Nursing Education
Midwifery education has a rich tradition of blending innovation with educational methods that have demostrated their value to the profession. The aim of this course guide is to offer students with differnt sources of materials that will enhance their researches. This will be done in the form of journals, journal articles, e-books, hard copy book, suggested databases, exam paper all relevent with their course. This guide will pin-point to the exact source where the article is to be found. however student are not limited to the suggested articles within that Course guide.
Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Building communities in higher education: the case of nursing/ Fátima, Amélia. Pereira and Ilda Lima Some full text available
The historic and current case to retain a focused clinical nursing identity within an academic context is explicit; however there is tension between the need for excellence in teaching and research, and obligation to maintain a credible clinical identity. Nursing is politically and vocationally advanced but, arguably, weaker academically. Considered an old vocation but a young discipline nursing lacks the traditional background found in established academic communities. Nurses still find it difficult to let go of the past and new academics will often try to re-create a clinical role because they lack confidence in their ability to fulfil an academic one. Moving forward, the new graduate nursing programmes and the growing number of hybrid or “pracademic” roles spanning education and practice will, through the co-creation of knowledge, challenge discipline boundaries and produce a new generation of leaders for the profession.
Keywords: Nursing; higher education; identity; community

Journal article
Current Continuing Professional Education Practice among Malaysian Nurses/Mei Chan Chong,,et al Some full text available
Nurses need to participate in CPE to update their knowledge and increase their competencies. This research was carried out to explore their current practice and the future general needs for CPE. This cross-sectional descriptive study involved registered nurses from government hospitals and health clinics from Peninsular Malaysia. Multistage cluster sampling was used to recruit 1000 nurses from four states of Malaysia.
Designing the Information Literacy /Sue F. Phelps Some full text available
This column documents the rationale for creating information literacy competency standards for nursing based on the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) “Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education” and the three documents from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) on essential skills for nurses in baccalaureate, masters, and doctoral level education and practice. It chronicles the process of the task force which is designing the discipline specific skills and  predicts the value of their use, once they are published.
Keywords: Information literacy, information literacy standards,

Journal article
Further Education Health Care Tutors who hold a Nursing, Midwifery or Health Visiting Qualication/Oleman ,Philip M.C Some full text available
This paper seeks to establish what constitutes Ethical practice in the provision of guidance by Further Education Health care tutors who hold a nursing ,midwifery or health visiting qualification and are therefore bound by the United Kingdom Central Council for Nursing,MidwiferyandHealthVisiting(UKCC) Code of Professional Conduct. It considers potential ethical dilemmas which such tutors may encounter during guidance activities, in thecontextoftheUKCCstandardsandthevekeyethicalprinciplesofautonomy,benecence,non-malecence,justiceandveracity.Whilst these professional standards and principles may appear to provide comprehensive foundation for ethical guidance practice, in reality they fail to offer clear support in there solution of many of the ethical dilemmas that face healthcare tutors undertaking guidance work. Since guidance provided by such tutors may not be fully impartial, the importance of, ethical sensitivity and ethical decision-making skills are also highlighted.
 

Journal
Midwifery Education Models: A Contemporary Review/Johnson Peter ,G. and Fullerton, Judith T. Some full text available
 
Midwifery education has a rich tradition of blending innovation with educational methods that have demonstrated their value to the profession. Examples of innovations that have influenced midwifery education include the use of the asynchronous modular system, the development of distance methodologies, and most recently the use of computer and telecommunications technologies to mediate education

e-journal
Occupational Licensing of a Credence Good: The Regulation of Midwifery/ Adams, A. Frank III, Ekelund, Robert B. Jr., f and Jacksont .John D. Some full text available
Occupational licensing is as old as trade. Estimates are that in the United States alone, at least 800 occupations require some form of "license to practice" (Rottenberg 1980, p. 2). Midwifery is most certainly among the oldest occupations known to Homo sapiens, and, unsurprisingly, it has been the subject of licensing regulations over the 20th century. There has been, however, a marked re-emergence of the practice over the past 20 years in the United States. After nearly being driven from existence by physicians in the early part of the 20th century, the percentage of midwife attended births has risen from 0.9% of all births in 1975 to 5.95% of all births in 1995.

Journal article
Some Problems in Nursing Education/. Leathers W,S. Some full text available
The document discusses the progress
that has been made within recent years in raising the standards of nursing education and in improving the quality of nursing service,
but the author believes the phase of professional service has, generally speaking, lagged behind the advancements in medical education and practice and the improvement of facilities in hospitals. As a result of the marked advancement in medical science, a great deal more is required of the nurse at present than was the case many years ago.

e-journal article
 

The Anatomy of Nursing LibGuides/Stankus ,Tony And Parker, Martha A. Some full text available
LibGuides help librarians steer users accessing a library’s home page to recommended resources related to a given subject area or pertinent to a particular course they are primarily aimed at college students viewing the library’s homepage or other websites. LibGuides are styled in a Web 2.0 format that is demonstrably designed to appeal to them via its Facebook-like social media features. These include the opportunity for instant messaging and chat with the librarian, the use of photos and avatars alongside the text, hot links to other sites including RSSfeeds and YouTube-like videos, and the option for users to rate the site online, in manner not unlike “Liking it” on Facebook.

Keywords: LibGuides, nursing, Web 2.0 tools, online reference
 
Journal article
The Reflective Journeys of a Midwifery Tutor and Her Students/ Ci Ci Stuart
This paper focuses on my journey in becoming a reflective practitioner in midwifery education. I embarked on a project seeking to develop my teaching, and was plunged into grappling with the concepts of reflection and reflective practice! The paper will show how these reflections led me to examine myself and my professional practices, painful at times. However, engaging in my 'lived experiences' in a structured way helped me gain a deeper understanding of professional problems and question the taken-for-granted. Strongly influenced by my personal experiences of learning through reflection, I explored its use as a teaching and learning strategy with a group of student midwives. The paper will draw on these experiences in considering how student midwives can be assisted to articulate and reflect on the dynamic, unique and unpredictable practice setting of midwifery care. In so doing, they can interpret and analyse clinical problems in a way which will assist them to recognise the contextual issues of clinical practice, thereby being 'coached' to deal with the complexities of midwifery practice. During the study, I encountered ethical dilemmas despite a tight ethical framework. These, I believe, were the direct result of the nature of reflecting on 'lived experiences'. The paper argues that though reflection may be a necessary process in the education of adults, engaging in it, and 'living' reflective practice, can be a personally profound experience. There is an element of risk taking. Educators need to be reflective practitioners themselves, and be able to provide support and deal with any ensuing difficulties, to empower the learner to reach new futures.

Journal article
Tripartite assessment of learners during practice placements in midwifery pre-registration Programmes/ Doughty, Rowena, Harris, Tina and McLean Moira Some full text available
Findings – The paper finds that the close working relationships between the placement providers and the university have improved the assessment of practice and enhanced the student experience. Clinical midwife mentors have commented on how well the tripartite approach works and they appreciate the clear lines of communication that this relationship provides. The personal tutor role is well established in the School of Nursing and Midwifery and the midwifery team have developed this role to include the assessment of students within the tripartite structure. This is beneficial from a quality perspective; while clinical midwife mentors will obviously change due to differing student placements, the personal tutor is the variable that is the constant through the student’s progression on the programme.
Originality/value – The tripartite approach to the practice assessment of pre-registration midwifery education investigated in this paper has proved to be a robust approach to ensuring students is fit for practice, purpose and award at the point of qualification and eligible to register as a midwife with the Nursing and Midwifery Council.

Keywords Assessment, Midwifery, Learning, Partnership, United Kingdom

Journal
Why do nurse educators need computers in the classrooms?/ Christian, Esther Some full text available
This study investigated the nursing students’ and nursing educators’ perceptions of their knowledge and use of computer-assisted instruction (CAI). Technology in education has advanced significantly from the overhead projectors as the primary teaching aid in the traditional classroom.

e-Jornal article

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research (2nd Edition)/ Wallace, Meredith Some full text available
This second edition of the Encyclopedia of Nursing Research (ENR), like the first, is a comprehensive, yet concise and authoritative guide to existing nursing research literature. It charts the course of nursing research since 1983 when the first edition of the Annual Review of Nursing Research (ARNR) was published
 
Author            : Wallace, Meredith
Publisher        : Springer Publishing Company
Original date of publication: 2005
Subjects         : Nursing, Research, Encyclopedias, Evidence-based nursing
 
e-book

Books

Churchill Livingstone nurses dictionary / Lois Oakes, edited by Nancy Roper. Some full text available
Edition 15th ed.
Descript x, 399 p. : ill. ; 19 cm.
Subject Nursing -- Dictionaries.
Add author Roper, Nancy
Add title Nurses dictionary.
  Livingstone nurses dictionary.
ISBN 0443016372 (pbk)
CLASS NO.RT21 OAK
Book  

Teaching in further education : an outline of principles and practice / L.B. Curzon Some full text available
Edition 5th ed.
Description x, 450 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Note Includes indexes.
Subject Teaching.
CLASS NO                              LC5225.T4 CUR c.578

Book
The role of the preceptor: a guide for nurse educators, clinicians, and managers / Flynn, Jean Pieri and Stack, Madonna C Some full text available
This book contains two new chapters on preceptor ship in home care settings and distance learning programs. It exemplifies the second edition of this how to- guide for nursing faculty and clinicians. Flynn and Stack provide a useful and easy to- follow framework for not only developing and implementing preceptor programs, but also for learning how to precept students and facilitate the development of nursing expertise in both preceptors and preceptees. This second edition includes information on precepting, mentoring, and teaching; a model preceptor program, which includes charts, tables; and a special section on internships, residencies, and mentoring in the nursing program. Overall, the concept of how preceptor ship aids in nursing education is shown throughout this book.

Author            : Flynn, Jean Pieri and Stack, Madonna C
Publisher        : Sheridan Books,
Original date of publication: 2006
Subjects          : 1. Nursing—Study and teaching (Preceptorship) Preceptorship—organization & administration. 2. Education, Nursing—organization & administration.

NB* Please see librarian for copies
 
Annual Review of Nursing Education, Volume 6 : Clinical Nursing Education/Oermann, Marilyn H. Some full text available
The focus of Volume 6 of the Annual Review of Nursing Education is on clinical nursing education. The chapters in this volume describe new partnership models, innovative clinical experiences for nursing students, the ways schools of nursing in a region collaborate to select clinical sites, approaches to evaluating students’ clinical performance, and grade inflation. The Annual Review would not be complete without new teaching strategies and reflections on the development of nursing faculty,

 
Author            : Oermann, Marilyn H.
Publisher        : Springer Publishing Company
Original date of publication: 2007.
Subjects         : study and teaching, medical education, nursing education
 

e-book
Creative teaching strategies for the nurse educator / Herrman, Judith W. Some full text available
To examine creative teaching strategies clearly, we must define innovation and its relationship to teaching. Schell1 defines innovation as the use of non-traditional methods in learning settings. In essence, an innovation is any educational strategy not usually performed by the instructor or witnessed previously by a class.

Author     : Herrman, Judith W.
Publisher: F. A. Davis Company
Original date of publication:
Subjects:1. Nursing—Study and teaching. 2. Creative teaching. Education, Nursing—methods. 2. Teaching—methods.

NB* Please see librarian for copies
 
Enabling Learning in Nursing and Midwifery Practice: A Guide for Mentors/ West,Sue at el.
 
The book focuses on the process and generic aspects
of mentorship as applied to nursing, midwifery and allied professions students.

e-book

Integrating Community Service into Nursing Education Service/Bailey, Patricia A.; Carpenter, Dona Rinaldi; Harrington, Some full text available
Service-Learning has many definitions based on how the service program is structured in a particular institution. However in general, service-learning can be defined as a structured learning experience which combines community service with student preparation and reflection. A connecting link is established between academics and service.Service activities should foster civic responsibility, be incorporated into the academic curriculum and provide opportunity to reflect on experiences individually and in groups.

Author            : Bailey, Patricia A. Carpenter, Dona Rinaldi Harrington, Patricia A.
Publisher        : Springer Publishing Company
Original date of publication: 2004
Subjects          : In-service training, Nursing, Study and teaching (Continuing education), Social service.  


e-book
 

Mastering The Teaching Role : A Guide For Nurse Educators/ Penn, Barbara K. Some full text available
That’s why this book was written—to offer you some guidance as you refine your established educational practice or move into a new role. If you are an experienced nurse educator, you may have mastered the basics and now want to shake up what you’ve been doing, be more effective, consider some new approaches, investigate an unfamiliar aspect of the faculty role, or become more active in planning your academic career. 


Author             : Penn, Barbara K.
Publisher         : F. A. Davis Company
Original date of publication: 2008
Subjects          : Education, Nursing—methods. 2. Educational Measurement—methods. 3. Faculty—standards. 4. Planning Techniques. 5. Students, Nursing—psychology. 6.
Teaching—methods.

NB* Please see librarian for copies
Measurement of nursing outcomes / Waltz Carolyn Feher, Jenkins, Louise Sherman Some full text available
This publication is a compendium of some of the finest tools and methods available to nurses for the measurement of clinical and educational outcomes. It is a second edition of the highly acclaimed series of a collection of tools and methods is presented with attention given in each chapter to purpose and utility, conceptual basis, development, testing, and the results of reliability and validity assessments.

Author     :Waltz Carolyn Feher, Jenkins, Louise Sherman
Publisher: Springer Publishing Company
Original date of publication: 2001
Subjects: Nursing—methods. 2. Clinical Competence. 3. Nursing—standards. 4. Outcome and Process Assessment (Health Care).
 
NB* Please see librarian for copies
Mentoring Nursing and Healthcare Students/Kinnell, D., Hughes, P. Some full text available
The book focuses on the process and generic aspects of mentorship as applied to nursing, midwifery and allied professions students.

Author            : Kinnell, D., Hughes, P
Publisher        : Sage
Original date of publication: 2010
Subjects          : Mentorship, nursing, midwifery
 
e-book

Nurse Mentor and Reviewer Update Book/Murray, Cyril Rosen, Lyn Staniland, Karen Some full text available
Many books have been written about teaching and learning but there has never been a text written specifically for mentors and their reviewers/ appraisers. So how will you know if this book is for you? Well you can start by asking yourself the following questions:
• • • Are you a qualified mentor or aspiring to become one? Are you a qualified mentor but unsure of the activities to undertake or the evidence which should be produced to demonstrate evidence of annual updating in your work to your employer? Are you a nurse manager or reviewer/appraiser of mentors who would benefit from guidance on how judgements can be made about the evidence mentors may produce to demonstrate their competence to remain on the live mentor register? If you answered yes to one or more of these questions then this book is definitely for you.
Author            : Murray, Cyril Rosen, Lyn Staniland, Karen
Publisher        :  McGraw-Hill Education
Original date of publication: 2010
Subjects         :  Mentoring in nursing.  

e-books
Nursing Education: Foundations For Practice Excellence/ Moyer, Barbara A. and Wittmann-Price, Ruth A. Some full text available
This book was developed as our small way to help offset the increasing nursing shortage. Without nurse educators the well-documented shortage cannot be addressed appropriately. Nursing graduate programs, such as the one at DeSales University, have risen to the call and are doing a phenomenal job of educating nurses from all walks of practice to become educators 

Author             : Moyer, Barbara A. and Wittmann-Price, Ruth A.
Publisher         : F. A. Davis Company
Original date of publication: 2008
Subjects          : Nursing—Study And Teaching.

NB* Please see librarian for copies
Practice Development in Nursing/ McCormack, Brendan Manley and Kim Garbett, Rob Some full text available
This book is concerned with the development of practice. In particular, it strives to develop our understanding of that commonly used term – ‘practice development’. To contemplate the idea of clarifying a concept such as practice development when it is inherently nebulous and complex may appear to be a somewhat naïve project. However, we hope that by the time you have read this book, you will at least have had your understanding of practice development expanded, challenged or adjusted.
Author            : McCormack, Brendan Manley and Kim Garbett, Rob
Publisher        : Wiley-Blackwell
Original date of publication: 2008
Subjects         : Nursing,Nurse practitioners.

e-book
Professional Nursing: Concepts, Issues, and Challenges/Daly, John Speedy, Sandra Jackson, Debra Some full text available
This book has been written to facilitate consideration and understanding of key ideas that underpin nursing as a discipline in a global context. The book is, in a sense, groundbreaking, in that it is collaboration between American, Canadian, British, and Australian nurses. The topics selected for inclusion represent a distillation of international nursing knowledge, and are drawn from an immense base of research and scholarly endeavour. They are highly relevant to nursing internationally, and correspond to many of the concerns and challenges confronting contemporary nursing. This edition was written especially for American nurses. British and Australian editions, each tailored to the special needs of nurses in those countries, have already been published.
Author            : Daly, John Speedy, Sandra Jackson, Debra
Publisher        : Springer Publishing Company
Original date of publication: 2005
Subjects         :  Nursing, United States.

e-book
 
Quality caring in nursing: applying theory to clinical practice, education, and leadership / Joanne R. Duffy. Some full text available
 
Through exploration of theoretical concepts drawn from multiple sources, a model is revealed that has the capacity to honour nursing’s most deeply held value: caring. The important relationships with self, community, patients and families, and the health care team are illuminated and redefine end for current practice. Applying the model in practice, education, and leadership offers possibilities for caring-healing-protective environments where genuine professional nursing can flourish. Using the model as a foundation for research may point to new evidence of nursing’s contribution to quality health care. Part 1 focuses on nursing’s unique contribution to health care and highlights the value of nursing to the current quality crisis. It reviews the original Quality-Caring Model©, a postmodern middle range theory of caring. Part 2 concentrates on those relationships necessary for quality caring. Relationships with self, patients and families, members of the health care team, and the community are described using great detail and examples. Part 3 centers on the application of quality caring in clinical practice, nursing education, research, and leadership. Finally, the future of nursing and health care is forecasted as complex, interactive, and integrative. Using this background, the Quality-Caring Model© is revised.

Author            : Joanne R. Duffy.
Publisher        : Springer Publishing Company,
Original date of publication:2009
Subjects          : 1. Nursing Care—standards. 2. Nursing Theory. 3. Quality Assurance, Health Care—standards.
 
NB* Please see librarian for copies
Study Skills for Nursing and Midwifery Students/Guest, David A. Some full text available
Study Skills cover all those abilities that make it possible to cope with the demands of academic and professional pursuits. For people just embarking on a course of study they include being able to deal with all the intellectual, emotional and social challenges that are part of the day-to-day demands of being a student.

Author            : Guest, David A.; Scullion, Philip A.
Publisher        : McGraw-Hill Education,
Original date of publication: 2007.
Subjects         : study skills, midwifery, nursing, midwifery

 
e-books
Book Search
Search for in
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Subject Specialist
Picture: Israel Dabengwa

Israel Dabengwa
Assistant Librarian (Medical School)
Tel: 118

Picture: Tapson Siziba

Tapson Siziba
Senior Library Assistant
Tel: +263979679

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files