Insurance and Acturial Science

This guide provides access to electronic resources relevant to the department of Insurance and Acturial Science.
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial and Technical Series Some full text available
Africa Research Bulletin has been a leading research service on Africa since 1964, providing impartial summaries of, and extensive reports on, political and economic developments throughout the continent.
note: Journal
Annals of Actuarial Science Some full text available
Annals of Actuarial Science covers subject areas such as life insurance, non-life insurance, pensions, health insurance, finance and investment, econometrics, insurance economics as well financial risk management.
note: Journal
Journal of Advances in Management Research Some full text available
This journal provides a dynamic international forum for the exchange and dissemination of the latest studies on advances in all functional areas of management, both in the service and the manufacturing sectors. The main objective of the journal is to act as a vehicle for resources which contribute to the improvement of management practices within societies and businesses worldwide.
note: Journal
Journal of Financial Crime Some full text available
The journal is essential reading for all those concerned with the prevention, detection and prosecution of financial crime and the protection of assets.

Journal of Financial Economic Policy Some full text available
The Journal of Financial Economic Policy is devoted to the advancement of the understanding of the entire spectrum of financial policy and control issues and their interactions to economic phenomena. These include, but are not limited to: financial markets stability, corporate and systemic liquidity control, monetary and fiscal policy, banking stability and supervision, public debt policy and management, regulation and law, sovereign risk and management.
note: Journal
The Journal of Risk Finance Some full text available
Insurance liabilities are converging with capital markets products (e.g. derivatives and securitizations), thereby increasing the demand for integrated asset and liability management strategies. This article compares the value-added by an integrative approach-based on scenario optimization modelling-relative to traditional risk management methods.
note: e-journal

Books

Business intelligence in economic forecasting / edited by Jue Wang, Shouyang Wang. Some full text available
This book discusses a number of Business Intelligence techniques including neural networks and its various improvements, support vector machine, genetic programming, clustering analysis, TEI@I, fuzzy systems, and text mining".
note: dawnsonera e-book
Inter-Organizational Information Systems and Business Management / by Kishor Vaidya. Some full text available
"This book highlights the most influential organizational theories and their applications in Inter-Organizational Information Systems, providing theories that have been consistently tested and proven to be valid over time"
note: dawnsonera e-book

Open Access Resources

Directory of Open Access Resources Some full text available
The Directory of Open Access Resources (OpenDOAR) aims to provide a comprehensive and authoritative list of academic open access repositories for end-users who wish to find particular archives or who wish to break down repositories by locale, content or other measures. Users can search for repositories by the following regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Caribbean, Central America, Europe, North America, and South America.
note: Institutional Repositories
Open Access Theses and Dissertations Some full text available
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use.
note: Institutional Repository
PQDT Open Some full text available
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
note: Institutional Repository
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
A comprehensive scientific research tool from Elsevier, Scirus ETD Search provides an advanced search that can narrow results to theses and dissertations as well as provide access to related scholarly resources.
note: Institutional Repository
Theses Canada Some full text available
A union catalog of Canadian theses and dissertations, in both electronic and analog formats, is available through the search interface on this portal.
note: Institutional Repository
Trove (National Library of Australia) Some full text available
This search portal provides searching, browsing, and access to digital documents, including ETDs, produced in Australia.
note: Institutional Repository
VTLS Visualizer Some full text available
This is a dynamic search and discovery platform with sophisticated functionality.  You can sort by relevance, title, and date.  In the current implementation, faceted searches are available by language, continent, country, date, format and source institution.  Additional facets, such as subjects or departments, can be added if desired.
note: Institutional  Repository
WorldCat Some full text available
NDLTD Union Catalog hosted by OCLC.
note: Institutional Repository

Newspapers--International

A Modern History of Fiscal Prudence and Profligacy Resource contains video
As policymakers assess the need for fiscal austerity against the risk of triggering a recession, a new IMF study looks back at fiscal policy around the world since 1800 and provides insights from those who grappled with similar challenges in the past.


note: International Monetary Fund Video, Published on 28 Jan 2013
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files