategy.It also looks at how other advantages that arise from technological improvements, the opening of new markets, and lower material or labour costs, but all these prove to be relatively short run. Hence,it aids in the urgent understanding of the human factor which is assuming increasing significance in a modem organisational setting.
note: e-book
Personnel and Human Resource Management /Meera P.M Mohiadeen. Some full text available
Author: Mohiadeen, P.M. Meera  
Publisher: Global Media
Original Publication Date: 2010
Subjects: Personnel management.

The book focuses on the fundamental topics within Human resources management namely;Leadership and employee benefits;Management influence;Human resource planning;employee selection;training development and Coordination.

 
note: e-book
Research in Personnel and Human Resources Management, Volume 27 / Joseph J. Martocchio,. . Some full text available
AuthorMartocchio, Joseph J.   
PublisherEmerald Group Publishing Ltd
Original Publication Date: 07/2008 
SubjectsPersonnel management.   Personnel management -- Research.   

Research in Personnel and Human Resources Management  is a book that contains seven interesting chapters. These chapters are interesting and thought provoking because each one establishes a strong case for bringing somewhat understudied topics into the research mainstream of the human resources management field, brings to our attention the need to critically examine conventional, conceptual and methodological approaches used in HRM research, or builds creative paths in our thinking about commonly studied topics.
note: e-book
Taylor & Francis eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
An ebooks database which covers subjects ranging from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law.
note: Login to get access if off-campus
Technology Innovation and HRM /Zhongming Wang ,Jin Chen. Some full text available
Author: Wang, Zhongming   Chen, Jin  
Publisher: Emerald Group Publishing Ltd
Original Publication Date: 09/2005
Subjects: Information technology.   Personnel management.

This book discusses a number of topics that assess the contributions made by technology in the field of Human Resources Management.It also highlights how technology can be used within organisations to make business effective and efficient.
note: e-book
Textbook of Human Resource Management Some full text available
Author: Mamoria, C.B.   Gankar, S.V.  
Publisher: Global Media
Original Publication Date: 2009
Subjects: Personnel management -- Textbooks.

The books focuses on various topics fron the basic introduction to Human resource management, to personnel management, Human resource planning, job analysis and jod design and evaluation.The books is ideal in getting a understanding of the subject.
note: e-book

Exam Papers

NUST Past Exam papers- Human resources management Some full text available
GMB5266 Past Exam papers on Human resources management.
NUST Past Exam papers- Human resources management Some full text available
CBU2103 Past Exam Papers on Human Resources management.
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian (Institutional Repository)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide