Applied Biology and Biochemistry
This guide is meant to assist Applied Biology and Biochemistry researchers access relevant electronic resources in their field.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service Some full text available
More than just a simple journal listing service, EBSCO A-to-Z is a powerful locator tool that helps researchers to discover all of the electronic resources offered at the library.
note: Electronic Database and a Gateway to list of Journals
AGORA Some full text availableopenURL
Free or low-cost access to major scientific journals in agriculture and related biological, environmental and social sciences for public academic institutions in developing countries.
Annual Reviews Some full text availableopenURL
Annual Reviews publications operate as a high quality filter, prioritising and synthesising the primary research literature in 37 different disciplines for the Biomedical, Life, Physical, Social Sciences and economics.
BioOne Some full text available
Covers research in biological, ecological and environmental science.

Journals/Magazines

African Invertebrates openURL
African Invertebrates is an international peer-reviewed e-journal that covers the taxonomy, systematics, biogeography, biology, ecology, conservation and palaeontology of Afrotropical invertebrates, whether terrestrial, freshwater or marine, published by the Council of the KwaZulu-Natal Museum. A printed version of the journal is produced twice a year. All contributions are published in English (British Standard), with an option to add an abstract in any other language that uses Latin or Cyrillic alphabet. It is understood that manuscripts submitted to African Invertebrates have not been offered to any other journal for prior or simultaneous publication. The length of manuscripts generally should not exceed 70 printed pages. Exceptions, as in the case of monographic revisions, can be negotiated in advance with the Editor-in-Chief. Authors, particularly those with institutional support, are expected to cover costs associated with the production of articles. When preparing manuscripts, authors are encouraged to make use of extensive holdings of the KwaZulu-Natal Museum and other South African museums and collections, and to deposit holotypes (paratypes) and voucher specimens in recognised South African institutions.
American Fern Journal openURL
The American Fern Journal is an international quarterly publication dedicated to the publication of articles and notes based on original scientific research on ferns and allied groups of vascular plants. Publication is open to members and non-members.
Animal Cells and Systems
Official Journal of the Korean Society for Integrative Biology
 


Annales Botanici Fennici openURL
Annales Botanici Fennici is an established, international, peer-reviewed journal, open to all scientists. It was founded by Societas Biologica Fennica Vanamo in 1964. Since 1978 it has been published by the Finnish Zoological Publishing Board and since 1994 by the Finnish Zoological and Botanical Publishing Board. The journal publishes original, previously unpublished papers on:
  • systematics, taxonomy and nomenclature of plants and fungi,
  • plant population biology and genetics,
  • physiology of plants and fungi,
  • terrestrial and aquatic plant ecology,
  • phytogeography and paleoecology.

Annales Zoologici Fennici openURL
Annales Zoologici Fennici publishes original research reports, in-depth reviews, short communications and commentaries on:
  •   ecology, paleoecology and ecometrics,
  •     paleontology (tertiary and quaternary) and evolution,
  •     conservation biology and wildlife management,
  •     animal behaviour and interactions (incl. animal societies and recognition systems),
  •     bioenergetics (energy flow through an ecosystem and its elements, carrying capacity),
  •     physiology and toxicology,
  •     genetics and phylogenetics (selected topics only; please contact us for details).

Annals of the Entomological Society of America openURL
Annals of the Entomological Society of America is published bimonthly in January, March, May, July, September, and November.  Annals especially invites submission of manuscripts that integrate different areas of insect biology, and address issues that are likely to be of broad relevance to entomologists. Articles also report on basic aspects of the biology of arthropods, divided into categories by subject matter: systematics; ecology and population biology; arthropod biology; arthropods in relation to plant diseases; conservation biology and biodiversity; physiology, biochemistry, and toxicology; morphology, histology, and fine structure; genetics; and behavior. In addition to research papers, the journal publishes Letters to the Editor, interpretive articles in a Forum section, Book Reviews, and editor-solicited Review Articles.
Avian Pathology
Avian Pathology will consider original material relevant to the entire field of infectious and non-infectious diseases of poultry and all other birds, including infections that may be of zoonotic/food-borne importance. Subject areas include pathology; diagnosis; detection and characterisation of pathogens; gene sequences; epidemiology; immune responses; vaccines; genetics in relation to disease; and physiological and biochemical changes that are in response to disease. Manuscripts reporting cases of naturally occurring disease must describe either new diseases or give significant new information about previously known diseases. The information should significantly enhance knowledge and understanding of the disease or pathogen.
Papers on food-borne microorganisms acquired during or after processing are not appropriate. Manuscripts describing the occurrence or morphology of unicellular eukaryotes and multicellular organisms, or which are essentially catalogues of micro-organisms detected, are unlikely to be considered for publication unless they have a clear relationship to disease. First and subsequent reports of occurrence within a country of diseases well-recognized elsewhere will not be accepted unless they also include significant new information about the disease or pathogen.

Biology of Reproduction openURL
Biology of Reproduction is the official journal of the Society for the Study of Reproduction (SSR) and publishes original research on a broad range of topics in the field of reproductive biology, as well as minireviews on topics of current importance or controversy.
BIOS openURL
BIOS, the quarterly journal of Beta Beta Beta Biological Society, was founded in 1930. It has a three-fold purpose: to publish matters that pertain to the affairs of the Society, to publish articles by members, and to publish articles that will be of general interest to biologists. Many distinguished biologists have contributed manuscripts for publication in BIOS, written especially with the undergraduate reader in mind. Subjects covered include articles on current research, developments in biology, biology as a profession, and graduate and professional training for biologists. Special emphasis is placed on the publication of undergraduate research papers.
BioScience openURL
A peer-reviewed, heavily cited, monthly journal with content written and edited for accessibility to researchers, educators, and students alike, BioScience includes articles about research findings and advances in biology education, professionally written features about the latest frontiers in biology, discussions of professional issues, book reviews, news about the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), a policy column (Washington Watch), and an education column (Eye on Education). Roundtables, forums, and viewpoint articles offer the perspectives of opinion leaders and invite further commentary.

Occasional special sections in BioScience provide an in-depth look at important topics. Recent special sections have addressed protected areas, animal migration, endocrine disruptors in the environment, remote sensing in ecology, and agricultural bioterrorism. BioScience will be valued by researchers, teachers, students, and government employees involved with any aspect of biology or management of natural resources, parks, and zoos.
Cell Stress & Chaperones openURL
Cell Stress & Chaperones is a multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal that captures the eclectic spirit of the cellular stress response field in a single, concentrated source of current information. The Journal publishes basic and applied research on cellular stress responses of animals, micro-organisms and plants.
Comparative Parasitology openURL
Comparative Parasitology (continuing the Journal of the Helminthological Society of Washington in its 67th volume) focuses on parasitological research of a comparative nature, emphasizing taxonomy, systematics, ecology, biogeography, evolution, faunal survey, and biological inventory within a morphological and/or molecular context. The scope of Comparative Parasitology extends to all parasitic faunas, including helminths, protistans and arthropods.
Comprehensive Reviews in Food Science and Food Safety
IFT's Comprehensive Reviews in Food Science and Food Safety (CRFSFS) is a peer-reviewed online journal. Topics of comprehensive reviews may deal with chemical, physical, engineering, physiological, psychological, microbiological, nutritional, sensory, risk analysis (assessment, management, communication), genetic engineering, analytical, cost, or regulatory aspects of foods, food ingredients, food packaging, food processing/storage, or food safety.

ICES Journal of Marine Science
The ICES Journal of Marine Science publishes original articles, opinion essays (“Food for Thought”), visions for the future (“Quo Vadimus”), and critical reviews that contribute to our scientific understanding of marine systems and the impact of human activities on them. The Journal also serves as a foundation for scientific advice across the broad spectrum of management and conservation issues related to the marine environment. Oceanography (e.g. productivity-determining processes), marine habitats, living resources, and related topics constitute the key elements of papers considered for publication. This includes economic, social, and public administration studies to the extent that they are directly related to management of the seas and are of general interest to marine scientists. Integrated studies that bridge gaps between traditional disciplines are particularly welcome.
International Journal of Biochemistry Research & Review
International Journal of Biochemistry Research & Review (ISSN: 2231-086X) publishes original research papers, review articles and short communications on all areas of Biochemistry.



Subject matters include structures, functions and dynamics of metabolic pathways, cellular components such as proteins, carbohydrates, lipids, nucleic acids and other biologically active molecules, applied biochemistry, biochemistry of cell metabolism and the endocrine system, bioenergetics, biochemical mechanisms, the genetic code (DNA, RNA), protein synthesis, cell membrane transport and signal transduction, industrial applications of biochemistry like food and chemical toxicology.

Journal of heredity Some full text availableopenURL
Journal of Heredity covers organismal genetics across a wide range of disciplines and taxa. Articles include such rapidly advancing fields as conservation genetics of endangered species, population structure and phylogeography, molecular evolution and speciation, molecular genetics of disease resistance in plants and animals, genetic biodiversity and relevant computer programs.
Marine and Freshwater Behaviour and Physiology
Marine and Freshwater Behaviour and Physiology is devoted to the publication of papers on research into the behaviour and physiology of marine and freshwater animals. It covers field and laboratory studies of the behaviour and physiology of aquatic animals including

* excretion
* osmoregulation
* digestion
* respiration
* feeding
* migration
* reproduction
* tidal and biorhythms
* neurobiology
* movement
* sensory biology
* anatomy and fine structure (where embedded in a physiological context)

The behaviour of aquatic animals, both natural and simulated in the laboratory, also fall within the ambit of the journal. Short reviews will be published and occasional book reviews.

The living resources of the world’s oceans, rivers and lakes are attracting increasing attention as food sources for humans and for their role in global ecology. The journal will therefore publish the results of research in the areas of Fisheries Biology, Fisheries Technology, Fisheries Oceanography, Fisheries Economics and Management, Fisheries Engineering or Seafood Science and Technology where these have clear links to behaviour and physiology.

Molecular Simulation
An international, multidisciplinary, academic journal

Molecular Simulation covers all aspects of research related to, or of importance to, molecular modelling and simulation (including informatics, theoretical and experimental work).

Molecular Simulation exists to bring together the most significant papers concerned with applications of simulation methods, and original contributions to the development of simulation methodology from biology and biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, materials and nanomaterials, medicine, physics and information science. The aim is to provide a forum in which cross fertilization between application areas, methodologies, disciplines, as well as academic and industrial researchers can take place and new developments can be encouraged.

Molecular Simulation is of interest to all researchers using or developing simulation methods (for example those based on statistical mechanics) and to those experimentalists, theorists and information scientists who wish to use simulation data or address a simulation audience.

All published research articles in this journal have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by at least two expert referees.

Mycology: An International Journal on Fungal Biology
This new journal aims to provide a platform to meet the needs of a demanding and growing field, and to serve and engage dialogue between Chinese mycologists and the international community.

Mycology publishes papers on all aspects of mycology including lichens, with preference to systematics, ecology and biodiversity, genomics and proteomics, and molecular phylogeny and evolution. Other appropriate subjects for the journal include bioinformatics, physiology and biochemistry, pathology, morphology development, cell biology, genetics, molecular biology, fungal enzymology, fungal metabolites and new techniques.



Natural Product Research
The journal covers all aspects of research in the chemistry and biochemistry of naturally occurring compounds.

The communications include coverage of work on natural substances of land and sea and of plants, microbes and animals. Discussions of structure elucidation, synthesis and experimental biosynthesis of natural products as well as developments of methods in these areas are welcomed in the journal. Finally, research papers in fields on the chemistry-biology boundary, eg. fermentation chemistry, plant tissue culture investigations etc., are accepted into the journal.

Natural Product Research issues will be subtitled either "Part A - Synthesis and Structure" or "Part B - Bioactive Natural Products". for details on this , see the forthcoming articles section .

All published research articles in Natural Product Research have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymized refereeing by expert referees.

RAP Bulletin of Biological Assessment openURL
Conservation International's Rapid Assessment Program (RAP) was created in 1990 to quickly provide the biological information necessary to catalyze conservation action and improve biodiversity protection. During RAP expeditions, which typically last three to four weeks, teams of tropical field biologists conduct rapid, first-cut assessments of the biological value of selected geographic areas. RAP scientists collect and analyze the diversity of selected groups of organisms and use this information to produce conservation recommendations for managers and decision-makers. All findings from RAP expeditions are made available to the public in the RAP Bulletin of Biological Assessment series. These reports consist of species lists, analyses of biodiversity data and patterns, and conservation recommendations.
The American Biology Teacher openURL
The American Biology Teacher is published by the National Association of Biology Teachers (Reston, VA). It is the official peer-reviewed journal of the National Association of Biology Teachers, issued nine times a year (monthly except June and July; November and December are combined).
note: eJournal
The American Midland Naturalist openURL
The American Midland Naturalist has entered the 21st Century publishing a broad spectrum of field and experimental biology in an era of fundamental changes in scientific publishing. Its diversity and significance are evident in that it is among the most frequently cited sources in journals of botany, general ecology, mammalogy, zoology, herpetology, behavior, vegetation, wildlife management, parasitology, ornithology, aquatic biology and other disciplines. Recent concern about biodiversity has long been evident in the journal.
In the face of increasingly specialized and expensive journals, it continues as a journal of “scientific natural history,” in Charles Elton’s apt phrase, and is still modestly priced, with new low rates for individuals and students.
The Auk openURL
The Auk publishes innovative empirical and theoretical findings. Topics of articles appearing in The Auk include the documentation, analysis, and interpretation of laboratory and field studies, theoretical or methodological developments, and reviews of information or ideas. Authors are encouraged to consider the relevance of their conclusions to general concepts and theories and to taxa in addition to birds.
The Bryologist openURL
The Bryologist, which includes articles on all aspects of the biology of mosses, hornworts, liverworts and lichens; lists of current literature with world-wide coverage; book reviews; and news items about members and events. The first issue of The Bryologist was published in 1898, with the formation of the Society.
The Coleopterists Bulletin openURL
The Coleopterists Bulletin is a fully-refereed Journal published quarterly beginning in March by The Coleopterists Society. The Society is an international organization devoted to the study of all aspects of the systematics and biology of beetles of the world.
The International Journal of Biochemistry & Cell Biology
The International Journal of Biochemistry & Cell Biology publishes articles in all areas of contemporary cell and molecular biology and biomedical research. This includes cellular and biochemical mechanistic studies of cells, cell organelles, sub-cellular molecular pathways and metabolism.

Books

Applied Biology and Biochemistry openURL
Electronic books on Applied Biology.and Biochemistry
Biochemistry of Lipids, Lipoproteins and Membranes (Fifth Edition)
Edited by
J.E. Vance, CIHR Group on Molecular and Cell Biology of Lipids, 328 Heritage Medical Research Centre, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Dennis Vance, Lipid and Lipoprotein Research Group, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada

Included in series
New Comprehensive Biochemistry

 
BIOTROPICA openURL
BIOTROPICA publishes reports of original research on the ecology and management of all tropical ecosystems and on the evolution, behavior, and population biology of tropical organisms. Special issues published from time to time quickly become indespensible references for workers in the field.
Calculations for Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (Second Edition)
By
Frank Stephenson, Applied Biosystems, Foster City, California

Description
A must have for all Biotechnology Students and technicians. It walks readers through the minefield of laboratory calculations, helping to prevent the types of errors which could mean the loss of weeks of work.


Comprehensive and molecular phytopathology Some full text available
This book offers a collection of information on successive steps of molecular dialogue between plants and pathogens. It additionally presents data that reflects intrinsic logic of plant-parasite interactions. New findings discussed include: host and non-host resistance, specific and non-specific elicitors, elicitors and suppressors, and plant and animal immunity. This book enables the reader to understand how to promote or prevent disease development, and allows them to systematize their own ideas of plant-pathogen interactions. It offers a more extensive scope of the problem as compared to other books in the market; presents data to allow consideration of host-parasite relationships in dynamics and reveals interrelations between pathogenicity and resistance factors; discusses beneficial plant-microbe interactions and practical aspects of molecular investigations of plant-parasite relationships; and compares historical study of common and specific features of plant immunity with animal immunity.
Comprehensive Text Book of Applied Chemistry
By
Frank Stephenson, Applied Biosystems, Foster City, California

Description
A must have for all Biotechnology Students and technicians. It walks readers through the minefield of laboratory calculations, helping to prevent the types of errors which could mean the loss of weeks of work.

eBrary Database Some full text available
this serves patrons with taxation electronic books
Environmental Microbiology
For microbiology and environmental microbiology courses, this leading textbook builds on the academic success of the previous edition by including a comprehensive and up-to-date discussion of environmental microbiology as a discipline that has grown in scope and interest in recent years. From environmental science and microbial ecology to topics in molecular genetics, this edition relates environmental microbiology to the work of a variety of life science, ecology, and environmental science investigators.The authors and editors have taken the care to highlight links between environmental microbiology and topics important to our changing world such as bioterrorism and national security with sections on practical issues such as bioremediation, waterborne pathogens, microbial risk assessment, and environmental biotechnology.This book contains new chapters on: Urban Environmental Microbiology; Bacterial Communities in Natural Ecosystems; Global Change and Microbial Infectious Disease; Microorganisms and Bioterrorism; Extreme Environments (emphasizing the ecology of these environments); Aquatic Environments (now devoted to its own chapter- was combined with Extreme Environments); and, Updates to Methodologies: Nucleic Acid -Based Methods: micro arrays, phyloarrays, real-time PCR, metagomics, and comparative genomics; Physiological Methods: stable isotope fingerprinting and functional genomics and proteomics-based approaches; Microscopic Techniques: FISH (fluorescent in situ hybridization) and atomic force microscopy; Cultural Methods: new approaches to enhanced cultivation of environmental bacteria; and, Environmental Sample Collection and Processing: added section on air sampling.
Enzyme Kinetics: Catalysis & Control
A book on enzyme kynetics.

Ornithological Monographs openURL
The Ornithological Monographs series, published by the American Ornithologists' Union, has been established for major papers and presentations too long for inclusion in the Union's journal, The Auk. All material in this monograph may be copied for noncommercial purposes of educational or scientific advancement without need to seek permission.
PCR
A thoroughly updated version of the successful first edition with a new chapter on Real-Time PCR, more prokaryotic applications, and more detail in the complex mutagenesis sections. Information on PCR applications in genomics and proteomics will be expanded and integrated throughout the text. There will also be advice on available products and specific pointers to the most appropriate methods. As with the first edition, this will be an ideal practical introduction and invaluable guide to PCR and its applications.
Process Chemicals
Chapter 1 - Antioxidant Chapter 2 - Bleach Chapter 3 - Catalysis Chapter 4 - Hydrazine and Benzalkonium Chloride Chapter 5 - Defoamer Chapter 6 - Chelation Chapter 7 - Chelation Therapy Chapter 8 - Fuel Antioxidants Chapter 9 - Corrosion Inhibitors Chapter 10 - Zinc Oxide
Systems Biology
Edited by
Fred Boogerd, Vrije Universiteit, Faculty of Earth and Life Sciences, Dept. of Molecular Cell Physiology, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Frank Bruggeman, Vrije Universiteit, Faculty of Earth and Life Sciences, Department of Molecular Cell Physiology, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Jan-Hendrik Hofmeyr, University of Stellenbosch, Faculty of Science, Department of Biochemistry, Matieland, South Africa
H.V. Westerhoff, Vrije Universiteit, Faculty of Earth and Life Sciences, Dept. of Molecular Cell Physiology, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Description
Systems biology is a vigorous and expanding discipline, in many ways a successor to genomics and perhaps unprecedented in its combination of biology with a great many other sciences, from physics to ecology, from mathematics to medicine, and from philosophy to chemistry. Studying the philosophical foundations of systems biology may resolve a longer standing issue, i.e., the extent to which Biology is entitled to its own scientific foundations rather than being dominated by existing philosophies.

The Human Genome (Third Edition)
By
Julia Richards, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
R. Scott Hawley, Stowers Institute for Medical Research, Kansas City, MO

Description
As genetic issues play a growing role in health practice and public policy, new knowledge in this field will continue to have significant implications for individuals and society.

Written to communicate sound and modern science in an accessible way for professionals and students with various levels of scientific background, this thoroughly revised edition of The Human Genome contributes to creating a genetically literate research and clinical population. With case studies and introductory vignettes which illustrate a wide range of perspectives on complex topics in genetics and updated material on the latest research on disease-specific topics, this book serves as a valuable resource for students and working professionals alike.

Open Access Resources

A perspective on proteomics in cell biology
Highlight
•Proteomic strategies facilitate system-wide analyses of protein complexes.
•Isotope labelling allows quantitative measurement of protein properties, not only their identification.
•There is a major need to organise effective community sharing of the proteomic data mountain.
•The integration of proteomic data with other online data repositories must be improved
Foods derived from biotechnology
The Codex Alimentarius Commission at its 26th session in 2003 adopted Principles and Guidelines on foods derived from biotechnology. These are overarching principles on the risk analysis of foods derived from modern biotechnology and guidelines for food safety assessment of foods derived from recombinant-DNA plants and microorganisms. It is hoped that this compact format will allow wide use and understanding of the risk analysis and safety assessment of food derived from biotechnology and that it will encourage their use by governments, regulatory authorities, food industries and all food handlers, and consumers.
OpenDOAR openURL
This service, based on the Google Custom Search engine, lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information. This quality assured approach minimises (but does not eliminate!) spurious or junk results, and leads more directly to useful and relevant information. Full texts are available for most results.
Right to food and food and nutrition security in the CPLP Countries: Assessment Report
This report presents the results of a study on the institutionalization of food and nutrition  security (FNS) and the right to food in the countries of the Community of Portuguese  Speaking Countries (CPLP)1
 the Republic of Angola, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the 
Republic of Cape Verde, the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, the Republic of Mozambique,  the Portuguese Republic, the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe, and the  Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste. 

Exam Papers

NUST Past exam papers: Applied Biology and Biochemistry
Past exam papers for the department of applied biology and biochemistry at the National of Science and Technology.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Food handler's attitudes towards safe food handling in School Canteens
Abstract 
This study measures food handlers attitudes towards food  safety as well as their belief and their percieve barrier towards  safe  food handling. Three hundred and sixty three respondents were proportionate selected randomly from four urban  areas representing four zones in Peninsular Malaysia namely Alor Setar (Kedah), Kuantan (Pahang), Shah Alam  (Selangor) and Melaka by using cluster sampling have positive  and significant relationships with safe food handling. It is essential for food handling certification program, which  reveal behavioural change for a better quality training. 

Reviews

Annual Review of Biochemistry
The Annual Review of Biochemistry, in publication since 1932, sets the standard for review articles in biological chemistry and molecular biology. Since its inception, these volumes have served as an indispensable resource for both the practicing biochemist and students of biochemistry.

Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition
The objective of Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition is to present critical viewpoints of current technology, food science, and human nutrition. Also, the application of scientific discoveries and the acquisition of knowledge, as they relate to nutrition, functional foods, food safety, and food science and technology are thoroughly addressed in this comprehensive and authoritative information source.

Reviews include issues of national concern, especially to food scientists, nutritionists, and health professionals, including:

* Diet and disease
* Antioxidants
* Allergenicity
* Microbiological concerns
* New technologies
* Flavor chemistry
* New ingredients
* Food colors
* The role of nutrients and their bioavailability
* Pesticides
* Toxic chemicals
* Regulation
* Risk assessment
* Food safety
* Food processing
* Government regulation and policy
* Nutrition
* Fortification
* New food products
* Food and behavior
* Effects of processing on nutrition
* Food labeling
* Functional/Bioactive Foods
* Diet and Health


Subject Specialist
Picture: Florence Masocha

Florence Masocha
Assistant Librarian (Acquisitions Services)
Tel: 134

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide