Library and Information Science
This is the guide for Library and Information Science.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

Emerald
Management, Financial Mnagement, Library and Information Science, Engineering and Marketing.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

African Journal of Information and Communication Some full text available
 The African Journal of Information and Communication (AJIC), is an academic journal, accredited by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training. The journal has been listed in the South African approved (DoHET) journals list since 2002, and appears under the new title from 2011.
Collection Building Some full text available
Collection Building aims to provide well-researched and authoritative information on collection development for librarians in academic, public, company and special libraries. It publishes papers which have been accepted after blind review by two reviewers.

Collection Management Some full text available
The management and development of library collections is constantly evolving. Collection Management is the essential refereed quarterly journal that presents practical, research-based information about building, administering, preserving, assessing, and organizing library collections. The journal offers library professionals of all types crucial guidance in the fast-changing field of collection management, including the latest developments in sharing and providing access to resources, creating digital collections, preserving both traditional and digital library resources, applying technological developments to managing collections, training and developing staff, and managing and analyzing the administrative data associated with building collections, such as usage, licensing or rights, access, and financial issues.

Information Services and Use Some full text available
Information Services & Use is an information and information technology oriented publication with a wide scope of subject matters. International in terms of both audience and authorship, the journal aims at leaders in information management and applications in an attempt to keep them fully informed of fast-moving developments in fields such as: online systems, offline systems, electronic publishing, library automation, education and training, word processing and telecommunications. These areas are treated not only in general, but also in specific contexts; applications to business and scientific fields are sought so that a balanced view is offered to the reader.

International Journal of Social Research Methodology Some full text available
A key feature of this journal is the mix of academic and theoretically-slanted methodological articles, articles relating to research practice in professional and service settings, and those considering the relationship between the two. It thus addresses an audience of researchers within academic and other research organizations as well as practitioner-researchers in the field.

Journal of Academic Librarianship Some full text available

The Journal of Academic Librarianship, an international and refereed journal, publishes articles that focus on problems and issues germane to college and university libraries. JAL provides a forum for authors to present research findings and, where applicable, their practical applications and significance; analyze policies, practices, issues, and trends; speculate about the future of academic librarianship; present analytical bibliographic essays and philosophical treatises. JAL also provides special features in each issue which include book reviews on subjects of interest to academic librarians, information on academic library technology issues, research in international librarianship, digests of special reports, and a guide to sources and analysis of library metrics.

Journal of Access Services Some full text available
The Journal of Access Services welcomes the submission of research, theory, and practice papers relevant to the access services in libraries and archives of all types. Access Services is the broad field and collective term of all the services that provide, facilitate, and manage the access of the clientele to the information resources acquired or made available by the libraries or archives with the aim of allowing for easy and convenient retrieval of needed information, utilization of information resources to the fullest extent, and greatest availability of resources to each of the clientele.

Journal of Comparative Social Welfare Some full text available
Journal of Comparative Social Welfare is a refereed international forum designed to promote interdisciplinary inquiry and research. It encompasses all scientific-academic fields dealing with social welfare including social work, social policy, social development and planning.

Journal of Documentation Some full text available
The Journal of Documentation has the unique perspective of focusing on theories, concepts, models, frameworks, and philosophies in the information sciences. The Journal also publishes research reports, where these have wide significance, and articles on the methodology of research, information history, the information disciplines - including educational issues, curricula and links with other disciplines - and relations between academic study and professional practical. Critical and scholarly reviews are welcome, as are reviews of the evidence base for professional practice.

Journal of Education for Library and Information Science Some full text available
An innovative approach to teaching research methods and statistics courses to LIS students is presented. The teaching strategy consists of two parts. First, it uses current news stories found in daily newspapers to introduce and explicate both basic statistical concepts and methodological approaches. Second, it uses articles published between 1930 and 1960 in Library Quarterly as examples which students can revise, expand, and update using the concepts they have learned in the class.
Journal of Electronic Resources Librarianship Some full text available
The Journal of Electronic Resources Librarianship (JERL) provides a forum for the presentation and discussion of current research, evolving work-related processes and procedures, and the latest news on topics related to electronic resources and the digital environment.

Library & Archival Security Some full text available
Library & Archival Security is a multi-disciplinary journal dedicated to all aspects of security in libraries, archives and other information centers.

Library Hi Tech Some full text available
Library Hi Tech focuses upon computing and technology for the library community. It is international in scope and defines technology in the broadest possible terms to include the full range of tools employed by librarians and their customers. The majority of journal issues are themed, thus allowing for extensive in-depth coverage and analysis of key areas.

Library Management journal Some full text available
The journal reflects the latest research undertaken in academic, government and corporate institutions by reporting contemporary thought, whilst also exploring practical implications for those involved in teaching and practice.

Library Review Some full text available
Library Review aims to provide an international communication link between researchers, educators and library professionals in academic, public, company and other libraries by publishing papers which have been reviewed by the Editor and one or more reviewers, double-blind.

Samaru Journal of Information Studies Some full text available
The Samaru Journal of Information Studies addresses issues in the field of library science, information science and related fields including but not limited to, information and communication Technology (ICT) applications to effectively create, apply, and communicate knowledge in organization. including but not limited to knowledge management, information and communication Technology (ICT) applications and use, communication, public relations and other allied areas of information studies.

Teaching Research Methods in Social Sciences Some full text available
This article presents guidelines for implementing a group project plan for teaching undergraduate social research methods. A teaching method is spelled out step by step. Common pitfalls of this method are discussed, including problems in grading and evaluating student performance. Ways of resolving these problems are presented. In addition, advantages of developing and integrating a research methods-statistics course sequence are discussed.

the electronic library
an electronic library journal
The Information Society Some full text available
The Information Society is a multidisciplinary journal intended to answer questions about the Information Age. It provides a forum for thoughtful commentary and discussion of significant topics in the world of information, such as transborder data flow, regulatory issues, the impact of the information industry, information as a determinant of public and private organizational performance, and information and the sovereignty of the public and private organizational performance, and information and the sovereignty of the public. Its papers analyze information policy issues affecting society. Because of the journal’s international perspective, it will have worldwide appeal to scientists and policymakers in government, education, and industry.

Dictionaries

IFLA Glossary of Terms and Abbreviations and Useful Links
A glossary of major library terms and abbreviations prepared by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions' Section on Bibliography.
Multilingual Glossary of Terms
A glossary of library science terminoloy designed specifically for English as a Second Language (ESL) users. TheLanguage Table lists each term in English followed by the equivalent term as written in six other languages (Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French, Spanish, and Arabic). Compiled by members of the Instruction for Diverse Populations Committee of the Association of College and Research Libraries' Instruction Section.
Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science
Includes not only the terminology of the various specializations within library science and information studies but also the vocabulary of publishing, printing, binding, the book trade, graphic arts, book history, literature, bibliography, telecommunications, and computer science when, in the author's judgment, a definition might prove helpful to librarians and information specialists in their work.

Books

eBrary Database Some full text available
this serves patrons with taxation electronic books

Open Access Resources

E-LIS: E-prints in Library and Information Science
E-LIS is an open access archive for scientific or technical documents, published or unpublished, on librarianship, information science and technology, and related areas. More than 16,000 documents are currently available.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC provides free access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text. Issues from a number of library science journals are indexed, including Library Media Connection,Library Journal, and Library Trends. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources. OAIster includes more than 30 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,500 contributors.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.

Exam Papers

NUST past exam papers:Library and Information Science Some full text available
A compilation of Library and Information Science Past Examination Papers.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Service decision-making processes at three New York state cooperative public library systems Some full text available
Research findings from this study provide information on specific service variations across cooperative public library systems. The findings also provide differences of service decision-making processes in addition to the factors that might cause these difference. The study adds knowledge of public library systems’ management and organizational structures, therefore fills a knowledge gap on public library systems. It can also serve as the baseline for future studies using newer annual report data and therefore to study the changing roles and services of cooperative public library systems in New York State.


note: Journal

Directories

AVSL Library Catalogs Some full text available
Association of Vision Science Librarians.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Cynthia Sibanda

Cynthia Sibanda
Assistant Librarian (Electronic Resources)
Tel: 130

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files