All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

AIDSinfo Some full text available
Offers information on HIV/AIDS Treatment,Prevention and Research
Beech Tree Publishing openURL
Beech tree publishes three International, peer-reviewed academic journals. They have readers in over 120 countries, mainly in universities and government. They are all on public policy for science and technology, research, or environmental, social, health and other impacts.
Mary Ann Liebert Inc. Some full text available
55 authoritative publications in the most exciting and promising areas
of biomedical research, clinical medicine, surgery, law, and science.
PubMed Central openURL
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC also serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.

SAGE Journals Online Some full text availableopenURL
SAGE Publications is an independent international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media. Known for our commitment to quality and innovation, we are a world leader in our chosen scholarly, educational, and professional markets.
note: Electronic Database
The Cochrane Library openURL
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

Journals/Magazines

Annual Review of Public Health Some full text available
The Annual Review of Public Health, in publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of Public Health, including key developments in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, issues related to social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice.
note: Read Journals in Annual Review of Public Health
British Journal of Anaesthetic and Recovery Nursing Some full text available
Published quarterly, the British Journal of Anaesthetic and Recovery Nursing is devoted to issues affecting clinical practice in the field of peri-anaesthetic nursing and is the official publication of the British Anaesthetic & Recovery Nurses Association (BARNA).

Clinical Medicine, Journal of the Royal College of Physicians Some full text available
Clinical Medicine is published six times a year and circulated to 20,000 Fellows and Members of the Royal College of Physicians. The journal  features a wide range of articles including original papers, professional issues, clinical guidance, medical humanities, ethics and clinical governance. The journal publishes the key features from the College lectures and conferences.
Fetal and Maternal Medicine Review Some full text available
Fetal and Maternal Medicine Review is essential reading for all engaged in the care of pregnant women and neonates including obstetricians and neonatologists, postgraduates training for specialist careers, specialist nursing and midwifery staff.

Journal of Radiotherapy in Practice Some full text available
The Journal of Radiotherapy in Practice is a peer-reviewed journal covering all of the current modalities specific to clinical oncology and radiotherapy and aims to encourage technical evaluations and case studies as well as equipment reviews that will be of interest to an international radiotherapy audience.

Medical Care Research and Review Some full text available

Medical Care Research and Review (MCR) is a peer-reviewed bi-monthly journal containing critical reviews of literature on organizational structure, economics, and the financing of health and medical care systems. MCRR also includes original empirical and theoretical research and trends to enable policy makers to make informed decisions, as well as to identify health care trends.



Oxford Journal of Medicine Some full text available
QJM is a long-established, leading general medical journal. It focuses on internal medicine and publishes peer-reviewed articles which promote medical science and practice. Published monthly, QJM includes original papers, editorials, reviews, commentary papers to air controversial issues, and a correspondence column
note: Journal
Primary Health Care Research & Development Some full text available
Primary Health Care Research & Development is the first journal aimed specifically at both researchers and practitioners in primary health care, bridging the gap between the two areas. It provides a forum for the publication of international, interdisciplinary research and development in primary health care.

Dictionaries

MedTerms Medical Dictionary Some full text available
MedTerms medical dictionary is the medical reference for MedicineNet.com. It defines difficult medical language in easy-to-understand explanations of over 16,000 medical terms.
Medterms online medical dictionary also provides quick access to hard-to-spell and often misspelled medical definitions through an extensive alphabetical listing.


Encyclopedias

MedlinePlus openURL

MedlinePlus is produced by the National Library of Medicine and brings information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language which is easy to understand. MedlinePlus can be used to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations and also contains links to the latest medical research and clinical trials on a disease or condition.



Books

Bookshelf
 Bookshelf is the books division of NLM LitArch (NLM Literature Archive) and provides the user free access to a wealth of information made available by participating authors, editors, and publishers. Through links to other resources at NCBI, such as PubMed, OMIM, and Gene, Bookshelf enables readers to discover interesting relevant biomedical information. Bookshelf hosts the full text of books, reports, and databases and is tightly integrated with PubMed, which is a database of literature citations and abstracts. Here is some information about the process for participating in the Bookshelf project
eBrary Database Some full text available
this serves patrons with taxation electronic books
FreeBooks4Doctors Some full text availableopenURL
 FreeBooks4Doctors is dedicated to the promotion of free access to medical books over the Internet. It is funded by AMEDEO Internet Services. There are currently more than 600 books available on this site, searchable by title, specialty or language.

Health Education Library for the People-HELP openURL

HELP is a complete prototype of the modern virtual online Medical Reference Library where one can find Health Books, Health Fitness Books, Child Health Books. These health books include lot of medical information, consumer health care information and nutrition education information.



Tutorials

MedicalStudent.com openURL
MedicalStudent.com is a digital library of authoritative medical information designed to help all students of medicine. The goal of MedicalStudent.com is to provide a starting point for entry into medical places of enlightenment, entertainment and education on the Internet. MedicalStudent.com identifies authoritative medical World-Wide Web sites that can teach, illuminate, and inspire. In essence, MedicalStudent.com is meant to serve as a "pico portal" for users interested in quality medical resources on the Internet.

Exam Papers

Past Exam Papers
Past Exam Papers

note: Links to past examination paper from the Medical School

Web Sites

WHO Health topics openURL
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

note: Contains links to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products, and contacts, organized by health and development topics.

Atlases

Anatomy Atlases Resource contains images
Anatomy Atlases is an anatomy digital health sciences library that has been uniquely committed since 2006 and through its predecessors since 1995 to educate patients, healthcare providers, and students in a free and anonymous manner for the purpose of improving patients' care, outcome, and lives, using current, authoritative, trustworthy health information, while serving as a platform for research into the challenges facing world-wide information distribution.

Government Information

Ministry of Health and Child Welfare openURL

The Ministry of Health and Child Welfare aims to provide, administer, coordinate, promote and advocate for the provision of quality health services and care to Zimbabweans while maximising the use of available resources.



Newspapers--International

News-Medical.Net openURL
News-Medical.Net aims to segment, profile and distribute medical news to the widest possible audience of potential beneficiaries worldwide and to provide a forum for ideas, debate and learning, and to facilitate interaction between all parts of the medical health sciences community worldwide.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Israel Dabengwa

Israel Dabengwa
Assistant Librarian (Medical School)
Tel: 118

Book Search
Search for in
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files