Applied Chemistry
This guide is meant to assist Applied Chemistry researchers access relevant electronic resources in their field.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service Some full text available
More than just a simple journal listing service, EBSCO A-to-Z is a powerful locator tool that helps researchers to discover all of the electronic resources offered at the library.
note: Electronic Database and a Gateway to list of Journals
HINARI Restricted Resource Some full text available
 HINARI was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Today more than 160 publishers are offering more than 8,000 information resources in HINARI and many others are joining the programme.
note: Ask librarian for login details

Journals/Magazines

Analyst Some full text availableopenURL
This is a premier of fundamental discoveries, inventions and applications in the analytical and bioanalytical sciences.
Biomaterials Science Some full text availableopenURL
Biomaterials Science is an international, high impact journal bringing together the molecular and mesoscopic interactions of biomaterials and their potential applications. The journal is a collaborative venture between RSC Publishing and the Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan. The broad scope of the journal ranges from the fundamental science of biomaterials to their biomedical applications.  Main research areas include (but are not limited to):

Mesoscopic science of cells and materials.
Molecular design of biomaterials.
Materials for nanomedicine and drug delivery systems.
Materials for stem cell research.
Tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.
Nanomaterials at the biointerface.
Biologically inspired and biomimetic materials.
Interfacial phenomena in biomineralization.  
Chemical Science Some full text availableopenURL
The  journal covers findings of exceptional significance from across the chemical sciences.
Environmental Science: Water Research & Technology Some full text availableopenURL
Environmental Science: Water Research & Technology brings together high quality research which focuses on all aspects of water science and technology, particularly water resources, security and sustainability. The journal aims to provide a comprehensive and relevant forum for the diverse communities working in areas associated with water research, engineering and technology.
Food & Function: Linking the chemistry and physics of food with health and nutrition Some full text availableopenURL
Food & Function is a monthly peer-reviewed journal which provides a unique insight into the interface of the chemistry, physics and biology of food.

The journal focuses on food and the functions in relation to health, including:

The physical properties and structure of food  
The chemistry of food components
The biochemical and physiological actions
Nutrition and health aspects of food     
Journal of Materials Chemistry B: Materials for biology and medicine Some full text availableopenURL
The Journal of Materials Chemistry B is a weekly journal in the materials field. The journal is interdisciplinary, publishing work of international significance on all aspects of materials chemistry related to biology and medicine, including (but not limited to):
  • Materials for healthcare and biomedicine: eg diagnostic and therapeutic devices, materials for tissue engineering and regenerative medicine, materials for drug delivery systems
  • Materials at the biointerface: eg biosensors, antimicrobial coatings, biomineralisation.   
  • Biomimetic and bio-inspired materials: eg bioelectronics, bionic materials and materials for soft robotics.  

Journal of Materials Chemistry C: Materials for optical, magnetic and electronic devices Some full text availableopenURL
The Journal of Materials Chemistry C  is a weekly journal in the materials field. The journal is interdisciplinary, publishing work of international significance on all aspects of materials chemistry related to optical, magnetic and electronic devices, including (but not limited to):
  • Display technologies: eg liquid crystals, LEDs, OLEDs
  • Optical materials: eg photonics, plasmonics, metamaterials
  • Magnetics: eg magnetic materials, spintronics, optomagnetism
  • Electronics: eg printing technologies, transistors, semi-conductors
  • Information storage technology: eg memory devices, integrated nanostructured materials, switchable devices     

Journal of Materials Chemistry: A Materials for energy and sustainability Some full text availableopenURL
The Journal of Materials Chemistry A is a weekly journal in the materials field. The journal is interdisciplinary, publishing work of international significance on all aspects of materials chemistry related to energy and sustainability, including (but not limited to):Materials for energy storage and conversion: eg fuel cells, photovoltaics, hydrogen storage, batteries, photocatalysis 
Materials for sustainability: eg green materials, materials for catalysis, carbon capture, carbon dioxide conversion, materials free from scarce natural resources 
Materials for living: eg materials for sensing, self-healing materials, self-cleaning materials, materials for water treatment       
Lab on a Chip Miniaturisation for chemistry, physics, biology, materials science and bioengineering Some full text availableopenURL
Lab on a Chip provides a unique forum for the publication of significant and original work related to miniaturisation (on or off chips) at the micro- and nano-scale across a variety of disciplines including: chemistry, biology, bioengineering, physics, electronics, clinical/medical science, chemical engineering and materials science, which is likely to be of interest to the multidisciplinary community that the journal addresses.

Readership - LOC coverage is highly relevant to a variety of industrial and academic sectors, including: pharmaceuticals; medicine; analytical science; synthetic chemistry; biotechnology; physics; materials science; (bio)engineering; and electronics.
MedChemComm Broadening the field of opportunity for medicinal chemists. Official journal of the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry Some full text availableopenURL
MedChemComm is a multi-disciplinary journal which publishes both highly-significant research in traditional areas of medicinal chemistry and cutting edge work in new or interdisciplinary areas. The journal's mission is to broaden the field of opportunity for medicinal chemists, bringing new thinking to the subject and challenging perceptions of what is possible in drug discovery.
Metallomics: Global approaches to metals in the biosciences Some full text availableopenURL
Metallomics publishes original research and topical reviews which provide insight into the role of metals, metalloids and trace elements in the biosciences with an emphasis on a global approach.

Readership will be cross-disciplinary and include researchers in academia and industry working in analytical science, biogeochemistry, bioinformatics, biological catalysis, biological environmental science, cell biology, clinical chemistry, environmental health, medicine, metallobiochemistry, microbiology, nutritional chemistry, pharmacology, plant biochemistry and physiology and toxicology.
Annals of Science
Annals of Science was launched in 1936 and is now established as the leading scholarly journal in the field. Its scope has widened to cover the history of technology and medicine, as well as developments since classical antiquity, and to include articles in French and German. Contributions from Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, the USA and Russia bear testimony to its international appeal. Each issue includes a comprehensive book reviews section and essay reviews on a group of books on a broader level. The Co-Editors are supported by an active international board. A unique feature of the Journal is the reproduction of selected illustrations in colour.

British Journal of Anaesthesia
BJA publishes original articles in all branches of Anaesthesia. Submitted manuscripts are subject to stringent review to ensure that the journal only contains papers of the highest standard.
Catalysis Science & Technology Some full text availableopenURL
Catalysis Science & Technology is a multidisciplinary journal focusing on both the fundamental science of catalysis and the science of catalysis technology, including applications addressing societal demands such as CO2 reduction, conversion of renewables and fuels. The journal contains a balanced mix of applied, fundamental, experimental and computational research, thus appealing to both academic and industrial scientists. 

Catalysis Science & Technology brings together the best quality research from the heterogeneous, homogeneous, organocatalysis and bio-catalysis communities.
Chemistry Education Research and Practice Some full text availableopenURL

Chemistry Education Research and Practice (CERP) is the journal for teachers, researchers and other practitioners at all levels of chemistry education.

It is published free of charge, electronically, four times a year. Coverage includes:

  • research, and reviews of research, in chemistry education
  • evaluations of effective innovative practice in the teaching of chemistry 
  • in depth analyses of issues of direct relevance to chemistry education      
In addition to the regular issues, there is a themed issue every year dealing with a particular aspect of chemistry education.
Comments on Inorganic Chemistry
Comments on Inorganic Chemistry is intended as a vehicle for concisely and authoritatively written critical discussions of important developments in inorganic chemistry. Through the medium of the "Comments" the editors hope to make it easy and enticing for the specialist in a given area of inorganic chemistry - synthesis, structure, spectroscopy, kinetics and mechanisms, theory - to write about their interests. Younger inorganic chemists, in particular, whose research is not widely known, are encouraged to describe their work in “Comments”. Since a "Comment" is an expert guide to the important progress in individual fields, articles from senior authors in any science field, with personal points of view appropriate to inorganic chemistry, are welcome. Reviews of topics important to the advancement of inorganic chemistry are especially solicited. From time to time, comments on topical conferences may be included. While all contributions are solicited by the editors, potential authors are encouraged to write the editors or a member of the Editorial Board of their interest in doing an article. The articles are reviewed by experts and members of the Editorial Board for their quality and appropriateness.

CrystEngComm Some full text availableopenURL

Launched in October 1999, CrystEngComm   journal focuses on crystal engineering research. It covers the design and understanding of solid-state and crystalline materials The journal publishes Communications, Full Papers, Highlights and Letters
Dalton Transactions Some full text availableopenURL
Dalton Transactions is one of the most respected international inorganic chemistry journals. The scope of the journal includes the following research areas: Organometallics and Catalysis including synthesis and characterisation of hetero and homogeneous catalysts, new advances in organometallic chemistry and potential applications. Biological Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry covering a wide range of topics from metals in enzyme studies to new advances in contrast agents and cancer therapy. 

Solid-state and Coordination Chemistry including synthesis, structural characterisation, properties and applications of coordination polymers and metal-organic frameworks. 

Inorganic Solid State/Materials including new methods of synthesis and structural characterisation; conductivity, optical and magnetic properties and possible applications. 

Properties and Reactions including computational chemistry, thermodynamics, kinetics, potentiometry, stability constants and mechanistic insights into inorganic reactions.
Energy & Environmental Science Some full text availableopenURL
The journal covers  all aspects of energy conversion and storage, alternative fuel technologies, and the science of environmental impacts and mitigation that are related with energy conversion processes such as global atmospheric science, climate change, carbon capture, and environmental catalysis.
Environmental Science: Nano Some full text availableopenURL

Environmental Science: Nano is a comprehensive source of information on nanomaterial interactions with biological and environmental systems, and the design and use of engineered nanomaterials for sustainability.

Sustainable nanotechnology requires the understanding of how nanomaterials enter, migrate and undergo transformations as they move through various environmental and biological media/systems. It also requires that nanotechnology development be carried out in a sustainable manner. 

Environmental Science: Nano covers the benefits and implications of nanoscience and nanotechnology on environmental and human health and the sustainable design, development and use of nanotechnologies. This includes design, applications, life cycle implications, characterisation in biological and environmental media, environmental and biological interactions and fate, reactivity, biological uptake and ecotoxicity, and other areas of sustainable nanotechnology, including environmental uptake and remediation of pollutants by nanomaterials.
Environmental Science: Processes & Impacts Some full text availableopenURL
The scope of ES:P&I covers an extensive set of subject areas; theoretical, fundamental and applied:

1. Source, Transport and Fate
This considers the identification of and mechanisms for source, movement and distribution of environmentally important compounds and contaminants in environmental matrices. Biological and non-biological particles, gases, vapours, elemental and compound chemicals are present in the environment to differing extents.

Topics in this section include: emerging contaminants; source characterisation; biotransformation; chemical/physical transformation; presence and activity of metabolites; soil and aquatic science; metal speciation; atmospheric science; and climate change.

 2. Exposure and Impacts
Topics include: human and ecotoxicology; biological impact of nanoparticles in the environment; microbial resistance to antibiotics; environmental biology; endocrine disruption; environmental epigenetics; environmental and occupational health; food safety, environmental biotechnology, remediation.

 3. Policy and Legislation
Policy and legislation can and should be driven by good science.  The consequences of policy directives and legislation in tandem with the significance of the study.

Evaluation of current legislation, closing loopholes, reassessing data with hindsight. Topics include: quality assurance and control; legislative issues and guidelines; remediation; environmental data interpretation; environmental regulation.

 4. Novel Analytical Tools and Measurement Technologies
Novel analytical technologies as applied to environmental issues are covered. These topics include recent developments in sampling technologies, neural networks, smart sensor technologies and signal capture and enhancement technologies. Others are multiplexed sensing, miniaturization technologies, intelligent packaging for continuous monitoring, novel materials with environmental applications and remediation processes.

5. Sustainable Solutions and Technologies (Resource management)
ES:P&I  examines issues associated with green and sustainable science.
Faraday Discussions: Discussion summary and research papers, in physical chemistry, chemical physics and biophysical chemistry. Some full text availableopenURL
Michael Faraday Discussions documents a long-established series of Faraday Discussion meetings provide a unique international forum for the exchange of views and newly acquired results in developing areas of physical chemistry, biophysical chemistry and chemical physics.
Green Chemistry Some full text availableopenURL
Green Chemistry provides a unique forum for the publication of innovative research on the development of alternative sustainable technologies.  With a wide general appeal, Green Chemistry publishes urgent communications and high quality research papers as well as review articles.

The scope of Green Chemistry is based on, but not limited to, the definition proposed by Anastas and Warner (Green Chemistry: Theory and Practice, P. T. Anastas and J. C. Warner, Oxford University Press, Oxford, 1998): Green chemistry is the utilisation of a set of principles that reduces or eliminates the use or generation of hazardous substances in the design, manufacture and application of chemical products. 

Green Chemistry is at the frontiers of this science and publishes research that attempts to reduce the environmental impact of the chemical enterprise by developing a technology base that is inherently non-toxic to living things and the environment.
Inorganic Chemistry Frontiers Some full text availableopenURL
Inorganic Chemistry Frontiers publishes research articles, reviews, notes, comments and methods covering all areas of inorganic chemistry, with special focus on frontiers between inorganic chemistry and related disciplines. The journal strives to promote inorganic research, broadly defined and deemed significant.
Materials Horizons Some full text availableopenURL
Materials Horizons is a premier journal publishing first reports of exceptional significance across the breadth of materials research. It is an innovative, community-focused, dynamic journal guided by world-renowned Editorial Board members.

The journal features research at the cutting-edge interface of materials science with chemistry, physics, biology and engineering.
Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry (OBC) Some full text availableopenURL
The Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry (OBC) – a journal promising to provide high quality research from all aspects of synthetic, physical and biomolecular organic chemistry. The journal is set to build upon the foundations laid down by its predecessor publications (J. Chem. Soc., Perkin Trans. 1 and J. Chem. Soc., Perkin Trans. 2) as well as complement the subject coverage already published in prestigious general chemistry journals such as Chemical Communications and Chemical Society Reviews.
Supramolecular Chemistry
Supramolecular Chemistry welcomes manuscripts from the fields and sub-disciplines related to supramolecular chemistry. From crown ethers to calixarenes, supramolecular modelling studies to the modification and assembly of artificial DNA, as well as inorganic-based systems, we interpret supramolecular chemistry in the broadest sense. Interdisciplinary manuscripts are particularly encouraged. These include communications, which are given high priority in review and production, and full papers. Accounts, reviews and highlight articles are also welcomed. We aim to publish papers in a timely fashion and as soon as a paper has been accepted and typeset it will be published in electronic form on the iFirst section of the website.

The two most important review criteria are that the paper presents high-quality work that fits generally into the broad spectrum of activities in the supramolecular chemistry field.

All published research articles in Supramolecular Chemistry have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymous refereeing by at least two independent expert referees.

Synthesis and Reactivity in Inorganic, Metal-Organic, and Nano-Metal Chemistry
Synthesis and Reactivity in Inorganic, Metal-Organic, and Nano-Metal Chemistry is devoted to the rapid dissemination of original research papers of relevance to inorganic and metal-organic chemists and nano-scientists engaged in synthesis and characterization of Inorganic, Main Group, Metal-Organic and Nano-Particulate Constructs. This journal publishes syntheses and reactivity of new compounds, new classes of nanoparticles, new methods for preparation of known compounds and nanoparticles, and new experimental techniques and procedures. The journal is a publication aimed at the rapid dissemination of original research papers of particular importance to inorganic and metal-organic chemists and nanotechnology professionals. Original research articles that warrant speedy publication because of the unique scientific features and unprecedented scientific value will be given high priority in the peer reviewing process and published as a "High Priority Publication."

Although the primary emphasis will be placed on original research contributions, preliminary communications containing full experimental details as well as brief reviews of general reactions or techniques presented from a critical point of view will be considered. From time to time, this journal will also publish review articles and thematic issues encompassing the areas of Inorganic, Metal-Organic, Nano-Compatible and Nano-Metal Chemistry. Active and recognized researchers will be invited to contribute to review articles. Manuscripts in English only will be accepted for publication.

The Frontiers Journals: a society partnership between the CCS and the Royal Society of Chemistry Some full text availableopenURL
Organic Chemistry Frontiers is a part of the Frontiers journal series. The Frontiers journals are a collection of chemistry journals under a unique not-for-profit society partnership between the Chinese Chemical Society (CCS) and the Royal Society of Chemistry. The Frontiers journal titles will cover the main research areas in the chemical sciences. An integral part of the development of each journal is the collaboration with an internationally regarded Chinese institute in the relevant field. Each Frontiers journal is jointly owned by the CCS, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the relevant partner institute, with each owner bringing their expertise to the project. Ultimately, the aim of the Frontiers portfolio is to become a leading international journal series for the chemical sciences community.

Articles

Flowerlike submicrometer gold particles: Size- and surface roughness-controlled synthesis and electrochemical characterization Some full text availableopenURL
Flowerlike submicrometer gold particles were synthesized through a simple one-step method using p-diaminobenzene as a reductant in the presence of poly(sodium 4-styrenesulfonate) in aqueous solution. The particle size with diameters ranging from 267 to 725 nm could be tuned by varying the molar ratio of poly(sodium 4-styrenesulfonate) to HAuCl4, which also resulted in tunable roughness. The gold particles were confirmed by scanning electron microscopy, energy dispersive x-ray spectroscopy, x-ray diffraction, and x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy. Cyclic voltammetry showed that the specific surface area of the flowerlike particles was larger than that of sphere particles. The obtained flowerlike particles with higher surface area also exhibited higher electrocatalytic activity toward H2O2 and O2. The increase of electrocatalytic activity could be attributed to the increase of the active surface area.
Functional organogels from lipophilic L-glutamide derivative immobilized on cyclotriphosphazene core Some full text availableopenURL
A novel cyclotriphosphazene-based low-molecular weight organogelator was prepared by immobilization of six dialkylated L-glutamide derivatives on a cyclotriphosphazene core, and its ability as a self-assembling organogelator was investigated. The organogelator exhibited enhanced gelation ability and chirality, and thixotropic property for self-restoring to a gel state; this was compared to the corresponding L-glutamide-derived organogelator without the core. The gelation test, transmission electron microscopy observation, and circular dichroism (CD) spectral study showed that the gelation and aggregation ability were enhanced by immobilization onto the cyclotriphosphazene core. Gels in chloroform and cyclohexane-ethanol (95:5) mixture showed an unusual thixotropic property.
Journal of Materials Research Some full text availableopenURL
In the ordinary application of the time-lag method to the measurement of the diffusion coefficient of a gas passing through a plane sheet of an inert solid, the gas is pressurized on one side of the sheet and evacuated on the other. After decay of transients, the cumulative amount, Q(t), of gas diffused through the sheet in time, t, assumes the “time-lag” form, Q(t) = A(t – L). Measurements of the slope, A, and the intercept, L, can be used to determine the diffusion coefficient and the solubility of the gas in the solid. We have rederived this law for the case of a solid that is actively evolving this same gas at an arbitrary rate and have used it to predict the rate of outgassing of the solid upon standing. Practical applications of the theory include radioactive decay of minerals, rejection of plasticizers by plastics, and the decomposition of solid rocket propellants.

Books

Applied Chemistry openURL
Electronic books on applied Chemistry.
Comprehensive Text Book of Applied Chemistry
By
Frank Stephenson, Applied Biosystems, Foster City, California

Description
A must have for all Biotechnology Students and technicians. It walks readers through the minefield of laboratory calculations, helping to prevent the types of errors which could mean the loss of weeks of work.

Descriptive inorganic chemistry openURL
This book covers the synthesis, reactions, and properties of elements and inorganic compounds for courses in descriptive inorganic chemistry. It is suitable for the one-semester (ACS-recommended) course or as a supplement in general chemistry courses. Ideal for major and non-majors, the book incorporates rich graphs and diagrams to enhance the content and maximize learning. It includes expanded coverage of chemical bonding and enhanced treatment of Buckminster Fullerenes. It incorporates new industrial applications matched to key topics in the text. It features an instructor website with PowerPoint slides for lecture use and solutions to problems.
eBrary Database Some full text available
this serves patrons with taxation electronic books
Elements of environmental chemistry
This is contains the basics of environmental chemistry and a toolbox for solving problems. "Elements of Environmental Chemistry" uses real world examples to help readers master the quantitative aspects of environmental chemistry. Complex environmental issues are presented in simple terms to help readers grasp the basics and solve relevant problems. Topics covered include: steady and non steady state modeling, chemical kinetics, stratospheric ozone, photochemical smog, the greenhouse effect, carbonate equilibria, the application of partition coefficients, pesticides, and toxic metals. Numerous sample problems help readers apply their skills. An interactive textbook for students, this is also a great refresher course for practitioners. A solutions manual is available for Academic Adopters. Please click the solutions manual link on the top left side of this page to request the manual.
Textbook of Applied Chemistry-II
A textbook for applied chemistry.

The physical properties of organic monolayers openURL
This text provides a fundamental physical picture of various phenomena occurring in organic monolayers, dealing with dielectric, elastic and electronic properties. The dielectric properties are discussed in terms of orientational order parameters, which are used to interpret the dielectric spectrum observed through Maxwell displacement current measurement and optical second harmonic generation measurement. The elastic theory of organic monolayers is based on that of liquid crystals and emphasis is placed on the interfacial effect when discussing the electronic properties of organic monolayers. The discussion in the book mainly concerns the structure dependence (dipole moment) and thickness dependence (interfacial effect) for various phenomena occurring in organic monolayers.

Open Access Resources

Directory of Open Access Resources Some full text available
The Directory of Open Access Resources (OpenDOAR) aims to provide a comprehensive and authoritative list of academic open access repositories for end-users who wish to find particular archives or who wish to break down repositories by locale, content or other measures. Users can search for repositories by the following regions: Africa, Asia, Australasia, Caribbean, Central America, Europe, North America, and South America.
note: Institutional Repositories

Exam Papers

NUST Past exam papers: Applied Chemistry
Past exam papers for Applied Chemistry at the National University of Science and Technology.

Reviews

Critical Reviews in Analytical Chemistry
This journal provides in-depth, scholarly, insightful reviews of important topics within the vast discipline of analytical chemistry and other chemical measurement sciences. Critical Reviews in Analytical Chemistry is devoted to publishing review articles that teach the relevant underlying science, evaluate the field's status by putting recent developments into proper perspective and context, and speculate on possible future developments. A limited number of articles are of a more "tutorial" format written by experts for scientists seeking introduction or clarification in a new area. A stringent peer review process is an integral part of the publication process.

The journal serves as a forum to link various underlying components such as chemical analysis, instrumentation, mathematics, equilibrium, physics, engineering, materials science, and environmental sciences in a broad, interdisciplinary fashion while maintaining an appropriate balance between applied and fundamental research. It continues to be a dependable and useful resource for both the expert and the student.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Florence Masocha

Florence Masocha
Assistant Librarian (Acquisitions Services)
Tel: 134

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files