Computer Science
This guide is meant to assist Computer Science researchers access relevant electronic resources in their field.
All Items by Source

Articles

Modeling of manufacturing information system based on complexity science Some full text availableopenURL
Manufacturing information system (MIS) has properties of complex system. To analyze, plan and optimally design MIS, a new modeling approach based on flexible coupling automata of complexity science was presented. Firstly the complex characteristic of MIS is investigated. Secondly the model system of MIS based on complexity system is built. Thirdly mutual interactive between the units based on the two-way automata was constructed, which was suitable for communication between the components in MIS. Further, the ontology was employed to describe the attributes of the components to eliminate the difference of information in variant components. The proposed modeling approach not only makes it convenient for analysis, design and computer implementation of MIS, but also can be applied to model of other complex systems.
The challenge for computational science Some full text availableopenURL
The high performance computer and computational science communities face three major challenges: The performance challenge, making the next generation of high performance computers, The programming challenge, writing codes that can run on the next generation of very complicated computers, and the prediction challenge, writing very complex codes that can give accurate answers that can be relied upon for the important decisions that determine the future of society. The first challenge is being met. The second challenge needs work and focus, but is being addressed. The computational science community is, however, falling short of meeting the third challenge. It needs to focus on reaching the same level of credibility and maturity as the accepted methodologies of theory, experiment and engineering design.

Electronic Databases

ebrary Some full text available
Collection of e-books covering the following disciplines: Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Fine Arts, History, Language and Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences and Technology.
note: Electronic Database
Emerald
Management, Financial Mnagement, Library and Information Science, Engineering and Marketing.
note: Electronic Database
Institute of Electronic and Electrical Engineers (IEEE) Some full text available
Electrical Engineering, Telecommunications, Computer Science & Architecture, Imaging science, & Photographic Technology Telecommunications, Robotics, Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science Information Systems, Software Engineering, Remote Sensing, Artificial Intelligence.

Springer eJournals
Springer is one the most leading international scientific publishing companies. Springer ejournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

Bayero Journal of Pure and Applied Sciences Some full text available
The Journal aim is to satisfy the goal of ensuring rapid and wide dissemination of results of scientific researches that could finally trigger the advancement of human kind in all its ramifications. The Journal’s scope is wide in that it reported findings in the areas of pure and applied sciences, namely; Agricultural Sciences, Botany, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences and Geography. Also, areas of Laboratory Science, Technology, Mathematical Sciences, Microbiology, Physics, Medical Sciences and Zoology form part of the contents of the Journal.

Computer Science
This is an Annual Review of Computer Science, in publication from 1986-1990, covering significant developments in the field of Computer Science.

Computing in Science & Engineering
Physics, medicine, astronomy—these and other hard sciences share a common need for efficient algorithms, system software, and computer architecture to address large computational problems. And yet, useful advances in computational techniques that could benefit many researchers are rarely shared. To meet that need, Computing in Science & Engineering (CiSE) presents scientific and computational contributions in a clear and accessible format.

Cryptologia Some full text availableopenURL
Subjects covered by this journal: Applied Mathematics; Computation; Computational Logic; Computer Mathematics; Computer Science; Computing & IT Security; Cryptography; Cryptology; IT Security; Information & Communication Technology (ICT); Legal, Ethical & Social Aspects of IT; Mathematics & Statistics
International Journal of Computer Mathematics
Section A: Computer Systems: Theory

This section contains work concerning research and development in computer systems and the theory of computing in general. Papers relating directly or indirectly to all aspects of these fields are welcome. Of great interest is work in computer systems architectures and organization, computer software and hardware, analysis of algorithms, artificial intelligence, automata, bio-informatics, brain-computer interfaces, calculi, computational complexity, computational aspects of combinatorics and graph theory, computational geometry, computer graphics, computer security, concurrency and parallelism, cryptography, data structures, formal languages, haptics, knowledge discovery, computational logic, networks, novel models of computation such as DNA and quantum computing, randomization, semantics, symbol manipulation and the Internet. The Journal is intended to provide a forum for the expression of new ideas, as well as a place for exposition of these areas of knowledge.

Section B: Computational Methods: Application

This section publishes original research work concerning computational and mathematical techniques in the fields of numerical analysis and scientific computing with applications to science and engineering. The section serves the community of researchers in numerical analysis and computational sciences from both academia and industry. Papers that discuss novel theory, analysis and strategies of cutting-edge new numerical techniques for various applied mathematical problems are welcome. Papers that provide significantly improved analysis of existing numerical algorithms are also welcome.


Mathematical Structures in Computer Science
Mathematical Structures in Computer Science is a journal of theoretical computer science which focuses on the application of ideas from the structural side of mathematics and mathematical logic to computer science. The journal aims to bridge the gap between theoretical contributions and software design, publishing original papers of a high standard and broad surveys with original perspectives in all areas of computing, provided that ideas or results from logic, algebra, geometry, category theory or other areas of logic and mathematics form a basis for the work. The journal welcomes applications to computing based on the use of specific mathematical structures (e.g. topological and order-theoretic structures) as well as on proof-theoretic notions or results. The journal will also accept contributions in new interdisciplinary fields bridging computer science, quantum physics, mathematics and information theory. In particular, papers on quantum information processing and communication, as well as on the related issues in quantum language design will be considered.



Natural Language Engineering
Natural Language Engineering meets the needs of professionals and researchers working in all areas of computerised language processing, whether from the perspective of theoretical or descriptive linguistics, lexicology, computer science or engineering. Its aim is to bridge the gap between traditional computational linguistics research and the implementation of practical applications with potential real-world use. As well as publishing research articles on a broad range of topics - from text analysis, machine translation, information retrieval and speech analysis and generation to integrated systems and multi modal interfaces - it also publishes special issues on specific areas and technologies within these topics, an industry watch column and book reviews.

Journal of Natural Language Engineering has been accepted into Thomson Reuters Citation Index. The first Impact Factor is expected in June 2012, for the 2011 Impact Factor lists.

New web site, new opportunities: Enforcing standards compliance within a content management system Some full text available
This article sets out to describe the background behind WIT Libraries' recently launched new-look web site: its origins, implementations and long-term goals, and explain how the library is using a new web content management system to its best advantage, particularly in terms of compliance with web standards and guidelines.
Transforming Government: People, Process and Policy Some full text available
ransforming Government publishes leading scholarly and practitioner research on the subject of transforming Government through its people, processes and policy. Unique and progressive in its approach, the journal seeks to recognise both the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives of eGovernment, and welcomes both pure and applied research that impacts central and local Government. International perspectives are also welcome.

The journal is also interested in exploring how research carried out in the private sector can be applied to the public sector as a means of improving efficiency and effectiveness.

Books

Basics of Computer Science
This is a book that dwells on three main parts, that is, computer application theory, computer application laboratory, and viva question bank.

COBOL programmers swing with Java
In the fast moving world of information technology, Java is now the number 1 programming language. Programmers and developers everywhere need to know Java to keep pace with traditional and web-based application development. COBOL Programmers Swing with Java provides COBOL programmers a clear, easy transition to Java programming by drawing on the numerous similarities between COBOL and Java. The authors introduce the COBOL programmer to the history of Java and object-oriented programming and then dive into the details of the Java syntax, always contrasting them with their parallels in COBOL. A running case study gives the reader an overall view of application development with Java, with increased functionality as new material is presented. This new edition features the development of graphical user interfaces (GUI's) using the latest in Java Swing components. The clear writing style and excellent examples make the book suitable for anyone wanting to learn Java and OO programming, whether they have a background in COBOL or not.
Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence
A book covering the introduction, artificial intelligence and human-computer interface and the grand challenge area.

Computer Science: Reflections on the Field, Reflections from the Field
A book on computer science, its character, exponential growth, computability, complexity, simulation, abstractions, and so on.

Fundamental Concepts in Computer Science
This is a book that covers, Bohm’s Theorem Stefano Guerrini, Adolfo Piperno and Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini, Elements of Membrane Computing, Iimitations and Models, Calculus, Physics, and Living Phenomena, But. . . Natural Processes Computer?, and Mnemonic Interlude


Network and system security
"Network and System Security" provides focused coverage of network and system security technologies. It explores practical solutions to a wide range of network and systems security issues. The chapters are authored by leading experts in the field and address the immediate and long term challenges in the authors' respective areas of expertise. The coverage includes building a secure organization; cryptography; system intrusion; UNIX and Linux security; internet security, intranet security; LAN security; wireless network security; cellular network security, RFID security; and, more. The chapters are contributed by leaders in the field covering foundational and practical aspects of system and network security, providing a new level of technical expertise not found elsewhere. The comprehensive and updated coverage of the subject area allows the reader to put current technologies to work. It presents methods of analysis and problem solving techniques, enhancing the reader's grasp of the material and ability to implement practical solutions.
Networking A to Z
In this new series, bestselling author, Nathan J. Muller offers the most precise and concise specialized networking references on the market. Each of these quick-reference guides feature: detailed explanations, not just definitions, with extensive diagrams; 100 illustrated, in-depth articles in each volume; coverage of each technology, concept, and standard; and an easy-to-understand "plain English" presentation. In "Networking A to Z": coverage includes network management, security, telephony and switching, and wireless LANs.
Programming Visual Basic 2008
Ever since Visual Basic was merged into .NET, it's become the core language for creating business applications with Windows. The latest version, VB 2008, is even more useful - and provides even more incentive for migrating from VB 6. All it lacks is a good book on how to harness its power. "Programming Visual Basic 2008" fills the void. Written in a lively and engaging style by a developer who's grown up with Visual Basic, including both VB 6 and VB .NET, this hands-on guide addresses the core topics of the new VB, from basic to complex, with plenty of code examples. "Programming Visual Basic 2008" also examines .NET programming from the application level with a chapter-by-chapter plan for developing, documenting, and deploying a full data-driven application. You learn, step-by-step, how to build and deploy a library management system, complete with patron, inventory, and barcode support.The book's broad range of topics include: VB language and its syntax; an overview of the .NET Framework; Object-oriented development in VB and .N ET; Generic objects, collections, and nullable types; design and management of software projects; integrating desktop features with Windows Forms; database design with SQL Server 2008; database interface design with ADO.NET; the new LINQ feature, and how to use it within VB and .NET; embedding XML within application source code; encryption and authentication in .NET; interacting with data stored in files and directories; Web development using ASP.NET; deploying an application to a user's workstation; and much more."Programming Visual Basic 2008" is ideal for VB 6 programmers who are ready to move to .NET, as well as VB.NET programmers who wish to improve their project-focused software development skills. Programming novices and developers coming from other languages will find the book valuable because of its language instruction and project design knowledge. Once you finish the book, you will have a firm grasp of VB 2008's core concepts and language elements, and understand how to build VB projects as they were intended - as complete, cohesive solutions.
Visual Basic .NET
This guide is loaded with advanced, to-the-point advice on the world's most popular programming language. The book is highly focused, providing immediate solutions for seasoned Web designers and developers.

Open Access Resources

Applied Computing and Informatics Some full text available
Applied Computing and Informatics aims to be timely in disseminating leading-edge knowledge to researchers, practitioners and academics whose interest is in the latest developments in applied computing and information systems concepts, strategies, practices, tools and technologies. In particular, the journal encourages research studies that have significant contributions to make to the continuous development and improvement of IT practices in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. By doing so, the journal attempts to bridge the gap between the academic and industrial community, and therefore, welcomes theoretically grounded, methodologically sound research studies that address various IT-related problems and innovations of an applied nature. The journal will serve as a forum for practitioners, researchers, managers and IT policy makers to share their knowledge and experience in the design, development, implementation, management and evaluation of various IT applications. 

Exam Papers

NUST Past exam papers: Computer Science
Past exam papers for computer science at the National University of Science and Technology.

Reviews

The Theory of Computer Science
Covers book reviews of the theory of computer science and computer architecture.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Florence Masocha

Florence Masocha
Assistant Librarian (Acquisitions)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide