Economics
Book Search
Search for in
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

Development Studies Journals Some full text available
A list of journals on development studies and related subjects accessible through HINARI.
note: Journal
Development Studies Journals Some full text available
A list of journals on development studies and related subjects accessible through HINARI.
note: Journal
HINARI Restricted Resource Some full text available
 HINARI was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Today more than 160 publishers are offering more than 8,000 information resources in HINARI and many others are joining the programme.
note: Ask librarian for login details

Journals/Magazines

Annual Review of Economics Some full text available
The Annual Review of Economicscovers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics and money; microeconomics, including economic psychology; international economics; public finance; health economics; education; economic growth and technological change; economic development; social economics, including culture, institutions, social interaction, and networks; game theory, political economy, and social choice; and more.
note: Journal 
Probabilistic Expectations in Developing Countries: Annual Review of Economics Some full text available
Abstract 
Many decisions are made under uncertainty, and individuals are likely to form subjective expectations about the probabilities of events that are relevant to their decisions. I review here a recent and growing literature that uses probabilistic expectations elicited from survey respondents in developing countries. I first present an illustrative model of one particular decision under uncertainty—the choice of a college—to exemplify the importance of subjective expectations data for identification purposes. I then review existing evidence emphasizing that it is feasible to elicit probabilities from survey respondents in low-literacy settings and describe common patterns of answers. Finally, I describe existing applications, many of which seek to assess how expectations influence behavior, in various domains, including health, education, agricultural production, and migration.
note: Journal article
Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal Some full text available
The Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal is dedicated to the advancement of accounting knowledge and provides a forum for the publication of high quality manuscripts concerning the interaction between accounting/auditing and their socio-economic and political environments.
note: Journal
Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial and Technical Series Some full text available
Africa Research Bulletin has been a leading research service on Africa since 1964, providing impartial summaries of, and extensive reports on, political and economic developments throughout the continent.
note: Journal
Annals of Actuarial Science Some full text available
Annals of Actuarial Science covers subject areas such as life insurance, non-life insurance, pensions, health insurance, finance and investment, econometrics, insurance economics as well financial risk management.
note: Journal
Balance Sheet Some full text available
The journal provides a rigorous forum for the publication of theory and empirical work, by both academic and industry experts, related to the financing of risk in its various forms. With a long-standing focus on issues of market convergence, the journal is particularly committed to research addressing (1) the creation of innovative products straddling the boundaries of financial engineering, traditional insurance/reinsurance, and alternative risk transfer, and (2) the development of risk-financing mechanisms in emerging economies throughout the world.
note: Journal
critical perspectives on international business Some full text available
Critical perspectives on international business provides a space for researchers and practitioners in diverse fields such as management, politics, economics, geography, etc., to come together to examine questions surrounding international business and approaches to management practice.
note: Journal
critical perspectives on international business Some full text available
Critical perspectives on international business provides a space for researchers and practitioners in diverse fields such as management, politics, economics, geography, etc., to come together to examine questions surrounding international business and approaches to management practice.
note: Journal
European Journal of Innovation Management European Journal of Innovation Management Some full text available
The subject of innovation is receiving increased interest both from companies because of their increased awareness of the impact of innovation in determining market success and also from the research community. The journal aims to be a European forum for disseminating vital information and knowledge in the field of innovation.
note: Journal
European Journal of Innovation Management European Journal of Innovation Management Some full text available
The subject of innovation is receiving increased interest both from companies because of their increased awareness of the impact of innovation in determining market success and also from the research community. The journal aims to be a European forum for disseminating vital information and knowledge in the field of innovation.
note: Journal
How Economic Contractions and Expansions Affect Expenditure Patterns. Some full text available
Abstract
In this study, we attempt to understand how household budget allocations across various expenditure categories change when the economy is in recession or expansion. The common assumption is that a household's tastes would not change as a function of economic conditions and therefore any adjustments in expenditure patterns during economic contractions/expansions would simply be due to changes in the consumption budget. Standard economic models translate these budgetary effects into lateral movements along a set of fixed Engel curves, which relate category expenditure shares to total expenditures. We propose and test a conceptual framework based on the notion of relative consumption, which prescribes that, for any given total consumption budget, expenditure shares for positional goods/services will decrease during a recession, while shares for nonpositional goods/services will increase (i.e., shifting the entire Engel curve upward or downward, depending on the nature of the expenditure category and the economic conditions).

Authors:
KAMAKURA, WAGNER A.
YUXING DU, REX
Source:Journal of Consumer Research. Jun2013 Supplement, pS92-S110. 19p. 4 Charts, 2 Graphs.
Subject Terms:
*CONSUMPTION (Economics)
*BUSINESS cycles
*FAMILY budgets
*RECESSIONS
*ECONOMIC models
*ECONOMIC expansion
*PER capita
*GROSS domestic product
*UTILITY functions
REFERENCE groups
CROSS-sectional method
SOCIODEMOGRAPHIC factors
note: article
How Economic Contractions and Expansions Affect Expenditure Patterns. Some full text available
Abstract
In this study, we attempt to understand how household budget allocations across various expenditure categories change when the economy is in recession or expansion. The common assumption is that a household's tastes would not change as a function of economic conditions and therefore any adjustments in expenditure patterns during economic contractions/expansions would simply be due to changes in the consumption budget. Standard economic models translate these budgetary effects into lateral movements along a set of fixed Engel curves, which relate category expenditure shares to total expenditures. We propose and test a conceptual framework based on the notion of relative consumption, which prescribes that, for any given total consumption budget, expenditure shares for positional goods/services will decrease during a recession, while shares for nonpositional goods/services will increase (i.e., shifting the entire Engel curve upward or downward, depending on the nature of the expenditure category and the economic conditions).

Authors:
KAMAKURA, WAGNER A.
YUXING DU, REX
Source:Journal of Consumer Research. Jun2013 Supplement, pS92-S110. 19p. 4 Charts, 2 Graphs.
Subject Terms:
*CONSUMPTION (Economics)
*BUSINESS cycles
*FAMILY budgets
*RECESSIONS
*ECONOMIC models
*ECONOMIC expansion
*PER capita
*GROSS domestic product
*UTILITY functions
REFERENCE groups
CROSS-sectional method
SOCIODEMOGRAPHIC factors
note: article
How Economic Contractions and Expansions Affect Expenditure Patterns. Some full text available
Abstract
In this study, we attempt to understand how household budget allocations across various expenditure categories change when the economy is in recession or expansion. The common assumption is that a household's tastes would not change as a function of economic conditions and therefore any adjustments in expenditure patterns during economic contractions/expansions would simply be due to changes in the consumption budget. Standard economic models translate these budgetary effects into lateral movements along a set of fixed Engel curves, which relate category expenditure shares to total expenditures. We propose and test a conceptual framework based on the notion of relative consumption, which prescribes that, for any given total consumption budget, expenditure shares for positional goods/services will decrease during a recession, while shares for nonpositional goods/services will increase (i.e., shifting the entire Engel curve upward or downward, depending on the nature of the expenditure category and the economic conditions).

Authors:
KAMAKURA, WAGNER A.
YUXING DU, REX
Source:Journal of Consumer Research. Jun2013 Supplement, pS92-S110. 19p. 4 Charts, 2 Graphs.
Subject Terms:
*CONSUMPTION (Economics)
*BUSINESS cycles
*FAMILY budgets
*RECESSIONS
*ECONOMIC models
*ECONOMIC expansion
*PER capita
*GROSS domestic product
*UTILITY functions
REFERENCE groups
CROSS-sectional method
SOCIODEMOGRAPHIC factors
note: article
How Economic Contractions and Expansions Affect Expenditure Patterns. Some full text available
Abstract
In this study, we attempt to understand how household budget allocations across various expenditure categories change when the economy is in recession or expansion. The common assumption is that a household's tastes would not change as a function of economic conditions and therefore any adjustments in expenditure patterns during economic contractions/expansions would simply be due to changes in the consumption budget. Standard economic models translate these budgetary effects into lateral movements along a set of fixed Engel curves, which relate category expenditure shares to total expenditures. We propose and test a conceptual framework based on the notion of relative consumption, which prescribes that, for any given total consumption budget, expenditure shares for positional goods/services will decrease during a recession, while shares for nonpositional goods/services will increase (i.e., shifting the entire Engel curve upward or downward, depending on the nature of the expenditure category and the economic conditions).

Authors:
KAMAKURA, WAGNER A.
YUXING DU, REX
Source:Journal of Consumer Research. Jun2013 Supplement, pS92-S110. 19p. 4 Charts, 2 Graphs.
Subject Terms:
*CONSUMPTION (Economics)
*BUSINESS cycles
*FAMILY budgets
*RECESSIONS
*ECONOMIC models
*ECONOMIC expansion
*PER capita
*GROSS domestic product
*UTILITY functions
REFERENCE groups
CROSS-sectional method
SOCIODEMOGRAPHIC factors
note: article
Info Some full text available
info brings together analysis of technological changes from a variety of perspectives (policy, management, industry structure, behavioural) drawing on concepts and models from economics, the political, social and behavioural sciences, decision analysis, engineering, and law. It provides an effective forum for debate and will help guide the policy and business decisions that are shaping the information economy and society of the 21st century.
note: Journal
Info Some full text available
info brings together analysis of technological changes from a variety of perspectives (policy, management, industry structure, behavioural) drawing on concepts and models from economics, the political, social and behavioural sciences, decision analysis, engineering, and law. It provides an effective forum for debate and will help guide the policy and business decisions that are shaping the information economy and society of the 21st century.
note: Journal
International Journal of Law and Management Some full text available
The International Journal of Law and Management seeks to acknowledge the dynamics of that environment and provide a platform for articles and contributions to stimulate scholarly debate in the development of law and practice. It seeks to present the latest research on policy, practice and theoretical perspectives and their impact on the development and leadership of organisations.
note: Journal
International Journal of Social Economics
The journal will present the social-economic problems, as expressed by economists, philosophers, political scientists, historians and business academics, with their consequent ethical considerations.
note: Journal
Journal of Advances in Management Research Some full text available
This journal provides a dynamic international forum for the exchange and dissemination of the latest studies on advances in all functional areas of management, both in the service and the manufacturing sectors. The main objective of the journal is to act as a vehicle for resources which contribute to the improvement of management practices within societies and businesses worldwide.
note: Journal
Journal of Business and Administrative Studies Some full text available
JBAS’ purpose is to provide practitioners and scholars opportunities for research based debate as well as discourse in the fields of finance, economics, marketing, and public and development management and governance and related fields.
note: Journal
Journal of Business and Administrative Studies Some full text available
JBAS’ purpose is to provide practitioners and scholars opportunities for research based debate as well as discourse in the fields of finance, economics, marketing, and public and development management and governance and related fields.
note: Journal
Journal of Business Strategy Some full text available
As one of the few journals dedicated to business strategy, JBS defines strategy in the broadest sense and thus covers topics as diverse as marketing strategy, innovation, developments in the global economy, mergers & acquisition integration and human resources
note: Journal
Journal of Business Strategy Some full text available
As one of the few journals dedicated to business strategy, JBS defines strategy in the broadest sense and thus covers topics as diverse as marketing strategy, innovation, developments in the global economy, mergers & acquisition integration and human resources
note: Journal
Journal of Economic Studies Some full text available
The journal seeks research findings and commentary on international developments in economics.
note: Journal
Journal of Economic Studies Some full text available
The journal seeks research findings and commentary on international developments in economics.
note: Journal
Journal of Enterprise Information Management Some full text available
JEIM increasingly publishes an holistic range of research findings from internationally distinguished experts in the field. Scholarly examinations of the latest theory and practice from the foremost research institutions are augmented by contributions from senior business managers and consultants, who report on specific enterprise case histories. This blended contribution of theoretical and practical outcomes results in an extensive communication of commercial findings and audience understanding of current, applied and rigorous research.
note: Journal
Journal of Financial Economic Policy Some full text available
The Journal of Financial Economic Policy is devoted to the advancement of the understanding of the entire spectrum of financial policy and control issues and their interactions to economic phenomena. These include, but are not limited to: financial markets stability, corporate and systemic liquidity control, monetary and fiscal policy, banking stability and supervision, public debt policy and management, regulation and law, sovereign risk and management.
note: Journal
Journal of Financial Economic Policy Some full text available
The Journal of Financial Economic Policy is devoted to the advancement of the understanding of the entire spectrum of financial policy and control issues and their interactions to economic phenomena. These include, but are not limited to: financial markets stability, corporate and systemic liquidity control, monetary and fiscal policy, banking stability and supervision, public debt policy and management, regulation and law, sovereign risk and management.
note: Journal
Journal of Human Resource Costing & Accounting Some full text available
The journal, which takes an international perspective, is designed primarily for academics and informed key HR practitioners. However, financial managers, line managers and consultants who need to understand current ideas, research and practice about Human Resource Costing and Accounting will also find it a useful tool.
note: Journal
Journal of Human Resource Costing & Accounting Some full text available
The journal, which takes an international perspective, is designed primarily for academics and informed key HR practitioners. However, financial managers, line managers and consultants who need to understand current ideas, research and practice about Human Resource Costing and Accounting will also find it a useful tool.
note: Journal
Journal of Intellectual Capital Some full text available
The journal publishes original research and case studies by academic, business and public sector contributors on intellectual capital strategies, approaches, frameworks, tools, techniques and technologies in order to increase the understanding of intellectual capital within the context of the modern knowledge economy.
note: Journal
Journal of Intellectual Capital Some full text available
The journal publishes original research and case studies by academic, business and public sector contributors on intellectual capital strategies, approaches, frameworks, tools, techniques and technologies in order to increase the understanding of intellectual capital within the context of the modern knowledge economy.
note: Journal
Journal of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research Some full text available
The National Institute Economic Review is the peer-reviewed, quarterly publication of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research, one of Britain`s oldest and most prestigious independent research organisations. The Institute`s objective is to promote, through quantitative research, a deeper understanding of the interaction of economic and social forces
note: Journal
Journal of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research Some full text available
The National Institute Economic Review is the peer-reviewed, quarterly publication of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research, one of Britain`s oldest and most prestigious independent research organisations. The Institute`s objective is to promote, through quantitative research, a deeper understanding of the interaction of economic and social forces
note: Journal
Managerial Finance Some full text available

The journal aims to provide an international forum for the publication of high quality research in: finance, financial management, international finance, economics, banking, financial markets, financial institutions, financial strategy, accounting and management information, corporate finance, investments, real estate, insurance and risk management, global finance, financial education and all other issues related to finance.
note: Electronic Journal
Managerial Finance Some full text available

The journal aims to provide an international forum for the publication of high quality research in: finance, financial management, international finance, economics, banking, financial markets, financial institutions, financial strategy, accounting and management information, corporate finance, investments, real estate, insurance and risk management, global finance, financial education and all other issues related to finance.
note: Electronic Journal
Recent Developments in Empirical Likelihood and Related Methods Some full text available
Abstract
This article reviews a number of recent contributions to estimation and inference for models defined by moment condition restrictions. The particular emphasis is on the generalized empirical likelihood class of estimators as an alternative to the generalized method of moments. Estimation methods for parameters defined through moment restrictions and their properties are described with tests of over identifying moment restrictions and parametric hypotheses. Computational issues are discussed together with some proposals for their amelioration. Higher-order and other properties are also addressed in some detail. Models specified by conditional moment restriction models are considered, and the adaptation of these methods to weakly dependent data is discussed.

Paulo M.D.C. Parente and Richard J. Smith
Vol. 6
 
note: journal
The evolution of development economics and globalization Some full text available
Abstract
The legacy of the last 50 years of development economics is not very inspiring. In the 1960s and 1970s, instead of looking at the real causes and viable solutions to poverty and underdevelopment, development economics was preoccupied with the politically-charged debate over the superiority of either state-controlled or market systems. In the 1980s and 1990s, economists expected that globalization would come to be a panacea for all developing countries. They advocated the abandonment of traditional industries and occupations and their replacement by modern sectors modelled after or imported from the developed countries. Such policies have generally failed with few exceptions–those being countries which chose to implement their own specific policies of development. These countries skillfully combined government interventionism with market system incentives. Despite its past problems, development economics has recently evolved to better reflect the realities of developing countries. For the first time, development economics is on the verge of becoming a real social science in which analysis of traditional institutions, community life, and religious and ethnic factors is not only important but decisive in developing new social and economic growth objectives and economic policies.
note: International Journal of Social Economics Article
The International Journal of Leadership in Public Services Some full text available
The International Journal of Leadership in Public Services draws together the best international research and lived experiences of leadership to address current issues in the delivery of public services. This multi-disciplinary and evidence-based journal includes articles that add to understanding and implementation of leadership skills and knowledge to strengthen and improve public services. It includes quantitative and qualitative research, alongside illuminating narratives on the effective exercise of leadership.
note: Journal

Newspapers

Clearance to POSCO's Orissa project to send out positive signals to big investors Some full text available
Feb. 01--NEW DELHI -- Environment minister Jairam Ramesh is caught in an Inspector Javert moment. In deciding the fate of the South Korean steel maker POSCO's integrated steel plant and port project in Orissa, Jairam Ramesh is caught between implementing the laws he has sworn to uphold in letter and spirit and putting considerations such as "strategic interests", foreign investment and "economic growth" ahead of those laws.

Authors:A Goswami, Urmi
Source:Economic Times, The (India). 02/01/2011.
Document Type:Article
Accession Number:2W63884078691
 
 
note: article
Clearance to POSCO's Orissa project to send out positive signals to big investors Some full text available
Feb. 01--NEW DELHI -- Environment minister Jairam Ramesh is caught in an Inspector Javert moment. In deciding the fate of the South Korean steel maker POSCO's integrated steel plant and port project in Orissa, Jairam Ramesh is caught between implementing the laws he has sworn to uphold in letter and spirit and putting considerations such as "strategic interests", foreign investment and "economic growth" ahead of those laws.

Authors:A Goswami, Urmi
Source:Economic Times, The (India). 02/01/2011.
Document Type:Article
Accession Number:2W63884078691
 
 
note: article
Clearance to POSCO's Orissa project to send out positive signals to big investors Some full text available
Feb. 01--NEW DELHI -- Environment minister Jairam Ramesh is caught in an Inspector Javert moment. In deciding the fate of the South Korean steel maker POSCO's integrated steel plant and port project in Orissa, Jairam Ramesh is caught between implementing the laws he has sworn to uphold in letter and spirit and putting considerations such as "strategic interests", foreign investment and "economic growth" ahead of those laws.

Authors:A Goswami, Urmi
Source:Economic Times, The (India). 02/01/2011.
Document Type:Article
Accession Number:2W63884078691
 
 
note: article
Egypt turmoil to impact markets worldwide Some full text available
Feb. 01--MUMBAI, India -- The uprising against the 30-year rule of Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak seems set to impact stocks across emerging markets this week, as investors, concerned about the impact of the political turmoil on the wider Middle-East region and rising oil prices, may flee riskier markets to traditional safe-haven investments like precious metals and US Treasury bonds.

Authors:Vasudevan, Nishanth
Source:Economic Times, The (India). 02/01/2011.
Document Type:Article
Accession Number:2W6311562222
note: article
Egypt turmoil to impact markets worldwide Some full text available
Feb. 01--MUMBAI, India -- The uprising against the 30-year rule of Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak seems set to impact stocks across emerging markets this week, as investors, concerned about the impact of the political turmoil on the wider Middle-East region and rising oil prices, may flee riskier markets to traditional safe-haven investments like precious metals and US Treasury bonds.

Authors:Vasudevan, Nishanth
Source:Economic Times, The (India). 02/01/2011.
Document Type:Article
Accession Number:2W6311562222
note: article
Maruti: Higher input costs, royalty play spoiler Some full text available
Feb. 01--Maruti Suzuki India's December 2010 quarter results highlight the difficult operating environment for the automobile sector due to rising input costs and the inability of carmakers to fully pass them on.

Authors:Mathur, Amriteshwar
Source:Economic Times, The (India). 02/01/2011.
Accession Number:2W6824394552
note: article

Books

Progress in Economics Research, Volume 22 Some full text available
This series spans the globe presenting leading research in economics. International applications and examples of economic progress are invaluable in a troubled world with economic booms bursting like so many penny balloons. Topics discussed include the exchange rate regimes in transition economies; managing external volatility; interest groups and monetary policy management; stock market interactions and corporate joint venturing.

Author: Wouters, Thomas L.  
Publisher: Nova Science Publishers, Inc.
Date Published: 06/2011
Subjects: Economics.  



 
note: ebook
Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics 2005 Some full text available
The Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics is one of the world’s best-known series of conferences on development. It seeks to expand the flow of ideas among scholars and practitioners of development policy from academia, government, and the private sector around the world

Author:Bourguignon,Francois, Pleskovic,Boris 
Publisher:WorldBankPublications
DatePublished:05/2005
Subjects: Development economics -- Periodicals.   Developing countries -- Economic conditions
note: ebook
Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics, Europe 2002-2003 : Toward Pro-Poor Policies--Aid, Institutions, and Globalization Some full text available
This is a collaborative series with an objective of describing reality economics.Its primarily concerned with the economy as a real object than as behavioural based axioms ,assumptions and techniques.The economic policy,economic sociology ,technological governance are critically examined.

Author
: Pleskovic, Boris   Stern, Nicholas  
Publisher: World Bank Publications
Original Publication Date: 04/2004
Subjects: Development economics -- Developing countries.   Developing countries -- Economic conditions.  
note: e-book
Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics, Europe 2002-2003 : Toward Pro-Poor Policies--Aid, Institutions, and Globalization Some full text available
This is a collaborative series with an objective of describing reality economics.Its primarily concerned with the economy as a real object than as behavioural based axioms ,assumptions and techniques.The economic policy,economic sociology ,technological governance are critically examined.

Author
: Pleskovic, Boris   Stern, Nicholas  
Publisher: World Bank Publications
Original Publication Date: 04/2004
Subjects: Development economics -- Developing countries.   Developing countries -- Economic conditions.  
note: e-book
Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics, Europe 2002-2003 : Toward Pro-Poor Policies--Aid, Institutions, and Globalization Some full text available
This is a collaborative series with an objective of describing reality economics.Its primarily concerned with the economy as a real object than as behavioural based axioms ,assumptions and techniques.The economic policy,economic sociology ,technological governance are critically examined.

Author
: Pleskovic, Boris   Stern, Nicholas  
Publisher: World Bank Publications
Original Publication Date: 04/2004
Subjects: Development economics -- Developing countries.   Developing countries -- Economic conditions.  
note: e-book
Better Living through Economics Some full text available
This book illustrates the fundamental contributions of economic research to important public policy decisions. The examples are from the past half century. It may surprise many people to learn that it was economics research that built the foundation for eliminating the military draft in favor of an all-volunteer army in 1973, for passing the Earned Income Tax Credit in 1975, for deregulating airlines in 1978, and for adopting the Pension Protection Act of 2006 that switched the default option to participate in 401(k) retirement plans.

Author: Siegfried, John J  
Publisher: Harvard University Press
Date Published: 01/2010
Subjects: Economics -- Research.  
note: ebook
Better Living through Economics Some full text available
This book illustrates the fundamental contributions of economic research to important public policy decisions. The examples are from the past half century. It may surprise many people to learn that it was economics research that built the foundation for eliminating the military draft in favor of an all-volunteer army in 1973, for passing the Earned Income Tax Credit in 1975, for deregulating airlines in 1978, and for adopting the Pension Protection Act of 2006 that switched the default option to participate in 401(k) retirement plans.

Author: Siegfried, John J  
Publisher: Harvard University Press
Date Published: 01/2010
Subjects: Economics -- Research.  
note: ebook
Business Economics, Volume 1 Some full text available
In this world of increased competition in business houses, this book talks about the importance to learn as to what Business, Economics and Business Economics is all about. It also states that it is important to know as to what the objectives of these terms are; how significant they are in the economic activities of any country, how to use scarce resources effectively to increase productivity. How to bring about the welfare of the consumers, in the society by providing goods and services at reasonable prices in the context of global competitions.

Author: Venugopal, K.   Ramachandra, K.  
Publisher: New Age International
Date Published: 2006
Subjects: Economics.   Business.
note: ebook
Business Economics, Volume 1 Some full text available
This book discusses the economic concepts and principles that help business houses to survive, compete and to take quality decisions.

Author: Venugopal, K.   Ramachandra, K.  
Publisher: New Age International
Date Published: 2006
Subjects: Economics.   Business.  
note: ebook
Business Fundamentals Some full text available
GTP. Business Fundamentals, Connexions Web site.

http://cnx.org/content/col11227/1.4/, Oct 8, 2010.
Subject: Business
Keywords: business, business models, business plans, entrepreneurship, finance, global text project, growth strategies, information technology, international business, management, marketing, operations, products, services, start-ups, technology
note: ebook
Business Fundamentals Some full text available
GTP. Business Fundamentals, Connexions Web site.

http://cnx.org/content/col11227/1.4/, Oct 8, 2010.
Subject: Business
Keywords: business, business models, business plans, entrepreneurship, finance, global text project, growth strategies, information technology, international business, management, marketing, operations, products, services, start-ups, technology
note: ebook
Complexity and the History of Economic Thought : Selected Papers from the History of Economics Society Conference Some full text available
The complexity approach to economics has its roots in early economists’ work. To understand both complexity and economics the book looks at those roots more formally.

Author: History of Economics Society Staff   Colander, David C.  
Publisher: Routledge
Date Published: 04/2000
Subjects: Economics -- History -- Congresses.   Complexity (Philosophy) -- Congresses.
note: ebook
Course in Public Economics Some full text available
This book talks about what should be done to make markets work.

Author: Leach, John  
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Date Published: 11/2003
Subjects: Economics.   Economics -- Mathematical models.   Economics -- Problems, exercises, etc.  
note: ebook
Dictionary of Economics Some full text available
This book aims to cover the main aspects of the study of economics which students will need to learn when studying for examinations at various levels. The book will also be useful for the general reader who comes across these terms in the financial pages of newspapers as well as in specialist magazines.

Author: A. and C. Black Publishers  
Publisher: A & C Black
Date Published: 07/2006
Subjects: Economics -- Dictionaries.   Economics -- Terminology.  
 
note: ebook
Economics : A New Introduction / Stretton, Hugh Some full text available
This text book offers a new course-book for students, and some further reinforcement for their reasoning. It draws on elements of postKeynesian, green and feminist thought. But in the institutionalist tradition, its focus is on economic life and all workable ways of understanding it, rather than any one body of theory. It differs from comparable textbooks in philosophy of science, values and theory. 

Author: Stretton, Hugh   
Publisher: Pluto Press
Date Published: 10/1999 
Subjects: Economics.  
note: e-book
Economics As Literature Some full text available
A rich vein of economic writings which runs through the nineteenth century and beyond is now largely ignored because its authors were women or because they favored literary over scientific forms. Economics as Literature re-examines some of the most interesting texts from within this tradition.

Author: Henderson, Willie  
Publisher: Routledge
Date Published: 09/1995
Subjects: Economics literature.
note: ebook
Economics for Humans Some full text available
This book covers the following issues:
- The idea that economic systems are inanimate machines operating according to amoral laws is a belief, not a fact.
 - This belief has harmful effects— for life on the planet, for human society, and for you in particular.
- Understanding that economies are vital, living, human made, and shaped by our ethical choices can help to improve our decisions— both individually and as a society.
 
Author: Nelson, Julie A.  
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Date Published: 02/2010
Subjects: Economics -- Moral and ethical aspects.   Economic man.  Feminist economics.
note: ebook
Economics for Humans Some full text available
This book covers the following issues:
- The idea that economic systems are inanimate machines operating according to amoral laws is a belief, not a fact.
 - This belief has harmful effects— for life on the planet, for human society, and for you in particular.
- Understanding that economies are vital, living, human made, and shaped by our ethical choices can help to improve our decisions— both individually and as a society.
 
Author: Nelson, Julie A.  
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Date Published: 02/2010
Subjects: Economics -- Moral and ethical aspects.   Economic man.  Feminist economics.
note: ebook
Engineering Economics / E. Dharmaraj Some full text available
 Economics is a science or knowledge of wealth that deals specificaly with human behaviour,production, distibution and consumption of goods and services. Engineering Economics is a discipline that integrates economic theory with engineering practice.It is enriched from analytical tools of mathemathics and statistics,which are quite very  rellevant in Bussiness cycle.

Author: Dharmaraj, E.   
PublisherGlobal Media
Original Publication Date: 2010 
SubjectsEconomics.   
note: e-book
Essential Economics Some full text available
This book focuses on the economics that affects jobs and prices and trade that raises voices in boardrooms and bars and among politicians and pundits, in short, the economics that touches and shapes everyday life.
 
Author: Bishop, Matthew  
Publisher: Bloomberg Press
Date Published: 01/2004
Subjects: Economics -- Terminology.   Economics -- Language.
note: ebook
Ethics Out of Economics Some full text available
 Ethics out of Economics examines some of the theoretical and practical issues that lie between economics and ethics, and especially aims to show how utility theory can contribute to ethics.

Author: Broome, John  
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Date Published: 03/1999
Subjects: Economics -- Moral and ethical aspects.
note: ebook
Ethics Out of Economics Some full text available
This book has combined sophisticated economic and philosophical expertise, and Ethics out of Economics brings together and most important essays, augmented with a new introduction. The group of essays deals with the relation between preference and value, the second with various questions about the formal structure of good, and the concluding section with the value of life. This work is of interest and importance for both economists and philosophers, and shows powerfully how economic methods can contribute to moral philosophy.

Author: Broome, John  
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Date Published: 03/1999
Subjects: Economics -- Moral and ethical aspects.
note: ebook
Handbook of New Institutional Economics Some full text available
New institutional economics (NIE) studies institutions and how institutions interact with organizational arrangements. Institutions are the written and unwritten rules, norms and constraints that humans devise to reduce uncertainty and control their environment.

Author: Ménard, Claude   Shirley, Mary M.  
Publisher: Springer
Date Published: 01/2008
Subjects: Institutional economics.
note: ebook
Individual in Economics Some full text available
One of the arguments, of this book  is to bring a genuine normative concern with individuals back into economics, not on the old, faulty basis of the past, but on a basis that is more realistic about the nature of individuals today.

Author: Davis, J.B.  
Publisher: Amsterdam University Press
Date Published: 10/2009
Subjects: Economics -- Philosophy.  
note: ebook
Individual in Economics Some full text available
One of the arguments, of this book  is to bring a genuine normative concern with individuals back into economics, not on the old, faulty basis of the past, but on a basis that is more realistic about the nature of individuals today.

Author: Davis, J.B.  
Publisher: Amsterdam University Press
Date Published: 10/2009
Subjects: Economics -- Philosophy.  
note: ebook
Modern Methods Teaching of Economics Some full text available
This book covers modern methods of Teaching Economics.

Author: Mehta, Haresh H.   
Publisher: Global Media
Date Published: 2008 
Subjects: Economics.   
note: e-book
Principles of Business Statistics Some full text available
Mihai Nica, "Principles of Business Statistics," Connexions, August 5, 2009,
Subject: Mathematics and Statistics, Business
Progress in Economics Research : Progress in Economics Research. Volume 14 Some full text available
This series spans the globe presenting leading research in economics. It is perhaps a sign of the times that economic weapons such as sanctions seem to be as powerful as or more so than tanks. International applications and examples of economic progress are invaluable in a troubled world with economic booms bursting like so many penny balloons. Globalization, outstanding and jobless recoveries present economic issues of concern to millions.

Author: Tavidze, Albert  
Publisher: Nova Science Publishers, Inc.
Date Published: 12/2010
Subjects: Economics.   Economics -- Research.   Economics -- Mathematical models.
note: ebook
Progress in Economics Research : Progress in Economics Research. Volume 14 Some full text available
This series spans the globe presenting leading research in economics. It is perhaps a sign of the times that economic weapons such as sanctions seem to be as powerful as or more so than tanks. International applications and examples of economic progress are invaluable in a troubled world with economic booms bursting like so many penny balloons. Globalization, outstanding and jobless recoveries present economic issues of concern to millions.

Author: Tavidze, Albert  
Publisher: Nova Science Publishers, Inc.
Date Published: 12/2010
Subjects: Economics.   Economics -- Research.   Economics -- Mathematical models.
note: ebook
Progress in Economics Research : Progress in Economics Research. Volume 14 Some full text available
This series spans the globe presenting leading research in economics. It is perhaps a sign of the times that economic weapons such as sanctions seem to be as powerful as or more so than tanks. International applications and examples of economic progress are invaluable in a troubled world with economic booms bursting like so many penny balloons. Globalization, outstanding and jobless recoveries present economic issues of concern to millions.

Author: Tavidze, Albert  
Publisher: Nova Science Publishers, Inc.
Date Published: 12/2010
Subjects: Economics.   Economics -- Research.   Economics -- Mathematical models.
note: ebook
Taking Economics Seriously Some full text available
They has been a debate betwween the conservatist and liberals on regulatory policies as the cause of financial failure but this books brings a shift on this debate.

Author: Baker, Dean  
Publisher: MIT Press
Date Published: 04/2010
Subjects: Economics.   Social sciences.
note: ebook
Taylor & Francis eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
An ebooks database which covers subjects ranging from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law.
note: Login to get access if off-campus

Newspapers--International

A Modern History of Fiscal Prudence and Profligacy Resource contains video
As policymakers assess the need for fiscal austerity against the risk of triggering a recession, a new IMF study looks back at fiscal policy around the world since 1800 and provides insights from those who grappled with similar challenges in the past.


note: International Monetary Fund Video, Published on 28 Jan 2013
Partnerships for Change: Kosovo Resource contains video
In 1999, the people of Kosovo faced the task of rebuilding an economy destroyed by the collapse of socialism, and then war. In this video, Kosovars and IMF experts discuss how they worked together to create from scratch a central bank and a solid banking sector.

note: International Monetary Fund Video,Published on 9 Oct 2012
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files