Journalism and Media studies
This is a guide for Journalism and Media studies
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

African Journal of Information and Communication Some full text available
 The African Journal of Information and Communication (AJIC), is an academic journal, accredited by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training. The journal has been listed in the South African approved (DoHET) journals list since 2002, and appears under the new title from 2011.
Info Some full text available
info brings together analysis of technological changes from a variety of perspectives (policy, management, industry structure, behavioural) drawing on concepts and models from economics, the political, social and behavioural sciences, decision analysis, engineering, and law. It provides an effective forum for debate and will help guide the policy and business decisions that are shaping the information economy and society of the 21st century.
note: Journal
International Journal of Social Research Methodology Some full text available
A key feature of this journal is the mix of academic and theoretically-slanted methodological articles, articles relating to research practice in professional and service settings, and those considering the relationship between the two. It thus addresses an audience of researchers within academic and other research organizations as well as practitioner-researchers in the field.

Mass Communication and Society Some full text available
Mass Communication and Society’s mission is to publish articles from a wide variety of perspectives and approaches that advance mass communication theory, especially at the societal or macrosocial level. It draws heavily from many other disciplines, including sociology, psychology, anthropology, philosophy, law, and history. Methodologically, journal articles employ qualitative and quantitative methods, survey research, ethnography, laboratory experiments, historical methods, and legal analysis.

Teaching Research Methods in Social Sciences Some full text available
This article presents guidelines for implementing a group project plan for teaching undergraduate social research methods. A teaching method is spelled out step by step. Common pitfalls of this method are discussed, including problems in grading and evaluating student performance. Ways of resolving these problems are presented. In addition, advantages of developing and integrating a research methods-statistics course sequence are discussed.

The Information Society Some full text available
The Information Society is a multidisciplinary journal intended to answer questions about the Information Age. It provides a forum for thoughtful commentary and discussion of significant topics in the world of information, such as transborder data flow, regulatory issues, the impact of the information industry, information as a determinant of public and private organizational performance, and information and the sovereignty of the public and private organizational performance, and information and the sovereignty of the public. Its papers analyze information policy issues affecting society. Because of the journal’s international perspective, it will have worldwide appeal to scientists and policymakers in government, education, and industry.

Books

Journalism and Media Studies E-books Some full text available
A collection of e-books for Journalism and Media Studies from ebrary, which is a collection of full text e-books alone.

Print Media and Broadcast Journalism
A book on print media issues and journalism

Open Access Resources

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC provides free access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text. Issues from a number of library science journals are indexed, including Library Media Connection,Library Journal, and Library Trends. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources. OAIster includes more than 30 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,500 contributors.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.

Exam Papers

NUST past exam papers: Journalism and Media Studies Some full text available
A compilation of Journalism and Media Studies Past Examination Papers.

Organizations

American Society of Newspaper Editors Some full text available
The American Society of News Editors, founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism, defends and protects First Amendment rights, and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Cynthia Sibanda

Cynthia Sibanda
Assistant Librarian (Electronic Resources)
Tel: 130

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files