Management information systems-GBA 4285

This is a course research guide for those who are doing Post Graduate Diploma in Management for the course, "Management Information Systems -GBA 4285". It covers Introduction to Management Information Systems, Planning, Developing, Implementing and Evaluation of MIS  by managers in today's information age where MIS is a requirement for every business. In this guide, there is a list of authoritative information sources of management information systems GBA 4285 which include journals, journal articles, books, open access information and databases.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service Some full text available
More than just a simple journal listing service, EBSCO A-to-Z is a powerful locator tool that helps researchers to discover all of the electronic resources offered at the library.
note: Electronic Database and a Gateway to list of Journals
Emerald Insight Some full text available
Provides access to the entire collection of journals as well as instant access to new titles launched in the field of business and management, as soon as they are published. Featuring journals that are indexed by Thomson Reuters (ISI) and Scopus, content is selected for original contribution to the subject field, as well as practical relevance to policy making, management and future inquiry.
note: Electronic Full text Database
SpringerLink Some full text available
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents fromjournals, books, series, protocols andreference works.
note: Electronic Database
Taylor and Francis Online Some full text available
Taylor & Francis Group publishes books for all levels of academic study and professional development, across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including Humanities, Social Science, Medicine, Behavioural Science, Law, and the Built Environment.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

An integrated system theory of information security management Some full text available
With the popularity of electronic commerce, many organizations are facing unprecedented security challenges. Security techniques and management tools have caught a lot of attention from both academia and practitioners. However, there is lacking a theoretical framework for information security management. This paper attempts to integrate security policy theory, risk management theory, control and auditing theory, management system theory and contingency theory in order to build a comprehensive theory of information security management (ISM). This paper suggests that an integrated system theory is useful for understanding information security management, explaining information security management strategies, and predicting management outcomes. This theory may lay a solid theoretical foundation for further empirical research and application.
note: Journal Article
Identifying risks during information system development: managing the process Some full text available
Developments in information and communications technology have allowed many organisations to implement systems that directly link to customers and suppliers. In a number of instances this has allowed them to gain a competitive advantage over their business rivals. The changeover to a new information system should appear seamless to the customer. The general public should not be disadvantaged by the implementation of a new system in the public sector. The tight coupling of systems, especially with customers, puts extra responsibility on information system developers to try and ensure a smooth transition from the old to the new system. Failure to do this may result in the customer being unfairly penalised and may result in subsequent loss of business. This paper attempts to show that there are many areas of potential risk within the process of information system development (ISD) and these need to be carefully analysed and managed. It also reveals that certain popular risk management methodologies do not reflect the risk elements identified within the ISD process.
note: Journal article
Industrial Management & Data Systems Some full text available
The Industrial Management & Data Systems is a journal which comprises authoritative journal articles on issues to do with Management Information systems design, planning, implementation, acceptance models and management of knowledge from information systems. It is very relevant for any manager who is into the Management Information Systems research. The rersearcher can serach the database for any topic related to management information systems from this authoritative journal published by Emerald.
note: Eletronic Journal
Information Management & Computer Security Some full text available
The Journal contributes to the advance of knowledge directly related to the theory and practice of the management and security of information and information systems. It publishes research and case study papers relating to new security technologies, methodological developments, empirical studies and practical applications.
note: Electronic Journal
Information systems security from a knowledge management perspective Some full text available
Information systems security management is a knowledge‐intensive activity that currently depends heavily on the experience of security experts. However, the knowledge dimension of IS security management has been neglected, both by research and industry. This paper aims to explore the sources of IS security knowledge and the potential role of an IS security knowledge management system. The results of this paper are based on field research involving five organizations (public and private) and five security experts and consultants. A model to illustrate the structure of IS security knowledge in an organization is then proposed.
note:
Journal article
Journal of Management Information Systems Some full text available
An authoritative journal which has a robust scope on Management Information Systems. It has many issues and it is also progressing adding more issues on the subject of management Information Systems.
note: Electronic Journal
Key issues in information systems management in China Some full text available
The study was conducted to reveal and analyze the key issues concerning information systems management in Mainland China. While the top three critical issues remain unchanged, largely due to the centralized decision‐making mechanism, mandatory management style, and less experience of IT/IS applications, there are distinguishable changes that took place in the past few years. Furthermore, there are different results between different sectors of companies, reflecting respective characteristics and historical development processes of the sectors.
note: Journal Article
Planning and managing the information system ‐ a manager’s guide Some full text available
It is no longer enough for information systems (IS) to support the operation. Information systems should be developed as part of the strategic plan of the organization. We first must recognize the culture and the financial position of the business before assessing whether an IS is worth investing in; together with the information technology department we must take into account what technical support we already have and if we can make enough use of it. Planning must be well structured but on assessing various planning methods we find that this task is best handled by experienced teams that may consist ideally of IS staff and management combined. Information systems are costly and slow to develop, so we must plan well and in line with the strategic policy of our business.
note: journal article
The importance of management information systems Some full text available
Presents a discussion on the importance of management information systems in management. It explains the role of information, as an essential tool for managers in planning and decision making. It describes MIS as a well co‐ordinated information system, a database that is to provide management with needed information to plan and make decisions. Modern technology has further made the resort to MIS in management imperative because of the changing circumstances and environment. Also identifies some problems which can hinder effective use of MIS. These are lack of management involvement in the design; poor appreciation of mangement support. Finally, recommends that organizations, both private and public; commercial and non‐commercial should endeavour to set up an MIS unit in their organizations so that adequate information can be put at the disposal of their management.
note: Journal Article

Encyclopedias

Management Information Systems (MIS) Some full text available
Thye encyclopedia resource which covers much on the defrinition of management information systems. It also covers a wide and quite comprehensive origin and evolution of Management Information Systems (MIS). This makes it a useful resource for the study of MIS history and developments over time. the application and issues of Management Information Systems (MIS) in small businesses is also discussed.
note: Ecyclopedia
MIS - management information system Some full text available
Definition and precise explanation of Management Information Systems by Webopedia encyclopedia.
note: Encyclopedia

Books

Handbook on Business Information Systems Some full text available
This handbook covers the vast field of business information systems, focusing particularly on developing information systems to capture and integrate information technology together with the people and their businesses.
Part I of the book, “Health Care Information Systems”, focuses on providing global leadership for the optimal use of health care information technology (IT). It provides knowledge about the best use of information systems for the betterment of health care services. Part II, “Business Process Information Systems”, extends the previous theory in the area of process development by recognizing that improvements in intra-organizational business processes need to be complemented by corresponding improvements in inter-organizational processes. Part III deals with “Industrial Data and Management Systems” and captures the main challenges faced by the industry, such as the changes in the operations paradigm of manufacturing and service organizations. Finally, Part IV, “Evaluation of Business Information Systems”, discusses the empirical investigation into the adoption of systems development methodologies and the security pattern of the business systems along with the mathematical models.
note: e-book
Management Information Systems Some full text available
Today’s business owner or professional can tell that technology does in fact play a key role in the day-to-day operations. In fact, some businesses no longer even have a tangible presence but rather exist only in cyber-land. The transformation from bricks-and-mortar businesses into e-businesses has leveled off but the role of technology and management information systems in business is undeniable. In this chapter we focus on giving an overview of the essentials for today’s cyber-environment and technology-driven organizations and give a particular focus to MIS
note: Free e-book

Open Access Resources

Introduction to Management Information Systems Some full text available
A comprehensive introduction to Management Information systems. It gives an easy guide to Management Information Systems beginners. However it is also of use to those already in the study of Management Information Systems.
note: Open Access
What is Information Systems Management (ISM)? Some full text available
A comprehensive definition of Information Systems Management by University of California.
note: Open Acess

Web Sites

The Features of an Information Management System /by Kenneth Hamlett, Demand Media Some full text available
Many companies use some form of an information management system, or IMS. Some smaller companies do this through a database found in most office software products. Others purchase external IMS and integrate these systems with currently used software. The type of information management system a company chooses depends on how much value the system can bring to the company.
note: Website
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118