Higher Education Curriculum Development
Conceptions, principles, models and factors influencing curriculum development, needs assessment, curriculum changes, curriculum reforms and innovation in developing countries. Evaluation of the effectiveness of curricular in higher education. Quality and quality assurance through inspection. Curricula research and the educator.
All Items by Source

Books

Developing the credit-based modular curriculum in higher education Some full text available
Provides the information that many involved in higher education will need to help see them through post-Dearing curriculum development. The book describes some of the more common credit-based modular systems in practical language, for those institutions who wish to follow the CBMS path. Secondly it identifies the inherent problems that are created by CBMS approaches so that institutions can recognize, confront and overcome these dilemmas. The authors draw on their experience of developing and running one of the most sophisticated credit-based modular systems within the UK to point the way forward in a concise, accessible volume, which also contains standard forms for practical use.
note: eBook
Engaging the curriculum in higher education Some full text available
There is greater interest than ever before in higher education. More money is being spent on it, more students are registered, and more courses are being taught. And yet the matter that is arguably at the heart of higher education, the curriculum, is noticeable for its absence in public debate and in the literature on higher education. This book begins to redress the balance. Even though the term 'curriculum' may be missing from debates on higher education, curricula are changing rapidly and in significant ways. What we are seeing, therefore, is curriculum change by stealth, in which curricula are being reframed to enable students to acquire skills that have market value. In turn, curricula are running the risk of fragmenting as knowledge and skills exert their separate claims. Such a fragmented curriculum is falling well short of the challenges of the twenty-first century. A complex and uncertain world requires curricula in which students as human beings are placed at their centre. What is called for are curricula that offer no less than the prospect of encouraging the formation of human being and becoming. A curriculum of this kind has to be understood as the imaginative design of spaces where creative things can happen as students become engaged. Based upon a study of curricula in UK universities, "Engaging the Curriculum in Higher Education" offers an uncompromising thesis about the development of higher education, and is essential reading for those who care about its future.
note: eBook
Knowledge, identity, and curriculum transformation in Africa Some full text available
Title Knowledge, identity, and curriculum transformation in Africa / edited by Nico Cloete ... [et al].
Pub info Cape Town: Maskew Miller Longman, 1997.
Descript vii, 206 p.; 24 cm.
Note Consists of papers presented at a seminar initiated by CHET and held Mar. 21-23 1997.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Subject Education, Higher -- South Africa -- Curricula -- Congresses.
  Curriculum change -- South Africa -- Congresses.
Add author Cloete, Nico.
  Centre for Higher Education Transformation.
ISBN 0636035352
 
note: Book
Managing the university curriculum: making common cause Some full text available
Title Managing the university curriculum : making common cause / edited by Jean Bocock and David Watson.
Pub info Buckingham, [England] : Society for Research into Higher Education & Open University Press, c1994.
Descript x, 140 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes index.
Subject Education, Higher -- Great Britain -- Curricula -- Congresses.
  Universities and colleges -- Great Britain -- Administration -- Congresses.
  Teacher participation in administration -- Great Britain -- Congresses.
Add author Bocock, Jean.
  Watson, David.
ISBN 0335193390 (pbk.)
 
note: Book
Book Search
Search for in
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Assistant Librarian (Bibliographic Services)
Tel: 118