Applied Physics
This guide is meant to assist Applied Physics researchers access relevant electronic resources in their field.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service Some full text available
More than just a simple journal listing service, EBSCO A-to-Z is a powerful locator tool that helps researchers to discover all of the electronic resources offered at the library.
note: Electronic Database and a Gateway to list of Journals

Journals/Magazines

AIP Advances
AIP Advances is a fully open access, online-only community-led journal, covering all areas of applied physical science, including those topics not currently covered by the existing AIP journals. As an open access journal with advanced web 2.0 tools, the global research community will be able to find, share, evaluate, and discuss scientific research in new ways. AIP Advances puts relevant content and discussion tools in the hands of the community to shape the direction of the physical sciences.

AIP Applied Physics Letters
Applied Physics Letters, published by the American Institute of Physics, features concise, up-to-date reports on significant new findings in applied physics. Emphasizing rapid dissemination of key data and new physical insights, Applied Physics Letters offers prompt publication of new experimental and theoretical papers bearing on applications of physics phenomena to all branches of science, engineering, and modern technology. Content is published online daily, collected into weekly online and printed issues (52 issues per year).

APL: Organic Electronics and Photonics
APL: Organic Electronics and Photonics includes the subset of articles from Applied Physics Letters that directly deal with, or have important implications for, organic electronics and photonics. Content is published online daily, collected into monthly online (electronic-only) issues (12 issues per year); APL: Organic Electronics and Photonics is published by the American Institute of Physics.

Biomicrofluidics
Biomicrofluidics is an online currently free access journal published by the American Institute of Physics to rapidly disseminate research in elucidating fundamental physicochemical mechanisms associated with microfluidic and nanofluidic phenomena as well as novel microfluidic and nanofluidic techniques for diagnostic, medical, biological, pharmaceutical, environmental, and chemical applications. Research areas include, but are not limited to:

* Microfluidic and nanofluidic actuation (Electrokinetics, acoustofluidics, optofluidics and magnetohydrodynamics)
* Wetting, nano-rheology and droplet platforms
* Molecular and bioparticle sorting, manipulation and concentration
* Genomic and proteomic analysis
* Cell culture, manipulation and analysis
* Immunoassay, enzyme analysis and bead-based biosensors
* Pathogen detection and point-of-care diagnostics
* Drug delivery and discovery platforms
* Biomaterials synthesis and tissue engineering
* Fuel and solar cells

With a primary focus on high-quality, original research articles, the journal also will organize special sections that will help elucidate and define specific challenges unique to the interdisciplinary field of biomicrofluidics.

Chaos
Chaos is a quarterly journal published by the American Institute of Physics and devoted to increasing the understanding of nonlinear phenomena and describing the manifestations in a manner comprehensible to researchers from a broad spectrum of disciplines.

Computing in Science & Engineering
Physics, medicine, astronomy—these and other hard sciences share a common need for efficient algorithms, system software, and computer architecture to address large computational problems. And yet, useful advances in computational techniques that could benefit many researchers are rarely shared. To meet that need, Computing in Science & Engineering (CiSE) presents scientific and computational contributions in a clear and accessible format.

Journal of Applied Physics
Journal of Applied Physics is the American Institute of Physics' (AIP) archival journal for significant new results in applied physics; content is published online daily, collected into two online and printed issues per month (24 issues per year). The journal publishes articles that emphasize understanding of the physics underlying modern technology, but distinguished from technology on the one side and pure physics on the other. Applied Physics Reviews is a series of occasional review articles on topics within this scope. The Proceedings of the Conference on Magnetism and Magnetic Materials is an annual feature.

Journal of Chemical Physics
The Journal of Chemical Physics publishes concise and definitive reports of significant research in methods and applications of chemical physics. Innovative research in traditional areas of chemical physics such as spectroscopy, kinetics, statistical mechanics, and quantum mechanics continue to be areas of interest to readers of JCP. In addition, newer areas such as polymers, materials, surfaces/interfaces, information theory, and systems of biological relevance are of increasing importance. Routine applications of chemical physics techniques may not be appropriate for JCP. Content is published online daily, collected into four monthly online and printed issues (48 issues per year); the journal is published by the American Institute of Physics.

Journal of Mathematical Physics
Journal of Mathematical Physics is published by the American Institute of Physics; content is published online daily, collected into monthly online and printed issues (12 issues per year). Its purpose is the publication of papers in mathematical physics–that is, the application of mathematics to problems in physics and the development of mathematical methods suitable for such applications and for the formulation of physical theories. The mathematics should be written in a manner that is understandable to theoretical physicists. Occasionally, reviews of mathematical subjects relevant to physics and special issues combining papers on a topic of current interest may be published.

Physics of Fluids
Physics of Fluids is published by the American Institute of Physics with the cooperation of The American Physical Society Division of Fluid Dynamics. The journal is devoted to the publication of original theoretical, computational, and experimental contributions to the dynamics of gases, liquids, and complex or multiphase fluids. Content is published online daily, collected into monthly online and printed issues (12 issues per year).

Physics Today
The mission of Physics Today is to provide a unifying voice for thediverse areas of physics and the physics-related sciences.

It does that in three ways:

* by providing authoritative, engaging coverage of physical scienceresearch and its applications without regard to disciplinary boundaries;
* by providing authoritative, engaging coverage of the often complexinteractions of the physical sciences with each other and with otherspheres of human endeavor; and
* by providing a forum for the exchange of ideas within thescientific community.

Radiations
Radiations is a magazine of Sigma Pi Sigma. Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Sigma Pi Sigma’s mission is not completed in the induction ceremony with the recognition of academic accomplishment. In the four dimensions of Honor, Encouragement, Service, and Fellowship, the mission of Sigma Pi Sigma takes a longer view.

Books

Advanced quantum mechanics
Renowned physicist and mathematician Freeman Dyson is famous for his work in quantum mechanics, nuclear weapons policy and bold visions for the future of humanity. In the 1940s, he was responsible for demonstrating the equivalence of the two formulations of quantum electrodynamics - Richard Feynman's diagrammatic path integral formulation and the variational methods developed by Julian Schwinger and Sin-Itiro Tomonoga - showing the mathematical consistency of QED. This invaluable volume comprises the legendary lectures on quantum electrodynamics first given by Dyson at Cornell University in 1951. The late theorist Edwin Thompson Jaynes once remarked, "For a generation of physicists they were the happy medium: clearer and better motivated than Feynman, and getting to the point faster than Schwinger". This edition has been printed on the 60th anniversary of the Cornell lectures, and includes a foreword by science historian David Kaiser, as well as notes from Dyson's lectures at the Les Houches Summer School of Theoretical Physics in 1954. The Les Houches lectures, described as a supplement to the original Cornell notes, provide a more detailed look at field theory, a careful and rigorous derivation of Fermi's Golden Rule, and a masterful treatment of renormalization and Ward's Identity. Future generations of physicists are bound to read these lectures with pleasure, benefiting from the lucid style that is so characteristic of Dyson's exposition.
Applied Physics
This is an Applied Physics book,written by Arthur  Beiser. It was published by McGraw-Hill Trade in 2003. It is based on Schaum’s Outline of Theory and Problems of Applied Physics (Third Edition) by Arthur Beiser, Ph.D.



Comprehensive Text Book of Applied Physics

Comprehensive Text Book of Applied Physics is a book written by Professor Manoj Kumar. The book covers waves and vibrations, applications of sound waves, principles of optics, electrostatics, current electricity, semiconductor physics, modem physics,and experiments.



eBrary Database Some full text available
this serves patrons with taxation electronic books
Quantum field theory demystified
Learn quantum field theory at the speed of light! "Quantum Field Theory Demystified" picks up where "Quantum Mechanics Demystified" left off and is the ideal introductory resource for those moving onto this complex physics course. Quantum field theory unifies Einstein's theory of relativity with quantum mechanics. You will learn the essential principles and mathematical framework of quantum field theory through easy-to-follow explanations and sample equations. The book also provides the background needed to learn more advanced topics such as string theory, supersymmetry, and quantum gravity.
Relativity demystified
This book helps readers learn relativity at the speed of light! Now anyone can grasp Einstein's great theory of relativity - without formal training, unlimited time, or a genius IQ. In "Relativity Demystified", theoretical physicists (and student-savvy authors) David McMahon and Paul Ansing provide an effective, illuminating, and entertaining way to learn the essentials and formulas of Einstein's theories. With "Relativity Demystified", you master the subject one step at a time - at your own speed. This unique self-teaching guide offers problems at the end of each chapter and part to pinpoint weaknesses, and a 100-question final exam to reinforce the entire book.This fast and entertaining self-teaching course makes it much easier to: master theoretical physics at your own pace; learn the formulas and principles of special and general relativity from hundreds of worked examples; use practical mathematical tools for solving relativity problems; receive layperson's explanations for Schwarzhild spacetimes, black holes, gravitational radiation, and actual current research; perform better in one of the scariest courses of all; and, take a final exam and grade it yourself!Simple enough for beginners but challenging enough for those who already know something about relativity, "Relativity Demystified" is the best self-teaching tool or brush-up you can find!
The teaching and learning of physics Some full text available
Effective physics instruction will include all aspects of the framework described in this chapter. Teachers need to identify students' problematic ideas and continually monitor students' thinking. Teachers should focus on helping students generate, test, and modify their ideas. Teaching should promote a deep understanding of observations, inferences and relations organized in a conceptual framework. Exemplary teaching should result in a functional understanding of ideas and processes that can be applied appropriately across multiple and even novel context.While one aspect of the framework may play more of role during certain parts of a unit, they are all present in the expert teachers' minds as they help move students from their initial ideas to reaching the learning goals of the course. This is accomplished through small cycles of instruction that are informed through a continuous monitoring of students' conceptual understanding. Each cycle bringing the understanding of the student and the learning goals for the course closer together, thus crossing the gap from research to standards-based, exemplary classroom practice. It is important to emphasize that exemplary physics instruction requires exemplary physics teachers. The teaching skills required in the framework described are not embedded in a particular curriculum or series of activities, but reside with the individual teacher. Teachers often spend years refining these skills and adapting activities to reach all the learners under their charge.One important component to refining these skills is the depth to which a teacher understands and can apply the concepts they are teaching. Knowing the content at a deep level is required to help students achieve a functional understanding of the concepts. The path to acquiring this depth of understanding is the same for the teacher as it is for the student. The preparation and professional development of teachers must be in environments in which all four aspects of the framework are in place.In addition, knowledge of the nature of learning will impact the implementation of the aspects of this instructional framework. It is not enough for the teacher to have an understanding of the material; they must also have an understanding of how one comes to know what they know. Finally, the teacher needs to develop pedagogical content knowledge. They need to have available extensive knowledge of particular curricular activities, how students will respond to the activities, and what learning can be expected from the activities. Teachers need to know the learning targets, the initial thinking of students, and how to cross the gap from initial ideas to functional conceptual understanding.This task of becoming an exemplary teacher may seem daunting, especially for those new to teaching. However, as with every profession, expertise is not something one attains; expertise is something for which we continually strive.
note: e-book

Exam Papers

NUST Past exam papers: Applied Physics
Past exam papers for applied physics at the National University of Science and Technology.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Advanced Mechanics and General Relativity
Aimed at advanced undergraduates with background knowledge of classical mechanics and electricity and magnetism, this textbook presents both the particle dynamics relevant to general relativity, and the field dynamics necessary to understand the theory. Focusing on action extremization, the book develops the structure and predictions of general relativity by analogy with familiar physical systems. Topics ranging from classical field theory to minimal surfaces and relativistic strings are covered in a homogeneous manner. Nearly 150 exercises and numerous examples throughout the textbook enable students to test their understanding of the material covered. A tensor manipulation package to help students overcome the computational challenge associated with general relativity is available on a site hosted by the author. A link to this and to a solutions manual can be found at www.cambridge.org/9780521762458.

Dissertations

Applied Geophysics in gold exploration in the Blanket-Lima Footwall Trend, Gwanda Greenstone Belt, Zimbabwe
ABSTRACT
Geophysical surveys can provide a rapid and cost-effective means of deriving
information on subsurface geology and structure. An alternative method of
investigating subsurface geology is by drilling boreholes, but these are expensive and
provide information only at discrete locations. If properly applied, and used in
conjunction with other exploration techniques, geophysical methods can optimize
gold exploration programs by maximizing ground coverage and optimizing drilling
requirements through improved targeting.
This study reviews past exploration data for an area immediately to the east of the
producing ore zones at Blanket Mine, in the Gwanda greenstone belt, provide new
ground magnetometer data for a selected area containing two dormant mines
(Redwick and K Pits) and integrates and analyses all data to produce a new
interpretation.
The improved resolution provided by the new magnetometer survey allowed
definition not only for fine detail within the volcanic stratigraphy of the Redwick - K
Pits area, but also of important offsetting structures that affect possible mineralized
zones.
This study confirms the importance of magnetics as an exploration tool for subsurface
geology and structure. However, not withstanding its usefulness, magnetics is
just one of many geophysical exploration tools. To maximize the chances of
exploration success it is best used in conjunction with other methods such as
geological mapping and geochemistry.

Design and Construction of a small amplitude signal digital data acquisition system
Abstract
A data acquisition system was designed and constructed to detect very small amplitude signals
caused by man induced and natural earth movements. A ripple free power supply was designed
and constructed to bias the amplifier, which amplifies voltages in the order of microvolts to
volts. The power output voltages of +12.13V, -12.21V and +8.9V were achieved. A special
amplifier chip, the MAX420, was incorporated in the design of the amplifier. The output of the
amplifier, which is analogue, is interfaced through an analogue to digital converter, the DI -
151RS, to a computer for data storage and processing through an RS 232 communication cable.
The data acquisition system was calibrated and found that 1 mV of the signal produced is
equivalent to 1.14 nanometres displacement of the earth. The acquisition system was taken to the
NRZ Parkade Building in the city centre of Bulawayo and later to the NUST Administration and
Faculty of Commerce buildings for testing and noise measurements. An earthquake of surface
magnitude 7.5, occurred in Mozambique on the 23rd of February 2006 while the data acquisition
system was on test at the NRZ Building. The system detected the earthquake event
demonstrating that besides being able to detect noise, it can detect earthquakes as well when they
occur. Waveforms for the different measurements were generated and analyzed using the
SEISAN software. The voltage signals obtained were converted into actual ground displacement
using the calibration data.

Geophysical Investigations for groundwater in the semi arid regions of Matebeleland
ABSTRACT
The land resettlement in Zimbabwe resulted in the increased use of
groundwater for small-scale irrigation purposes. This has resulted in
increased groundwater exploration activities in the former commercial
farms. Unscientific methods are being used in the majority of cases with
catastrophic and huge sums of money lost in a number of proposed projects.
As part of a program to utilize integrated proven scientific methods for
groundwater resource investigation in the semi-arid granites region of
Matabeleland south in Zimbabwe, Electromagnetic methods and Geoelectrical
methods were used at Bungalow ranch. These methods were used
to site boreholes to be used to supply water for irrigating a twelve hectare
paprika field. In 'this investigation a survey method, which includes the
combined use of the EM and VES methods, was developed and refined to
accurately locate prospective borehole sites. Fractured zones and variations
of bedrock surface were traced by profiling technique using FDEM
methods, while depth variations measurements were done at selected sites
chosen using the FDEM data. The VES technique was then used. The data
results from the FDEM were processed using the surfer software whilst for
the VES results a computer curve matching software was used. The results
from the combined methods proved more than adequate for providing
information that can be used to site boreholes.

Geophysical investigations for groundwater occurence in granitic rocks
ABSTRACT
The electrical resistivity method is commonly used in hydrogeology to investigate the
groundwater potential of geological formations. Electrical profiling and vertical electrical
sounding (VES) techniques are commonly used. In this study, these techniques were used
and were complemented by electrical imaging. The VES and electrical imaging data were
interpreted using computer inversion programmes.
Boreholes were drilled at identified high potential sites for groundwater occurrence.
Pumping test was carried out on one of the drilled boreholes. Data was collected during
the pumping stage and also during the recovery period for the borehole. The results were
used to determine the transmissivity and specific yield for the aquifer. The purpose of the
pumping test was to confirm the groundwater potential suggested by the geophysical
surveys.

Induced Seismicity and stress migration at Lake Kariba
Abstract
Lake Kariba is a large artificial lake created by the construction of the Kariba Dam on the
Zambezi River between the years 1955-1958. The filling of Lake Kariba has been
accompanied by a considerable increase in seismic activity. More than 2 400 (2.0
>Mb>6.5) earthquakes have occurred during the period considered in this study from
1959-1989. The increased seismicity has occurred in a series of bursts, the most intense
of which were related to the earthquake swarms of 1963. The seismicity peaked in
September, 1963 with an Mb 6.1 earthquake. The first induced earthquakes were located
in the northeastern end of the reservoir, with activity gradually migrating upstream to
cover the whole reservoir area surrounding regions. In this study we describe the spatial
and temporal variations in seismicity and their relationship to geological structure and
regional tectonics, basing our study entirely on two sets of data: the Meteorological
Services' catalogue of earthquakes in the Lake Kariba area, 1959 to 1989, and reviews of
regional geology and tectonics from the published works of several authors.

Reviews

Applied Physics Reviews
Applied Physics Reviews (APR) carries review articles of important and current topics of experimental or theoretical research in applied physics and applications of physics to other branches of science and engineering. These review articles may vary in scope and length from relatively short but authoritative state-of-the-art summaries ("focused reviews") to comprehensive critical monograph-length reviews of specific areas of application. Prospective authors are strongly encouraged to correspond with the editors before submitting manuscripts.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Florence Masocha

Florence Masocha
Assistant Librarian (Acquisitions)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files