GENDER AND EDUCATION
The Gender and Education guide is a subject guide that is aimed at helping undergraduate and post-graduates students in their research on gender equality and education. The guide covers aspects on gender and education by providing information through the use of e-journal acticles, e-journals/ magazines, e-books and electronic databases.
Gender and Education
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

Dawsonera eBook Some full text available
A collection of ebooks to fulfill your research needs.
note: Electronic Database
eBrary Some full text available
Ebrary is an instant digital library with more than 52,000 e-book titles spanning all academic subject areas.
note: Electronic database
HINARI Some full text available
Free access to 2300 biomedical and related social sciences journals and
other resources for health sector and academic institutions in 120 developing
countries.
note: Electronic Database
JSTOR Some full text available
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education
note: Electronic Database
Oxford Journal Online Some full text available
This database provide journals for Biological Sciences, Medicine, Public Health& Epidemiology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Law, Economics, Finance, Mathematics, Statistics, Computers, Physics.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

British Journal of Sociology of Education Some full text available
British Journal of Sociology of Educationpublishes academic articles from throughout the world which contribute to both theory and empirical research in the sociology of education. The journal attempts to reflect the variety of perspectives current in the field. In order to ensure that all articles are of the highest quality, all contributions are submitted to at least two referees before acceptance for publication. Apart from the main articles each issue will normally contain a review essay, an extended review and a review symposium on a major book or collection of books.
note: Journal

Articles

Gender effects of education on economic development in Turkey/ by Aysit Tansel Some full text available

Purpose– This study is concerned with the separate output effects of female and male education, as well as output effects of the educational gender gap. Several recent empirical studies have examined the gender effects of education on economic growth or on output level using the much exploited, familiar cross-country data. This paper aims to undertake a similar study of the gender effects of education on economic growth using a panel data across the provinces of Turkey for the period 1975-2000.

Design/methodology/approach– The theoretical basis of the estimating equations is the neoclassical growth model augmented to include separate female and male education capital and health capital variables. The methodology the authors use includes robust regression on pooled panel data controlling for regional and time effects. The results are found to be robust to a number of sensitivity analyses, such as elimination of outlier observations, controls for simultaneity and measurement errors, controls for omitted variables by including regional dummy variables, steady-state versus growth equations and different samples of developed and less-developed provinces of Turkey.

Findings– The main findings indicate that female education positively and significantly affects the steady-state level of labor productivity, while the effect of male education is in general either positive or insignificant. Separate examination of the effect of educational gender gap was to reduce output.

Originality/value– As evident in the literature, there is controversy surrounding the gender effects of educationon growth. This paper provides new evidence on this issue from the perspective of a single country rather than a cross-country viewpoint.
note: Journal Article
Gender, education and labour market: evidence from Mauritius/ by Deepa Gokulsing Some full text available

Purpose– The purpose of this paper is to analyse the role of women in the small island economy by focussing on the education sector and labour market access. First, we analyse the educationalpath of women in Mauritius and second we examine the labour market opportunities available to them. We link the two sectors by adopting a gender perspective. Third, we investigate whether the same opportunities are made available to both men and women and whether or not there exist a gender gap in economic participation in the country.

Design/methodology/approach– The author used data from the World Bank Development Indicators (2012) for a comparative analysis of the gender situation in Mauritius relative to other African countries. Gender statistics were also made available from the statistical office: statistics, Mauritius. The Global Gender Gap Report (2012) and the SADC Gender Protocol Barometer 2012 were used as secondary data.

Findings– The analysis reveals that though girls’ outperform boys at all education levels, starting from primary, secondary and tertiary level, their access to job opportunities are reduced. Female unemployment rate is higher than that of male unemployment and even for those women who manage to enter the labour market, they remain in the low-occupation jobs. This puzzling relationship between good educational performance and female unemployment or low-occupation may first be explained by the wrong choice of subjects at secondary and tertiary levels. Mauritian women are more likely to obtain a degree in education and humanities which are the traditional areas rather than moving to the non-traditional spheres of science and engineering. Hence, not only is it difficult for them to penetrate the labour market which is already saturated in these traditional disciplines but jobs in these fields may not be in the high wage range. Consequently, these subject choices have repercussions for the occupations they choose and the wages they earn. Significant and persistent gaps remain in the fields of study that women and men choose as part of their formal education. These gaps translate henceforth into gender differences in employment and ultimately into differences in productivity and earnings.

Originality/value– No study has focused on the puzzling link between good education performance of girls and their inability to access the labour market in Mauritius.
note: Journal Article
Gender, Education and Training: An International Perspective/ by Fiona Leach Some full text available
Since 1993, Gender and Development has aimed to promote, inspire, and support development policy and practice, which furthers the goal of equality between women and men. This journal has a readership in over 90 countries and uses clear accessible language.Each issue of Gender and Development focuses on a topic of key interest to all involved in promoting gender equality through development. Insights from development initiatives across the world are shared and analyzed, and lessons identified. Innovative theoretical concepts are investigated by key academic writers, and the uses of these concepts for policy and practice are explored. Each issue includes an up-to-date resources section, listing publications, electronic resources, and organizations. Gender and Development also surveys the news and views on current events and trends in gender equality and women' rights, and includes interviews and debates on cutting-edge issues.
note: Journal Acticle
Parents, Gender, and Education/ by Miriam E. David Some full text available
This article discusses social justice in education, specifically issues of social equity and equal opportunities on the grounds of gender. The article explores the ways in which the Right in government in advanced industrial societies, but particularly in Britain and the United States, has tried to implement a new right-wing agenda of parental choice and standards. This is in contrast to earlier liberal administrations that sought to provide equality of educational opportunity by reducing the differences between families through parental privilege or poverty or involving mothers in their children's education. The conclusion is drawn that right-wing strategies will increase social diversity and sexual inequalities around the role of parents, especially mothers.
note: Article
Quantifying gender distances in education, occupation and employment/ by Maria Symeonaki, Some full text available

Purpose- The purpose of this paper is to investigate the role of gender in education, occupation and employment in Southern Europe and more specifically in Greece, Italy, Portugal and Spain. The goal is to provide measures that can trace gender differences with respect to their educationaland employment features in these countries, explore whether these differences converge over time and compare the patterns observed in each country given their socio-economic similarities.

Design/methodology/approach- This paper uses raw data drawn from the European Social Survey (ESS) for the decade 2002-2012. It provides a method for quantifying gender differences in education, occupation and employment and their evolution over time based on distance measures.

Findings- The results reveal that gender distances in education have gradually subsided in these countries. However, occupational choices differ steadily over the years for all countries. The paper provides, therefore, solid evidence that equalizing the level of education between men and women during those years did not result in a decrease in the occupational distances between them. Moreover, based on the latest round the findings suggest that men and women are equally likely to having experienced unemployment within the last five years.

Research limitations/implications- Further research could be done to include results based on raw data from the seventh round of the ESS. This may provide valuable information for Spain and Portugal who did participate in this round.

Social implications- This research implies that more needs to be done to accelerate progress in order to achieve gender occupational equality in Southern Europe.

Originality/value- This paper draws attention to issues concerning gender differences in education, horizontal and vertical segregation and employment for which it provides distance measures and evidence of how they have evolved over time, based on raw data analysis from the ESS.
note: Atricle

Books

Education and Gender/ Debotri Dhar and Dr. Colin Brock Some full text available
This book provides relationship between gender and the humanitarian function of education. How does this relationship change indifferent countries of the world? Education and Gender draws on international research from numerous countries including the USA, UK, India, Mexico, Sub-Saharan Africa and the Caribbean, to provide a comprehensive global overview of the relationship between gender and education. The contributors consider a range of issues, from the gender gap in educational attainment and pedagogical strategies and teacher training to stereotyping in curriculum and gender issues in education policy,all the time rooting constructions of gender and sexuality in specific geographical contexts. Drawing on best practices word-wide, the contributors identify the current gaps and propose solutions to promote gender-just,equitable and pluralistic societies. Case studies provide real examples and each chapter contains a summary of the key points within the chapter to enable easy navigation, key questions to encourage you to actively engage with the material and a list of further reading to support you in taking your exploration further.
note: ebook
Gender and Choice in Education and Occupation/ by Radford John. Some full text available
Despite many years of equality of choice, boys and girls continue to differ in both the subjects they study at school and later in the careers they decide to pursue. In this collection of papers by leading researchers from academic and practitioner backgrounds, the current evidence from a range of fields is reviewed. Drawing on both their own original research and that of others, the contributors consider topics as diverse as subject choice in secondary school, differences in brain functions between the sexes, the comparison of men and women in management and recruiting women to science and technology.
note: ebook
Gender and Choice in Education and Occupation/ edited by John Radford Some full text available
This book provides equality of choice, boys and girls continue to differ in both the subjects they study at school and later in the careers they decide to pursue. In this collection of papers by leading researchers from academic and practitioner backgrounds, the current evidence from a range of fields is reviewed. Drawing on both their own original research and that of others, the contributors consider topics as diverse as subject choice in secondary school, differences in brain functions between the sexes, the comparison of men and women in management and recruiting women to science and technology.
note: ebook
Gender Justice, Education and Equality/ by Firdevs Melis Cin. Some full text available
This book reframes gender and education issues from a feminist and capabilities perspective through a multi-generational study of women as teachers. It explores how different understandings of gender, equality and education generate a variety of approaches with which to pursue gender equality in education. Through employing the capabilities approach in a critical and innovative way to question justice, agency and well-being and also to evaluate valued functionings and capabilities, freedoms and lack of opportunities in women`s lives in Turkey it highlights the need for constructing a gender-just society. The book takes a closer look at these women`s memories, in order to understand how gender roles were created, negotiated and contested, and how the transition to modern ways of socialising and existing was shaped and women`s emancipation was guided by women teachers as social actors, rather than as passive onlookers or oppressed individuals. It provides important insights and critical evidence to be used in the planning and implementation of education and social/gender policies.
note: ebook
Gender, Equality and Education from International and Comparative Perspectives/ by Baker David, ...[et al] Some full text available
This series investigates the often controversial relationship between gender, equality and education from international and comparative perspectives. This volume is investigation whether gender equality in eduacation is really being achieved in schools around the world or not.
note: ebooks
Leaders in Gender and Education: Intellectual Self-Portraits/ by Waks, Leonard J. Some full text available
 The series provides unique insight into the functions of knowledge based in education, as well as bird eye of contemporary educational scholarship. This book also provides information on leaders in gender and education.
note: ebook
Reflecting on Gender and Education Research and Practice in the Field of Comparative and International Education: Past, Present, and Future/ by Manion Calorine Some full text available
This chapter provides the past, present, and future of gender and education research, policy, and practice in the context of the field of comparative and international education. Points of discussion include who comprises the gender and education professional community, common challenges, shifting development paradigms and terminology (i.e., from Women in Development to Gender and Development), the historical roots and trajectory of the field in terms of research, policy and practice, and future directions, including new topics, approaches, and methods.
note: The book series
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Assistant Librarian (Bibliographic Services)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide