Broadcast Journalism
This guide provides information for the first year course, broadcast journalism.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

Emerald Group Publishing Limited
Management, and library and information science journals.
note: Database

Journals/Magazines

Review and Criticism: Research Pioneer Tribute/Edward L. Bliss Some full text available
Profiles Edward Bliss Jr., a broadcast journalist, author and teacher. Contributions to the practice and study of broadcasting; Highlights of his career at the CBS and in broadcast journalism; Approach to teaching
note: journal article
. Original digital: Succeeding with exclusive content/Zuk, Ryan Some full text available
The article focuses on the importance of digital content marketing in the field of journalism. It states that professionals should create such videos that attract more customers and the content should be based on the current market trends. It also mentions that Critical Mention Inc., a media intelligence platform provider for analyzing broadcast, online and social media coverage, has published thought leadership blog posts and webinar related contents.
note: journal article
Broadcast meteorology and the supply of weather forecasts: an exploration/Sutter, Daniel Some full text available
Advertising imperfectly translates viewer preferences into demand for programming, and evaluating the quality of news products is difficult for consumers. Consequently the ability of market forces to supply high quality news is a subject of continuing debate. This paper offers new evidence on the supply of news by examining the investments by television stations in weather coverage. Weather forecasts meet the classic economic definition of a public good, yet television stations across the U.S. undertake extensive efforts to provide viewers with weather forecasts. Stations in markets with a higher incidence of severe weather, particularly a higher tornado rate, make significantly greater investments in their own Doppler weather radars and weathercasters certified by the American Meteorological Society. Since television weather can help save lives during severe weather, the supply of TV weather coverage is at least approximately efficient. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
note: journal
Do central processing and online processing always concur? Analysis of scene order and proportion effects in broadcast news/ Choi, Yun Jung. Some full text available
This study examines the relationship between the central/peripheral processing of the Elaboration Likelihood Model (ELM) and the online/memory-based processing of impression formation by analyzing the order and proportion effect of scene valence in broadcast news. A 2 (position of positive scenes: beginning and ending) × 3 (proportion of positive scenes: high, medium & low) between design ( N = 158) experiment with political campaign broadcast news stories found evidence of central memory-based processing, which is inconsistent with the common belief that central and online processing always concur. Four typologies of information processing are proposed based on the study's findings: central online processing, peripheral online processing, central memory-based processing and peripheral memory-based processing.
note: journal article
Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature2nd Edition Some full text available
The work has its own definitions and aims, and audience: “for librarians in search of a reference collection development tool, students and others beginning research in journalism, and print and broadcast journalists who want to know more about their field”. The value of a work such as this lies in the compiler’s expertise, first of all in selecting what is of greatest value, then in annotating it with authoritative comment. This is done with insight and experience in a model addition to an outstanding series.
note: journal
News Directors and Consultants: RTNDA's Endorsement of TV Journalism's "Greatest Tool"/Allen, Craig Some full text available
This historical account ties to modern studies by showing that TV news was not recently corporatized. Records of the Radio-Television News Directors Association explore the arrival of news consultants in the 1970s. News professionals welcomed consultants and through the RTNDA endorsed consulting as one of journalism's "greatest tools." While many recallanews profession that had battled news consultants, this is a false impression.
note: journal article
THE SEMIOTIC FUNCTION OF CLOTHING AND GENDER ROLES ON BROADCAST BUSINESS NEWS/Tan, Sabine sabinetan and Monica Owyong Yuet o. Some full text available
The article discusses research that has been completed in relation to the role in which gender roles and clothing plays in the broadcasting of business news. Research has found that the clothing a newscaster wears impacts the image that they portray to the public. Specific topics that are discussed including the different meanings that exist in the types of clothing that is worn by both male and female newscasters and the differences that exist in the types of clothing that is worn by male and female newscasters.
note: journal article
Who's Really Converging Anyway: A Survey of Broadcast and Print Journalism Student and Faculty Attitudes on Cross-Platform Journalism Education/ Hubbard, Glenn T, Crawford, Elizabeth Crisp and Platt, Carrie Anne. Some full text available

note: This study uses self categorization theory to explore whether convergence is perceived as more pertinent to print than broadcast education. The findings suggest that print-focused students and faculty embrace the web more than broadcast students and faculty. The research also suggests that print-oriented students and faculty adopt a more converged attitude and value convergence skills more than their broadcast counterparts. Participants identifying as broadcasters appear to adopt an attitude of superiority regarding their own medium and are less inclined toward convergence in general. This study also shows that broadcast education is not reflecting the profession's emphasis on integration. [ABSTRACT FROM PUBLISHER]

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Journalism Some full text available
This encyclopaedia gives an academic treatment, written by academics, but refreshingly free of academic jargon – as befits its subject. The articles range from 500 words to 5,000, but all are readable and full of interesting information and informed comment; just like good journalism, really. There are enough articles on the techniques of journalism to remind us that it is a fundamentally practical subject, although its many other ramifications and implications are well brought out. The whole book is well planned and admirably laid out, with thematic and alphabetical lists of entries, list of contributors, pretty comprehensive index, and a clear introduction.

Books

Print Media and Broadcast Journalism
A book on print media issues and journalism
Subject Specialist
Picture: Vimbai Mushurwa

Vimbai Mushurwa
Senior Library Assistant
Tel: 130

Picture: Cynthia Sibanda

Cynthia Sibanda
Assistant Librarian (Electronic Resources)
Tel: 130

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files