Educational Technology
Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Articles

Challenges in STEM Teaching: Implication for Preservice and Inservice Teacher Education Program Some full text available
As former and current STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) school teachers in Singapore, we explore the challenges we both experienced while teaching at different STEM schools. Through this article, we make a case for the teacher preparation programs locally and around the world to give more attention to a changing education landscape with emerging specialized STEM schools. Nonetheless, even though specialized STEM teacher preparation is needed, we also caution that having such a specialized program may limit teachers' horizontal transition to mainstream schools and awareness of the contextualized needs of more diverse learners.
note: Article
Examining the impact of educational technology courses on pre-service teachers’ development of technological pedagogical content knowledge Some full text available
The purpose of this qualitative study was to examine the impact of educational technology courses on pre-service teachers’ development of knowledge of technology integration in a teacher preparation program in the USA. The present study was conducted with eight pre-service teachers enrolled in the elementary teacher education program at a large university in the mid-western USA. Data sources included interviews, documents, and observations. The findings identified knowledge of technology integration the pre-service teachers developed and identified knowledge of technology integration needed in the technology integration courses. The present study provided a number of suggestions on different activities that could be built into educational technology courses to better prepare pre-service teachers to teach with technology.
note: Article
Perspectives on academic staff involvement in the acquisition and implementation of educational technologies Some full text available
This article presents the results of a study using both quantitative and qualitative data to uncover the extent and nature of the involvement of academic staff in the processes of acquisition and implementation of educational technologies. Actor-network theory (ANT) is used to inform the design of the study and the analysis of the data. Three main areas of investigation are (1) issues of institutional policy and overall purpose of technology, (2) issues of staff involvement in various activities related to acquisition and use of technology and (3) issues related to the existence of arenas for dialogue and discussions of technological needs and requirements across organisational boundaries. The analysis focuses on the diffuseness of the role of academic staff in processes of development of institutional policies and technology acquisition. The article concludes with suggestions for organisational policy in higher education contexts, and possible directions for new research.
note: Article
Teachers' perceptions of educational technology integration in an Indonesian polytechnic Some full text available
Educational technology is becoming more pervasive in Indonesian vocational higher institutions, yet there is limited research available about Indonesian teachers' perceptions of this innovation. This paper sets out to contribute to this gap in the research literature and reports on a study that investigated the factors which supported and constrained the use of educational technology at an Indonesian polytechnic. Data were gathered from 10 teachers working full-time at the polytechnic using semi-structured interviews and were analysed using thematic analysis strategy. The findings confirm previous research in Western countries which suggest that factors including teachers' beliefs and attitudes, organizational culture and external influences can have a significant influence on the integration of educational technology to support learning and teaching. The study also identified that factors such as skills, workload, strategic planning, ownership, resources, professional development and leadership require attention as they can have a negative influence on successful integration.
note: Article

Books

Digital Connections in the Classroom Some full text available
This book is intended for current and future teachers and other students of education who want to find exciting ways to incorporate technology into the classroom. This book describes ways that digital communication and the Internet can be used in the classroom.
 
note: Books
Educational Technology for the Global Village : Worldwide Innovation and Best Practices Some full text available
Les Lloyd and Gabriel Barreneche present an eye-opening look at projects that are innovating with technology to improve education and, indeed, the very quality of people's lives around the world.From collaborative learning communities and social networks to Web 2.0 tools, MOOCs, and mobiles, experts discuss an array of tech initiatives that teach students to think and act globally while helping to close the education gap between developed and developing nations.
note: Books

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Curriculum 21 : Essential Education for a Changing World Some full text available
Curriculum 21 is the ideal guide for transforming our schools into what they must become: learning organizations that match the times in which we live. It focuses on technology, how it's transforming teaching and how to take advantage of students' natural facility with technology
note: Book
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Senior Library Assistant
Tel: 203337

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files