Applied Mathematics
This guide is meant to assist Applied Mathematics researchers access relevant electronic resources in their field.
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service Some full text available
More than just a simple journal listing service, EBSCO A-to-Z is a powerful locator tool that helps researchers to discover all of the electronic resources offered at the library.
note: Electronic Database and a Gateway to list of Journals
HINARI Restricted Resource Some full text available
 HINARI was launched in January 2002, with some 1500 journals from 6 major publishers: Blackwell, Elsevier Science, the Harcourt Worldwide STM Group, Wolters Kluwer International Health & Science, Springer Verlag and John Wiley, following the principles in a Statement of Intent signed in July 2001. Since that time, the numbers of participating publishers and of journals and other full-text resources has grown continuously. Today more than 160 publishers are offering more than 8,000 information resources in HINARI and many others are joining the programme.
note: Ask librarian for login details
JSTOR Some full text available
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education

 
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

Advances in Mathematics
Emphasizing contributions that represent significant advances in all areas of pure mathematics, Advances in Mathematics provides research mathematicians with an effective medium for communicating important recent developments in their areas of specialization to colleagues and to scientists in related disciplines.

Annals of Pure and Applied Logic
The Annals of Pure and Applied Logic publisheThe Annals of Pure and Applied Logic publishes papers and short monographs on topics of current interest in pure and applied logic, the foundations of mathematics and those areas of theoretical computer science and other disciplines which are of direct interest to mathematical logic. s papers and short monographs on topics of current interest in pure and applied logic, the foundations of mathematics and those areas of theoretical computer science and other disciplines which are of direct interest to mathematical logic.

Applied Mathematical Modelling
Applied Mathematical Modelling is a monthly publication focusing on research related to the mathematical modelling of engineering and environmental processes, manufacturing, and industrial systems. A significant emerging area of research activity involves multiphysics processes, and contributions in this area are particularly encouraged.

This influential publication covers a wide spectrum of subjects including heat transfer, fluid mechanics, CFD, and transport phenomena; solid mechanics and mechanics of metals; electromagnets and MHD; reliability modelling and system optimization; finite volume, finite element, and boundary element procedures; decision sciences in an industrial and manufacturing context; civil engineering systems and structures; mineral and energy resources; relevant software engineering issues associated with CAD and CAE; and materials and metallurgical engineering.

Advances in Applied Mathematics
Interdisciplinary in its coverage, Advances in Applied Mathematics is dedicated to the publication of original and expository articles on all aspects of applied mathematics. The journal features articles on discrete applied mathematics, statistics, mathematical biology, dynamical systems, algorithms, experimental mathematics, and theoretical computer science.
Emphasizing papers that represent a substantial advance in their field, the journal is an excellent source of current information for mathematicians, computer scientists, applied mathematicians, physicists, statisticians, and biologists. Over the past ten years, Advances in Applied Mathematics has published research papers written by many of the foremost applied mathematicians of our time.
Algorithms
Algorithms is a journal of computer science, theory, methods and interdisciplinary applications, data and information systems, software engineering, artificial intelligence, automation and control systems,

Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincare (B) Probability and Statistics
The Probability and Statistics section of the Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré is an international journal which publishes high quality research papers. The journal deals with all aspects of modern probability theory and mathematical statistics, as well as with their applications.

Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincare (C) Non Linear Analysis
The Nonlinear Analysis section of the Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré is an international journal created in 1983 which publishes original and high quality research articles. It concentrates on all domains concerned with nonlinear analysis, specially applicable to PDE, mechanics, physics, economy, without overlooking the numerical aspects.

Applied and Computational Harmonic Analysis
Various techniques for time frequency decomposition have recently been developed and continue to evolve. Applied and Computational Harmonic Analysis, an interdisciplinary journal, publishes high-quality papers in all areas related to the applied and computational aspects of harmonic analysis, with special emphasis on wavelet analysis and signal processing. The objectives of this journal are to chronicle the important publications in the rapidly growing field of wavelet analysis and to stimulate research in the area.

The subject is considered a major breakthrough in mathematical sciences and provides a common link between mathematicians and engineers. Wavelets are considered in their broadest sense, covering topics in related areas such as:


• Decomposition and reconstruction algorithms
• Subdivision algorithms
• Continuous and discrete wavelet transform
• Time-frequency localization
• Phase-space analysis
• Subband coding
• Image compression
• Real-time filtering
• Radar and sonar applications
• Transient analysis
• Medical imaging
• Multigrid methods
• Frames

Applied Mathematics and Computation
Applied Mathematics and Computation addresses work at the interface between applied mathematics, numerical computation, and applications of systems – oriented ideas to the physical, biological, social, and behavioral sciences, and emphasizes papers of a computational nature focusing on new algorithms, their analysis and numerical results.

In addition to presenting research papers, Applied Mathematics and Computation publishes review articles and single–topics issues.

Applied Mathematics Letters
Articles in this journal include any work involving a novel application or utilization of mathematics, or a development in the methodology of applied mathematics. The journal considers all areas of mathematics as appropriate from number theory to Lie algebras and differential games. All application areas are covered, be they computer science, physics, anthropology, fluid dynamics or any other of the main fields of endeavor where mathematics is used in nontrivial ways.

Applied Numerical Analysis & Computational Mathematics Some full text availableopenURL
The main aim of the journal is to publish reviews, regular papers and letters in all areas of Numerical Analysis and Computational Mathematics as well as conference proceedings, description and presentation of numerical software, book reviews, conference reviews, original exercises with solutions on Numerical Analysis and Computational Mathematics and a calendar of events.
Applied Numerical Mathematics
The purpose of the journal is to provide a forum for the publication of high quality research and tutorial papers in computational mathematics. In addition to the traditional issues and problems in numerical analysis, the journal also publishes papers describing relevant applications in such fields.

The purpose of the journal is to provide a forum for the publication of high quality research and tutorial papers in computational mathematics. In addition to the traditional issues and problems in numerical analysis, the journal also publishes papers describing relevant applications in such fields as physics, fluid dynamics, engineering and other branches of applied science with a computational mathematics component. The journal gives space for:

(ii) Tutorial review papers, covering some of the important issues in Numerical Mathematics, Scientific Computing and their Applications.

(iii) Short notes, which present specific new results and techniques in a brief communication.

Applied Soft Computing
Applied Soft Computing is an international journal promoting an integrated view of soft computing to solve real life problems. Soft computing is a collection of methodologies, which aim to exploit tolerance for imprecision, uncertainty and partial truth to achieve tractability, robustness and low solution cost. The focus is to publish the highest quality research in application and convergence of the areas of Fuzzy Logic, Neural Networks, Evolutionary Computing, Rough Sets and other similar techniques to address real world complexities

Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry
Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry (formerly Applied Stochastic Models and Data Analysis ) was first published in 1985, publishing contributions in the interface between stochastic modelling, data analysis and their applications in business, finance, insurance, management and production. The main objective is to publish papers, both technical and practical, presenting new results which solve real-life problems or have great potential in doing so. A second objective is to present new methods for solving such problems, i.e. optimization, data base management, knowledge acquisition, expert systems, computer-aided decision supports and neural computing.

The scope of the journal is now broadened both in supporting topics and in appropriate methodology. Topics to be added include managerial processes, reliability, quality control, data analysis and data mining. New methodologies include wavelets, Markov-chain Monte Carlo methods and spatial statistics.

Keywords

statistics, financial modelling, risk management, insurance, econometrics, data mining, expert systems, neural networks, inference, optimization, manpower planning, stochasticity, journal, online journal, Wiley Online Library

Asymptotic Analysis
The fundamental object of studying computer science is algorithms. Asymptotic Analysis journal covers all aspects covering the asymptotic analysis approach in looking at the efficiency of algorithms in their time bound functions.

Bayero Journal of Pure and Applied Sciences Some full text available
The Journal aim is to satisfy the goal of ensuring rapid and wide dissemination of results of scientific researches that could finally trigger the advancement of human kind in all its ramifications. The Journal’s scope is wide in that it reported findings in the areas of pure and applied sciences, namely; Agricultural Sciences, Botany, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences and Geography. Also, areas of Laboratory Science, Technology, Mathematical Sciences, Microbiology, Physics, Medical Sciences and Zoology form part of the contents of the Journal.

Biometrics
The Biometrics journal is published by the International Biometric Society. It covers the development and application of statistical and mathematical theory and methods in the biosciences.

BSHM Bulletin: Journal of the British Society for the History of Mathematics Some full text available
The journal covers History; History & Philosophy of Mathematics; History of Science & Technology; Humanities; Mathematics & Statistics; Mathematics Education
note: Journal
Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society
Bulletin of the Australian Mathematical Society aims at quick publication of original research in all branches of mathematics. Papers are accepted only after peer review but editorial decisions on acceptance or otherwise are taken quickly, normally within a month of receipt of the paper. The Bulletin concentrates on presenting new and interesting results in a clear and attractive way.

Communications on Pure & Applied Mathematics
Communications on Pure and Applied Mathematics (ISSN 0010-3640) is published monthly, one volume per year, by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. © 2011.

The journal primarily publishes papers originating at or solicited by the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences . It features recent developments in applied mathematics, mathematical physics, and mathematical analysis. The topics include partial differential equations, computer science, and applied mathematics.

Computational and Mathematical Methods in Medicine
Computational and Mathematical Methods in Medicine publishes research and review articles focused on the application of mathematics to problems arising from the biomedical sciences. Areas of interest include gene therapy, cell kinetics, pharmacokinetics, chemotherapy, oncology, developmental biology, wound healing, physiology, heart modelling, cardiovascular and lung dynamics, neurobiology, computational neuroscience, biomechanics, biomedical statistics, image analysis, epidemiology, immunology, time series analysis, extracellular matrix properties and signalling, and tissue engineering.

Computational Geometry
Computational Geometry is a forum for research in theoretical and applied aspects of computational geometry. The journal publishes fundamental research in all areas of the subject, as well as disseminating information on the applications, techniques, and use of computational geometry. Computational Geometry publishes articles on the design and analysis of geometric algorithms. All aspects of computational geometry are covered, including the numerical, graph theoretical and combinatorial aspects. It also publishes computational geometry solutions to fundamental problems arising in computer graphics, pattern recognition, robotics, image processing, CAD-CAM, VLSI design and geographical information systems.

Computational Geometry features a special section containing open problems and concise reports on implementations of computational geometry tools.

Computer Aided Geometric Design
The journal Computer Aided Geometric Design is for researchers, scholars, and software developers dealing with mathematical and computational methods for the description of geometric objects as they arise in areas ranging from CAD/CAM to robotics and scientific visualization. The primary objects of interest are curves, surfaces, and volumes such as splines (NURBS), meshes, subdivision surfaces as well as algorithms to generate, analyze, and manipulate them. This journal will report on new developments in CAGD and its applications, including but not restricted to the following:

* Mathematical and Geometric Foundations
* Curve, Surface, and Volume generation
* CAGD applications in Numerical Analysis, Computational Geometry,  Computer Graphics, or Computer Vision
* Industrial, medical, and scientific applications

The aim is to collect and disseminate information on computer aided design in one journal. To provide the user community with methods and algorithms for representing curves and surfaces. To illustrate computer aided geometric design by means of interesting applications. To combine curve and surface methods with computer graphics. To explain scientific phenomena by means of computer graphics. To concentrate on the interaction between theory and application. To expose unsolved problems of the practice. To develop new methods in computer aided geometry.

Computer Languages, Systems & Structures
The journal publishes both articles presenting original work and also review articles, on programming languages, systems, structures, and theories. The objective is to concentrate on advances in programming language theory, as well as infrastructure developments still under investigation, such as those related to the Internet.

The topics to be included are syntax, parsing, compilers, complexities, computability, semantics, automatic programming languages, special purpose languages, programming theories, programming documentation, memory management, micro programming, process control programming, real-time programming, programming for interactive systems, streaming methods, Internet surfing technologies, composite hypermedia, server management, routing technique architecture, scalable internet communication services, on-line economic systems for Internet resource allocation, bottleneck detection, adaptive network services, mobile computing techniques, network protocol development, distributed computer languages, cluster based network services, Web hosting services, and so forth. In all these languages, systems and structures, only the theory of algorithmic and infrastructure systems, and structures, but no particular or specialized uses or applications, are appropriate.

Computer Science Review
Computer Science Review intends to fulfill a need in the Computer Science community by publishing research surveys and expository overviews in computer science and related fields. The reviews are aimed at a general computer science audience seeking a full and expert overview of the latest in computer science research.


Computer Standards & Interfaces
COMPUTER STANDARDS & INTERFACES is an international journal dealing specifically with these topics.

The journal

• provides information about activities and progress on the definition of computer standards, software quality, interfaces and methods, at national, European and international levels
• publishes critical comments on standards and standards activities
• disseminates user's experiences and case studies in the application and exploitation of established or emerging standards, interfaces and methods
• offers a forum for discussion on actual projects, standards, interfaces and methods by recognised experts
• stimulates relevant research by providing a specialised refereed medium.

COMPUTER STANDARDS & INTERFACES is concerned with the specification, development and application of standards and with high-level publications of developments and methods in the following areas:

• Standards, Information Management, Formal Methods - Computers, Processors, Storage, Operating systems, Languages, Databases, Graphics, User interface, Multimedia, Information security, Office automation, Development of standards and instruments, Applications

• Software Quality, Software Process - Languages, Operating systems, Programming, Requirements specification, Design & implementation, Inspection & test, Maintenance, Product and process evaluation, Performance, Tools, Metrics, Embedded systems, Software in measurement and technical systems including real-time aspects, Development of International Standards in Software Engineering

• Distributed Systems, Open Systems, E-Topics - Digital interfaces, System and device buses, Fieldbuses, Data communication, Distributed computing, Protocols, Open systems interconnection, Local and wide area networks, Internet, Worldwide Web, Network security, Cryptology, E-services, E-business, E-commerce

• Data Acquisition - Analog-to-digital conversion, Specification, Modelling, Industrial electronics, Real-time systems, Laboratory automation, Automatic measurement, Process control, Electromagnetic compatibility

• Digital Instruments Standardisation - Forum of EUPAS, European Project for ADC-based devices, Standardisation (IMEKO TC-4 Working Group on A/D and D/A Converter Metrology), IEEE TC-10, IEC TC-42-WG8, IEC TC-85-WG16; Standardi-sation of specifications, modelling, testing, and analog and digital processing for digital instruments

The last issue of a volume includes an author index and a subject index.

CS&I also covers general topics concerning the standardisation process, such as technical, political and commercial aspects of standards, their impact on the marketplace, cost/benefit analyses, legislative issues, and relationships among national and international standards bodies.

Computers & Mathematics with Applications
Computers & Mathematics with Applications provides a medium of exchange for those engaged in fields where there exists a non-trivial interplay between mathematics and computers. Thus, the three present principal areas of interest of the journal are:

1. Computers in mathematical research (e.g. numerical analysis, number theory, probability theory).
2. Mathematical models of computer systems.
3. Interactive applications - essentially the utilization of a (non-trivial) combination of classical mathematics and of computer science in the solution of problems arising in other fields.

The journal pays particular attention to applications in "non-classified" fields, such as environmental science, ecology, biology, urban systems and also to appropriate papers in applied mathematics.

Data & Knowledge Engineering
Database Systems and Knowledgebase Systems share many common principles. Data & Knowledge Engineering (DKE) stimulates the exchange of ideas and interaction between these two related fields of interest. DKE reaches a world-wide audience of researchers, designers, managers and users. The major aim of the journal is to identify, investigate and analyze the underlying principles in the design and effective use of these systems. DKE achieves this aim by publishing original research results, technical advances and news items concerning data engineering, knowledge engineering, and the interface of these two fields.

DKE covers the following topics:

1. Representation and Manipulation of Data & Knowledge: Conceptual data models. Knowledge representation techniques. Data/knowledge manipulation languages and techniques.

2. Architectures of database, expert, or knowledge-based systems: New architectures for database / knowledge base / expert systems, design and implementation techniques, languages and user interfaces, distributed architectures.

3. Construction of data/knowledge bases: Data / knowledge base design methodologies and tools, data/knowledge acquisition methods, integrity/security/maintenance issues.

4. Applications, case studies, and management issues: Data administration issues, knowledge engineering practice, office and engineering applications.

5. Tools for specifying and developing Data and Knowledge Bases using tools based on Linguistics or Human Machine Interface principles.

6. Communication aspects involved in implementing, designing and using KBSs in Cyberspace.


Differential Geometry and its Applications
Differential Geometry and its Applications publishes original research papers and survey papers in differential geometry and in all interdisciplinary areas in mathematics which use differential geometric methods and investigate geometrical structures. The following main areas are covered: differential equations on manifolds, global analysis, Lie groups, local and global differential geometry, the calculus of variations on manifolds, topology of manifolds, and mathematical physics.

Discrete Applied Mathematics
The aim of Discrete Applied Mathematics is to bring together research papers in different areas of algorithmic and applicable discrete mathematics as well as applications of combinatorial mathematics to informatics and various areas of science and technology. Contributions presented to the journal can be research papers, short notes, surveys, and possibly research problems.

The “Communications” section will be devoted to the fastest possible publication of the brief outlines of recent research results, the detailed presentation of which might be submitted for possible publication in Discrete Applied Mathematics or elsewhere. The journal will also publish a limited number of book announcements as well as proceedings of conferences. These proceedings will be fully refereed and adhere to the normal standards of the journal.

Discrete Mathematics
Discrete Mathematics provides a common forum for significant research in many areas of discrete mathematics and combinatorics. Among the fields covered by Discrete Mathematics are graph and hypergraph theory, network theory, enumeration, coding theory, block designs, the theory of partially ordered sets, extremal set theory, matroid theory, algebraic combinatorics, polyhedra, combinatorial and discrete geometry, matrices, and discrete probability theory.

Items in the journal may be research articles (Contributions or Notes, depending on length), or survey/expository articles (Perspectives). Occasional collections of unsolved problems are published; submissions of such problems should be sent directly to the Editor-in-Chief for compilation. Efforts are made to process the submission of Notes (short articles) quickly.

The Perspectives section features expository articles accessible to a broad audience that cast new light or present unifying points of view on well-known or insufficiently-known topics.

Discrete Mathematics also publishes occasional Special Issues, most of which are devoted to selected papers from a particular conference. Such issues are fully refereed and adhere to the normal high standards of the journal.

Discrete Optimization
Discrete Optimization publishes research papers on the mathematical, computational and applied aspects of all areas of integer programming and combinatorial optimization. In addition to reports on mathematical results pertinent to discrete optimization, the journal welcomes submissions on algorithmic developments, computational experiments, and novel applications (in particular, large-scale and real-time applications).

The journal also publishes clearly labelled surveys, reviews, short notes, and open problems. Manuscripts submitted for possible publication to Discrete Optimization should report on original research, should not have been previously published, and should not be under consideration for publication by any other journal.

Educational Studies in Mathematics
Educational Studies in Mathematics covers education in mathematics (both theorectical and applied) based on research from elementary to advanced levels.

ESAIM: Mathematical Modelling and Numerical Analysis
The journal publishes original research papers of high scientific quality in two areas: Mathematical Modelling, and Numerical Analysis. Mathematical Modelling comprises the development and study - e.g. structure, well-posedness, solution properties - of a mathematical formulation of a problem (or class of problems). Numerical Analysis comprises the formulation and study - e.g. stability, convergence, computational complexity - of a numerical approximation or solution approach to a mathematically formulated problem (or class of problems).

ESAIM: Probability and Statistics
The journal publishes original research and survey papers in the area of Probability and Statistics. It covers theoretical and practical aspects, in any field of these domains. Of particular interest are methodological developments with application in other scientific areas, for example Biology and Genetics, Information Theory, Finance, Bioinformatics, Random structures and Random graphs, Econometrics, Physics. The intention is to develop the journal in the direction of applications and to open it to various fields where random mathematical modelling is important.

European Journal of Applied Mathematics


Since 2008 EJAM surveys have been expanded to cover Applied and Industrial Mathematics. Coverage of the journal has been strengthened in probabilistic applications, while still focusing on those areas of applied mathematics inspired by real-world applications, and at the same time fostering the development of theoretical methods with a broad range of applicability.

Survey papers contain reviews of emerging areas of mathematics, either in core areas or with relevance to users in industry and other disciplines.

Research papers may be in any area of applied mathematics, with special emphasis on new mathematical ideas, relevant to modelling and analysis in modern science and technology, and the development of interesting mathematical methods of wide applicability.


Glasgow Mathematical Journal
Glasgow Mathematical Journal publishes original research papers in any branch of pure and applied mathematics. An international journal, its policy is to feature a wide variety of research areas, which in recent issues have included ring theory, group theory, functional analysis, combinatorics, differential equations, differential geometry, number theory, algebraic topology, and the application of such methods in applied mathematics.

The journal has a web-based submission system for articles.

International Journal of Computer Mathematics
Section A: Computer Systems: Theory

This section contains work concerning research and development in computer systems and the theory of computing in general. Papers relating directly or indirectly to all aspects of these fields are welcome. Of great interest is work in computer systems architectures and organization, computer software and hardware, analysis of algorithms, artificial intelligence, automata, bio-informatics, brain-computer interfaces, calculi, computational complexity, computational aspects of combinatorics and graph theory, computational geometry, computer graphics, computer security, concurrency and parallelism, cryptography, data structures, formal languages, haptics, knowledge discovery, computational logic, networks, novel models of computation such as DNA and quantum computing, randomization, semantics, symbol manipulation and the Internet. The Journal is intended to provide a forum for the expression of new ideas, as well as a place for exposition of these areas of knowledge.

Section B: Computational Methods: Application

This section publishes original research work concerning computational and mathematical techniques in the fields of numerical analysis and scientific computing with applications to science and engineering. The section serves the community of researchers in numerical analysis and computational sciences from both academia and industry. Papers that discuss novel theory, analysis and strategies of cutting-edge new numerical techniques for various applied mathematical problems are welcome. Papers that provide significantly improved analysis of existing numerical algorithms are also welcome.


Journal for Research in Mathematics Education Some full text availableopenURL
JRME is the premier research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
Journal of Applied Statistics
Journal of Applied Statistics provides a forum for communication between both applied statisticians and users of applied statistical techniques across a wide range of disciplines. These areas include business, computing, economics, ecology, education, management, medicine, operational research and sociology, but papers from other areas are also considered. The editorial policy is to publish rigorous but clear and accessible papers on applied techniques. Purely theoretical papers are avoided but those on theoretical developments which clearly demonstrate significant applied potential are welcomed. Each paper is submitted to at least two independent referees. Each issue aims for a balance of methodological innovation, thorough evaluation of existing techniques, case studies, speculative articles, book reviews and letters.

Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society
The Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society is the oldest journal of the Society, and is well established in its coverage of all areas of pure mathematics and mathematical statistics. It seeks to publish original high-quality articles of moderate length that will attract wide interest. Papers are carefully reviewed, and those with good introductions explaining the meaning and value of the results are preferred.

LMS Journal of Computation and Mathematics
LMS Journal of Computation and Mathematics is an electronic-only resource that publishes papers on the computational aspects of mathematics, mathematical aspects of computation, and papers in mathematics which benefit from being published electronically. Rapid time to publication ensures that readers are kept abreast of ground-breaking developments. The journal is refereed to the same high standard as all LMS journals, and carries a commitment from the LMS to keep it archived into the indefinite future.

Mathematical and Computer Modelling
Mathematical and Computer Modelling provides a medium of exchange for the diverse disciplines utilizing mathematical or computer modelling as either a theoretical or working tool. Equal attention is given to the mechanics, methodology and theory of modelling with an attempt to advocate either mathematical or computer modelling, or a combination of the two, in an integrative form. While the unifying aspect of the journal is its adherence to quantitative models, it seeks diversity by being concerned with a variety of disciplines, including engineering, biological, medical, environmental, social, behavioural and other sciences. Both theoretical and applied works which employ mathematical or computer modelling will be considered for publication. Papers dealing with experiments shall be considered when the results are presented as an integral part of the modelling process.

Statistics
Statistics publishes theoretical and applied papers related to the different fields of statistics such as regression and variance analysis, design of experiments, foundations of statistical inference, statistical decision theory, testing hypotheses, parameter estimation, nonparametric methods, sequential procedures, time series and statistical problems for stochastic processes, and statistical data analysis.

The IMA Journal of Numerical Analysis (IMAJNA) Some full text availableopenURL
The IMA Journal of Numerical Analysis (IMAJNA) publishes original contributions to all fields of numerical analysis; articles will be accepted which treat the theory, development or use of practical algorithms and interactions between these aspects. Occasional survey articles are also published.
The London Mathematical Society Electronic Archive Some full text availableopenURL
The journal archive includes papers from all the most important British mathematicians over the last 150 years, and in recent years the journals fully reflect the international nature of research with over 70% of recently published articles coming from mathematicians outside the UK.

Books

A smoother pebble
This book takes a novel look at the topics of school mathematics-arithmetic, geometry, algebra, and calculus. In this stroll on the mathematical seashore we hope to find, quoting Newton, "...a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than ordinary..." This book assembles a collection of mathematical pebbles that are important as well as beautiful.
Differential equations for dummies
This title presents a fun and easy way to understand and solve complex equations. Many of the fundamental laws of physics, chemistry, biology, and economics can be formulated as differential equations. This plain-English guide explores the many applications of this mathematical tool and shows how differential equations can help us understand the world around us. "Differential Equations For Dummies" is the perfect companion for a college differential equations course and is an ideal supplemental resource for other calculus classes as well as science and engineering courses. It offers step-by-step techniques, practical tips, numerous exercises, and clear, concise examples to help readers improve their differential equation-solving skills and boost their test scores.
Differential Equations for Engineers
Xie presents a systematic introduction to ordinary differential equations for engineering students and practitioners. Mathematical concepts and various techniques are presented in a clear, logical, and concise manner. Various visual features are used to highlight focus areas. Complete illustrative diagrams are used to facilitate mathematical modeling of application problems. Readers are motivated by a focus on the relevance of differential equations through their applications in various engineering disciplines. Studies of various types of differential equations are determined by engineering applications. Theory and techniques for solving differential equations are then applied to solve practical engineering problems. A step-by-step analysis is presented to model the engineering problems using differential equations from physical principles and to solve the differential equations using the easiest possible method. This book is suitable for undergraduate students in engineering.
eBrary Database Some full text available
this serves patrons with taxation electronic books
Schaum's outlines of differential equations
Solve differential equations faster and easier! Thoroughly updated, this third edition of "Schaum's Outline of Differential Equations" offers you new, faster techniques for solving differential equations generated by the emergence of high-speed computers. Differential equations, a linchpin of modern math, are essential in engineering, the natural sciences, economics, and business. This book includes 563 fully solved problems, 800-plus supplementary problems, and a new chapter on modeling.

Exam Papers

NUST Past exam papers: Applied mathematics
Past exam papers for applied mathematics at the National University of Science and Technology.

Dissertations

An Application of Simulated Annealing in Determining the Shortest Route to be followed by the Back-up Service Technician Team of Munhumutapa Business Machine Company
Abstract
This project was instituted as an attempt to determine the shortest route that the
Munhumutapa Business Machine Company could use to transverse its current fifteen
service centres across the country. The company had a team of technicians based in
Harare, their Headquarters. The team had a quarterly service routine for servicing
machines for their clients across the country. Each service centre was to be visited
only once, that is in this research; sub-tours were not allowed or were considered as a
restriction.
The following objectives were pursued in this research:
P to determine the shortest route that the Back-up team could use on its quarterly
routine machine servicing;
9 to minimise operational costs of the technical department;
> to minimise man-hour of the technical department; and
P to efficiently and effectively use human resources in the technical department.

Atheoratical assessment of HIV/AIDS intervention strategies wth some application to Zimbabwe
Abstract
HIVIAIDS is currently the leading cause of death globally and poses unprecedented
threat to global health and human development. The most urgent public-health
problem globally is to devise effective strategies to minimise the destruction caused
by the epidemic. In this thesis we present a number of deterministic models for
theoretical assessment of HIVIAIDS intervention strategies with particular attention
to Zimbabwe. The HIVIAIDS models which are in the form of nonlinear delay
differential equations are constructed via a progressive refinement of a basic
model to incorporate more realistic features of HIVIAIDS pathogenesis and epidemiology
such as staged progression, disease transmission by AIDS patients, sex
structures, age structures and risk groups. Comprehensive analytic and numerical
techniques are employed in determining stabilities, and assessing the effectiveness
of each intervention strategy. Intervention strategies considered in this study
are: (i) treatment with amelioration of AIDS patients in which change in sexual
behaviour is defined by the sexuality of AIDS patients; (ii) a holistic approach of
treatment, prophylactic vaccination with "take", "degree" and "reduced infectiousness",
and condom use; (iii) the concurrent use of male and female condoms as a
single-strategy approach in heterosexual communities; (iv) male circumcision as a
potential preventive strategy of HIVIAIDS implemented jointly with male and female
condom use in heterosexual settings; (v) the use of prophylactic antiretroviral
drugs to reduce mother-to-child transmission (MTCT) and the effects of breastfeeding
on MTCT in heterosexual settings with high HIV prevalence; (vi) the use of
public health educational campaigns to control the epidemic among heterosexuals.
We make conclusions based on the results acquired from the assessment of each
intervention strategy.
iii

Determination of Benchmark Operational Risk for Zimbabwean Banking Intitutions using the Loss Distribution Approach and Simulation
ABSTRACT
The Advanced Measurement Approach (AMA) in Base1 I1 Accord permits unprecedented
amount of flexibility in the methodology used by banking institutions to assess
operational risk (OR) capital requirements. Since its adoption on during the end of 2007,
firms in the developed markets have witnessed the advent of the loss distribution
approach (LDA) as the generic AMA and the benefit of a lower OR capital allocation.
This research primarily aimed at developing a robust benchmark (LDA) model for the
determination of operational risk capital based on actuarial and statistical methods using
existing operational loss data and generated scenarios. This was achieved through the
identification, measurement and forecasting by way of simulation the likely levels of
operational risks faced by banking groups in Zimbabwe as a case for the developing
world. Theoretical and empirical literature studies were carried out so as to address the
research objectives, questions and to justify the adopted modelling approach. A survey of
risks faced by banks, current operational risk capital determination methods and various
frequency and severity probability distributions was done and parallels drawn. An applied
quantitative research design was adopted and focused on three banking groups and two
commercial banks. Historical OR loss data, generated scenarios and minimum capital
requirements are combined to produce scaled data which was then used to determine the
parameters for the chosen Poisson frequency and two Gamma severity distributions.
Finally a Monte Carlo simulation of up to 10,000 runs/replications per each event type
were done for each event type to determine the Aggregate Loss Distribution whose
percentiles were then used to come up with the OR Capital Charge in the form of
Economic Capital (EC) and Capital at Risk (CaR). The research findings reveal that
operational loss data have an identifiable frequency and severity distributions, with the
two equal mean gamma densities giving similar estimates for CaR but differing on the
EC estimates. The importance of operational risk management is highlighted and the
operational risk exposures in Zimbabwe are suppressed mainly by low business volumes
and few product ranges. The RBZ risk management guidelines have led to sound
operational risk management which however lags behind on the quantitative aspects. The
research findings point to a lower OR capital to MCR ratio of between 5-6% which
supports the Base1 I1 proposition of decreasing OR capital charge with increasing
sophistication in quantification approach. From the research findings, a progressive
operational risk management framework, a quantitative operational risk measurement
guideline from the RBZ and collaboration between academics and practitioners can be
recommended.

Development of Credit Scoring Modelling Techniques
Abstract
The research seeks to identify how better credit scoring can be done. In the
research, mathematical models that help decide on credit limit are going to be
developed and others simply applied. More attention will be paid on credit limit
strategies and development of a better and efficient credit scoring card. Data
is collected from ten organisations and this data is the one the researcher us e$!
to develop these mathematical models. The report will consist of 5 chapters.
Definitions will be explored and other models developed.

Investigating the cost effectiveness, optimality and robustness of a decision made at general beltings on a developmental Rubber Conveyor Belt Cover compound
ABSTRACT
Multiple regression techniques were used to estimate parameters for the proposed
model for the rubber conveyor belts at General beltings whose tensile strength should
be at least 25Mpa.
General Beltings have difficulties in coming up with a reliable production process
which meet the current specifications. In trying to deal with the quality requirement
issue, management can not cope with the resource demand. An optimal
solution/model has been suggested which takes into account costs involved.
Data from the company were collected and analysed to estimate the parameters that
can satisfy current specifications. The estimates were used to develop and evaluate a
mathematical model of the production process.
Robust parameter design was carried out to focus on the choice of levels of the
controllable variables to achieve insensitivity to inevitable changes in the noise
variables.
A numerical application of the multiple regression model developed was done using
data from the same production process after natural noise factors were varied to find
the most robust conditions.

Studies Of Some Mathematical Problems In Protean Telecommunication Networks
Abstract
In this thesis, same investigations are camed out regarding the perhmance of tel8commuuication
network systems when such nehmrks undergo physical and logical changes. The problem of the
utilisation ofthe enormous bandwidth of optical-fibre links and related optunization problems and
soMcms are descni. The state of the art of high-speed electronics and electro-optics is
amtiuually advancing, but their speed will always be much lower than the bandwidth of the opt~cal
medium itself. D8fwrmt technical aspects ofte1ec0mmunicatim networks are described in terms of
protean amnnunicatioa networks. A system that changes due to enviranmantal and technical
changes is known as a protean system. Graph theory results are applied in order to determiue all
the ahmatiw paths between two nodes in a wnmnmication network. An algorithm is developed to
soh the problem of congestion or the failure of cormactivity on the recommended path between
any two given stations. A stochastic approach of obtaining alternative paths in a changing network
with two diffkent collections of links not m oommunication state is investigated and also
telecommuuication networks are analysed when each link is in two possible states, namely,
OOmrrmfLication state and noammunication state. The nocommunication state is then realistically
divided into two, the 6iled state and the saavation state. Hmce three possible states of each link
are also investigated. Markov's stochastic approach is used to fhd the probability of obtaining
alternatiw paths when a system is in a given state. The number of operable circuits is determined
when a link or a number of links fiil in a network and this work is extended fir protean networks.
Results ofthe above are applied to the proposed Bulawayo tel8~0mmunicationn etwork, which is in
the form of two rings cclrmeded to each aeber by a common node. Sonm modifications have been
suggested and axuputatiotls have been camed out to show haw the sustainability of the
crmmnmication system can be increased. The consequeaces of a link fiilure, if no alternative paths
can be fbund, is more important. Thus it is important to keep track of fiiled links which we
propose to call specified links. lhis investigation is dme in order to distinguish those circuits
which are operable from those which are not operable using the given algorithm. When a link fiils,
it will fkd to transmit flow. This also means that all ofthe given flaw may nd reach the destination
intended fir the time period that the failed link m i n s unrepaired. We analyse the behaviour of
such a two-state communication flow n m r k with resped to tenninal flow capaaty matrices.

Reviews

Annual Reviews in Control
Annual Reviews in Control covers the whole field of control and its applications. Most reviews are selected from the best reviews presented at meetings of IFAC, the International Federation of Automatic Control, re-written and broadened where necessary.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Florence Masocha

Florence Masocha
Assistant Librarian (Acquisitions)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide