Environmental Science and Health
This guide is meant to assist Environmental Science and Health researchers access relevant electronic resources in their field.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service Some full text available
More than just a simple journal listing service, EBSCO A-to-Z is a powerful locator tool that helps researchers to discover all of the electronic resources offered at the library.
note: Electronic Database and a Gateway to list of Journals
Acoustical Society of America (ASA) Some full text available
Acoustics, General Linear Acoustics, Nonlinear Acoustics, Atmospheric Acoustics and Aeroacoustics, Underwater Sound, Ultrasonics and Physical Acoustics, Transduction, Acoustical Measurements, Instrumentation, Applied Acoustics, Structural Acoustics and Vibration, Access

BioOne Some full text available
Covers research in biological, ecological and environmental science.
Development Studies Journals Some full text available
A list of journals on development studies and related subjects accessible through HINARI.
note: Journal
Edward Elgar Journals and Books Some full text availableopenURL
Edward Elgar Publishing are one of the largest independent academic book publishers in the Social Sciences and Law. They offer 5 journals and a collection of 169 ebooks in Development Studies.
HINARI Restricted Resource Some full text available
 HINARI was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Today more than 160 publishers are offering more than 8,000 information resources in HINARI and many others are joining the programme.
note: Ask librarian for login details
HINARI Restricted Resource Some full text available
 HINARI was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Today more than 160 publishers are offering more than 8,000 information resources in HINARI and many others are joining the programme.
note: Ask librarian for login details

Journals/Magazines

AMBIO: A Journal of the Human Environment openURL
 AMBIO addresses the scientific, social, economic, and cultural factors that influence the condition of the human environment. It is widely recognized as an important international forum for debate on these issues.
 

Annals of GIS
Annals of GIS is an international peer-reviewed journal that encourages the interdisciplinary exchange of original ideas on theory, methods, development and applications in the fields of geo-information science.

Research papers are invited to cover the latest development in the following areas:

* remote sensing and data acquisition
* geographic information systems
* geo-visualization and virtual geographic environments (VGE)
* spatial analysis and modeling
* uncertainty modeling

and their applications in natural resource, ecosystem, urban management, and other humanities and social science areas.

Bayero Journal of Pure and Applied Sciences Some full text available
The Journal aim is to satisfy the goal of ensuring rapid and wide dissemination of results of scientific researches that could finally trigger the advancement of human kind in all its ramifications. The Journal’s scope is wide in that it reported findings in the areas of pure and applied sciences, namely; Agricultural Sciences, Botany, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences and Geography. Also, areas of Laboratory Science, Technology, Mathematical Sciences, Microbiology, Physics, Medical Sciences and Zoology form part of the contents of the Journal.

British Food Journal Some full text available
After over 100 years of publication, the British Food Journal (BFJ) continues to be highly respected world-wide for its broad and unique interdisciplinary coverage of food-related research. The journal has a strong commitment to publishing the latest food research from around the globe, all of which is reviewed and adjudicated by an international editorial board of leading experts. With its independent analysis and informed insights, it provides a vital communications link between all sectors of this dynamic industry, keeping the reader abreast of topical issues and emerging trends.

Environmental Health Research Recommendations from the Inter-Environmental Health Sciences Core Center Working Group on Unconventional Natural Gas Drilling Operations. Some full text available
Background: Unconventional natural gas drilling operations (UNGDO) (which include hydraulic fracturing and horizontal drilling) supply an energy source that is potentially cleaner than liquid or solid fossil fuels and may provide a route to energy independence. However, significant concerns have arisen due to the lack of research on the public health impact of UNGDO. Objectives: Environmental Health Sciences Core Centers (EHSCCs), funded by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), formed a working group to review the literature on the potential public health impact of UNGDO and to make recommendations for needed research. Discussion: The Inter‑EHSCC Working Group concluded that a potential for water and air pollution exists that might endanger public health, and that the social fabric of communities could be impacted by the rapid emergence of drilling operations. The working group recommends research to inform how potential risks could be mitigated. Conclusions: Research on exposure and health outcomes related to UNGDO is urgently needed, and community engagement is essential in the design of such studies
International Journal of Sustainable Development & World Ecology
The International Journal of Sustainable Development and World Ecology is now over fifteen years old and has proved to be an exciting forum for understanding and advancing our knowledge and implementation of sustainable development.
Sustainable development is now of primary importance as the key to future use and management of finite world resources. It recognises the need for development opportunities while maintaining a balance between these and the environment. As stated by the UN Bruntland Commission in 1987, sustainable development should ‘meet the needs of the present generation without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.’ This is the primary focus of the journal, and is addressed by papers in environmental sustainability, economic sustainability, and/or social and cultural sustainability.

Environmental sustainability includes mitigating effects of climate change, minimising environmental degradation, and sustainable land management.

Economic sustainability includes capacity-building, integrated decision making, industry and biotechnology, consumption and production.

Social and cultural sustainability includes demographics, human settlements, international law, health and welfare.

Journal of Arid Land Some full text availableopenURL
The journal covers such topics as the dynamics of natural resources (including water, soil and land, organism and climate), the security and sustainable development of natural resources, and the environment and the ecology in arid and semi-arid lands, especially in Central Asia. Coverage extends to interactions among the atmosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere and lithosphere, and relationships between these natural processes and human activities. Also discussed are patterns of geography, ecology and environment; ecological improvement and environmental protection; and regional responses and feedback mechanisms. The journal presents reviews, brief communications, trends and book reviews.
Journal of Environmental Science and Health, Part A
The Journal of Environmental Science and Health, Part A publishes significant advances and discoveries in all aspects of "Science and Engineering." as they apply to environmental problem solving. The Journal addresses topics, including, but not limited to, pollutants, xenobiotics and pharmaceuticals in water, soil, sediment and air, and their impact on human health or environmental quality; their origin, fate, biodegradation and transport in the environment; modeling of environmental biological and chemical systems; environmental toxicology, microbiology, biotechnology, chemistry, engineering and hazard/risk assessment; treatment and remediation technologies of water and wastewater, municipal and industrial wastes, leachate from hazardous landfill, toxic and hazardous substances , soil decontamination and treatment of industrial effluents. In addition, the journal also publishes research notes dealing with new methods and/or their development for the detection and measurement of environmental contaminants.

Journal of Environmental Science and Health, Part A will also publish special issues and review articles summarizing and analyzing the state-of-the-art within the aims and scope of the journal.

Journal of Sustainable Forestry
The Journal of Sustainable Forestry provides a linkage of silviculture and the underlying biology: tree physiology, morphology, and genetics. As such, it elucidates the scientific principles and techniques of controlling, protecting, and restoring the regeneration, composition, and growth of natural forest vegetation as well as plantations, agroforestry, and silvo-pastoral systems.

The scope of the Journal of Sustainable Forestry is broad. It encompasses topics from biotechnology, physiology, silviculture, wood science, economics, and forest management. New research pertaining to enhancing the sustainability of forests is considered and encouraged, including papers at the molecular, cellular, whole tree, and forest level. Research results dealing with above- and below-ground perspectives are also published in the journal.

The journal focuses not only on the sustainability of forests as providers of fuel and lumber, but integrative aspects of agroforestry and sustainable agriculture insofar as forest crops are concerned. Issues that are addressed include:

* sustainable forestry in the less-developed countries
* effects of gaseous pollutants and acid rain on tree production and growth
* water use efficiency
* increased resistance to low and high temperature stress
* strategies for forest adaptation to global climate change
* the role of organic biostimulants in sustainable forestry and agriculture


Plant Ecology & Diversity
Plant Ecology and Diversity is an international journal and the new forum of the Botanical Society of Scotland for communicating results and ideas in plant science. All areas of plant biology relating to ecology, evolution and diversity are of interest, including those which explicitly deal with today's highly topical themes, such as biodiversity, conservation and global change. Submissions concerning cold environments world-wide are particularly welcome. Plant Ecology and Diversity considers for publication original research articles, short communications, reviews, and scientific correspondence that explore thought provoking ideas. Unique to Plant Ecology and Diversity is its Scottish section, publishing contributions on aspects of botany and plant ecology particular to Scotland. The journal is open to reporting ‘negative results’ and ‘repeat experiments’ that test ecological theories experimentally, in theoretically flawless and methodologically sound papers.


Southern Forests: a Journal of Forest Science
Southern Forests: a Journal of Forest Science is one of the leading forestry journals in the Southern Hemisphere. The journal publishes scientific articles in forest science and management of fast-growing, planted or natural forests in the Southern Hemisphere and the tropics. Papers are also encouraged on related disciplines such as environmental aspects of forestry, social forestry, agroforestry, forest engineering and management as well as the goods and services that are derived from forests as a whole. Articles published by the journal are of value to foresters, resource managers and society at large. The journal particularly encourages contributions from South America, Africa and tropical/subtropical Australasia and Asia. Publication of the journal is supported by the Southern African Institute of Forestry .

The Journal of Public Health Some full text availableopenURL
The Journal of Public Health invites submission of papers on any aspect of public health research and practice. The journal covers theory and practice of the whole spectrum of public health across the domains of health improvement, health protection and service improvement, with a particular focus on the translation of science into action.
The Navigation Guide Systematic Review Methodology: A Rigorous and Transparent Method for Translating Environmental Health Science into Better Health Outcomes. Some full text available
Background: Synthesizing what is known about the environmental drivers of health is instrumental to taking prevention-oriented action. Methods of research synthesis commonly used in environmental health lag behind systematic review methods developed in the clinical sciences over the past 20 years. Objectives: We sought to develop a proof of concept of the “Navigation Guide,” a systematic and transparent method of research synthesis in environmental health. Discussion: The Navigation Guide methodology builds on best practices in research synthesis in evidence-based medicine and environmental health. Key points of departure from current methods of expert-based narrative review prevalent in environmental health include a prespecified protocol, standardized and transparent documentation including expert judgment, a comprehensive search strategy, assessment of “risk of bias,” and separation of the science from values and preferences. Key points of departure from evidence-based medicine include assigning a “moderate” quality rating to human observational studies and combining diverse evidence streams. Conclusions: The Navigation Guide methodology is a systematic and rigorous approach to research synthesis that has been developed to reduce bias and maximize transparency in the evaluation of environmental health information. Although novel aspects of the method will require further development and validation, our findings demonstrated that improved methods of research synthesis under development at the National Toxicology Program and under consideration by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency are fully achievable. The institutionalization of robust methods of systematic and transparent review would provide a concrete mechanism for linking science to timely action to prevent harm
The Need for Environmental Public Health Professionals and the Role of EHAC-Accredited Programs in Increasing the Pool. Some full text available
The article discusses how great is the need for interdisciplinary environmental health professionals and if the U.S. is meeting that need as of September 2015. Topics include what can be done to strengthen the profession to ensure its competence in the applied science areas of the profession, data on employment in the profession and related occupations, and the ongoing work of the Association of Environmental Health Academic Program.

Articles

Air pollution levels rising in many of the world’s poorest cities Some full text availableopenURL
WHO was able to compare a total of 795 cities in 67 countries for levels of small and fine particulate matter (PM10 and PM2.5) during the five-year period, 2008-2013. PM10 and PM2.5 include pollutants such as sulfate, nitrates and black carbon, which penetrate deep into the lungs and into the cardiovascular system, posing the greatest risks to human health. Data was then analysed to develop regional trends.
Public health impact of chemicals: knowns and unknowns Some full text availableopenURL
This 2016 report estimates that 1.3 million lives and 43 million disability-adjusted life-years were lost in 2012 due to exposures to selected chemicals.

However, data are only available for a small number of chemical exposures and people are exposed to many more chemicals every day.

Unintentional poisonings are estimated to cause 193 000 deaths annually, with the major part being from preventable chemical exposures, however only 47% of countries have a poisons centre.

Addressing lead exposure would prevent 9.8% of intellectual disability, 4% of ischaemic heart disease and 4.6% of stroke in the population, yet many countries do not regulate lead paint.

This report provides examples of effective interventions to prevent death and disease caused by chemicals, and the economic benefits to be gained.
Recommendations for dealing with waste contaminated with Ebola virus: a Hazard Analysis of Critical Control Points approach Some full text availableopenURL
In the present study, we used the Hazard Analysis of Critical Control Points framework to generate recommendations for mitigating the risks posed by virus-contaminated waste within health-care facilities and communities experiencing outbreaks of Ebola virus disease. Although this framework was originally developed for food production systems, it has been successfully adapted to manage and mitigate the risks associated with drinking water. It is increasingly being used to reduce the risks related to emerging infectious diseases and other health threats.13 Since its use is both low-technology and relatively cheap, the framework may be particularly useful in addressing the risks associated with emerging infectious disease in areas where the capacity of existing health-care systems is insufficient to cope with the impact of the disease. The framework’s methods encourage the use of interdisciplinary expertise while enabling the rapid generation of evidence-based recommendations. It therefore offers the potential to manage risks when the quick control of an outbreak is essential even though – as with the survival of Ebola virus in sewage and other waste, the relevant research data are incomplete or can only be inferred.

Books

Environmental economics Some full text available
This book is a comprehensive treatise on environmental economics with special focus on environmental policy and management. Useful as a textbook at the graduate and post-graduate levels, this volume primarily caters to the needs of students, teachers, researchers, environment managers and policy makers in India. A balanced blend of theory and practice, it outlines the basic concepts, theories, tools and techniques of environmental economics, which not only enables its readers to diagnose the root cause of environmental problems and identify practicable solutions, but also facilitates in the design of environmental policy and management strategies. Some of the important features of this book are: - innovative synthesis of concepts, ideas and theories - presentation in a simple, easy-to-comprehend language and style - illustrations and examples from real life situations - latest available research data on various environmental problems including global warming, acid rain and depletion of the ozone layer - a special focus on environmental policy and management.
Environmental Health Sciences Decision Making : Risk Management, Evidence, and Ethics: Workshop Summary Some full text available
Environmental health decision making can be a complex undertaking, as there is the need to navigate and find balance among three core elements: science, policy, and the needs of the American public. Policy makers often grapple with how to make appropriate decisions when the research is uncertain. The challenge for the policy maker is to make the right decision with the best available data in a transparent process. The Environmental Health Sciences Decision Making workshop, the first in a series, was convened to inform the Roundtable on Environmental Health Sciences, Research, and Medicine on emerging issues in risk management,'weight of evidence,'and ethics that influence environmental health decision making. The workshop, summarized in this volume, included an overview of the principles underlying decision making, the role of evidence and challenges for vulnerable populations, and ethical issues of conflict of interest, scientific integrity, and transparency. The workshop engaged science interest groups, industry, government, and the academic sector.
Environmental Science and Health openURL
Electronic books on Environmental Science and Health
Food hygiene openURL
Food hygiene training is essential for anyone who handles food as part of their work and as such is a crucial element of many courses. Such courses include a whole range of hospitality & catering awards as well as certain care programmes and specialist food hygiene certificates. Written by a highly experienced author, this textbook covers all relevant awarding bodies' specifications and addresses all aspects of the subject, from levels 1 to 3, in a clear and comprehensive manner. Subjects covered include Food Poisoning, Control Measures and Food and the Law. Case studies, definitions and activities allow the text to be used for self study, as a supported learning resource within a full-time course and as a reference book. Food hygiene and safety issues are currently more important than ever and this book will ensure that students fully grasp how theory relates to practice.
Management of SoilQuality forSustainable Agriculture
Public interest in Soil quality is increasing through out the world
as human kind recognizes the fragility of earth's soil, water and air
resources and need to protect them to sustain civilization. Soil quality
is the capacity of a specific kind of Soil to function within natural or
managed Keeping in view the urgency and challenges for managing soil
resource, Department of Soil Science, GBPUA&T, Pantnagar conducted
a ICAR sponsored Winter School which has provided an unique
opportunity for young scientists to obtain training on Soil quality
management. This book" Management of Soil Quality for Sustainable
Agriculture" is an out come of this Winter School.
In the present volume a~ticles have been contributed on Soil
quality and Soil resilienc~, indicators of Soil quality assessment,
fertilizers and pesticides application, industrial effluents and solid
waste disposal in relation to soil quality, engineering aspects of soil
quality, SSNM, GIS & GPS in relation to Soil quality improvement,
isotopic technique in soil quality study, quality of soil resource in
India and vermicomosting and biofertilizer technology for soil quality
management.
Meat Hygiene
Food hygiene training is essential for anyone who handles meat as part of their work and as such is a crucial element of many courses. It gives the reader hygienic guidance on meat slaughtering, handling and processing.
Review of the Environmental Protection Agency's State-of-the-science Evaluation of Nonmonotonic Dose-response Relationships As They Apply to Endocrine Disruptors Some full text available
Potential health effects from chemicals that disrupt endocrine function pose an environmental health concern because of their ability to interfere with normal hormone function in human and wildlife populations. The endocrine system regulates biological processes throughout the body and is sensitive to small changes in hormone concentrations. Endocrine-disruptor research has focused primarily on chemicals that affect three hormone pathways that play important roles in reproduction and development - the estrogen, androgen, and thyroid hormone pathways. Some of this research has identified dose-response relationships that have nonmonotonic curves. Nonmonotonic dose-response curves (NMDRs) are of concern because they do not follow the usual assumption made in toxicology that as dose decreases the response also decreases. The existence of NMDRs has been a controversial topic for decades, and there has been considerable debate about their implications for how chemicals are tested and for how risks from such chemicals are assessed. Toxicity tests are designed to identify hazards and to characterize dose-response relationships, so tests are aimed at finding a (high) dose that elicits a response, and dose-response is explored by testing lower doses spaced to identify statistically a no- or lowest-observed-adverse-effect level. The concern for NMDRs is that such studies, as currently designed, might not detect the inflection of the dose-response curve if only a few doses are tested or if the change in inflection occurs below the range of doses tested. Another concern is that some NMDRs are found for biological effects that are not usually evaluated in toxicity tests. If current testing strategies are inadequate to account for NMDRs, changes to risk assessment practices might be necessary. To help address these issues, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) developed a draft State-of-the-Science Evaluation: Nonmonotonic Dose Responses as they Apply to Estrogen, Androgen, and Thyroid Pathways and EPA Testing and Assessment Procedures. EPA asked the National Research Council to conduct an independent review of this evaluation to ensure that it is scientifically sound and of high quality. Review of Environmental Protection Agency's State-of-the-Science Evaluation of Nonmonotonic Dose-Response as they Apply to Endocrine Disrupters evaluates whether EPA's evaluation presents a scientifically sound and high-quality analysis of the literature on NMDRs. This report reviews how well the EPA evaluation described how the assessment was performed, whether consistent methods and criteria were applied in the analysis of different evidence streams, and whether appropriate methods were applied to evaluating the evidence. The report makes recommendations to improve EPA's process and strengthen the evaluation.
Universal meat hygeine in public health care Some full text available
The book gives an overview on the hygienic  care of meat. It gives guidelines on legal issues, meat inspection proceduues,  food animals, abattoir management, meat judging, effects of rigor mortis and meat preservation. Poultry and other meat products are discussed. Meat processing is also outlined.
Water Pollution and Conservation Some full text available
The book covers these topics: water pollution, water crisis, marine pollution, water conservation, rainwater harvesting, rainwater tank, industrial waste water treatment, agricultural waste water treatment and water law.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Science for Environmental Protection : The Road Ahead Some full text available
Science for Environmental Protection: The Road Ahead outlines a framework for building science for environmental protection in the 21st century and identified key areas where enhanced leadership and capacity can strengthen the agency's abilities to address current and emerging environmental challenges as well as take advantage of new tools and technologies to address them. The foundation of EPA science is strong, but the agency needs to continue to address numerous present and future challenges if it is to maintain its science leadership and meet its expanding mandates.
Social Science Collaboration with Environmental Health. Some full text available
BACKGROUND: Social science research has been central in documenting and analyzing community discovery of environmental exposure and consequential processes. Collaboration with environmental health science through team projects has advanced and improved our understanding of environmental health and justice. OBJECTIVE: We sought to identify diverse methods and topics in which social scientists have expanded environmental health understandings at multiple levels, to examine how transdisciplinary environmental health research fosters better science, and to learn how these partnerships have been able to flourish because of the support from National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS). METHODS: We analyzed various types of social science research to investigate how social science contributes to environmental health. We also examined NIEHS programs that foster social science. In addition, we developed a case study of a community-based participation research project in Akwesasne in order to demonstrate how social science has enhanced environmental health science. RESULTS: Social science has informed environmental health science through ethnographic studies of contaminated communities, analysis of spatial distribution of environmental injustice, psychological experience of contamination, social construction of risk and risk perception, and social impacts of disasters. Social science--environmental health team science has altered the way scientists traditionally explore exposure by pressing for cumulative exposure approaches and providing research data for policy applications. CONCLUSIONS: A transdisciplinary approach for environmental health practice has emerged that engages the social sciences to paint a full picture of the consequences of contamination so that policy makers, regulators, public health officials, and other stakeholders can better ameliorate impacts and prevent future exposure. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]

Directories

Impact Assessment - directory of references/resources Some full text availableopenURL
Directory of references/resources on impact assessment on health and envrionment.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Florence Masocha

Florence Masocha
Assistant Librarian (Acquisitions Services)
Tel: 134

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide