Psychology of Education
The Psychology of Education  guide is a subject guide that is aimed at helping undergraduate and post-graduates students in their research on psychology of education. The guide covers aspects on psychology by education by providing information through e-journal articles, e-journal/ magazines, e-books and electronic databases.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

eBrary Some full text available
Ebrary is an instant digital library with more than 52,000 e-book titles spanning all academic subject areas.
note: Electronic database
JSTOR Some full text available
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

European Journal of Psychology of Education Some full text available
The European Journal of Psychology of Education (E.J.P.E.) is published four times a year. Original articles on empirical research, reviews of issues and theoretical discussions on relevant issues are welcome. Its content is not confined to the expression of any specific school of thought or perspective; it is open to a wide diversity of areas of research in psychology of education. Sensitive to the diversity and complementary character of the work in different countries, especially across Europe, the E.J.P.E. serves as a tool for integration of diversities in the main fields of research and offers an opportunity for exchange and discussion.
note: Journal
Oxford Review of Education Some full text available
The object of the Oxford Review of Education is to advance the study of education. It especially wishes to promote the elaboration and evaluation of a body of speculative and empirical theory, the development of which might improve educational practice. The journal publishes papers on the theory and practice of education from scholars throughout the world in a variety of disciplines: philosophy, political science, economics, history, anthropology, sociology, psychology and medicine. The Editorial Board seeks to provide a common forum and, on occasion, a focal point of controversy for the discussion of research findings, of historical and contemporary issues and of the functioning of educational institutions.
note: Journal
The Journal of Educational Research Some full text available
The Journal of Educational Research is a well-known and respected periodical journal that reaches an international audience of educators and others concerned with cutting-edge theories and proposals. For 100 years, the journal has contributed to the advancement of educational practice in elementary and secondary schools by judicious study of the latest trends, examination of new procedures, evaluation of traditional practices, and replication of previous research. The journal is an invaluable resource for teachers, counselors, supervisors, administrators, curriculum planners, and educational researchers as they consider the structure of tomorrow's curricula. Special issues examine major education concerns in-depth. Theme topics include methodology, motivation, literacy, and professional development.
note: Journal

Articles

Feminist Tactics for Better Psychology/ by Corinne Squire Some full text available
Feminism is important for psychology because both fields of enquiry overlap and insights from both can be usefully shared. The difficulties that arise in existing feminist psychology are a result of a leaning towards oversimplified egalitarian or women‐centred solutions. These emerge in three areas of psychology: women's under‐representation, gender stereotypes and androcentric theory. Examples of egalitarianism and women‐centredness in well‐known feminist psychological studies from all three areas are examined. A linguistic feminist psychology might be able to evade the contradiction between egalitarian and women‐centred approaches.
note: Journal Article
Preparing for collaborative working in mental health: an interprofessional education project with clinical psychology trainees and nursing students/ by Helena Priest . Some full text available
Purpose– Effective interprofessional working is widely claimed to enhance service delivery, user satisfaction, and most importantly, clinical outcomes. Achieving this position is proving difficult. Research suggests that strategies to enhance interprofessional collaboration should begin at the earliest possible opportunity to prevent negative stereotypes from developing. This project was an attempt to develop effective interprofessional education (IPE) across staff groups who work in the mental health arena (mental health nursing students and clinical psychology trainees).

Design/methodology/approach– Participants were whole cohorts of undergraduate mental health nursing students (n=11) in their second year of training (at the commencement of their “branch” programme), and trainees on the doctorate in clinical psychology (n=10) at the start of their first year of training. IPE sessions were facilitated by mental health nursing and clinical psychology academic staff and clinicians. Activities included creative group work and problem‐based learning. Seven sessions were delivered across over a 2 year period.

Findings– Qualitative and quantitative data from this two year project showed an increase in positive attitudes towards professionals from each profession over a two year period, though no overall improvement. Qualitative analysis of participant comments provided more encouraging support for improvement in attitudes, within the theme areas of teamwork and collaboration, professional identity, and roles and responsibilities. Overall, the project provided important information on building positive attitudes within the mental health workforce, while identifying challenges that need to be anticipated and addressed.

Originality/value– Few studies have explored IPE in mental health contexts, especially in the pre‐qualification arena.
note: Journal Article

Books

Psychology and the Study of Education : Critical Perspectives on Developing Theories/ by Siochrú, Cathal Ó Some full text available
Psychology and the Study of Education: Critical Perspectives on Developing Theories explores both the insights and applications that psychology can offer in a range of educational contexts. Introducing the reader to a wide variety of sources, from cutting edge research to key studies from the past, it offers new perspectives on the psychology of education. This includes re-examining core theories of learning, unpicking key learning processes and reconsidering the role of factors such as memory, creativity and gender in learning. Questioning myths and misconceptions, it challenges the reader to develop a critically reflective approach and asks them to reconsider the potential value of psychology in both understanding and influencing education. With discussion points and recommended readings provided in every chapter to enhance sessions and challenge students, issues explored include: Reconsidering what we think we know about the psychology of education. Memory: How we learn by remembering and imagining. Creativity: Creative learning and learning creativity. Reading, writing and dyslexia: Understanding the myths and exploring the challenges. Embodiment: The entanglement of brain, body and environment in learning. Social understanding: Learning to relate and its role in education. Gender: The origins of gender identity and its impact on education. Behaviourism: Taking a second look at its wider relevance to learning. Piaget: A fresh perspective on Piagetian theory and method. Vygotsky: Socio-cultural theories and collective learning. Your guide to the complex and evolving field that is psychology of education, this is an essential text for students of Education Studies, Disability Studies, Early Childhood or Childhood and Youth Studies and Teacher Education; ideal for anyone who has already been introduced to a little psychology and would like to know more, or anyone teaching psychology on an education course. Whether you are taking your first steps or looking for your next challenge, this book has something to offer anyone who wants to take their study of the psychology of education to the next level.
note: eBook
Education and Psychology in Interaction : Working With Uncertainty in Interconnected Fields/ by Brahm Norwich. Some full text available
This book takes an in-depth look at how education and psychology relate to each other, and at the current state of this relationship. Through comprehensive analysis of the ideological, historical, social and professional contexts of this interaction, the author develops the theme that, despite basic differences in aims, the fields are interconnected.
note: ebook
Psychology and Education of Slow Learners/ by Brown, Roy I. Some full text available
This book offers a clear analysis of the problems facing slow learners, their psychology and the types of education open to them. Dr Brown reassesses the needs of disabled children and adults in the context of their families, with the emphasis on the practical level of activity and training possible for them. The aim is the integration of the disabled person in society, and the belief is that services for the disabled should be integrated, with no professional person working on an isolated basis, but as part of a multidisciplinary professional team. Design for individuals entering the field of teaching, particularly those concerned with special education, training and rehabilitation programmes, the book should also be of value to social workers, psychologists and other professional people working in the field, as well as to parents of disabled children.
note: eBook
Psychology and Education/ by Gallard, Diahann and Cartmell, Katherine M. Some full text available
Psychology and Education is an accessible text that offers a clear introduction to educational psychology on education studies programmes. It considers the key psychological ideas that will support students'understanding of how different individuals and groups of individuals learn and behave in educational contexts and settings. Looking at factors that influence learning and attainment, the book discusses themes such as the relationship between cognition and emotion, emotional intelligence and motivation. Throughout, the emphasis is on encouraging the reader to avoid stereotyping, attributions and rigid views of learner ability. Features include: a focus on only the most relevant psychological themes case studies to exemplify key points extended research tasks reflection points. Part of the Foundations of Education Studies series, this timely textbook is essential reading for students coming to the study of educational psychology for the first time. It will ensure that undergraduate students are confident and competent with core psychological ideas related to education and help them to understand how different individuals learn and behave in educational contexts and settings.
note: eBook
Psychology and Education/ by Susan Bentham . Some full text available
Psychology and Education provides a user-friendly introduction to educational psychology. The book covers psychological theories and their practical applications in education. The book will also be relevant to those studying the EdExcel specification and to those with a general interest in education and learning. The book covers the cognitive, behaviourist and humanistic perspectives on learning, including the work of Piaget, Vygotsky, Bruner and others, and describes the practical applications of these theories. The assessment of educational performance is covered and the cultural and developmental factors affecting performance are discussed. Chapters on the special educational needs of the educationally disadvantaged and gifted, and disruptive behaviour in school are included, with sections on ADHD, autism and dyslexia. The book also discusses teaching and learning styles, and the design and layout of educational environments. Psychology and Education requires little or no background knowledge and makes an ideal introduction for students of psychology, trainee teachers, child carers and anyone who is interested in what is happening in today's schools.
note: ebook
Psychology of Education : A Pedagogical Approach/ by Stones, E. Some full text available
This book provides the contribution of psychology to pedagogy to help practitioners improve their practice and theorists test their theories. It also provides thesis that teaching involves the teacher in psychological experimentation. Thus one of the most important laboratories for testing the application of learning theories is the classroom. The adoption of this view offers the potential for transforming teaching and our understanding of human learning. Also,  guides are given to teachers/experimenters to plan, try out and evaluate their teaching/experimenting. The central theme adopted at the outset and held throughout the book is the improvement of teaching through the explicit, informed use of sychopedagogical principles.
note: ebook

Reviews

Gordon Pask’s contributions to psychology/ by Bernard Scott Some full text available
This paper reviews the contributions of Gordon Pask, cybernetician, to the discipline of psychology as a methodologist and as a theoretician. Pask was prolific in many fields but especially so in psychology both as an innovative experimenter and an innovative theorist. Over four decades, Pask carried out experimental studies of learning, problem solving and decision making, often using sophisticated computer‐based environments. These latter, in turn, inspired the design of teaching machines and learning environments with practical applications in education and training. Pask’s theorizing while addressing detailed methodological and conceptual issues was also holistic and unifying in intent, not least in his proposals for rapprochements between process, individual and social psychologies.
note: Research paper
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Assistant Librarian (Bibliographic Services)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide