Table of Contents
Real Estate Investment & Finance

This guide is meant to assist all Real estate investments and finance students to satisfy their information needs by reflecting on the resources that are available to them. It consists of Electronic Databases, Journals and Books that are of great importance to researchers in this field.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

eBrary Some full text available
Ebrary is an instant digital library with more than 52,000 e-book titles spanning all academic subject areas.
note: Electronic database
Emerald Some full text available
Management, Financial Mnagement, Library and Information Science, Engineering and Marketing.
note: Electronic Database
Sage Journal Some full text available
SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Focuses on Social Sciences & Humanities, health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Material Sciences & Engineering.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

A Citation Proportions Evaluation of Real Estate Research Some full text available
This Journal of real estate literature encourages academic research and teaching in the field of real estate by providing information for researchers and educators. Our scope includes, but goes beyond, that of the traditional literature journal listing published research, dissertations, and work in progress. We intend to include other information on tools, such as software and data bases, helpful to those pursuing research.
note: Journal/Article
Evaluating the Real Estate Journals: The Mainstream Finance Perspective. Some full text available
This journal examines the real estate journals and discipline from the unique perspective of mainstream finance faculty. The entire academic membership of the Financial Management Association (FMA) is surveyed resulting in a 29.6% response rate. They were queried on their personal characteristics (enrollment, number of tenure track faculty, department, rank, area of expertise, number of articles published, and real estate courses offered). But more importantly, they were asked to rank real estate journals by perceived quality and to compare the quality of the real estate journals to five mainstream finance journals. Lastly, they were asked about the support for including real estate courses in the curriculum of the finance department.
note: Journal Article
Real Estate Finance Some full text available
 The stated purpose of this book is to explain the principles and practices of real estate finance as needed by people preparing for careers in mortgage lending. The book is also suggested as being a suitable real estate finance text and reference for college and university students, trade and professional people, and borrowers. The book focuses on mortgage lending and the stated purpose is achieved. The book should prove a useful reference for certain trade and professional groups also. The focus is so narrow, however, that the book is not suitable, by itself, as a text for a general course in real estate finance. Also, it is not a suitable reference for most borrowers. Real Estate Finance is made up of 13 chapters, a glossary, and an index. The emphasis is on residential finance, though some aspects of financing income properties are taken up. 
Research in Real Estate, 1973-2010: A Three-Journal Comparison Some full text available
This research Journal compares Real Estate Economics, the Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics, and the Journal of Real Estate Research in terms of their intellectual contribution to the real estate discipline. The 25 topics of real estate research identified by Winson-Geideman and Evangelopoulos (2013) are used as a basis for a comparison of topic emphases within the three journals. Findings show a shared group of topics, comprising the intellectual core of real estate research, as well as the specific thematic focus of each journal. Analysis of the dynamics in topic emphasis indicates a slow convergence of the three journals, suggesting that the discipline's maturation is accompanied by a process of scope clarification.
note: Journal Article

Articles

Innovative Real Estate Development Finance – Evidence from Europe. Some full text available
Purpose – This research aims to provide an insight into large-scale real estate projects in Europe and how they are using a more innovative blend of finance.

Design/methodology/approach – The methodology involved a mix of desk-based study, interviews and case studies. Interviews were held with financiers, policymakers, developers, investors, fund managers and academics. The specific case projects were Battersea Power Station Development in London; Leipziger Platz site in Berlin; and the Lammenschans site in the city of Leiden, The Netherlands.

Findings– The research found that there is growth in the blend of financial products used in real estate development within large-scale mixed-use projects. This new blend is set with greater equity financing, often from domestic and foreign consortiums generating institutional funds – alongside private debt financing – that utilise a mix of large-scale multi-bank finance.

Practical implications– The scale of the challenge in financing real estate development allied with capital budget constraints has meant that the appetite for innovative finance mechanisms has gained considerable momentum in practice and policy. This research investigates current examples in development finance and provides a discussion of the opinion of key multi-stakeholder participants in the individual cases, and trends more strategically at a broader level.

Originality/value-This detailed study of three major development sites and at a more broader strategic level is significant, in that it provides a better understanding of the differing blends of finance that are being used.
note: Journal Article
Market Valuation of Real Estate Finance Mergers Some full text available
Purpose– Real estate finance institutions as well as the mortgage banking landscape have undergone a profound restructuring since the late 1980s. This study seeks to examine the value implications of 69 domestic and cross‐border merger and acquisition (M&A) deals of exchange listed realestate finance institutions.

Design/methodology/approach– To identify relevant M&A transactions between 1995 and 2002 the following data sources are used. Thomson Financial SDC (Securities Data Company – Mergers and Acquisitions Database), Bloomberg, and Computasoft M&A Data. To assess the value implications of M&A standard event study methodology is used, which relies on the market adjusted model and the market model. Cumulated abnormal returns stemming from the market model and the market adjusted model are calculated for four different event windows.

Findings– The results document that shareholders of targets earn, at least in the closest analyzed interval, significant positive abnormal returns. There are no significant abnormal returns accruing to the shareholders  of the bidders in any of the analyzed intervals. CARs are slightly negative in two of the four event windows, and positive in the remaining two. Hence, M&A transactions cannot be considered a clear success. Nor, however, is any significant evidence found that they destroy value.

Originality/value– Since market valuations of mergers and acquisitions depend on industry‐specific circumstances, this paper explores value effects for a specific sector, namely the real estatefinance sector. It shows that  real estate 
finance transactions are beneficial for target shareholders. In addition, the results indicate that these transactions do not significantly destroy value for bidding companies. This result contradicts prior evidence for the related banking industry.
note: Journal Article
Real Estate Finance Some full text available
This article is  divided into 21 chapters supported by various supplements and prerequisites dotted around the text at the relevant point or contained in the appendices.Some of these chapters include Real estate cyles and Real estate exit strategies . The majority of the writings are taken from various editions of the Wharton Review either authored or coauthored by Peter Linneman. These are great at adding flesh to the bones; they take the fundamentals discussed in each chapter and place the theory in context. 
note: Journal Article 

Books

Financial Modelling for Real Estate Finance /Roche, Julian Some full text available
Real estate construction or investment requires a high level of expertise in building financial models if the building is to be profitable. This book provides you with a step-by-step guide to constructing a financial model for a real estate development.Modeling real estate is fundamentally about ascertaining the present value of a future stream of cash flows – cash flows that just so happen come from a real estate asset.
note: eBook
Real Estate Finance in India /Das, Prashant and Sharma, Divyanshu Some full text available
The book offers a concise yet comprehensive understanding of real estate finance in India. The central themes of this book are functioning, instruments, and decision analysis related to home loans and residential mortgage banking. These themes are also extended to commercial real estate borrowing and secondary markets. The chapters are organized to offer practically useful and theoretically sound knowledge of real estate finance. Realistic scenarios, examples, expert opinions, illustrations, and, most importantly, hands-on financial exercises are extensively used to offer a concrete knowledge of the intricacies of real estate finance. The book systematically progresses from basic financial concepts to more complex discussions (such as exotic home loan types and their analysis). Beyond solved examples, the book also offers practice problems with answers so that a reader understands the financial instruments. PowerPoint presentations for the various chapters will be useful for instructors. Real estate investors (institutional or individuals), academics, students, professionals, and generalist real estate enthusiasts will find the book useful for their learning and real-life applications.
note: eBook
Real Estate Finance in the New Economy /Tiwari, Piyush and White, Michael Some full text available
The financial deregulation of the last quarter century has meant large flows of funds around the world seeking the highest risk-adjusted return for investors. Real estate is now established as an important asset class and advances in information technology provide the necessary tools to complement global developments in real estate finance and investment. A variety of investment vehicles have emerged, andReal Estate Finance in the New Economy examines these along with financing and risk in the context of globalization, deregulation and an increasingly integrated international world economy by exploring questions like: How have real estate financial structures evolved as economies grow and become internationalised? What role do economic change and financial systems play in the development of real estate investment? Are the risks associated with the ‘new economy'really new? What is the future direction for real estate financing? The authors develop an economic framework for discussions on individual financial products to examine how real estate financial structures change with economic growth and internationalisation and also to show how developments in real estate finance impact economic growth.
note: eBook
Real Estate Finance Law, 6th (Hornbook Series) /Grant Nelson et...al Some full text available
This treatise provides current, expert coverage on the law of mortgages, including the mortgagor-mortgagee relationship prior to foreclosure; mortgage substitutes; transfers by the mortgagor; transfers by the mortgagee; payment and prepayment; the foreclosure process; deficiency judgments and anti-deficiency regulation; priority issues; governmental intervention in the mortgage market; and financing real estate construction.The Sixth Edition provides a comprehensive update of relevant case law, legislation, and regulation since publication of the Fifth Edition in 2007. This update includes:A thorough and up-to-date revision of the material on judicial and nonjudicial foreclosure New material on “short sales” and “loss mitigation”A comprehensive revision of the material on securitization and the ownership, transfer, and enforcement of securitized mortgage loans A comprehensive revision of materials on governmental intervention in the mortgage market, including new material on the impacts of the Dodd-Frank Act Discussion of recent cases and theories on the application of the “disparate impact” test in racially discriminatory mortgage lendingA thorough and functional restructuring of the material on bankruptcy law and its impact on mortgagees in Chapters 7, 11, 12 and 13 proceedingsComprehensive discussion of recent judicial authority on priority issuesLike the Fifth Edition, the Sixth Edition also comprehensively tracks judicial discussion and application of the principles in the Restatement (Third) of Property: Mortgages.
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian (Institutional Repository)
Tel: 118

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files