Graduate School of Business
Table of Contents
Book Search
Search for in
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

Emerald Group Publishing Limited Restricted Resource Some full text available
Management, library and information science and other social science journals.
note: Login needed for off-campus access
HINARI Restricted Resource Some full text available
 HINARI was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Today more than 160 publishers are offering more than 8,000 information resources in HINARI and many others are joining the programme.
note: Ask librarian for login details

Journals/Magazines

Busines Strategy Series Restricted Resource

Business Strategy Series (BSS) provides busy managers with a comprehensive series of executive briefings on a whole range of issues central to all cutting-edge corporate strategies. This journal brings together the strategic thought leaders behind many of the
world’s leading corporations including senior executives, top-flight consultants and business school gurus. So you get the expertise and insights of some of the world’s leading authorities for a fraction of what it would cost to commission just one report.
Business Strategy Series (BSS) provides busy managers with a comprehensive series of executive briefings on a whole range of issues central to all cutting-edge corporate strategies. This journal brings together the strategic thought leaders behind many of the
world’s leading corporations including senior executives, top-flight consultants and business school gurus. So you get the expertise and insights of some of the world’s leading authorities for a fraction of what it would cost to commission just one report. - See more at: http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/journals/journals.htm?id=BSS&go=Go#sthash.tO4KHoKT.dpufV

note: Login needed for off-campus access
Business Ethics: A European Review Restricted Resource Some full text available

Business Ethics: A European Review (BEER) focuses on original research relating to business ethics, and business society relationships. It seeks to attract original quality research drawing on a variety of methodological and disciplinary perspectives, and helping to advance knowledge, discourse and practice in relation to Business Ethics in the broadest sense are:

  • To promote scholarly debates and advance knowledge in relation to business ethics and corporate social responsibility by providing cutting edge theoretical and empirical analysis of salient issues and developments
  • To be responsive to changing concerns and emerging issues in the business ethics and business and society sphere, and offer rigorous and informed analysis of issues and perspectives relevant to organizations and their relationships with society
  • To be the publication outlet of choice for all types of original research relating to business ethics and business-society relationships.

note: Access is through HINARI database
Business Strategy and the Environment Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Strategy and the Environment (BSE) seeks to provide original contributions that add to the understanding of business responses to improving environmental performance. It seeks to examine links between competitive strategy and environmental management as well as providing results of research into systems and standards, corporate environmental management tools, organisations and management, particular industry sectors and responses of business to contemporary environmental issues. It examines the role of regulation and policy in the business sector and encourages cross-country analysis. Contributions are encouraged which extend the scope of activity from environmental management to sustainable development in business. The journal should be of interest to a broad interdisciplinary audience including academics, practitioners, business managers and consultants.
note: Access is through login to HINARI
Corporate Governance: The international journal of business in society. Restricted Resource Some full text available

The journal aims to cultivate and share knowledge and ideas in order to assist businesses to enhance their corporate governance practice. Being international and inter-disciplinary in scope, this journal seeks to provide a platform for debate amongst diverse academic and practitioner communities who address a broad spectrum of corporate governance issues and disciplines in different parts of the world.


note: Off-Campus access available after login
EBSCO Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full-text, abstracted and indexed journals from all branches
of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
note: Login needed for off-campus access
Harvard Business Review Some full text availableopenURL

The Harvard Business Review has one goal: to be the source of the best new ideas for people creating, leading, and transforming business.Founded in 1922, HBR, publishes cutting-edge, authoritative thinking on the key issues facing executives. Its articles cover a wide range of topics that are relevant to different industries, management functions, and geographic locations. They focus on such areas as leadership, organizational change, negotiation, strategy, operations, marketing, finance, and managing people. Articles are written for senior managers by experts whose authority comes from careful analysis, study, and experience. The ideas presented in these articles can be translated into action and have been tested in the real world of business.


note: Indexed in EBSCOhost - Business Source Premier
Journal of Banking and Finance Restricted Resource

The Journal of Banking and Finance (JBF) publishes theoretical and empirical research papers spanning all the major research fields in finance and banking. The aim of the Journal of Banking and Finance is to provide an outlet for the increasing flow of scholarly research concerning financial institutions and the money and capital markets within which they function. The Journal's emphasis is on theoretical developments and their implementation, empirical, applied, and policy-oriented research in banking and other domestic and international financial institutions and markets. The Journal's purpose is to improve communications between, and within, the academic and other research communities and policymakers and operational decision makers at financial institutions - private and public, national and international, and their regulators.

Main subjects covered include: Accounting and Financial Reporting; Alternative Investments; Asset Pricing; Banking Efficiency; Banking Regulation; Bank Solvency and Capital Structure; Behavioural Finance; Commodity and Energy Markets; Corporate Finance; Corporate Governance and Ethics; Credit Rating; Derivative Pricing and Hedging; Empirical Finance; Financial Applications of Decision Theory or Game Theory; Financial Applications of Simulation or Numerical Methods; Financial Economics; Financial Engineering; Financial Forecasting; Financial Risk Management and Analysis; Portfolio Optimization and Trading; Regulation of Financial Markets and Institutions; Stochastic Models for Asset and Instrument Prices; Systemic Risk.


note: Access is through HINARI
Journal of Finance Some full text available

Overview

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is the most widely cited academic journal on finance. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

Aims and Scope

The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. It is one of the most widely cited academic journal on finance and one of the most widely cited journals in all of economics as well. Each issue of the journal reaches over 8,000 academics, finance professionals, libraries, government and financial institutions around the world. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.

Keywords

finance, journal, American, association, AFA, financial, economics, theory, markets, international, exchange, derivatives, trading, structures, journal, article, periodical, analysis, research, modelling, macroeconomics, policy
Journal of Strategy and Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Strategy and Management is an international journal dedicated to: improving the existing knowledge and understanding of strategy development and implementation globally in private and public organizations encouraging new thinking and innovative approaches to the study of strategy offering executives strategic insights based on outcomes of original scholarly research; and establishing effective communication between researchers and executives managing public and private organizations.
note: Login needed for off-campus access
Nankai Business Review International Restricted Resource Some full text available
Nankai Business Review International (NBRI) provides insights in to the adaptation of American and European management theory in China, the differences and exchanges between Chinese and western management styles, the relationship between Chinese enterprises’ management practice and social evolution and showcases the development and evolution of management theories based on Chinese cultural characteristics.
note: Login needed for off-campus access

Books

Taylor & Francis eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
An ebooks database which covers subjects ranging from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law.
note: Login to get access if off-campus
Subject Specialist
Picture: Judah Marowa

Judah Marowa
Chief Library Assistant
Tel: 282842

Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Graduate School of Business