Finance

This guide contains resources relevant to the dapartment of Finance. 
 
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal Some full text available
The Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal is dedicated to the advancement of accounting knowledge and provides a forum for the publication of high quality manuscripts concerning the interaction between accounting/auditing and their socio-economic and political environments.
note: Journal
Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial and Technical Series Some full text available
Africa Research Bulletin has been a leading research service on Africa since 1964, providing impartial summaries of, and extensive reports on, political and economic developments throughout the continent.
note: Journal
Afrika Statistika Some full text available
The Africa Statistika journal publishes applied and theoretical work researches about probabilities, statistics, operational research, financial mathematics and about the annexes as well.

Annals of Actuarial Science Some full text available
Annals of Actuarial Science covers subject areas such as life insurance, non-life insurance, pensions, health insurance, finance and investment, econometrics, insurance economics as well financial risk management.
note: Journal
Balance Sheet Some full text available
The journal provides a rigorous forum for the publication of theory and empirical work, by both academic and industry experts, related to the financing of risk in its various forms. With a long-standing focus on issues of market convergence, the journal is particularly committed to research addressing (1) the creation of innovative products straddling the boundaries of financial engineering, traditional insurance/reinsurance, and alternative risk transfer, and (2) the development of risk-financing mechanisms in emerging economies throughout the world.
note: Journal
critical perspectives on international business Some full text available
Critical perspectives on international business provides a space for researchers and practitioners in diverse fields such as management, politics, economics, geography, etc., to come together to examine questions surrounding international business and approaches to management practice.
note: Journal
EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full-text, abstracted and indexed journals from all branches
of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
note: Login needed for off-campus access
European Business Review Some full text available
European Business Review provides insights and foresights to practitioners and scholars of the state-of-the-art of academic disciplines in business. It provides historic reviews to enhance our understanding of the current status and the future directions of business and the academic disciplines of business.

European Journal of Innovation Management European Journal of Innovation Management Some full text available
The subject of innovation is receiving increased interest both from companies because of their increased awareness of the impact of innovation in determining market success and also from the research community. The journal aims to be a European forum for disseminating vital information and knowledge in the field of innovation.
note: Journal
International Journal of Bank Marketing Some full text available
The International Journal of Bank Marketing for the financial services sector, aims to present the latest thinking, practice and research findings on issues of current and future concern for financial services marketers worldwide.

International Journal of Law and Management Some full text available
The International Journal of Law and Management seeks to acknowledge the dynamics of that environment and provide a platform for articles and contributions to stimulate scholarly debate in the development of law and practice. It seeks to present the latest research on policy, practice and theoretical perspectives and their impact on the development and leadership of organisations.
note: Journal
International Journal of Managerial Finance Some full text available
International Journal of Managerial Finance aims to arm its readership with the latest research and commentary in all areas associated with managerial finance, with an informed, inter-disciplinary and international approach.

International Journal of Social Economics Some full text available
The journal will present the social-economic problems, as expressed by economists, philosophers, political scientists, historians and business academics, with their consequent ethical considerations.
note: Journal
International Research Journal of Applied Finance: Volume. III Issue. 1 January 2012 Some full text availableopenURL
International Research Journal of Applied Finance (IRJAF) is a double blind peer-reviewed open access online journal. It covers topics such as *Portfolio Management *Shareholder Responsibilities *Investors and corporate Social Responsibility *Emerging Markets *Financial Forecasting *Equity Analysis *Derivatives *Currency Markets *International Finance *Behavioral Finance Financial Accounting *Financial Management *Cost Accounting *Applied Economics *Econometrics *Financial Engineering
note: Journal
Journal of Accounting & Organizational Change Some full text available
The main objective of the journal is to provide a platform for researchers and practitioners from multiple disciplines to disseminate information on organizational and accounting systems change. The journal will be directed at mapping out contemporary changes in the new global business environment. It will seek to explain the new techniques, processes, and philosophies associated with the rise of strategy-oriented accounting and information systems.

Journal of Advances in Management Research Some full text available
This journal provides a dynamic international forum for the exchange and dissemination of the latest studies on advances in all functional areas of management, both in the service and the manufacturing sectors. The main objective of the journal is to act as a vehicle for resources which contribute to the improvement of management practices within societies and businesses worldwide.
note: Journal
Journal of Banking and Finance Restricted Resource

The Journal of Banking and Finance (JBF) publishes theoretical and empirical research papers spanning all the major research fields in finance and banking. The aim of the Journal of Banking and Finance is to provide an outlet for the increasing flow of scholarly research concerning financial institutions and the money and capital markets within which they function. The Journal's emphasis is on theoretical developments and their implementation, empirical, applied, and policy-oriented research in banking and other domestic and international financial institutions and markets. The Journal's purpose is to improve communications between, and within, the academic and other research communities and policymakers and operational decision makers at financial institutions - private and public, national and international, and their regulators.

Main subjects covered include: Accounting and Financial Reporting; Alternative Investments; Asset Pricing; Banking Efficiency; Banking Regulation; Bank Solvency and Capital Structure; Behavioural Finance; Commodity and Energy Markets; Corporate Finance; Corporate Governance and Ethics; Credit Rating; Derivative Pricing and Hedging; Empirical Finance; Financial Applications of Decision Theory or Game Theory; Financial Applications of Simulation or Numerical Methods; Financial Economics; Financial Engineering; Financial Forecasting; Financial Risk Management and Analysis; Portfolio Optimization and Trading; Regulation of Financial Markets and Institutions; Stochastic Models for Asset and Instrument Prices; Systemic Risk.


note: Access is through HINARI
Journal of Business and Administrative Studies Some full text available
JBAS’ purpose is to provide practitioners and scholars opportunities for research based debate as well as discourse in the fields of finance, economics, marketing, and public and development management and governance and related fields.
note: Journal
Journal of Business Strategy Some full text available
As one of the few journals dedicated to business strategy, JBS defines strategy in the broadest sense and thus covers topics as diverse as marketing strategy, innovation, developments in the global economy, mergers & acquisition integration and human resources
note: Journal
Journal of Economic Studies Some full text available
The journal seeks research findings and commentary on international developments in economics.
note: Journal
Journal of Enterprise Information Management Some full text available
JEIM increasingly publishes an holistic range of research findings from internationally distinguished experts in the field. Scholarly examinations of the latest theory and practice from the foremost research institutions are augmented by contributions from senior business managers and consultants, who report on specific enterprise case histories. This blended contribution of theoretical and practical outcomes results in an extensive communication of commercial findings and audience understanding of current, applied and rigorous research.
note: Journal
Journal of Finance Some full text available

Overview

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is the most widely cited academic journal on finance. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

Aims and Scope

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is one of the most widely cited academic journal on finance and one of the most widely cited journals in all of economics as well. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

Keywords

finance, journal, American, association, AFA, financial, economics, theory, markets, international, exchange, derivatives, trading, structures, journal, article, periodical, analysis, research, modelling, macroeconomics, policy
Journal of Financial Crime Some full text available
The journal is essential reading for all those concerned with the prevention, detection and prosecution of financial crime and the protection of assets.
Journal of Financial Economic Policy Some full text available
The Journal of Financial Economic Policy is devoted to the advancement of the understanding of the entire spectrum of financial policy and control issues and their interactions to economic phenomena. These include, but are not limited to: financial markets stability, corporate and systemic liquidity control, monetary and fiscal policy, banking stability and supervision, public debt policy and management, regulation and law, sovereign risk and management.
note: Journal
Journal of Financial Regulation and Compliance Some full text available
Journal of Financial Regulation and Compliance publishes expert analyses, reviews and case studies, as well as applied research on major developments in financial regulation. It consistently publishes authoritative, intelligent articles and research of direct relevance both to banking supervisors and the regulated institutions,

Journal of Human Resource Costing & Accounting Some full text available
The journal, which takes an international perspective, is designed primarily for academics and informed key HR practitioners. However, financial managers, line managers and consultants who need to understand current ideas, research and practice about Human Resource Costing and Accounting will also find it a useful tool.
note: Journal
Journal of Intellectual Capital Some full text available
The journal publishes original research and case studies by academic, business and public sector contributors on intellectual capital strategies, approaches, frameworks, tools, techniques and technologies in order to increase the understanding of intellectual capital within the context of the modern knowledge economy.
note: Journal
Journal of Investment Compliance Some full text available
The Journal of Investment Compliance (JOIC) is a quarterly professional journal covering regulatory and compliance issues relevant to broker-dealers, investment advisers, mutual funds, hedge funds and other types of investment companies in the principal financial markets of the world.


Journal of Language, Technology & Entrepreneurship in Africa Some full text available
The journal is cross-disciplinary and publishes articles from a wide-range of topics including language, technology, entrepreneurship, finance and communication. It is meant to promote dialogue across disciplines by emphasizing the interconnectedness of knowledge. It is ideal for scholars eager to venture into other disciplinary horizons
Journal of Money Laundering Control Some full text available
Journal of Money Laundering Control is the world's only quarterly, peer-reviewed journal designed to keep subscribers up to date with the latest law, regulation, techniques and best practice in the prevention, identification and prosecution of money laundering.

Journal of Property Finance Some full text available
The Journal aims to inform and encourage debate internationally between academics and practising professionals in all aspects of real estate research and practice.

Journal of Risk Finance Some full text available
the journal is particularly committed to research addressing (1) the creation of innovative products straddling the boundaries of financial engineering, traditional insurance/reinsurance, and alternative risk transfer, and (2) the development of risk-financing mechanisms in emerging economies throughout the world.

Journal of Small Business and Enterprise Development Some full text available
The journal aims to enhance performance of enterprises and small businesses through detailed investigation and empirical analysis of the latest advances in entrepreneurship and SMEs.

Management Research Review Some full text available
Management Research Review publishes a wide variety of articles outlining the latest management research. Published 12 times a year, the journal prides itself on quick publication of the very latest research in general management. The key issues featured include:

•human resource management
•financial management
•consumerism
•information and knowledge management
•marketing
•industrial relations
•personnel management
•organisation development
•production and operations management
•entrepreneurship and small business management
Managerial Auditing Journal Some full text available
The Managerial Auditing Journal provides a dynamic global forum for the examination of current research and practice in auditing and assurance (internal and external; financial and non-financial). The journal addresses the relation between theory and practice by exploring trends, paradigms and perspectives, including the ethical, social, environmental and economic aspects of contemporary assurance, management performance and governance issues. The journal pushes new boundaries for audit and assurance research by seeking to identify new knowledge and practice through the promotion of a dialogue between academics and practitioners. 
Managerial Finance Some full text available

The journal aims to provide an international forum for the publication of high quality research in: finance, financial management, international finance, economics, banking, financial markets, financial institutions, financial strategy, accounting and management information, corporate finance, investments, real estate, insurance and risk management, global finance, financial education and all other issues related to finance.
note: Electronic Journal
Qualitative Research in Accounting & Management Some full text available
Qualitative Research in Accounting & Management aims to promote international and interdisciplinary research at the interface of accounting and management.

Society and Business Review Some full text available
Society and Business Review aims to cultivate and share knowledge and ideas in order to assist businesses to enhance their commitment in societies.

Books

Business Fundamentals Some full text available
GTP. Business Fundamentals, Connexions Web site.

http://cnx.org/content/col11227/1.4/, Oct 8, 2010.
Subject: Business
Keywords: business, business models, business plans, entrepreneurship, finance, global text project, growth strategies, information technology, international business, management, marketing, operations, products, services, start-ups, technology
note: ebook
Business Owner's Guide to Reading and Understanding Financial Statements : How to Budget, Forecast, and Monitor Cash Flow for Better Decision Ma Some full text available
Author: Epstein, Lita  
Publisher: Wiley
Date Published: 12/2011
Subjects: Cash flow.   Decision making.   Financial statements.   Corporations -- Finance.  


Most small-business owners become very familiar with the income statement, which you may also know as the profit and loss statement, statement of operations, statement of earnings, or statement of operating results. Whatever you call it, this statement gives you a summary of the financial results of your business’s operations over a certain period of time.

Author: Epstein, Lita  
Publisher: Wiley
Date Published: 12/2011
Subjects: Cash flow.   Decision making.   Financial statements.   Corporations -- Finance.  

 
note: ebook
Decentralizing governance / by G. Shabbir Cheema and Dennis A. Rondinelli Some full text available
Experts in government and public management trace the evolution and performance of decentralization concepts, from the transfer of authority within government to the sharing of power, authority, and responsibilities among broader governance institutions. This movement is not limited to national government & No. 151; it also affects subnational governments, NGOs, private corporations, and even civil associations.
note: dawnsonera e-book 
Financial management / by Jo Watkins. Some full text available
Helping you prepare with confidence, avoid pitfalls and pass first time, "CIMA's Exam Practice Kits" contain a wealth of practice exam questions and answers, focusing purely on applying what has been learned to pass the exam. Fully updated to meet the demands of the new 2010 syllabus, the range of questions covers every aspect of the course to prepare you for any exam scenario. Each solution provides an in-depth analysis of the correct answer to give a full understanding of the assessments and valuable insight on how to score top marks. Features include: the only exam practice kits to be officially endorsed by CIMA; written by leading CIMA examiners, markers and tutors - a source you can trust; maps to "CIMA's Learning Systems" and "CIMA's Learning Outcomes" to enable you to study efficiently; exam level questions with type and weightings matching the format of the exam; fully worked model answers to facilitate learning and compare against your own practice answers; and, includes summaries of key theory to strengthen understanding.
note: dawnsonera e-book
Financial stability, economic growth, and the role of law Some full text available
Financial crises have become an all too common occurrence over the past twenty years, largely as a result of changes in finance brought about by increasing internationalization and integration. As domestic financial systems and economies have become more interlinked, weaknesses can significantly impact not only individual economies but also markets, financial intermediaries, and economies around the world. This volume addresses the twin objectives of financial development in the context of financial stability and the role of law in supporting both. Financial stability (frequently seen as the avoidance of financial crisis) has become an objective of both the international financial architecture and individual economies and central banks. At the same time, financial development is now seen to play an important role in economic growth. In both financial stability and financial development, law and related institutions have a central role.
note: dawnsonera e-book
How to improve governance Some full text available
This book emphasizes the need for a comprehensive analytical framework that considers transparency, accountability, governance, and corruption throughout the calculus. Discusses how it can be applied to different countries to help analyze the current situation and identify potential areas for improvement, assessing their relative feasibility and the steps needed to promote them"--Provided by publisher.
note: dawsonera e-book
International finance in emerging markets Some full text available
This book addresses contemporary issues in international monetary policy and finance from a welfare economics perspective, focusing on emerging market nations such as Thailand. The book adopts the elements of new welfare economics and asymmetric information paradigms in analyzing those issues including financial liberalization, crisis, exchange rate determination, and domestic capital market reform. The book suggests for the first time a normative social approach for addressing the contemporary issues in international monetary and financial economics. It provides an example of cutting edge research in international finance and monetary economics within a welfare economics framework.
note: dawnsonera e-book 
Investment leadership & portfolio management Some full text available
"Investment Leadership & Portfolio Management" provides a top down analysis of successful strategies, structures, and actions that create an environment that leads to strong macro investment performance and rewarding investor outcomes. By examining how to manage and lead an investment firm through successful investment decision-making processes and actions, this book reveals what it will take to succeed in a radically changed investment landscape.
note: dawsonera e-book
Principles of Business Statistics Some full text available
Mihai Nica, "Principles of Business Statistics," Connexions, August 5, 2009,
Subject: Mathematics and Statistics, Business
Wiley Finance, Volume 795 : Modern Portfolio Theory + WS : Foundations, Analysis, and New Developments Some full text available
this series contains books written specifically for finance and investment professionals and financial advisors. Book topics range from portfolio management to e-commerce, risk management, financial re-engeneering and financial instrument analysis.
Author
: Francis, Jack Clark   Kim, Dongcheol  
Publisher: Wiley
Original Publication Date: 01/2013
Subjects: Portfolio management.   Risk management.   Investment analysis.
note: e-book

Open Access Resources

Accounting and Finance Research:Vol 1, No 1 (2012) Some full text availableopenURL
An empirical study on the relationship of scale of rural finance development, structure of rural finance development, rural finance development efficiency and peasant income growth. 
Asian Journal of Business Management :Vol. 3, Issue: 2 2011 Some full text availableopenURL
In the context of globalization, finance In the context of globalization, finance often seems to be all number but it is fundamentally social rather than mathematical. It is a product of society. Modern finance consists of promises that are accepted. The Latin root of “Credit” illustrates this aspect –credere is to believe or entrust
Economics and Finance Review Vol. 1(3) pp. 51 – 54, May, 2011
Policy and globalization play an important role within the country's financial statements. They provide the principles which dictate how the members of the firms and organizations will act. This paper aims to study some effects of globalization on policy and finance
International Research Journal of Applied Finance: Volume. II Issue. 11 November 2011 Some full text availableopenURL
The relationship between the share price of a publicly traded company and its past or its future earnings (the P/E effect) has been debated for more than a century. The conventional view continues to be that the P/E ratio is a useful tool for making investments decisions. Using micro data, the present research uses a non-parametric statistical approach to test for the validity of the P/E effect over the period 1984 to 2010. Specifically, it is attempted to empirically ascertain if low P/E stocks, after adjustment for market risk, outperformed stocks with higher P/ E ratios. It is concluded that share prices are not solely influenced by their past or anticipated P/E ratios. 

International Research Journal of Applied Finance:Vol – III Issue – 2 February, 2012 Some full text availableopenURL
International Research Journal of Applied Finance (IRJAF) is a double blind peer-reviewed open 
access online journal.Topics covered include: 
*Portfolio Management *Shareholder Responsibilities *Investors and corporate Social Responsibility *Emerging Markets *Financial Forecasting *Equity Analysis *Derivatives 
*Currency Markets *International Finance *Behavioral Finance Financial Accounting *Financial 
Management *Cost Accounting *Applied Economics *Econometrics *Financial Engineering. 

International Research Journal of Applied Finance:Volume. III Issue. 1 January 2012 Some full text availableopenURL
International Research Journal of Applied Finance (IRJAF) is a double blind peer-reviewed open 
access online journal.Topics covered include: 
*Portfolio Management *Shareholder Responsibilities *Investors and corporate Social Responsibility *Emerging Markets *Financial Forecasting *Equity Analysis *Derivatives 
*Currency Markets *International Finance *Behavioral Finance Financial Accounting *Financial 
Management *Cost Accounting *Applied Economics *Econometrics *Financial Engineering.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Economics and Finance Review : Vol. 1 issue3 May, 2011 Some full text availableopenURL
Policy and globalization play an important role within the country's financial statements. They provide the 
principles which dictate how the members of the firms and organizations will act. This paper aims to study some 
effects of globalization on policy and finance
Empirical Study of Relationship between Rural Finance Development and Peasant Income of Sichuan Province Vol 1, No 1 (2012) Some full text availableopenURL
An empirical study on the relationship of scale of rural finance development, structure of rural finance development, rural finance development efficiency and peasant income growth. 
International Journal of Economics and Finance : Vol 5, No 1 (2013)
The paper aims to examine the new regulatory framework of project finance in the economics of banking firms. In particular, the paper investigates the uniqueness of the project finance, the significant importance of the project finance in bank activity, and the role of the new bank capital requirements to promote the innovative financial scheme.
International Journal of Economics and Finance: Vol 5, No 1 2013 Some full text availableopenURL
The paper aims to examine the new regulatory framework of project finance in the economics of banking firms. In particular, the paper investigates the uniqueness of the project finance, the significant importance of the project finance in bank activity, and the role of the new bank capital requirements to promote the innovative financial scheme.
International Research Journal of Applied Finance Volume: II Issue. 3 March 2011 Some full text availableopenURL
This paper investigates the relationship between stock prices and main macroeconomic variables (i.e. oil prices, short-term interest rates and domestic credit) that are believed to affect stock prices in the context of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) markets. For this purpose, this paper employed recent time series techniques of cointegration and Granger Causality Analysis. The multivariate cointegration tests identified that oil prices, interest rates and domestic credit have long-term equilibrium effects on stock market prices in four GCC countries.
International Research Journal of Applied Finance :Volume. II Issue. 5 May, 2011 Some full text availableopenURL
International Research Journal of Applied Finance (IRJAF) is a double blind peer-reviewed 
open access online journal.It provides a dedicated forum for Academicians practitioners, policy makers and researchers working in the areas of finance, investment, 
accounting, and economics.
International Research Journal of Applied Finance: Volume. II Issue. 9 September 2011 Some full text availableopenURL
International Research Journal of Applied Finance (IRJAF) is a double blind peer-reviewed open access online journal.The journal provides a dedicated forum for Academicians, practitioners, policy makers and researchers working in the areas of finance, investment, accounting, and economics.
International Research Journal of Applied Finance Some full text availableopenURL
International Research Journal of Applied Finance (IRJAF) publishes high-quality research on all aspects of accounting, finance, economics, including traditional areas such as investments, mutual funds, derivatives, international finance, asset pricing, corporate finance, as well as new areas such as issues related to emerging markets.
International Research Journal of Applied Finance:International Research Journal of Applied Finance Some full text availableopenURL
The primary objective of this study is to investigate, identify and classify the characteristics of the temporal behavior of domestic closed-end fund discounts/premiums from a class of linear stochastic autoregressive-integrated-moving average (ARIMA(p, d, q)) models popularized by Box-Jenkins (1994). The secondary objective is to examine the ability of the identified and classified models to forecast out-of-sample closed-end fund discounts/premiums.
International Research Journal of Applied Finance:Vol – II Issue – 7 July, 2011 Some full text availableopenURL
This paper adds to the limited literature on the impact of the financial crisis on labor markets in 
emerging economies, by examining the evolution of pay differentials in Jordan, using the 2010 
Jordan Labor Market Panel Survey (JLMPS).

Dissertations

Should Bank regulators in a developing country be worried about financial innovation in deposit-takin financial institutions: the zimbabwean context (2004-2009)/ Nyandoro Obvious Some full text available
This research sought to ascertain whether there is need for scrutiny of new bank products and processes by regulators in Zimbabwe, particularly taking a look at the financial sector developments for the period 2004 to 2009.

Newspapers--International

Partnerships for Change: Kosovo Resource contains video
In 1999, the people of Kosovo faced the task of rebuilding an economy destroyed by the collapse of socialism, and then war. In this video, Kosovars and IMF experts discuss how they worked together to create from scratch a central bank and a solid banking sector.

note: International Monetary Fund Video,Published on 9 Oct 2012
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Kumbirai Dube

Kumbirai Dube
Senior Library Assistant
Tel: 131

Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian (Institutional Repository)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files