Training and development
Training and development describes the formal, ongoing efforts that are made within organizations to improve the performance and self-fulfillment of their employees through a variety of educational methods and programs.This guide aims to enhance the researcher's understanding of training and development which is channeled torwards an audience comprising of  lecturers, undergraduates, postgraduates and any other stakeholders interested in the research topic. The guide enables the researcher the opportunity  to navigate through an array sources which comprise of primarily peer reviewed journals, books, articles, dissertations and so forth.   
Table of Contents
All Items by Source

Articles

Human resource development (HRD) for performance management : The case of Nepalese organizations Some full text available
 A firm's competitiveness depends on its capacity to manage performance and improve the development of the skills and competencies of employees – creating a learning environment. In order to manage performance management in organisation, a clear link between organisational objectives and outcome should be established by developing a human capital base in organisations. Human resource professionals help to integrate Human resource development functions and organisational objectives by creating a learning environment.
note: Article
Management Training and Development: A Critique Some full text available
Development of high quality managerial manpower is considered essential for coping with the rapidly changing industrial scene. This has led to expansion in the number of training activities and institutions. Management trainers have expressed their inability to integrate the prescribed practices for want of their feasibility in the Indian context. To bridge these and other related discontinuities highlighted in this paper, there is a need for regional concentration of Action-Research-Approach in terms of 'Research-Diffusion-Adoption-Training-Development Model'.
note: Article
Measuring Training & Development Some full text available
This study presents the measures of training and development that are considered extremely valuable and those that are routinely used by HR/training professionals Based on information collected from 105 HR/training professionals from different Indian organizations it was found that the traditional measures such as feedback of the training programmes, number of employees trained in various training programmes, training costs, and number of training days are the more popular measures when compared to impact measures such as learning during training, transfer of training, performance improvements because of training, and cost and benefit analysis of training and development programmes. Having made significant progress with respect to traditional measures of training and development, it is the time for focusing on impact-measures.
note: Article
Decision support systems for human resource training and development Some full text available
The purpose of this study was to evaluate the most popular human resource training and development methods and techniques available today. These methods have different qualitative characteristics that require a multicriteria and multiscenario framework for their assessment. The nine types of methods that were evaluated are ‘on-the-job training’, ‘mentorship’, ‘apprenticeship’, ‘vestibule training/simulators’, ‘web-based learning’, ‘instructor-led classroom training’, ‘programmed self-instruction’, ‘case studies/role playing’ and ‘systematic job rotations and transfers.
note: Article
Leveraging human resource development expertise to improve supply chain managers' skills and competencies Some full text available
The purpose of this paper is to propose that organizations can create and maintain competitive advantage by leveraging the expertise of human resource development (HRD) professionals to provide a range of developmental and change-oriented interventions related to critical supply chain manager skill sets that are currently in short supply.
note: Article
Managers' personal values as predictors of importance attached to training and development: a cross-country exploratory study Some full text available
Few empirical studies have examined the effect of personal values on the importance attached by individuals to training and development in organizations. We argue that personal values play an important role in decision-making processes (i.e. commitment to training and development) and that such values are the product of socialization processes operating at an organizational and societal level. Questionnaire data were collected from 340 Irish and Canadian line managers to test the hypothesis that personal values affect the importance attached by respondents to training and development. Capability values were found to be a significant positive predictor of the perceived importance of training and development. The findings emphasize the need for simultaneously examining both personal values and organizational factors as predictors of training and development activity.
note: Article
Study of The Role of Learning Theories as Applied to Training and Development Some full text available
This paper traces the idea from the postulated theories of learning concerning human behavior in the context of training. The study suggests that for effective training learning is a precondition. Many of the theories of learning, though derived from investigations carried out in laboratory conditions, are substantially different from the practical conditions under which human learning takes place but have great implications in training and development. Each of the theories has much to contribute to enrich our understanding of the learning situations though none of them is most appropriate under all the circumstances.
note: Article
The Effect of Library Staff Training and Development on the User Experience: A Case Study at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) Some full text available
Library staff training and development is a crucial element in ensuring positive user experiences within libraries. A staff component consistently exposed to relevant training and development interventions should not be underestimated. This paper will explore the processes and methods used at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology Libraries (CPUT Libraries) to ensure that its staff has well planned and relevant learning opportunities and interventions. An overview of skills development in South Africa as well as policies, guidelines and procedures that inform the process will be discussed. The paper further unpack a holistic staff development approach, namely, a three year special skills plan, a performance management process including development needs, annual training plan and implementation.
note: Article
The Perception of Organizational Culture by Management Level: Implications for Training and Development Some full text available
Perceptions of organizational culture differ within the hierarchy, with implications for training and development. Within any organizational context, the culture is, in reality, a mosaic of cultures.
note: Article
Training and Development (T & D): Introduction and Overview Some full text available
This article relates concepts and principles from the psychology of training and development to real occupational issues in order to make a constructive contribution to organisations. This learning material aims to enable students to develop appropriate understanding of using occupational psychology within organisations with respect to issues of training and development.
note: Article
Training and development in British hospitality, tourism and leisure SMEs Some full text available
This article focuses upon positive examples of hospitality, tourism and leisure small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in the area of training and development. The research reports part of the most detailed study of hospitality-related SMEs ever undertaken in the UK. A total of 89 case studies were completed. Our results indicate that successful organizations adopt an informal approach which is integrated into the culture of the organization, providing a positive training and development environment where employees are more likely to be retained.
note: Article
Training and development practices of large Philippines companies Some full text available
This study aims to determine the current training and development experiences and the emerging best practices of large corporations in the manufacturing and non-manufacturing sectors in the Philippines. The findings reveal that the most frequently cited importance of training is that it helps improve job performance. Companies implement technical training slightly more than behavioral training. The most often used training method is the lecture, combined with the usage of new technologies such as the CD-ROM, the Internet, and the company intranet/portal. Adequate resources like budget and expertise are provided for the delivery of training and development programmes. The implementation of extensive continuing training and development programmes, not only for the improvement of technical competence, but for the development of cultural behavior and values congruent with that of the company's core values and philosophy, is one of their emerging best practices that stimulate innovation.
note: Article
Training and development practices of large Philippines companies. Some full text available
This study aims to determine the current training and development experiences and the emerging best practices of large corporations in the manufacturing and non-manufacturing sectors in the Philippines.
note: Article
Training and Development Roles and Structures in European Call Centers: The Influence of Strategic Choice, Institutional and Coevolutionary Processes Some full text available
The global call center sector has emerged as a vibrant and economically successful industry in recent decades. Training and development of employees is acknowledged as a key component of call center strategy in facilitating the utilization of new technologies, enhanced customer service, and profitability. Relatively little is, however, known concerning how training roles and structures are configured in call centers. Here, we explore competitive, institutional, and coevolutionary drivers of training and development roles and structures in European call centers.
note: Article
Using fictional stories to facilitate training and development Some full text available
This account focuses on reporting the use of a fictional story to engage participants in a workshop on improving employee performance. Examples of fictional accounts appropriate for training and development (T&D) uses and the advantages of using workplace-related fictional stories for T&D purposes are discussed. Improving efficiency, providing a safe learning environment, avoiding groupthink, removing negative attitudes towards stories and increasing access to varied stories are the advantages of using fiction as a story source for T&D purposes. This account has practical implications for Human Resource and T&D professionals.
note: Article

Electronic Databases

Taylor & Francis eBooks Some full text available
This database contains over 50,000 ebooks from across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law.
note: Electronic Database
ebrary Some full text available
Collection of e-books covering the following disciplines: Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Fine Arts, History, Language and Literature, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences and Technology.
note: Electronic Database
Ingentaconnect Some full text available
Ingentaconnect gives you access to largest linking network of its kind online. Providing more than 10,000 publication that cover Agriculture, Humanites, Sciences, Commerce, and Social Sciences.
note: Electronic Database
JSTOR. Some full text available
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals covering the following disciplines: Economics, History, Political Science, Language & Literature, Art & Art History, Music, Mathematics & Statistics and Education
note: Electronic Database
Springer Some full text available
Springer is one the most leading international scientific publishing companies. Springer ejournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
note: Electronic Database
Taylor and Francis Online Journals Some full text available
Taylor & Francis, founded in the City of London in 1798, is one of the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. The Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1,500 journals each year.
note: Electronic Database

Journals/Magazines

Development and Learning in Organizations Some full text available
The journal aims to publish succinct, innovative and thought-provoking articles that promote understanding and advancement in both the theory and practice of organizational development (OD) and learning.  It is an international and interdisciplinary journal directed towards practitioners and academics in private, public and non-profit sectors around the world. All articles and reviews are presented in an easy-to-digest format for leaders, managers and researchers to gain quick but deep insight into the main organizational development and learning issues affecting business today.
note: Electronic journal
Education + Training Some full text available
Education + Training addresses the increasingly complex relationships between education, training and employment and the impact of these relationships on national and global labour markets. The journal gives specific consideration to young people, looking at how the transition from school/college to employment is achieved and how the nature of partnerships between the worlds of education and work continues to evolve.The journal explores vocationalism in learning and efforts to address employability within the curriculum, together with coverage of innovative themes and initiatives within vocational education and training. The journal is read by policy makers, educators and academics working in a wide range of fields including education, learning and skills development, enterprise and entrepreneurship education and training, induction and career development.
note: Electronic Journal
European Journal of Training and Development Some full text available
The journal aims to provide all those involved in research and practice in training with ideas, news, research findings, case examples and discussion on training and development. The journal focuses primarily on activity in Europe, although draws on insights from the rest of the world where they are seen to make an appropriate contribution 
note: Electronic journal
Human Resource Development International Some full text available
Human Resource Development International Journal will promote all aspects of practice and research that explore issues of individual, group and organisational learning and performance. In adopting this perspective HRDI is committing itself to questioning the divide between practice and theory; between the 'practitioner' and the 'academic'; between traditional and experimental methodological approaches and between organisational demands of scholarship. HRDI is committed to a wide understanding of 'organisation' - one that extends through self-managed teams, voluntary work, or family businesses to global enterprises and bureaucracies.
note: Electronic Journal
Human Resource Management International Digest Some full text available
Human Resource Management International Digest is an essential information resource for today's human resource managers. HRMID offers concise and readable reviews and case studies based on the most up-to-date research conducted by leading HR thinkers. As a unique service, we scan through the best 400 management journals in the world and distil the most topical human resource management issues and relevant implications for HR personnel out of the cutting-edge research.
note: Electronic Journal
Industrial and Commercial Training Some full text available
To provide all those involved in personnel training, training management with current practice, ideas, news and research on major issues in organization development and employee education and training.

A practical training journal showing busy training professionals how to put training theory into practice. Industrial & Commercial Training provides all those involved in personnel training with current practice, ideas, news, etc. on major issues in the related areas. The journal aims to provide a balance between theory and practice and spell out implications for those involved in training.
note: Electronic Journal
Journal of Management Development Some full text available
The journal provides an international communication medium for all those working in the management development field whether from industry, consulting or academic institutions. 
note: Electronic Journal
Journal of Workplace Learning Some full text available

The Journal of Workplace Learning aims to provide an avenue for the presentation and discussion of research related to the workplace as a site for learning. Its scope encompasses formal, informal and incidental learning in the workplace for individuals, groups and teams, as well as work-based learning, and off-the-job learning for the workplace.
note: Electonic Journal
Leadership & Organization Development Journal Some full text available
Leadership & Organization Development Journal (LODJ) examines the body of management theory around leadership and organizations in order to discover new, more effective ways of managing in organizations. The journal explores the practical application of leadership and organization development theory in order to identify its relevance for managerial practice. Leadership & Organization Development Journal focuses on the interpretation of research and how the results of research may be translated into practice. It addresses a broad range of topics which are relevant to organizations and reflective of societal developments. The journal supports interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary approaches to the study of leadership and organization development and encourages original thinking which will contribute to knowledge and understanding in these areas.
note: Electronic Journal
The TQM Journal Some full text available

TQM Journal is an international journal which strikes a great balance between the theory and practice of Quality Management principles across a broad range of industrial sectors ranging from manufacturing to service to public sector organisations. A number of articles appearing in this journal can be readily used for teaching, training and research purposes.
note: Electonic Journal

Newspapers

Newsday Zimbabwe. Some full text available
Training and development is an important facet in the overall human resources process. Organisations spend thousands of dollars annually in training and developing their employees with the hope of increasing productivity, motivating employees and retaining them.
note: Newspaper

Books

How to Identify Your Organization's Training Needs : A Practical Guide to Needs Analysis Some full text available
Author: McConnell, John H.  
Publisher: AMACOM Books
Date Published: 12/2002
Subjects: Employees -- Training of.   Employer-supported education.

This book gives trainers the information and step-by-step instructions they need to determine the training requirements of everyone from newly hired, recently promoted, or just-transferred employees, to those who need training as a result of changes in operations, technology, or systems in the company. The author reiterates that in order for training to be effective, it has to be based on the needs of both the organization and its employees.
note: E-Book
Approaches to Training and Development Some full text available

Author: Sardar, Niranjan Kaur  
Publisher: Mangalam Publishers
Date Published: 2010
Subjects: Employees -- Training of.   Personnel management.  

This book takes into pespective how training has recently become a strategic option in the development of human resources. It stresses the need for  strategies of development which aim at improving, modernizing and simplifying work methods. The author places an emphasis on how training should convey the basic theoretical and practical skills in a way that copes with the latest challenges represented in the ever changing work requirements.
note: E-Book
Beyond Training and Development : The Groundbreaking Classic on Human Performance Enhancement Some full text available

Author: Rothwell, William J.  
Publisher: AMACOM Books
Date Published: 12/2004
Subjects: Performance standards.   Performance technology.  

The book comprehends on the  importance of integrating training with organizational strategy, assessing learning needs, ensuring the transfer of training from instructional to work settings, evaluating training results, and (most important) achieving performance gains and productivity improvement. The author expels the idea of training and development practitioners too often straying towards their customers’ ill-advised expectations that they will confine their efforts to providing courses, entertaining employees, making people feel good, and fixing isolated problems.
note: E-Book
Coaching for Development : Skills for Managers and Team Leaders Some full text available

Author: Minor, Marianne   Racine, Robert   Mapson, Ralph  
Publisher: Course Technology / Cengage Learning
Date Published: 05/1995
Subjects: Personnel management.   Career development.   Employees -- Training of.  

This book equips the reader on how to assess coaching needs, discover the six tools essential to coaching success, understand the roles of a coach, and learn how to supply the right advice and support. The author documents that  through effective coaching, managers can improve performance, personal growth, and increased job satisfaction for their employees and themselves.
note: E-Book
Developing Talent for Organizational Results : Training Tools from the Best in the Field Some full text available

Author: Biech, Elaine  
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
Date Published: 01/2012
Subjects: Employees -- Training of.   Organizational change.   Personnel management.

The book focuses on how important the skills and knowledge of employees is important to the organisation's success. Developing talent for organisational results merges together the work of many of the most renowned learning providers in the world all of them members of the Assosiation of Learning Providers. This book provides activities and surveys, insight, and ideas to develop the talent required to ensure your organisation's success.
note: E-Book
Hands-On Training : A Simple and Effective Method for On-the-Job Training Some full text available

 Author: Sisson, Gary R.  
Publisher: Berrett-Koehler Publishers
Date Published: 07/2001
Subjects: Employees -- Training of.   Industrial management.

This book also shows how to adapt training to fit your situation; suggests hands-on-training tools and opportunities; provides instructor guides; and shows how to make it all work. An uncomplicated, systematic approach to on-the-job training, whether you're a manager, line or staff supervisor, employee, or human resource or training professional. Takes you step-by-step through everything you need to know to conduct a successful training session right on the job. Learn how to prepare for the session; put yourself and the trainee at ease; present the subject; have the trainee practice the skills; evaluate the performance; and review the trainee's performance.
note: E-Book
How to Manage Training : A Guide to Design and Delivery for High Performance Some full text available

 Author: Nilson, Carolyn D.  
Publisher: AMACOM Books
Date Published: 03/2003
Subjects: Employees -- Training of.

This edition of the training manager's ultimate answer book gives readers clear guidance and techniques for accomplishing successful, cost-effective training. Readers will learn the steps for building and maintaining a training and development program, including how to: * assess the needs of participants * manage workshops for teams * train for innovation * monitor and evaluate the program. It is an immediately useful tool for anyone involved in managing training. This field-proven resource is packed with 200 easy-to-use forms, checklists, figures, and charts."
note: E-Book
Management Training and Development : An Evaluation Some full text available

Author: Thomaskutty, C.S.  
Publisher: Himalaya Publishing House
Date Published: 2010
Subjects: Executives -- Training of.  

This book comprehends on how  management training is considered as an integral part of organizational planning. The author asserts that for effective functioning of existing managerial personnel and to provide continuous supply of new talented and skilled personnel for future, management training practices needs to be analysed periodically and reoriented to cope with changing requirements.
note: E-Book
Managing Projects in Human Resources, Training and Development Some full text available

Author: Martin, Vivien  
Publisher: Kogan Page Ltd.
Date Published: 02/2006
Subjects: Personnel management.   Project management.  

This book will provide you with a practical approach to managing a project in an HR, training or development setting. People are often expected to manage projects as part of their day-to-day work but few receive special training to help them to take on this task.  Each chapter discusses an aspect of project management and includes examples drawn from HR, training and development settings.
note: E-Book
Performance Consulting : Applying Performance Improvement in Human Resource Development Some full text available

Author: Rothwell, William J.  
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
Date Published: 11/2013
Subjects: Performance technology.   Employees -- Training of.   Personnel management.  

This book focuses on how imperative Improving individual and organizational performance is torwards establishing and maintaining a high performance workplace, developing intellectual capital, promoting productivity, and enhancing profitability. The author comprehends that organizations must be flexible and agile in approaching business strategies and the time has come to revisit the role of training, Human Resource Development, and instructional design in today's organizations.
note: E-Book
Six Disciplines of Breakthrough Learning : How to Turn Training and Development into Business Results (2nd Edition) Some full text available

Author: Wick, Calhoun W.   Pollock, Roy V.H.   Flanagan, Richard D.  
Publisher: Pfeiffer
Date Published: 07/2010
Subjects: Organizational learning.   Employees -- Training of.  

This book is for everyone who is a provider, sponsor, purchaser, or consumer of corporate training and development. It describes a proven set of processes and tools that achieve a breakthrough in corporate education and that significantly improve the return on the investment that companies make in learning and development.
note: E-Book
Skills Planning for Improved Performance Some full text available

Author: Hattingh, Suzanne  
Publisher: Knowres Publishing
Date Published: 07/2014
Subjects: Performance -- Management.   Employees -- Training of.

This book will assist organisations to ensure that training and other staff development interventions improve the performance of staff in a way that contributes towards the achievement of the organisation's goals and objectives.  The book will guide organisations to integrate their skills planning process into other organisational processes aimed at raising the performance levels of staff such as performance appraisals, talent management, succession planning and retention of scarce skills. This integration will improve the relevance of training and other staff development interventions and increase their impact on improved performance.
note: E-Book
Training in Organisations : A Cost-Benefit Analysis Some full text available

Author: Talbot, John  
Publisher: Gower Publishing Limited
Date Published: 05/2011
Subjects: Employees -- Training of -- Cost effectivenss.

This book provides the basis for measuring and analysing the cost and value associated with training. It looks at manual skills as well as management training analysis and explores the different approaches for costing training, controlling those costs and applying value analyses to the investment being made. Training in Organizations: A Cost Benefit Analysis also includes a series of international comparisons across a variety of industry sizes and types which provide organizations with an important benchmark for their own spending.

note: E-Book
Training Managers to Train : A Practical Guide to Improving Employee Performance Some full text available

Author: Zaccarelli, Herman   Hayes, David K.  
Publisher: Course Technology / Cengage Learning
Date Published: 06/1988
Subjects: Employees -- Training of.

This book focuses on the pertinence of training and how managers can equip their own training skillset to bring the best out of their surbodinates in terms of efficiency and effectiveness within the organisation. The author comprehends that managers at all organizational levels, whether they own their own business or work for someone else, must supervise people.
note: E-Book

Open Access Resources

Does Training and Development Really Impact the Bottom Line Workers? – A Case of North India Some full text available
When the organization invests in improving the knowledge and skills of its employees, the investment is returned in the form of more productive and effective employees. But does it really help the bottom-line employees to improve their capability? This paper attempts to find an answer to this question. The paper uses statistical tools including descriptive statistics, correlation, regression, chi-square test and anova to achieve its research objectives. The study finds that the practical training programs are very useful for the employees. Also the new and advanced methods are very effective to increase the performance than other methods of training. The key to the success of a program lies in its proper implementation.
note: Open Access Resource
Role of Training and Development in an Organization Some full text available
This paper reviews the role of training and development in an organization. Training and development provides the environment for workshops, seminars, mentoring, coaching and all other learning opportunities to employees in an organization. Training and development provides all tools and motivate the employees to perform their role.
note: Open Access Resource
Training and Development in the United Arab Emirates Some full text available
 This document explores the training and development strategies and practices of large business organisations in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The survey reveals that Emirati companies are very aware of best training and development practice as implemented in their foreign counterparts, and that they generally adopt similar methods and strategies. The article considers the influence of national culture, religion, government policies, education and the economic environment upon the training and development strategies and practices of companies in the UAE. It is argued that despite the negative effects of a dwindling oil sector, the UAE's companies are well placed to maintain their current regional success and that they will soon be playing an increasingly important role in international trade, thus significantly contributing to the continuing economic growth of the country. 
note: Open Access Resource
Training and Development: A Study of Employees’ Attitude on Training In Vellore District Cooperative Bank Some full text available
Training has an important role to play and it is expected to inculcate positive changes in knowledge, skills and attitudes. Employees training tries to improve skills so that employee is better equipped to do his present job or to prepare him for a higher position with increased responsibilities. Organizations should provide opportunities for continuous development of employees not only in their present jobs but also to develop the capabilities for other jobs also. Organization must grow along with the employees, because organization should adapt itself to the changing environment. Training and Development programmes are necessary in any organization for improving the quality of work of the employees at all levels particularly in a world of fast changing technology and environment. This thesis analyses the employees’ attitude toward training programmes conducted in Vellore District Cooperative Bank In India. The study concludes that 98 percent of respondents expressed that trainings improved the work efficiency and 96 percent of respondents favorably accepted that trainings are essential for organizational development. Majority (95 percent )of the respondents felt that training is essential for all employees and same level of employees expressed that training should be made compulsory in all Co-operative Banks. Among the personal factors, Age and Education have no influence on attitude towards training, but there is a significant relationship exists between experience of the employees and training.
note: Open Access Resource

Web Sites

International Labour Organisation Some full text available
The main aims of the ILO are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues.
note: Website
International Training Centre Some full text available
The  International Training Centre runs training, learning and capacity development services for governments, employers' organizations ,workers' organizations and other national and international partners in support of Decent Work and sustainable development.
note: Website

Dissertations

A dissertation on the relationship between training and development and industrial relations in the Kalgold mining company / Tshepo B. Tladi Some full text available
The primary object of this dissertation is to investigate the training problem in the Kgalagadi gold (Kalgold} mining company, located some 40 km West of Mafikeng. The company is reported not to have trained most of its staff in the Metallurgy department since the majority union, National Union of Mine Workers (NUM), does not approve of the organisational training plan. The said training plan is perceived as an intervention that would not address the employees' training needs. Subsequently, the untrained employees are susceptible to workplace accidents characterised by poor work expertise. Nevertheless, the mentioned staff often face disciplinary charges for negligence or incapacity that could be linked to a lack of appropriate training. In effect, this study focuses on the training problem experienced by the company as well as disciplinary actions for incapacity related to little or no training. Not only that, but also shall it highlight the shortfall caused by absence of a training needs analysis and establish if this could lead to training that does not address the employees' training needs. The study also seeks to investigate whether management involves the Majority union, NUM, in drawing up the organisational training plan.
note: Dissertation
OPTIMIZING TRAINING EFFECTIVENESS: THE ROLE OF REGULATORY FIT Some full text available
Designing effective training programs has been a key challenge for HR and education professionals for years. Today, a deep understanding of learning processes is even more crucial as rapid technological advancements necessitate continuous learning and development of the workforce. The current study aimed to address this need by integrating research on regulatory fit theory (Higgins, 2000) and training and testing a theoretical model of training effectiveness recently developed by Gully and Chen (2010). 
note: Dissertation
Self - Guided Development: A proactive approach to employee development Some full text available
The effectiveness of formal training and development initiatives are becoming more difficult to realize in response to more dynamic and decentralized work environments. Organizations are increasingly relying on employee initiatives to react to rapid changes at work. The current prevalence of informal learning and development in practice emphasizes the need to further explore this phenomenon. To that effect, this dissertation defines self-guided development as a set of knowledge, skill or relationship building learning activities that generate human capital, but are unstructured, voluntary and not administratively or operationally provided by the organization. Self-guided development offers a flexible and efficient method for building human capital in today's work environment. 
note: Dissertation

Handbooks & Guides

Experience-Based Training and Development : a handbook. Some full text available
Experience based training and development programs  (EBTD) have become increasingly popular within the past 10 years. In general, EBTD is a type of educational and /or therapeutic programme in which adventure pursuits that are physically and psychologically demanding are used within a framework of skills development to promote interpersonal and intrapersonal growth (Bagby and Chavarria, 1980). Chief Executive Officers, Recreational leaders and counselors are seeking innovative leadership programmes that go beyond the traditional classroom training.
note: Handbook

Newspapers--International

The Economic Times Some full text available
This newspaper has a massive collection of articles that document on training and development hence  they span from more than a decade ago to present date. The newpaper maintains a perfect balance between the qualitative and quantitative information.
note: Newspaper
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phillip Ndhlovu

Phillip Ndhlovu
Assistant Librarian
Tel: 118

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files