Table of Contents
Teacher Education
This guide  provides information to researchers in the field of teacher education with the knowledge, attitudes, behaviours and skills required to perform  tasks effectively in the classroom, school and the wider community.
All Items by Source

Articles

The composition of applicants and entrants to teacher education programmes in Ireland: trends and patterns Some full text available
This article presents and discusses some results obtained from the analysis of data collected by the Postgraduate Diploma in Education (NUI) Applications Centre (PDEAC), which was established in 1999 to administer the selection of student teachers for the Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE) at the education departments of the four NUI (National University of Ireland) colleges centrally
note: Journal article

Journals/Magazines

Action in Teacher Education Some full text available
Action in Teacher Education is published as a service to members of the Association of Teacher Educatorsand others concerned with teacher education. It serves as a forum for the exchange of information and ideas related to the improvement of teacher education at all levels. Articles focus upon concepts, practices and research which have implications and applicability for practitioners involved with teacher education.
African Journal of Research in Mathematics, Science and Technology Education Some full text available
The African Journal of Research in Mathematics, Science and Technology Education (AJRMSTE) is to disseminate, as widely as possible, high quality research findings and well written articles on Curriculum Studies; Teacher Education; Education for Development; Mathematics Education; Science Education; Design & Technology Education and Computer Education
note: Electronic journal
Educational Action Research Some full text available

Educational Action Research is concerned with exploring the dialogue between research and practice in educational settings. The considerable increase in interest in action research in recent years has been accompanied by the development of a number of different approaches: for example, to promote reflective practice; professional development; empowerment; understanding of tacit professional knowledge; curriculum development; individual, institutional and community change; and development of democratic management and administration.
note: Electronic journal
Educational Gerontology Some full text available
This Journal covers information on Adult Education and Lifelong Learning; Ageing; Behavioral Sciences; Dementia; Education; End of Life and Long Term Care; Gerontology/Ageing; Health & Society; Health and Social Care; Mental Health; Social Work and Social Policy
note: Electronic journal
Ethics and Education Some full text available
Ethics and Education aims to stimulate discussion and debate around the ethical dimensions of education. The journal addresses issues in both formal and informal education and upbringing, and includes within its scope relevant aspects of applied ethics, including, bioethics, medical ethics, management ethics, sex education, ethics of therapy and counselling and professional ethics
note: Eletronic journal
Higher Education Quarterly Some full text available

Higher Education Quarterly publishes international articles concerned with policy, strategic management and ideas in higher education. A substantial number of papers report research findings in ways that highlight their relevance to senior managers and policy makers at institutional, national and international levels, and to academics who are not necessarily specialists in the academic study of higher education. The journal places particular emphasis on comparative material as opposed to single institution or local case studies.
note: Electronic journal
Innovation in Language Learning and Teaching Some full text available
Innovation in Language Learning and Teaching is an international refereed journal devoted to research into all aspects of innovation in language learning and teaching. It publishes research articles, review articles and book/materials reviews. It draws on a range of disciplines that share a focus on exploring new approaches to language learning and teaching from a learner-centred perspective.
note: Electronic journal
International Studies in Sociology of Education Some full text available
International Studies in Sociology of Education is an international journal and publishes papers in the sociology of education which critically engage with theoretical and empirical issues, drawn from as wide a range of perspectives as possible. It aims to move debates forward. The journal is international in outlook and readership and receives papers from around the world.
note: Electronic journal
Irish Educational Studies Some full text available
Irish Educational Studies is an international, refereed journal publishing manuscripts on a range of topics relevant to education by drawing on the full spectrum of disciplines that feed into educational theory and practice; this includes anthropology, sociology, psychology, history, economics, philosophy, politics and curriculum studies.
note: Electronic journal
Journal of Curriculum and Pedagogy Some full text available
The Journal of Curriculum and Pedagogy is dedicated to the study of curriculum theory, educational inquiry, and pedagogical praxis. This leading international journal brings together scholars from a variety of disciplines to explore and critically examine diverse perspective on educational phenomena, from schools and cultural institutions to sites and concerns beyond institutional boundaries. The journal publishes articles that explore historical, philosophical, gendered, queer, racial, ethnic, indigenous, postcolonial, linguistic, autobiographical, aesthetic, theological, and/or international curriculum concerns and issues
note: Electronic journal
Journal of Education for Teaching : International research and pedagogy
Journal of Education for Teaching (JET) publishes original contributions on the subject of teacher education. The journal interprets ’teacher education’ in the widest sense, to include academic staff involved with, and responsible for, initial teacher education, continued professional development and the broad field of research into higher education’s contribution to education.
note: Electronic journal
Multicultural teacher education for the 21st century Some full text available
This article explains several reasons why multicultural preservice teacher education is important and suggests some ways it can be better accomplished
note: Article
Research in Mathematics Education Some full text available
Research in Mathematics Education is an international journal, publishing original refereed articles on all aspects of mathematics education. Papers should address the central issues in terms which are of relevance across educational systems and informed by wider thinking in the field. The journal has three sections, covering research papers, book reviews, and current reports.
note: Electronic journal
Research in Science & Technological Education Some full text available

 Research in Science & Technological Education is an original research journal publishing international perspectives on science and/or technological education. Scholarly research that investigates and interrogates the psychological, sociological, economic and organisational aspects of science and technological education, as well as developments within the global curriculum is encouraged.

The journal presents researchers, academics and practitioners working in and with science and technological education with the opportunity to articulate their findings in an international forum. Articles are expected to provide up-to-date and innovative commentaries on effective practices, behaviours and curricula within science and technology education in both formal and informal learning settings.

note: Electronic journal
Research in Science & Technological Education Some full text available

 Research in Science & Technological Education is an original research journal publishing international perspectives on science and/or technological education. Scholarly research that investigates and interrogates the psychological, sociological, economic and organisational aspects of science and technological education, as well as developments within the global curriculum is encouraged.

The journal presents researchers, academics and practitioners working in and with science and technological education with the opportunity to articulate their findings in an international forum. Articles are expected to provide up-to-date and innovative commentaries on effective practices, behaviours and curricula within science and technology education in both formal and informal learning settings.

note: Electronic journal
Teacher Development : An international journal of teachers' professional development Some full text available
Teacher Development publishes articles on all aspects of teachers’ professional development. It acts as a forum for critical and reflective attention to practice in teacher development and aims thereby to contribute to the quality of professional development. The journal takes a ‘whole-career’ view of teacher development, and work from both international and inter-professional perspectives is welcome. Articles may deal with teacher development in varying political and professional contexts, and may be in a variety of styles, in keeping with the diversity of activity in professional development. The journal carries accounts of personal experience, evaluations of teacher development policies and practices, research reports and theoretical discussions.
note: Electronic journal
Book Search
Search for in
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Senior Library Assistant
Tel: 203337