The practise of students assessment
The practice of students assessment course is a very important course. The practise of Students assessment practises basically involves Item writing , structuring of examination questions and papers.It also includes marking guides, scoring ,grading, criterion. nonreferenced testing and recording.
Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Electronic Databases

JSTOR Some full text available
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education
note: Electronic Database
Taylor & Francis eBooks Some full text available
Taylor & Francis eBooks consits of Over 50,000 eBooks and they are  available from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education and Law.
note: Electronic database.

Articles

Improving university students' assessment-related online work.
The purpose of this study was to examine how university students read their online assessment tasks and associated readings while focusing on the essential elements of their assessment task and online readings. Under scrutiny was their use of retrieval tools, manipulation of search terms and results, and their reading patterns to investigate the assessment support structures. Method. Participants were senior undergraduate students in a study using a mixed methods approach. Students' behaviour in response to an online assessment task was monitored and digitally recorded, and follow-up interviews were conducted. Analysis. The observations and interviews were analysed to develop categories and themes of assessment related to reading behaviour and information tools usage. Results. Findings suggest that even experienced university students need support when undertaking online assessment because they often miss key elements in assessment task descriptions, resulting in the formation of ineffectual search terms. Online reading was often unfocused as students searched for perceived keywords in-text, and the selection of subsequent search terms was typically derived from recently browsed materials. Conclusion. Additional scaffolding of assessments and online readings may improve student understanding of the assessment and reading tasks, and result in effective information searching practices leading to better research outcomes.
note: Journal Article
Innovation in Social Work Students' Assessment. Some full text available
It is always a challenge in social work education to set assessment tasks that will encourage learning. This paper, written collaboratively by a lecturer and team of students, describes one novel approach to assessment developed at the University of Edinburgh.
note: Journal Article

Books

Assessment in Student Affairs, Second edition Some full text available
A practical, comprehensive manual for assessment design and implementation Assessment in Student Affairs, Second Edition offers a contemporary look at the foundational elements and practical application of assessment in student affairs. Higher education administration is increasingly called upon to demonstrate organizational effectiveness and engage in continuous improvement based on information generated through systematic inquiry. This book provides a thorough primer on all stages of the assessment process. From planning to reporting and beyond, you'll find valuable assessment strategies to help you produce meaningful information and improve your program. Combining and updating the thoroughness and practicality of Assessment in Student Affairs and Assessment Practice in Student Affairs, this new edition covers design of assessment projects, ethical practice, student learning outcomes, data collection and analysis methods, report writing, and strategies to implement change based on assessment results. Case studies demonstrate real-world application to help you clearly see how these ideas are used effectively every day, and end-of-chapter discussion questions stimulate deeper investigation and further thinking about the ideas discussed. 
note: E-book
Creating an Effective Student Assessment System Some full text available
Reports that in the Systems Approach for Better Education Results (SABER–Student Assessment), Shanghai’s ratings for classroom assessments, exams, and large-scale assessment reveal at least established level with some levers at the advanced level. Three main drivers which determine the effectiveness of assessment activities in any system include the enabling context, system alignment, and assessment quality. Shanghai, as one of the pioneer Chinese cities to participate in international assessments, took part in both 2009 and 2012, in the Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), and plans to participate in PISA 2015, along with other Chinese cities and provinces participating for the first time. Future efforts can focus on further development of large-scale and sample-based diagnostic tests; on assessing social-emotional and other skills that may prove relevant for the labor market of the future; and on reducing the vast quality gaps between provinces and between rural and urban counties, and between poor and rich areas.
note: E-book
The influence of assessment practices on students' learning approach. Some full text available
The problem that prompted this research was that some students under-performed in tests and examinations in relation to peers who were apparently academically less well prepared for higher education. The Assist questionnaire was used to determine the natural learning approaches of two groups of first and second year students. Examination papers of two departments were analysed and questions were classified according to Bloom's Taxonomy. The performance scores on these papers of the two student groups were compared. The final conclusion was that although assessment is only one of several factors influencing student performance, it plays an important role in determining the quality of student learning. Therefore, the nature of assessment should be such that it not only measures performance on all cognitive levels, but that it also challenges those students who have the ability to excel, else they will under-achieve.
note: E-books

Reviews

Founded in 1930, The Journal of Higher Education (JHE) is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and pro Some full text available
 The Journal of Higher Education (JHE) is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and program managers.The Journal of Higher Education is an independent refereed journal. Through full-length articles, commentary, and book reviews, JHE encourages creation of effective policy solutions and enhancement of professional development in all areas within the university, the four-year college, and the community college.
note: Book review
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chenjerai Maodzwa

Chenjerai Maodzwa
Assistant Librarian (Bibliographic Services)
Tel: 118

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files