Understanding Adolescent and Mature Students
This course guide focuses on understanding adolescents and mature education.
Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Advanced Search Browse About Support Review of Educational Research Some full text available
Review of Educational Research (RER) publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education. 
note: journal
Annual Review of Sociology Some full text available
Comprehensive, authoritative, and critical reviews written by the world's leading scientists are now published in twenty-six disciplines in the biological, physical, and social sciences. 
note: journal
Journal of Marriage and Family Some full text available
MF features original research and theory, research interpretation and reviews, and critical discussion concerning all aspects of marriage, other forms of close relationships, and families. The Journal also publishes book reviews.
note: journal

Books

Adolescence Some full text available
'Adolescence - when we are no longer children and have not yet reached adulthood - is a time of much disturbance, change and potential for growth. The adolescent is confronted with a body that stretches, changes and grows in all directions, as does her or his mind: he is no longer who he was.'- Inge Wise from her IntroductionAdolescence is a turbulent period of time in life. Adolescents experience hormonal and physical changes that affect their mood and emotions. Psychoanalysis can help them resolve these new and often confusing feelings.
note: book
Aggression and Violence in Adolescence Some full text available
This book presents rigorously tested scientific prevention programs for adolescents with violent and aggressive behaviour.
note: book
Social Work with Multicultural Youth Some full text available
This vital book illustrates the diversity within the adolescent population, examines the factors that serve as barriers and as facilitators to development, and identifies strengths and protective factors contributing to resilience as well as needs and risk factors. Social Work with Multicultural Youth presents accurate conceptual frameworks for understanding the experiences of ethnic youth to help you create culturally relevant interventions to promote their well-being. 
note: book
Understanding Adolescents for Helping Professionals Some full text available
Promotes an in-depth understanding of adolescent development that can be immediately applied to effective treatment Adolescence is a distinct and complex stage of development, and successful interventions with this population require an in-depth understanding of the many forces affecting them. This is a practical, thorough, yet concise survey of adolescent development for early career professionals in psychology, mental health counseling, social work, marriage and family therapy, education, and nursing.
note: book
Working with Adolescents : Constructing Identity Some full text available
This work examines the way in which personality and identity of the pupil is shaped by his or her experiences in school. The text considers the way in which teachers in secondary schools are working, and to some extent living, with adolescent pupils for the majority of time in their weekday waking lives. The book examines: to what extent teachers provide both positive and negative role models for pupils to follow; the factors restricting the ability of teachers to teach effectively; and conversely, what factors work to their advantage.
note: book
Book Search
Search for in
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Assistant Librarian (Bibliographic Services)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide