Management

This is the Subject Guide for Management.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) Some full text available
Provides access to African reseach publications. Contents and abstracts
of articles in agricultural sciences, arts, culture and literature,
science and technology, and social sciences. Also contains quality content on management.
note: Electronic database
Duke University Press Journals
Duke University Press publishes 48 periodicals that span a range of disciplines within the humanities and social sciences.
note: Electronic Database
EBRARY. Some full text available

Collection of e-books covering the following disciplines: Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, and Technology.Calculus students can also access a wide variety of information sources from this database.


Emerald
Management, Financial Mnagement, Library and Information Science, Engineering and Marketing.
note: Electronic Database
JSTOR for management
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education.
note: Electronic Database
Springer eJournals
Springer is one the most leading international scientific publishing companies. Springer ejournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
note: Electronic Database
Wiley Online Library
Wiley online Library provides access to over 500 journals in Science, Technology, Medicine,  Humanities and social Sciences collection.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

The Journal of Human Resources Some full text available
The Journal of Human Resources examines labor, health, education, welfare, and retirement issues. Focused on policy implications, JHR is intended for scholars, policymakers, and practitioners. The journal includes rigorous and policy-relevant articles along with a communication section that provides up-to-the-minute, short, professional dialogue.
Australian Journal of Management Some full text available
The Australian Journal of Management is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes research in accounting, applied economics, finance, industrial relations, political science, psychology, statistics, and other disciplines, provided the application is to management, as well as research in areas such as marketing, corporate strategy, operations management, organisation development, decision analysis, and other problem-focused paradigms.
Busines Strategy Series Restricted Resource

Business Strategy Series (BSS) provides busy managers with a comprehensive series of executive briefings on a whole range of issues central to all cutting-edge corporate strategies. This journal brings together the strategic thought leaders behind many of the
world’s leading corporations including senior executives, top-flight consultants and business school gurus. So you get the expertise and insights of some of the world’s leading authorities for a fraction of what it would cost to commission just one report.
Business Strategy Series (BSS) provides busy managers with a comprehensive series of executive briefings on a whole range of issues central to all cutting-edge corporate strategies. This journal brings together the strategic thought leaders behind many of the
world’s leading corporations including senior executives, top-flight consultants and business school gurus. So you get the expertise and insights of some of the world’s leading authorities for a fraction of what it would cost to commission just one report. - See more at: http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/journals/journals.htm?id=BSS&go=Go#sthash.tO4KHoKT.dpufV

note: Login needed for off-campus access
Business Ethics: A European Review Restricted Resource Some full text available

Business Ethics: A European Review (BEER) focuses on original research relating to business ethics, and business society relationships. It seeks to attract original quality research drawing on a variety of methodological and disciplinary perspectives, and helping to advance knowledge, discourse and practice in relation to Business Ethics in the broadest sense are:

  • To promote scholarly debates and advance knowledge in relation to business ethics and corporate social responsibility by providing cutting edge theoretical and empirical analysis of salient issues and developments
  • To be responsive to changing concerns and emerging issues in the business ethics and business and society sphere, and offer rigorous and informed analysis of issues and perspectives relevant to organizations and their relationships with society
  • To be the publication outlet of choice for all types of original research relating to business ethics and business-society relationships.

note: Access is through HINARI database
Corporate Governance: The international journal of business in society. Restricted Resource Some full text available

The journal aims to cultivate and share knowledge and ideas in order to assist businesses to enhance their corporate governance practice. Being international and inter-disciplinary in scope, this journal seeks to provide a platform for debate amongst diverse academic and practitioner communities who address a broad spectrum of corporate governance issues and disciplines in different parts of the world.


note: Off-Campus access available after login
EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full-text, abstracted and indexed journals from all branches
of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
note: Login needed for off-campus access
Harvard Business Review Some full text availableopenURL

The Harvard Business Review has one goal: to be the source of the best new ideas for people creating, leading, and transforming business.Founded in 1922, HBR, publishes cutting-edge, authoritative thinking on the key issues facing executives. Its articles cover a wide range of topics that are relevant to different industries, management functions, and geographic locations. They focus on such areas as leadership, organizational change, negotiation, strategy, operations, marketing, finance, and managing people. Articles are written for senior managers by experts whose authority comes from careful analysis, study, and experience. The ideas presented in these articles can be translated into action and have been tested in the real world of business.


note: Indexed in EBSCOhost - Business Source Premier
Info Some full text available
info brings together analysis of technological changes from a variety of perspectives (policy, management, industry structure, behavioural) drawing on concepts and models from economics, the political, social and behavioural sciences, decision analysis, engineering, and law. It provides an effective forum for debate and will help guide the policy and business decisions that are shaping the information economy and society of the 21st century.
note: Journal
International Journal of Conflict Management Some full text available
The International Journal of Conflict Management focuses on many issues in the field of managing conflict. It looks at how to negotiate, mediate and resolve disputes, whilst covering a varied spectrum from topics such as personal and psychological conflict, to Peace Studies and Organizational Conflict
International Journal of Retail & Distribution Management Some full text available
The International Journal of Retail & Distribution Management focuses on issues of strategic significance in retailing and distribution worldwide and provides a forum for researchers in academia, business, consultancy and management. All academic articles are refereed anonymously.

Journal of Advances in Management Research Some full text available
This journal provides a dynamic international forum for the exchange and dissemination of the latest studies on advances in all functional areas of management, both in the service and the manufacturing sectors. The main objective of the journal is to act as a vehicle for resources which contribute to the improvement of management practices within societies and businesses worldwide.
note: Journal
Journal of Business and Administrative Studies Some full text available
JBAS’ purpose is to provide practitioners and scholars opportunities for research based debate as well as discourse in the fields of finance, economics, marketing, and public and development management and governance and related fields.
note: Journal
Journal of Entrepreneurship Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Entrepreneurship is designed to disseminate the fruits of research and results of innovative experiments, with particular focus on countries like India. The journal focuses on the changing contours of entrepreneurial research and training and acquaints the readers with the latest trends and directions of explorations in the theory and practice of entrepreneurship. It publishes original papers of high quality, documenting fresh grounds being explored, new methodologies being employed, conceptual discoveries being made, or innovative experiments being attempted with a view to expanding the frontiers of our knowledge and insight.
note: Access to this journal is through HINARI database. Ask the Librarian for access codes
Journal of Managerial Issues Some full text available
The purpose of the JMI is to contribute to the advancement of knowledge directly related to the theory of organizations and the practice of management. It publishes and disseminates the results of new and original scholarly research to a broad audience consisting of university faculty and administrators, business executives, consultants, employees, and government managers. The JMI acts as a bridge between the academic and business communities.
Journal of Strategy and Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Strategy and Management is an international journal dedicated to: improving the existing knowledge and understanding of strategy development and implementation globally in private and public organizations encouraging new thinking and innovative approaches to the study of strategy offering executives strategic insights based on outcomes of original scholarly research; and establishing effective communication between researchers and executives managing public and private organizations.
note: Login needed for off-campus access
KCA Journal of Business Management Some full text available
KCA Journal of Business Management is a refereed academic journal published biannually by KCA University. The Journal publishes papers that are well grounded in the theory and practice of business relevant to scholars, educators, and practitioners of business.

Management Research Review Some full text available
Management Research Review publishes a wide variety of articles outlining the latest management research. Published 12 times a year, the journal prides itself on quick publication of the very latest research in general management. The key issues featured include:

•human resource management
•financial management
•consumerism
•information and knowledge management
•marketing
•industrial relations
•personnel management
•organisation development
•production and operations management
•entrepreneurship and small business management
Nankai Business Review International Restricted Resource Some full text available
Strategic management
note: Login needed for off-campus access
Police Studies: Intnl Review of Police Development Some full text available
Interdisciplinary and wide-ranging in scope, the journal covers the latest international developments on matters of policy, practice, management, operations, education and training, science and technology. The journal provides readers with a truly global and comparative perspective on policing. Sections within the journal include refereed articles, reviews of recent research, book reviews, debates and abstracts of articles published in other leading journals.

This journal is for those concerned with achieving greater effectiveness in policing and law enforcement. The worldwide readership includes senior police officers and policy makers, plus academics teaching and researching in this field.

The Journal of Applied Behavioral Science Some full text available
The Journal of Applied Behavioral Science (JAB), peer-reviewed and published quarterly is a leading international journal on the effects of evolutionary and planned change. Founded and sponsored by the NTL Institute, JABS is continually breaking ground in its exploration of group dynamics, organization development, and social change, providing scholars the best in research, theory, and methodology, while also informing professionals and their clients

Books

Business Fundamentals Some full text available
GTP. Business Fundamentals, Connexions Web site.

http://cnx.org/content/col11227/1.4/, Oct 8, 2010.
Subject: Business
Keywords: business, business models, business plans, entrepreneurship, finance, global text project, growth strategies, information technology, international business, management, marketing, operations, products, services, start-ups, technology
note: ebook
Business Organisation and Management / Mahajan, J.P. Some full text available
Author: Mahajan, J.P.  
Publisher: Global Media
Date Published: 2010
Subjects: Business.   Management.  

This book covers the folloeing topics:
UNIT - I : Fundamental Concepts
UNIT - II : Forms Of Ownership Organisation
UNIT - III : Joint Stock Company
UNIT - IV: Management, Planning and Decision-Making
UNIT - V : Organising
note: e-book
Perspectives for Effective Management / Kushal, K.B et al. Some full text available
AuthorKushal, K.B.   Ravishankar, S.   Kalla, H.L.   
PublisherGlobal Media
Date Published: 2010 
SubjectsManagement.   

This book contains the following topics:

PART I : Conceptual Framework
PART II : Strategic Issues
PART III : Organisational Dimensions
PART IV : Culture Building Aspects
PART V : Emerging Concerns
 
note: e-book
Principles of Management / Ramasamy, T. Some full text available
AuthorRamasamy, T.   
PublisherGlobal Media
Date Published: 2010 
SubjectsManagement.   

This book contains the following topics:
·         Introduction Meaning of Management
·         Definition of Management Features or Characteristics of Mgt
·         Functions of Management
·         Importance of Management
·         Administration and Management
·         Difference between Administration and Model Questions
note: e-book
Taylor & Francis eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
An ebooks database which covers subjects ranging from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law.
note: Login to get access if off-campus

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Amos Kujenga

Amos Kujenga
Systems Analyst
Tel: 117

Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files