Educational Foundations
All Items by Source

Articles

Does Philosophy of Education Have a Future? Some full text available
The apparently simple question, ‘Does philosophy of education have a future?’, is without a simple answer. Like so many other questions, it all depends on what we mean, and in this case, what we mean by the expression ‘philosophy of education’. I shall look at it in all of three ways: as a social institution, as an academic activity and as an intellectual pursuit. By doing so, it will become evident that consideration of each of them in turn will give somewhat different answers, which not only adds to the complexity of the question, but also adds to the richness of the answer
note: Article
Education policy and the sociology of education Some full text available
This article reflects upon current trends in education policy and education research to suggest that they often lose sight of the broader context of educational practice. Marketisation policies and school improvement programmes are seen as examples of this danger. The paper argues that contemporary social theory and sociologically informed empirical research still have an important role to play in making sense of the changing relationships between the state, civil society and schooling. While recognising that sociological insights cannot prescribe the detailed direction of education policy, it seeks to identify a more modest role for the sociology of education in the future development of education policy.
note: Article
Performance, culture and the sociology of education Some full text available
The sociology of education could and should benefit  more thorough engagement with contemporary sociologies of art and culture. While the sociology of culture has become central to many aspects of current sociological research and theorising, the sociology of education seems oddly peripheral to mainstream cultural analysis. It is surely not necessary to identify the sociology of education in narrowly institutional terms and to restrict the research gaze primarily to institutions and settings that are narrowly and commonsensically 'educational' in nature.
note: Article
Reflections on the Sociology of Education Some full text available
The sociological study of education in Russia and the Soviet Union has made great contributions to knowledge and to the creation of policies, but there is still a lot of ambiguity in the interpretation of research data. More consideration needs to be given to improving the scientific status of this research.
note: Article
Reputation in the sociology of education Some full text available
The present paper raises questions about the use of the concept of reputation in sociological studies of the relationship between higher education and the labour market. Sociologists of education have yet to subject the concept of reputation to sustained critique and evaluation. This situation is unsatisfactory because a number of critical scholars claim that graduates earn a premium as a consequence of attending an elite institution for no reason other than the institution has such a reputation. However, research generally does not provide unequivocal support for such an effect and neither is the source of this effect clearly theorised or identified. One result of this lack of clarity is confusion over what is driving the formation of reputation. This paper advances field theory as a way of developing a sociology of reputation.
note: Article
Rival conceptions of the philosophy of education Some full text available
What is the place of philosophy in the study of education? What is its significance for policy and practice? This paper begins by considering the policy and institutional context of the philosophy of education in the UK and by tracing its recent history. It examines both the place of philosophy in Education (as a field of study) and the status and character of the philosophy of education in relation to the ‘parent’ discipline of philosophy. Rival accounts of the nature of the philosophy of education are outlined, in such a way as to acknowledge the importance of conceptual analytical approaches, but also to stress the value of a wider, more inclusive characterization. In the light of these, examples are offered to illustrate the role the subject must have in the understanding and improvement of educational policy and practic
note: Article
Sociology of Education: Outlines Towards a Diagnosis and Thoughts on Some Major Challenges Some full text available
Sociology of education in Norway has traditionally been preoccupied with the classic problems related to education and the reproduction of social inequality. As the general social scientific and political focus on inequality decreased, the sociology of education also became less visible. At the same time, the sociology of youth evolved, and brought with it a shift from theories of reproduction towards theories of individualization and cultural detachment. New challenges for sociology of education are also discussed. These are related to the educational system's position as the main socialization arena for young people, as well as new developments within educational policy, and thus within school.
note: Article

Journals/Magazines

British Journal of Sociology of Education Some full text available
 The British Journal of Sociology of Education is one of the most renowned international scholarly journals in the field. The journal publishes high quality original, theoretically informed analyses of the relationship between education and society, and has an outstanding record of addressing major global debates about the social significance and impact of educational policy, provision, processes and practice in many countries around the world.The journal engages with a diverse range of contemporary and emergent social theories along with a wide range of methodological approaches. Articles investigate the discursive politics of education, social stratification and mobility, the social dimensions of all aspects of pedagogy and the curriculum, and the experiences of all those involved, from the most privileged to the most disadvantaged. The vitality of the journal is sustained by its commitment to offer independent, critical evaluations of the ways in which education interfaces with local, national, regional and global developments, contexts and agendas in all phases of formal and informal education.
note: Electronic Journal
International Studies in Sociology of Education Some full text available
International Studies in Sociology of Education is published in English four times annually and has a global reach. The journal addresses historical as well as contemporary sociological debates in education significant to an international audience. The journal welcomes inter-disciplinary work where sociological theory and perspectives have a substantial role. Empirical and non-empirical manuscripts are both welcome. The scope of the journal extends to formal and informal education and the role of education in the life course. Authors are encouraged to locate their work in relation to previous issues of ISSE as well as the wider field of sociology of education.
note: Electronic Journal

Books

Fundamentals of Sociology of Education with Reference to Africa Some full text available
Education as a process through which a society's way of life is transmitted to the incoming generation is interactive and takes place under different environments. Fundamentals of Sociology of Education with Reference to Africa is about processes, practices, and agencies involved in socialisation and education, particularly the ways in which schools, through their teachers, curricula and organisation, influence the young.
note: E-book
Philosophical & Sociological Foundations of Education (1) Some full text available
Scope of Philosophy is concerned with several questions regarding the educative process to illustrates; what kinds of concepts about nature, life and society underline the learnings, how do the understandings that results from learning processes from into a network of concepts? How valid are these concepts? To what extent are analysed themselves reliable? New sociological and psychological issues have raised new dimensions in the field of philosophy and so also in education.
note: E-book
Philosophy of Education Some full text available
The acclaimed, classic text on philosophy of education, providing an updated overview of the field in relation to teaching, learning, research, and policy.
note: E-book
Social Realism, Knowledge and the Sociology of Education : Coalitions of the Mind (1) Some full text available
This book offers a fresh way of thinking about education that provides knowledge about knowledge. It comprises key papers by leading authors of ‘social realism’ in the sociology of education, a broad school of thought achieving prominence across a range of national contexts, including Australia, France, Singapore, South Africa and the United Kingdom. This school offers an alternative to approaches that have dominated educational thinking in recent decades, such as constructivism, post-structuralism and postmodernism.
note: E-book
Sociology of Higher Education : Contributions and Their Contexts Some full text available
This book has three major objectives: (1) to characterize the evolution of sociology of higher education as a field of study over those thirty years; (2) to examine the societal, organizational, and professional contexts that have played a role in shaping distinct areas of specialization within the field; and (3) to consider prospects for the future, including factors shaping the legitimacy, vitality, and institutionalization of specific lines of inquiry, as pursued by faculty located in education and sociology departments.
note: E-book
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Senior Library Assistant
Tel: 203337

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files